press release Press release For

Document Sample
press release Press release For Powered By Docstoc
					Press release
For Immediate Publication

National winners of UNFPA-Laadli Media Awards ‘07 announced today
     A special award is presented to Zohra Segal as LAADLI of the Century
Delhi, May 15, 2008: Mumbai-based NGO Population First today
announced the National Winners of the UNFPA-Laadli Media Awards for
Gender Sensitivity 2007 at the FICCI Auditorium, New Delhi. Delhi CM
Sheila Dikshit was the Chief Guest while United Nations Population Fund
(UNFPA‟s) Goodwill Ambassador Lara Dutta was the Special Guest. Present
at the event were Population First‟s Executive Trustee, S.V. Sista and
Programme Director, Dr. A.L. Sharada, Laadli‟s Spokesperson Suneeta Rao
and Country Representative- UNFPA, Nesim Tumkaya.

Launched in March 2007 by Population First, the United Nations Population
Fund (UNFPA) has lent support to take the Laadli Media Awards pan-India.
The Awards are part of the Media Advocacy efforts of the Laadli campaign by Population First, an
NGO working on health, population and gender issues. The campaign was launched to address the
issue of sex selection and falling sex ratio

Speaking on the response to the Call for Entries, S.V. Sista says, “The quality of the entries is
encouraging and we are sure gender sensitivity would soon be established as an inalienable value for
the media and communication professionals.”

Addressing the audience, Dr. A.L. Sharada, Programme Director-Population First said, “We see the
awards not as a competition, but as an advocacy tool to engage the media in an active debate on
gender issues.”

This is the first time a region-wise, nation wide roll out of awards for media professionals - from film,
print and electronic media and advertising- was organised on the issue of gender sensitivity. The
awards acknowledged the efforts of those in the media who have highlighted gender underpinnings of
an event or who have dared to challenge gender stereotypes through film and advertising.

A large number of media and communication professionals have been involved in the process as jury
members, cultural ambassadors, partners, sponsors and participants. Dolly Thakore was the National
Coordinator of the Awards and the awardees were judged by an eminent panel of judges from media
and advertising that include Madhu Trehan, Tavleen Singh, Anil Dharker, Tariq Ansari, Unni Rajen
Shanker, Lara Dutta, Nafisa Ali and Tanuja. (The complete list of judges is attached as Annexure 2)
The 12 National awardees selected from among 80 entries chosen in the Western, Southern,
Eastern and Northern region awards, held between Dec 2007 and April 2008 are:
Category               Awardee                                     Title of Award
Advertising            Lowe, Mumbai („Jeetey Raho’- ICICI          Best TVC
Electronic media –     Naveena, TV9, Hyderabad                     Best Channel-Based
TV                                                                 Programme
Electronic media –     Ruksh Chatterjee, CNN-IBN, Mumbai           Best News Feature and
TV                                                                 Reporting
Electronic media –     Anureet Sidhu, Channel Punjab, Punjab       Special Award
Print media            Aditi Bhaduri                               Best Articles
Print media            Kondaveeti Satyavati, Bhumika, Hyderabad Best Editorial
Print media            Annu Anand, Press Institute of India, Delhi Best Feature
Print media            Siby Kattampally, Malayalam Manorama,       Best Investigative Reporting
Print media            Aditi Tandon, The Tribune, Chandigarh       Best Reporting
Print media            Sandhya Nare-Pawar, Chitralekha, Mumbai Consistent Reporting
Print media            Gangaputra Times, Haryana                   Consistent Reporting
Films                  Shimit Amin, Chak De                        Best Film

The curtain raiser for Awards was a 10-minute song by school children of the NGO Vidya who
performed their version of Taare Zameen Par. Mallika Sarabhai of Darpana Academy, Ahmedabad
performed Sita’s Daughters and Lushin Dubey‟s theatre group performed an extract of Bitter

Crafted to be an event of fine and memorable proportions, veteran actress nonagenarian Zohra
Segal was felicitated as the „Laadli of the Century‟ in recognition of her contribution to films and

Delhi-based NGO, iCONGO is the Cause Partner for the National Awards in Delhi, while
Exchange4media Group is the Trade Partner. Mobile Store has lent support the Laadli campaign as
Associate sponsor and Jet Airways is the Airline Partner.

About Population First
Population First is an NGO focusing on the population and health issues facing the country, looking
at these from the perspective of women‟s rights and social development. The trust works towards
India‟s goal of a balanced, planned and stable population. The key objectives are to help reduce
gender imbalances in the population.

About iCONGO
“iCONGO- Indian Confederation of NGOs” is a collective hub and the voice of the Citizens and
NGO sector which represents the people of India, in Gandhiji‟s words. iCONGO is the first and
only organisation in the world that does not raise funds for itself nor retains any money it facilitates
for NGOs. iCONGO is the hallmark of trust for social investment and promotes philanthropy for
social justice where our mantra is, “Don‟t just give, but get involved, understand issues and then
support them as active advocates”.

About UNFPA:
The United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA), India works towards improving the health the well-
being of the Indian population. It uses population data and research as the basis for its initiatives. The
India programme is the UNFPA‟s largest and works closely with policy makers, governmental
institutions, NGOs and the community at large. UNFPA strives to empower citizens, particularly
women to make informed choices on reproductive health, including maternal health.


    1.    Madhu Trehan                                        15.   Vishwanath Sachdeva
    2.    Indira Jaisingh                                     16.   Pinky Dalal
    3.    Rani Jethmalani                                     17.   Meena Karnik
    4.    Jatin Das                                           18.   Rahul Singh
    5.    Usha Albuquerque                                    19.   Balki (R. Balakrishnan)
    6.    Sayeeda Hamid                                       20.   Sumati Shivraj
    7.    Pamela Philipose                                    21.   S.Seshadri
    8.    Sumanto Chattopadhyay                               22.   Lalita Panicker
    9.    Alyque Padamsee                                     23.   Unni Rajen Shanker
    10.   Nargis Wadia                                        24.   Ira Pande
    11.   Tariq Ansari                                        25.   Lara Dutta
    12.   Tavleen Singh                                       26.   Nafisa Ali
    13.   Meena Gopalkrishnan                                 27.   Tanuja
    14.   Anil Dharker