; turton high school
Documents
Resources
Learning Center
Upload
Plans & pricing Sign in
Sign Out
Your Federal Quarterly Tax Payments are due April 15th Get Help Now >>

turton high school

VIEWS: 92 PAGES: 7

  • pg 1
									Turton High School
Media Arts College
Calendar for Parents 2009-2010
Events and Information                                                      Notes




                                                                     Exam
                                                            Date
                                                      Day
Staff Training Day – School closed to students        Mon   07-Sep
Year 12 Intake Interviews
Lessons Start                                         Tue   08-Sep
Year 12 Intake Interviews
Year 12 Induction Day                                 Thu   10-Sep
Year 7, 9 & 12 Photographs
Year 12 Lessons Start                                 Fri   11-Sep
Bolton Community College Evening Classes              Mon   14-Sep
Commence
Year 13 Theatre Studies Trip to ‘Mixed up North’,
Octagon Theatre 7.30pm
Parents’ Association Meeting 7pm
Year 13 Parents’ Evening 6.30pm – 9pm                 Thu   17-Sep
Open Day 9.30am – 11am                                Tue   22-Sep
Art Exhibition until 25th September
Year 12 Theatre Studies Trip to ‘Mixed up North’,
Octagon Theatre 7.30pm
Open Day 9.30am – 11am                                Wed   23-Sep
Year 12 Geography Trip to Wales until 25th
Open Day 9.30am – 11am                                Thu   24-Sep
Year 10 Trip to ‘Our Day Out’, Royal Court Theatre,
Liverpool 1pm
7S1 & 7S2 Team Building at Burrs Activity Centre      Mon   28-Sep
KS4 Army Trip until 2nd October
Feyenoord Football Club Trip Parents’ Meeting,
6.30pm
7S3 & 7S4 Team Building at Burrs Activity Centre      Tue   29-Sep
Year 7 Family Fun for T Band 6pm – 8pm
7T1 & 7T2 Team Building at Burrs Activity Centre      Wed   30-Sep
Year 11 Food Technology Trip to Warburtons
Bakery
Year 8 Curriculum Information Evening 6.30pm –
7.30pm
7T3 & 7T4 Team Building at Burrs Activity Centre      Thu   01-Oct
Year 7 Family Fun for S Band 6pm – 8pm
Staff Training Day – School Closed to Students        Fri   02-Oct

Year 13 Media/Film/Communication Studies to           Mon   05-Oct
Bolton & Manchester Libraries (prov)
Year 11 Mock Interviews 6.45pm – 9pm
Year 11 Mock Interviews 6.45pm – 9pm                  Tue   06-Oct
Year 10 Diploma Group Formby Trip                     Wed   07-Oct
Year 10 Coursework & Information Evening 7pm –        Thu   08-Oct
9pm
Year 11 Trip to Alston Activity Centre until 11th     Sat   10-Oct
Year 11 Mock Interviews 6.45pm – 9pm                  Mon   12-Oct
Year 11 Mock Interviews 6.45pm – 9pm                  Tue   13-Oct
Year 7 Parents’ Meeting 5.30pm                        Thu   15-Oct
                                                                            th
                                                                       16 September 2009
Turton High School
Media Arts College
Calendar for Parents 2009-2010
Year 10 Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Bronze Group      Sat       17-Oct
Practice Expedition, Rivington & Great Hill         Sun       18-Oct
Year 11 Mock Interviews 6.45pm – 9pm                Mon       19-Oct
Year 11 Mock Interviews 6.45pm – 9pm                Tue       20-Oct
Year 9S Geography Trip to Formby                    Wed       21-Oct
Trip to Feyenoord Football Club, Rotterdam until    Thu       22-Oct
27th October
Year 11 Exam Preparation Evening 7 – 8.30pm
9T Geography Trip to Formby                         Fri       23-Oct
Last Day of Half Term

                                       Autumn Half-Term Break
                       Monday 26th October to Friday 30th October 2009 (Inclusive)

