Document Sample
hearst Powered By Docstoc
90 New Montgomery Street, Suite
1212 ¨ San
Francisco, California 94105


December 14, 2007


The top 20 winners in college Editorial/Columns of Opinion writing have been
announced in the 48th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation's Journalism Awards
Program, in which 108 undergraduate accredited journalism programs in universities
across the nation are eligible to participate.
First Place has been awarded to ANDREW SHAFFER, of Indiana
University. He will receive a $2,000 scholarship for his winning
article titled "IU Building Should Not Be Named After Racist"
published in the Indiana Daily Student. Indiana University
will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all
scholarship winners. Andrew Shaffer graduated in the spring of
2007, and consequently is not eligible to participate in the Championship
round, as pursuant to the program guidelines. As a result, the
second place winner, JENNIFER TRAMM, from University of Arizona,
will receive a $1,500 scholarship and qualifies for the National Writing
Championship in June 2008.

Other scholarship winners are:
    TRAVIS ROBINETT, University of
Kansas, third place, $1,000 scholarship
University, fourth place, $750 scholarship
    EMMA SCHMAUTZ, University of
Montana, fifth place, $600 scholarship
   ELIZABETH McLEOD, University of
Kansas, sixth place, $500 scholarship
    JACOB STOKES, University of
Missouri, seventh place, $500 scholarship
    CHRIS BANKS, Temple University,
eighth place, $500 scholarship
    DANNY DAVIS, University of Montana,
ninth place, $500 scholarship
    MARK MYERS, Pennsylvania State
University, tenth place, $500 scholarship
University of Montana is in first place in the Intercollegiate Writing
Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the
first two writing competitions of the academic year. They are
followed by: University of Missouri; University of
Nebraska-Lincoln; Northwestern University; University of Kansas;
University of Oklahoma; Indiana University; University of Arizona;
Arizona State University; Ohio University.
The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of
accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass
Communication, and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph
Hearst Foundation. It consists of six monthly writing, three
photojournalism, four broadcast news competitions and one multimedia
competition, with championship finals in all divisions except
multimedia. The program awards more than $500,000 in scholarships,
grants, and stipends annually.
Judging the writing competition this year are: Stephen Buckley,
Managing Editor, The St. Petersburg Times, FL; Arthur S. Brisbane,
Former Senior Vice President, Knight Ridder, Inc., Monte Sereno,
CA; and Jeff Cohen, Executive Vice President and Editor, Houston
Chronicle, TX.
Students who placed among the top 20 and will receive certificates of
merit are:

TALIA SAMPSON, Texas Christian University, eleventh place
JOSH SWARTZLANDER, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, twelfth place-tie
COLIN DUNLOP, University of Georgia, twelfth place-tie
LINSEN LI, University of Kentucky, twelfth place-tie
EMILY WATSON, University of Texas, Austin, twelfth place-tie
CHRYSTAL KING, California State University, Northridge, sixteenth
JEREMY FUGLEBERG, South Dakota State University, sixteenth
ASHIQ R. ZAMAN, University of Oklahoma, eighteenth
Jose State University, eighteenth place-tie
University of Texas, Austin, eighteenth place-tie
were 102 students from 61 universities who participated in the program's
second writing competition of this academic year. For samples of
winning work, please check the monthly winners section of the Journalism
Awards' website,
www.hearstawards.org, which is
updated shortly after each competition.

# # #