Docstoc

Annual Review - PDF

Document Sample
Annual Review - PDF Powered By Docstoc
					20 08
Annual Review

Contents
Chair’s Foreword Chief Executive’s Report About FTI Casework Report Cases Policy, Research & Campaigns Capacity Building Accounts Fundraising Who we are Thanks 2 5 9 10 12 15 18 20 22 23 24

Credits
Photographs: Sam Wheadon Design: Pretty.co.uk Print: Cambrian Printers Fair Trials International 3rd Floor 59 Carter Lane London EC4V 5AQ United Kingdom Registered Charity Nº 1079079
2 www.FairTrials.net

Our Mission

To work for fair trials based on international standards of justice and defend the rights of those facing charges in a country other than their own.

Fair Trials International Annual Review 1

Chair’s Foreword

The case of Patrick Malluzzo (pictured right) is just one example of the hundreds of cases which come our way every year in our ceaseless campaign “to secure fair trials according to international standards of justice and defend the rights of those facing charges in a country other than their own.” We are busier than ever and our work is more crucial in a world where the rights of the ordinary citizen are increasingly at risk.

2

www.FairTrials.net

There are those that question whether our emphasis on the rights of the individual, and our criticism of the use of legislation that limits such rights, undermines the global fight against terrorism and serious crime. We would argue the opposite. If, in the desire to tackle these very real threats, we undermine the basic right to a fair legal process we will ultimately lose the very freedoms we are seeking to protect. Case work will always be at the heart of what FTI does, but it is only a part of what we do. In this review you will read about ground breaking research we are undertaking to help influence change from an informed standpoint; policy papers on key issues affecting international justice; and our work to build international networks of defence lawyers, academics and other professionals. During the course of the year, we have been privileged to gain several major sources of funding without which we could not carry out our work. We are, of course, hugely grateful to all our funders (individual and institutional), but in particular to Mr and Mrs Warendorf from Holland, and to Mr and Mrs Holinger from Switzerland whose generosity is immensely appreciated.

There have been a number of changes to the Trustee Board during the year. At the end of March 2008 Estella Baker stepped down as Chair, and I was invited to take over. I would like to thank Estella for her dedication to FTI both as Trustee and Chair. Three other Trustees have retired and we welcomed four new Trustees who have already made very significant contributions. There have also been some staff changes. In July 2008, our Chief Executive, Catherine Wolthuizen, resigned to take up a similar role with a larger UK based charity. On behalf of the Trustees I would like to thank her for the very significant contribution she made to FTI. In her place, we are delighted to welcome Jago Russell who joined in September and has already made a very positive impact. Jago is a qualified, practising lawyer with a strong track record in the human rights field, most recently as legal policy advisor with the charity Liberty.
Patrick Malluzzo

We are a small core team of committed staff with a large number of volunteers, interns and external experts, often willing to provide their advice and assistance free of charge. None of our work would be possible without their support. I would like to thank them all for their dedication. Together, we are making a real difference in supporting the victims of injustice around the world and in attacking the causes of injustice. Peter Lipscomb OBE Chair

Fair Trials International Annual Review 2008 3

“Your work gave us some hope and a reason to feel optimistic. Your willingness to work so hard on behalf of two girls you didn’t even know, your compassion and your understanding of their plight and circumstances have impressed us all. On their behalf as well as personally I thank you from the bottom of my heart.”
Teacher of two British girls arrested in Ghana

4 www.FairTrials.net

Chief Executive’s Report

2008 was an important and exciting year for Fair Trials International. Over the course of the year, there were major developments and significant successes in all areas of our work. Casework has remained central to who we are and what we do, and continues to underpin all of our activities. During the course of the year we helped hundreds of people facing criminal charges in a country other than their own. The unique services provided by our dedicated casework team continued to provide a lifeline to many individuals in times of great need. We worked hard to secure a fair trial for two British school girls arrested in Ghana, and were delighted to have helped reunite them with their families after their ordeal. We received many new cases during the year. One of our most compelling cases is that of Patrick Malluzzo – imprisoned in India after a grossly unfair trial. We will continue to fight for justice for Patrick and his family. We hope that his appeal will be heard in 2009 and that this miscarriage of justice will be rectified.

Sadly, time and time again we encounter the same injustices: clients denied access to a decent local lawyer, denied appropriate translation and interpretation, and discriminated against simply because they are foreign. This is why it is so important for us to use the human evidence from our casework to fight the common causes of unfair trials facing foreign defendants all over the world.