Year 11 Coursework Catch-up until 26th - 28th October
Year 10 English Functional Skills Exam sets 1 – 4       Mon 02-Nov
(prov)
Parents’ Forum 6.30pm                                   Tue 03-Nov
Parents’ Association Meeting & AGM 7.30pm
Year 11, 12 & 13 Drama Trip ‘Ghosts’, Octagon
Theatre 7.30pm
BMAT/Oxbridge Examinations                              Wed 04-Nov
GCSE Re-sits until 13th November                        Thu 05-Nov E
Year 10 Diploma Workshop, Smithills (prov)
Year 9 Nuremberg Exchange Parents’ Meeting 5 –
6pm, Library
Year 11 Mock Interviews 6.45pm – 9pm                    Mon   09-Nov E
Year 11 Parents’ Evening 4pm – 6.30pm                   Wed   11-Nov E
AS French Conference, Manchester – All Day              Fri   13-Nov E
Year 12 Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Direct Gold Day       Sat   14-Nov
Walk, Rivington & Great Hill
Blood Donation Year 12, 13 & Staff                      Tue 17-Nov
Year 10 Photographs 8.50am – 10am
A2 French Conference, Manchester – All Day
Year 12 & 13 Theatre & Performance Studies, ‘Dr
Faustus’ at Our Lady’s School, Royton – All Day
Kids Lit Quiz at Bolton University 4 – 7pm (prov)
Old Year 11 Presentation Evening (2009)
Target Setting Day                                      Thu 19-Nov
Year 7 Super Learning Day
16+ Options other than the 6th Form for Year 9, 10 &
11, Arts Theatre 9am – 2pm
Year 13 Mock General Studies                                           E
6th Form Open Evening 6pm – 9pm
Year 10 Diploma Group Cornerhouse Visit
German Exchange to Nuremberg until 4th December         Wed 25-Nov
SSC Bowling Trip – All Years 3pm
Good Food Show Year 10, 12 & 13 All Day (prov)          Thu 26-Nov
Year 12 Performance Studies Community
Performance Project Exam Performance (offsite 1/2                      E
day - prov)
                                                                             th
                                                                           16 September 2009
Turton High School
Media Arts College
Calendar for Parents 2009-2010
Year 11 ASDAN Wider Skills, Residential, Cumbria
until 20th November (prov)
Parents’ Association Christmas Market                     Fri 27-Nov
Year 9S Bowling Trip                                      Tue 08-Dec
Year 12 & 13 Film Studies Trip to Cornerhouse – All
Day
Year 11 Mock Exams until 15th December                    Wed 09-Dec E
Age Concern Trip ‘White Christmas’, Salford Lowry
(pm)
Year 9T Bowling Trip
Year 10, 12 & 13 Clothes Show Trip – All Day
Year 12 Theatre Studies Production ‘Antigone’, Arts
Theatre – Evening
Year 7S Bowling Trip                                      Thu 10-Dec E
Year 12 Theatre Studies Production ‘Antigone’, Arts
Theatre – Evening
Year 7T Bowling Trip                                      Fri 11-Dec E
Year 8S Bowling Trip                                      Mon 14-Dec E
Year 7S English Trip ‘Oliver Twist’, Octagon Theatre
2.15pm
Year 8T Bowling Trip                                      Tue 15-Dec E
Year 7T English, Year 8 & 9 G & T Trip ‘Oliver Twist’,
Octagon Theatre 2.15pm
Christmas Music Concert - Evening
Year 11 Achievement Trip (pm)                             Wed 16-Dec
Learning Support Trip to ‘White Christmas’, Lowry
Lyric Theatre 9.30am – 5pm
Last Day of Term – School finishes at 1pm                 Fri   18-Dec

Old Year 13 Presentation Evening (2009)             Mon 21-Dec

                                           Christmas Break
                    Monday 21st December 2009 to Monday 4th January 2010 (Inclusive)

