World Architecture Festival 2009 - 2009-04-02

Document Sample
World Architecture Festival 2009 - 2009-04-02 Powered By Docstoc
                                                  2 April 2009

World Architecture Festival 2009 - 2009-04-02

Annual contest for world’s best building launches. (Online
entry )

Greek edition>>

* is media partner of the WAF ’09 at Greece.

World Architecture Festival 2009 focuses on architecture in the new
world economy

The world‟s biggest architectural summit, the World Architecture Festival, will
take place in Barcelona for the second year running, with new opportunities
for the industry to showcase its work as part of the word‟s biggest architectural
Awards programme.

Programme Director Paul Finch confirmed that following its successful
inaugural year, World Architecture Festival (WAF) will again take place in
Barcelona at the Centre Convencions International Barcelona (CCIB) from 4th
to 6th November 2009.
(Online entry to the WAF Awards is open until 26 June 2009.)

The Festival‟s thematic exhibition, ‘Less Does More’ will examine the challenges facing architects in the new world
economy. The exhibition will focus on how creative design, imagination and innovative thinking can reduce the amount of
time, energy, material and finance needed to create buildings and cities – producing more value for less cost.

Last year the Festival attracted nearly 2,000 delegates from around the globe and more than 500 architects, planners,
designers and policymakers have already registered their interest in WAF 2009. There are already 25 confirmed media
partners for the event.

Finch also announced that this year‟s Awards will feature three new sections providing more opportunities to win
recognition. As well as completed buildings (15 categories) there will be Awards for Interiors and Fit-out (8 categories),
Structural Design (9 categories) and Future Projects (8 categories), with 42 Awards to win in total.

The WAF Awards celebrate the work, concerns and aspirations of the international architectural community. Unlike other
schemes, the WAF Awards involve shortlisted architects presenting their schemes live to delegates as well as international
judging panels as they compete for the ultimate accolade of World Building of the Year 2009 and other awards.

Architects Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara, Directors of Grafton Architects, whose practice won the WAF World
Building of the Year Award 2008 for the faculty building at Luigi Bocconi University, Milan said:

“WAF provides an opportunity to exchange ideas on a global scale witnessing the challenges and demands on architecture
throughout the world. This unique forum will offer optimism in the current challenging climate, ensuring architects are made
aware of and can enjoy, as well as be inspired by innovative serious work of all scales, in a variety of regions and countries
                                                  2 April 2009
of diverse cultural physical and economic environments.”

A jury of distinguished architects and renowned industry figures from around the world will judge the competition‟s 45
Awards. The 15 category winners in the Building of the Year Award will be pitted against each other as a star studded
„super-jury‟, one of the highlights of 2008, will again make the final decision on the World Building of the Year Award on 6th
November 2009 in Barcelona at the end of the three day event. Confirmed jurors this year will include Rafael Vinoly, Sir
Peter Cook, Kengo Kuma and Will Alsop, plus architectural media editors from around the world.

Every design entered for the Awards will be exhibited in the Awards gallery at the Festival, which will also feature a packed
programme of presentations, seminars, exhibitions, and keynote addresses from prominent architects.

Paul Finch, WAF programme director, said: “World Architecture Festival is establishing itself as a significant date in the
global architectural calendar. It is the biggest event of its kind in the world, which looks beyond borders to celebrate
architecture and design. The inspiration of new ideas will be the order of the day with the Festival offering a true indication
of the quality and diversity of architectural design worldwide The WAF Awards can help practices to increase their
recognition and unusually allow architects to showcase work on the same international platform, whether they are
inspirational start-up practices or established international leaders.”

Online entry to the WAF Awards is open until 26 June 2009. To enter the Awards visit:

Judge panel as at March 2009:

Catherine Slessor   UK             Kim Nielsen            Denmark
Charles Jencks      UK            David Dunster          UK
Hanif Kara          UK            Justine Clarke         Australia
Kengo Kuma          Japan         Kieran Long            UK
Lorenzo Apicella    UK            Luis O'Grady           Argentina
Marcus Fairs        UK            Michel Rojkind         Mexico
Nabil Gholam        Lebanon       Rafael Vinoly          USA
Renato Benedetti    UK            Roger Zogolovitch      UK
Sir Peter Cook      UK            Suha Ozkan             Turkey
Will Alsop          UK            Dennis Sharp           UK

For further information, please contact:
Jo Reid, Tilly Shirlaw at FD on:
 +44 (0) 20 7269 9348/ +44 (0) 7855 084 713 or +44 (0) 20 7269 9352 or is media partner of the WAF ’09 at Greece.

<< World Architecture Festival 2008-Ελληνικές συμμετοχές.

                                                                                   ^ Top |

Shared By:
Description: World Architecture Festival 2009 - 2009-04-02