“Thank goodness that due to the good services of Fair Trials International we have been able to get a lawyer who knows what he is doing.”
Father of client in Romania in a letter to his MEP During 2008 we had major successes in our political lobbying and public campaigning activities. Thanks to FTI’s work, important safeguards were included in new European legislation on trials in absentia. We also issued high profile advice on how people can stay out of trouble. In February, we launched a public warning to those travelling to Dubai about the harsh treatment of people caught with even minute quantities of banned substances.

Fair Trials International Annual Review 2008 5

Chief Executive’s Report

Our casework has taught us the importance of increasing the capacity of criminal defence lawyers around the world which is, of course, crucial to ensuring that fair trial rights are respected. This is why, for many years, we have provided training and networking opportunities. In 2008 these activities took an exciting new turn. The Legal Experts Advisory Panel was launched, meeting for the first time in June 2008. It brings together legal professionals, academics, NGOs and policy-makers from across Europe with expertise in the field of fundamental rights and criminal justice. FTI also launched the European Young Defenders Network, which provides expert training to emerging human rights defenders. The first week-long conference was attended by nearly 50 young lawyers from Bulgaria and Romania as well as Italy and the UK. None of these achievements would have been possible without the commitment and dedication of FTI’s Board of Trustees and staff. I would also like to thank the volunteers, interns and pro-bono lawyers that gave their time for free in 2008 and whose assistance is absolutely vital to our work. Neither would any of our achievements have been possible without the individuals and institutions that funded FTI’s work during 2008. We are enormously grateful to all of them.

The skill and energy of FTI’s former Chief Executive, Catherine Wolthuizen, made all of this happen. Together with FTI’s Board and staff, Catherine built on our founder, Stephen Jakobi’s, vision and determination by providing a renewed sense of purpose and direction to all of our activities in 2008. Our work has never been more important than it is today. At any one time thousands of people face the terrifying experience of a criminal trial in a foreign land, far from family and friends. The increasing willingness of countries to surrender their citizens to stand trial in foreign courts, even when fundamental defence rights are at risk, makes the work we do at FTI all the more essential. I was honoured to have been appointed as Chief Executive of FTI in late 2008 and am determined to build on FTI’s considerable past successes. I look forward to an exciting year ahead for Fair Trials International. Jago Russell Chief Executive Fair Trials International

Right: Jody Aggett, pictured with his 5 year-old son Ryan following his acquittal, Fair Trials International client since 2001
6 www.FairTrials.net

Fair Trials International Annual Review 7

“…while it feels as if your whole world is crumbling, your faith in God, the support of friends and family will help you to pull through these dark times. Thanks once again to Fair Trials for their absolute belief that Jody’s trial was flawed. It gave us hope that we would all once again be reunited as a family.”
Lorna Aggett, mother of Jody Aggett, Fair Trials International client since 2001

8 www.FairTrials.net

About Fair Trials International

FTI is a unique organisation which promotes and defends fundamental rights and access to justice across the globe. FTI pursues that mission by: Providing direct legal assistance We provide direct legal assistance to more than 500 individuals each year. Many of our clients have suffered grievous human rights abuses, mistreatment, or have been the victims of a miscarriage of justice. We use our extensive network of lawyers and our diplomatic, political and media contacts to advocate on behalf of our clients. Providing training and networking opportunities for legal professionals We provide expert training, peer mentoring and networking for legal professionals and human rights defenders engaged in promoting and defending fundamental rights. This includes our EU-wide network of legal experts and our training and mentoring programme for emerging human rights defenders.

Undertaking high-level research and expert analysis With our unique casework perspective, we are able to identify issues in the administration of justice and the protection of fundamental rights. We conduct high-level research into access to justice and fundamental rights and use the results from this work to provide evidence to consultations and to advocate for improved policy in the area of fundamental rights. In the pages that follow you will read more about these important and complementary activities.

Mohammed Hussein

Fair Trials International Annual Review 2008 9

Casework Report

In 2008 we continued to make a real difference to hundreds of people facing the ordeal of a trial in a foreign country, far from family and friends. Demand for our help continues to grow, including from many who have suffered from grievous abuse or miscarriages of justice. During the year we were delighted to celebrate the return home of clients who, with our help, were able to launch a proper defence or to overturn their unfair convictions. Sadly, despite all our best efforts, in many countries, justice can be painfully slow. FTI’s tireless commitment to our clients remains vital.