Year 9 Options Meeting 7pm                               Thu    07-Jan
AS/A2 Exams until 29th January                           Mon    11-Jan   E
Year 7T Parents’ Evening 4pm – 6.30pm                    Wed    13-Jan   E
Year 10 Biology Unit 1 set 1 (am)                        Thu    14-Jan   E
Year 10 Science Unit 1 sets 2 – 6 (am)
GCSE November Re-sit Results
Year 11 Mock Exam Results Day                            Fri    15-Jan   E
Year 10 Chemistry Unit 1 set 1 (am)                      Mon    18-Jan   E
Year 11 Science – Life Care sets 4 – 6 (am)
Year 11 Harnessing Chemicals sets 4 – 6 (am)
Science Unit 2 Resits (am)
Year 10 Physics Unit 1 set 1 (am)                        Wed    20-Jan   E
Year 11 Scientific Detection sets 4 – 6 (am)                             E
Science Unit 3 Resits (am)                                               E
Year 10 Maths Module 1hr (pm)                            Thu    21-Jan   E
Year 11 Biology Unit 2 set 1 (pm)                        Mon    25-Jan   E
Year 11 Additional Science Unit 1 set 2/3 (am)                           E
                                                                               th
                                                                             16 September 2009
Turton High School
Media Arts College
Calendar for Parents 2009-2010
Year 11 Chemistry Exam Unit 2 set 1(pm)               Wed   27-Jan   E
Year 7S Parents’ Evening 4pm – 6.30pm
Bolton Book Award (shortlist announcement) 9.30 –     Thu   28-Jan   E
12 Bolton University (prov)
Year 12 Biology Trip to Chester Zoo 8.45 – 4pm
Year 11 Physics Unit 2 set 1 (pm)                     Mon   01-Feb E
Year 9 Bright Futures Event – All Day
School Drama Club Matinee for Primaries 1pm
Evening Performances until 5th February
Year 9 Bright Futures Event – All Day                 Tue   02-Feb
Year 11T Enterprise Day                               Wed   03-Feb
Year 11S Enterprise Day                               Thu   04-Feb
Year 11 Internal 6th Form Interviews until 11th
February
Year 9 IAG Event – S Band 9.30am – 11.30am, T         Fri   05-Feb
Band 12.30pm – 2.30pm
Year 10 Exam Preparation (am)                         Tue   09-Feb
Parents’ Forum Meeting and Governors’ Meeting
with Parents 6.30pm
Parents’ Association Meeting 7.30pm
Year 10 Trip to Skills North West, Bolton Arena 9am   Wed   10-Feb
– 12.30pm
Year 7 & 8 Gifted & Talented Day (prov)               Thu   11-Feb
Years 10 – 13 French Trip until 14th February
Year 9 Parents’ Evening 4pm – 6.30pm
6th Form Ski Trip until 20th February                 Fri   12-Feb
Staff Training Day – School Closed to Students


                                         Spring Half Term Break
                       Friday 12th February to Friday 19th February 2010 (Inclusive)

Year 11 Coursework Catch-up 15th – 18th February
Year 11 External 6th Form Interviews until 12th       Mon   22-Feb
March
Year 11 GCSE Practical Exam Evening – Night of        Wed   24-Feb
Drama
Year 8 Parents’ Evening 4pm – 6.30pm                  Thu   25-Feb
Year 11 Profiles to Parents                           Tue   02-Mar
SSC Ice Skating Trip 2pm                              Wed   03-Mar
Year 12 Higher Education Fair in Manchester           Thu   04-Mar
Phillip Allan 6th Form Day
Download AS/A2 & GCSE Exam Results                    Thu   11-Mar
Year 12 AS Theatre Studies – Repertoire                              E
Examination – All Day & Evening (prov)
Year 12 Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Direct Gold         Fri   12-Mar
Navigation Skills Expedition until 14th March
AS French Conference, Manchester – All Day            Tue   16-Mar
GCSE French Revision, Manchester – All Day            Wed   17-Mar
Year 10 Parents’ Evening 4pm – 6.30pm
Year 9 Exam Preparation Day                           Thu   18-Mar
                                                                           th
                                                                         16 September 2009
Turton High School
Media Arts College
Calendar for Parents 2009-2010
Year 11 Exam Preparation Day                         Fri   19-Mar
Year 7S Speedwell Trip 8.15am – 3.45pm
Year 10 Exams until 25th March                       Mon   22-Mar E
Year 7T Speedwell Trip 8.15 – 3.45pm
Medicine/Dentistry/Law Event 7pm – 8.30pm
Year 9 Profiles to Parents                           Tue   23-Mar E
Year 11 English Conference – All Day
Target Setting Day/Year 7 Health Education Day       Wed   24-Mar E
Year 11 English Conference, Bolton Science &
Technology Centre – All Day
Year 13 A2 Theatre Studies – Devising Examination    Thu   25-Mar E
– All Day (prov)
Year 13 Government & Politics Trip to London until   Fri   26-Mar
28th March (prov)

