Document Sample
                                              of the
                         British International Studies Association
                                          Annual Report
                                                                                  December 2001
IPEG has had an industrious and fruitful year. The working group’s annual workshop took
place on 3 February at the University of Manchester’s ‘Chancellor’s’ conference facility. The
theme of the day’s discussion was Global Inequality and the Politics of Inclusion broadly-conceived.
Over 30 members attended – a significant proportion of which were postgraduates – and the
day’s discussion was lively. The day began with the IPEG AGM – now an integral part of
the working group’s annual workshop rather than a feature of the BISA conference – which
witnessed, among other things, the passing of the Convenorship from Randall Germain to
myself. IPEG would like to conveyed its thanks to Randall for all his efforts over the
previous three years in making the working group a success.
The AGM was followed by papers from Paul Cammack and Gareth Api Richards, both of
the University of Manchester; Steve Hughes of the University of Newcastle; Amrita Narlikar
of St John’s College Oxford; Iain Watson of the University of Durham; and Nicola Phillips
of the University of Warwick. IPEG is now looking forward to the next workshop, this time
to be hosted by the Department of International Politics, University of Wales, Aberystwyth
on 16 February 2002. The theme will be: ‘Political Economy and Manifold Capitalism:
Perspectives on Transition, Transformation and Development’.
November 3, 2001 saw IPEG co-host the ‘Susan Strange Workshop’, jointly organised
by Roger Tooze and Randall Germain, with some considerable input from the
Department of International Studies at Nottingham Trent University (NTU). The
workshop was co-funded by BISA, NTU and IPEG and was a resounding success. The
day witnessed a fitting discussion of Susan Strange’s work and her legacy. This was aided
by a collection of thoughtful papers from Christopher May, Alex Nunn, Marieke de
Goede, Piers Revell, Andreas Antoniades, Louise Amoore, John Maclean, Gillian
Youngs, and Ronen Palan, and round table contributions from Roger Tooze, Christian
Chavagneux and Chris Farrands. IPEG would like to thank BISA and NTU, as well as
Roger and Randall for their contributions to making the day a success.
Institutionally there have been some changes at IPEG. The working group now has a
‘Steering Committee’. The Committee is designed to assist with formulating the working
group’s policies, improving its profile, as well as facilitating postgraduate involvement in
the discipline. The Committee comprises Nicola Phillips (University of Warwick),
Ronen Palan (University of Sussex), Chris May (University of the West of England),
Barry Gills (University of Newcastle) and Randall Germain (University of Wales,
Aberystwyth). The intention is that, like the Convenorship, membership of the Steering
Committee will be decided on a three-year basis by a ballot of IPEG members. Though
the Committee has yet to meet formally, rather it has so far discussed matters on an ad
hoc basis, initiatives are already filtering through. The first of these is the establishment
of an electronic working paper series to be available through the IPEG website. The
purpose of the series is to give postgraduates and newly appointed academics, as well as
established members of the working group a preliminary outlet for their work. Our
intention is to have the first of the working papers on-line sometime in January.
More generally, IPEG’s membership now stands at 195 and continues to grow. That
said, more needs to be done to increase the number of postgraduates among our
numbers. Financially, the working group is doing well (thanks to BISA’s yearly grants),
though the cost of workshops, and the increasing inability of host Department’s to make
more than a modest contribution, acts as a perennial brake on our activities. And our
newsletter – IPEG News – continues to keep members in touch with events in the
We now look forward to an equally fruitful 2002!
Rorden Wilkinson
Centre for International Politics
Department of Government
University of Manchester