10 www.FairTrials.net

Casework continues to be at the heart of what we do and who we are. It provides real benefits to individuals at times of great crisis and distress. It also informs the rest of our work by enabling us to identify recurrent patterns of injustice and to use real-life examples to illustrate and fight against them. FTI works all over the world and with clients of any nationality. During 2008 we provided our unique services, free of charge, to hundreds of people facing criminal proceedings outside their home country or who were the victim of a miscarriage of justice. Demand for our unique service continues to grow. We provide some form of advice or assistance to everyone who asks for our help. Sometimes we offer generic advice or basic information, drawing on our casework experience built up over many years. In numerous cases we help people to obtain effective legal advice and assistance from local experts by referring them to members of our invaluable networks of lawyers and NGOs around the world. We work hard to ensure that our resources are targeted where they are most needed and can be of greatest help. This means we have to make difficult decisions about the cases we become most actively involved in. We do this by looking at the severity of the alleged miscarriage of justice, the vulnerability of the defendant and how effective our intervention could be. As a small, specialist organisation we can act quickly when we are needed, responding to urgent situations and the different challenges of casework in all corners of the world. The following examples from our casework practice in 2008 demonstrate how the assistance we provide is as varied as the challenges our clients face.

In some cases we actively seek assistance from lawyers and other experts around the world. The ability to draw on the dedication and expertise of these professionals is vital to our work. It has enabled us to source invaluable legal advice for our clients, draft legal applications to the European Court of Human Rights and the UN Human Rights Committee, and assist in the production of appeals and pardon applications in foreign jurisdictions.

“I have had outstanding support from the organisation Fair Trials International. I cannot talk highly enough about their advice, support and drive for justice for my brother.”
Sister of a client, facing trial in Germany We have helped to turn cases around with the influence and assistance of MPs, MEPs, foreign lawyers, consular officials and non-governmental organisations such as Reprieve, Prisoners Abroad and the Islamic Human Rights Commission. Continued media interest in our cases has also enabled us to highlight recurrent themes of injustice and bring the plight of our clients to the public’s attention. Our clients, their families and supporters continue to amaze us with their strength, dignity and ability to support others, even if they are themselves facing difficult times. It is also immensely rewarding for the full-time caseworkers at FTI to work with volunteers who come into the office to assist us, often after a full day’s work elsewhere. They help to spread the word about our work and make others aware of the importance of fair trials and the rewards that can come from working in this field.

Fair Trials International Annual Review 2008 11

Cases

During 2008 we have assisted hundreds of people of many nationalities all over the world. The following are highlights from our casework. British School Girls, Ghana During the year, we worked hard to secure a fair trial for two 16 year old British school girls facing trial in Ghana. In July 2007 the girls were persuaded to take a short holiday in Ghana and, just before their return, were asked to carry bags back to the UK. Young, inexperienced and naïve, they agreed to do so. They were arrested at the airport after cocaine was found hidden in the bags. We worked closely with the girls’ lawyer in Ghana and with London-based barrister Joe Stone, of Doughty Street Chambers, to ensure the girls received the best possible defence. In January 2008 the girls were sentenced to one year’s imprisonment. Thankfully, the length of the sentence reflected the girl’s age and vulnerability. The girls and their families showed true strength and dignity throughout the harrowing ordeal of their trial, in spite of the media hype surrounding their case and return to the UK. Their experience sends an important warning to young people about the dangers of being unwittingly caught up in the drugs trade.
12 www.FairTrials.net

However, the best protection against further cases like this would be for the authorities to focus their efforts on catching the big fish, not the small fry. The men who groomed the two girls, and lured them to Ghana to carry the drugs were never prosecuted. Kenyan Client, United Arab Emirates During 2008 we assisted a 28 year old Kenyan national and mother of a 1 year old baby who is currently serving a 25 year prison sentence in Dubai for selling 0.61g cannabis, worth £7. On 17 August 2007 our client was arrested and charged with selling 0.61g cannabis to a police informant. She was severely beaten by officers until almost unconscious, leaving her mouth and nose bloodied. She was then interviewed without an interpreter and told to sign documents in Arabic, which she did not understand. She was sentenced to 25 years’ imprisonment and, at the end of 2008, her conviction and sentence was upheld on appeal. The 25 year prison sentence was grossly excessive, considering the amount of drugs involved and the client’s mental state at the time of the alleged offence – she was suffering from severe memory loss and confusion due to prescribed anti-depressant medication.