Last Day of Term

                                             Easter Break
                          Monday 29th March to Friday 9th April 2010 (Inclusive)

Year 11 Coursework Catch-up 29th - 31st March
Year 11 Mathematics Conference – All Day             Tue   11-Apr
Year 13 Geography City Trip 8.30am – 3pm             Wed   14-Apr
Year 12 Parents’ Evening 6.30pm – 9pm
Year 10/11 GCSE & Year 12/13 Th/Pf Trip to           Tue   20Apr
‘Comedians’, Octagon Theatre, 7.30pm
Higher Education Evening (1) 7pm – 8.30pm            Wed   21-Apr
Blood Donation Year 12, 13 & Staff                   Thu   22-Apr
GCSE Dance Internal Moderation 9am – 1pm             Fri   23-Apr
Year 7S Sacred Buildings Trip 9am – 3pm              Mon   26-Apr
GCSE Dance Performance 6.30pm – 8pm
Higher Education Evening (2) 7 – 8.30pm              Thu   29-Apr
Quiz Kids 6pm – 8pm
GCSE Dance External Moderation 9am – 1pm             Fri   30-Apr   E
(prov)
BANK HOLIDAY                                         Mon   03-May   BANK HOLIDAY
Year 9 Exams until 7th May                           Tue   04-May E
GCSE MFL Oral Exams (prov)                                        E
Year 7T Sacred Buildings Trip 9am – 3pm
AS & A2 Dance Internal Moderation 9am – 3pm          Fri   07-May E
Year 10/11 GCSE Drama Trip to ‘Blue                  Mon   10-May
Remembered Hills’, Forge Theatre
AS & A2 Performance Evening 6.30pm – 8pm
Year 10/11 GCSE Drama Trip to ‘Blue                  Tue   11-May
Remembered Hills’, Forge Theatre
Year 11 Leavers’ Assembly                            Thu   13-May
Year 11 Alton Towers Trip                            Fri   14-May
AS & A2 External Moderation 9am – 3pm (prov)                      E
A Level Exams until 30th June                        Mon   17-May E
GCSE Performing Arts – Examination of Practical
Work (prov)
                                                                          th
                                                                        16 September 2009
Turton High School
Media Arts College
Calendar for Parents 2009-2010
GCSE Exams until 18th June                          Tue   18-May E
Year 8S Trip to Styal Mill 9am – 3pm
Year 8T Trip to Styal Mill 9am – 3pm                Wed   19-May E
Year 12 Study Leave until 14th June                 Fri   21-May
Year 10 Biology Unit 1 set 1 (am)                                E
Science Unit 1 Re-sits (am)                                      E
Additional Science Unit 1 Resits (am)               Wed   26-May E
Primary Dance Festival All Day until 6.30pm
Year 13 Study Leave                                 Fri   28-May E
Year 10 Business Studies Unit 1
Year 10 Profiles to Parents
Year 10 Science Unit 4 sets 2 – 6 (am)
Chemistry Unit 1 Re-sits (am)

Last Day of Half Term

                                       Summer Half-Term Break
                           Monday 31st May to Friday 4th June 2010 (Inclusive)

Year 10 Berlin Trip Parents’ Meeting 6 – 7pm        Mon   07-Jun E
Year 10 & 11 Entry Level Maths Exam (am)            Tue   08-Jun E
Parents’ Forum Meeting 6.30pm – 7.30pm
Parents’ Association Meeting 7.30pm
Year 10 History Exam (pm)                           Wed   09-Jun E
Year 10 Science Unit 2 sets 2 – 6 (pm)                           E
Dance Show - Evening
Year 10 Geography Unit 10 (am)                      Thu   10-Jun E
Dance Show - Evening
Year 10 Arran Trip Parents’ Meeting 6pm – 7pm       Wed   16-Jun E
German Exchange Students at t:mac until 25th June   Thu   17-Jun E
Year 9 Enterprise Day
Year 11 Prom 7pm (prov)
Year 10 Maths Module Tests (pm)                     Mon   21-Jun E
Chemistry Unit 2 Re-sits (am)                       Tue   22-Jun E
Year 6 Animal Day
Year 9 Mentor Training Day                          Wed   23-Jun
Year 8S Malham Trip 8.15 – 3.45pm
Year 10 Physics Unit 2 set 1                                     E
Year 10 Physics Unit 2 set 1                        Thu   24-Jun E
Year 8T Malham Trip 8.15am – 3.45pm                 Fri   25-Jun E
Bolton Book Award 12.30pm – 3pm, Bolton
University (prov)
Year 13 Leavers’ Ball 7pm
Bolton Book Award 9.45am – 12.30pm, Bolton          Sat   26-Jun
University (prov)
Year 7 Profiles to Parents                          Mon   28-Jun
Year 10 Science Unit 3 set 2 – 6 (am)                              E
Year 10 Physics Unit 1 set 1                                       E
Austria Trip until 5th July
Year 10 Drama Trip to ‘The Hired Man’, Octagon      Tue   29-Jun E
Theatre, 7.30pm
                                                                         th
                                                                       16 September 2009
Turton High School
Media Arts College
Calendar for Parents 2009-2010
New Intake Evening for Parents 6pm – 9pm            Wed   30-Jun E
Year 6 Induction Day                                Fri   02-Jul
Bolton Book Award Ceremony, Festival Hall 10am      Sat   03-Jul
Year 10 Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Bronze Group
Qualifying Expedition, Rivington & Great Hill       Sat &
                                                    Sun   04-Jul
Year 10 Arran Trip (1) until 9th July               Mon 05-Jul
Year 10 Work Experience until 16th July
KS3 Presentation Evening 7pm, Town Hall
Sports Day at Leverhulme Park                       Wed   07-Jul
Summer Concert 7.30pm
Year 7 & 8 Intervention Trip to Chester Zoo 9am –   Fri   09-Jul
5pm
Year 12 Bolton Institute Textiles Trip – All Day
Year 10 Arran Trip (2) until 16th July              Mon   12-Jul
Year 10 Berlin Trip until 23rd July                 Sun   18-Jul
Year 12 Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Direct Gold
Practice Expedition until 20th July
Activities Week until Wednesday 21st July           Mon   19-Jul
Year 8 Profiles to Parents
SSC Trip to Blackpool – All Years                   Tue   20-Jul
Year 10 Geography Trip (for students not going to   Wed   21-Jul
Arran)
Last Day of Term                                    Fri   23-Jul

Year 10 Coursework Catch up 9am - 3pm               Mon   26-Jul
until 27th July
AS/A2 Results Day                                   Thu   19-Aug
Year 10 Coursework Catch-up until 25th August       Mon   23-Aug
GCSE Results Day                                    Tue   24-Aug
Autumn Term 2009 begins for students                Tue   07-Sep
Note
E       = Examination
                                                                   Calendar subject to change.
G&T     = Gifted & Talented
Prov    = Provisional
SSC     = Student Support Centre

To check for additions/amendments and confirmation of dates parents can view the calendar through the
website www.tmac.uk.com




                                                                       th
                                                                     16 September 2009

								
To top