We highlighted the case on our website, bringing the strict anti drugs legislation of the United Arab Emirates to global attention. Our hope is that we can now help our client to apply for clemency and have her sentence reduced. Jody Aggett In 2003 Jody was sentenced to death (later commuted to life in prison) following his arrest in 2001 with three others (including his girlfriend), after police raided an ecstasymanufacturing site in the building where his apartment was located. He and his girlfriend had no idea that drugs were on the premises. They were convicted on the basis that they were physically in the house at the time of the raid. Jody’s girlfriend was pregnant at the time of their arrest and gave birth to their son in prison. Fair Trials International was concerned that there was no evidence linking Jody to the crime, that during the police interview no lawyer or interpreter was present, and that nothing was translated into English. In fact, Jody was forced to sign a confession – a pre-drafted text in Thai, which he did not understand. We highlighted the case on our website, liaised with consular officials in Thailand and worked with Jody’s family to get his death sentence commuted.

Jody appealed to the Supreme Court in Thailand and, in September 2007, was acquitted and returned to his family. He has finally been reunited with the son whose first 6 years had passed with his father behind bars. The family are now rebuilding their lives together in England. Mohammed Hussein British citizen Mohammed Hussein is in prison in Iraq, following an unsafe conviction, because he was at the wrong place at the wrong time. Mohammed fled Iraq in his teens in the early 1990s to escape anti-Shia political tension. He is a widely respected member of his community in Birmingham. Concerned about the safety of his elderly mother, who had remained in Iraq, in January 2007 Mohammed purchased return tickets to Iraq for himself, his British wife and his 2 year old son. On arrival, Mohammed became alarmed at the number of armed newcomers in the area and contacted the local police. Following a night of heavy gunfire that saw both his mother and sister killed, Mohammed and his family, together with everyone else in the area, were arrested.

Mohammed was then severely beaten by the Iraqi authorities and tortured until he signed a ‘confession’. He was charged with being “found in a place where a terrorist group was present”. Following a sham trial process, Mohammed was sentenced to 15 years’ imprisonment. A decision about his appeal is still outstanding. Fair Trials International is working closely with the Islamic Human Rights Commission, Mohammed’s MP Lynne Jones and his MEP Baroness Sarah Ludford to secure his release. We have made direct representations to the Iraqi President and the Iraqi Minister for Human Rights. Patrick Malluzzo Patrick Malluzzo is a 30 yearold British national serving a 10 year sentence for drugtrafficking in India. Patrick was arrested at Mumbai airport in January 2004 and charged with possession of drugs. While held in police custody over a period of two weeks Patrick suffered severe torture, sleep deprivation and other mistreatment.

Patrick’s subsequent trial, which ran for 15 months, was seriously flawed. The proceedings were held in Hindi, despite Patrick not understanding the language, and Patrick received grossly inadequate legal advice. Patrick was also forced to read a “confession” on television. Evidence that he was set up by someone that he had met in India was ignored, despite that person’s past record for drugs related offences. FTI learnt of the case after the initial trial, and have been working to ensure that his unfair conviction is overturned on appeal. We have secured the pro bono assistance of counsel Joe Stone, of Doughty Street Chambers, and solicitor advocate Priya Patel of Newmans LLP. Together we have helped to prepare grounds of appeal, in close cooperation with Patrick’s new Indian defence lawyer (whose services FTI helped Patrick’s family to obtain). We have also made representations to the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO), asking them for their assistance in securing an early appeal.

Fair Trials International Annual Review 2008 13

“As an MEP I enormously value FTI advice and intervention in cases involving my own constituents. FTI is also a significant player in seeking to develop EU criminal justice policy in a way that better protects the rights of all our citizens. I am gratified and honoured to be a patron.”
Baroness Sarah Ludford, MEP

14 www.FairTrials.net

Policy, Research and Campaigns

As well as helping individuals in need, our casework enables us to identify recurrent examples of injustice and discrimination facing foreign defendants around the world. Evidence from our casework helps us to design research and campaigns that build awareness and understanding of the root causes of injustice. We use the human perspective that comes from helping individuals in need to influence policy development and secure improvements in access to justice and fundamental rights. Travel Advice The link between FTI’s casework practice and our wider campaigns was well illustrated in 2008 by the launch of a campaign to raise public awareness of the strict laws on drugs and other banned substances in the United Arab Emirates. In early 2008, FTI became aware of a steep increase in the number of cases of travellers arrested for carrying small quantities of banned substances whether entering Dubai or merely travelling through Dubai airport. The zero-tolerance policy to drugs under UAE law means that possession of even microscopic amounts of drugs can lead to criminal prosecution, and an automatic custodial sentence of 4 years.

FTI became aware of several cases in which people were convicted for ‘possessing’ trace amounts of marijuana that are invisible to the naked eye and weigh less than a grain of sugar. One British man was convicted of possession of 0.003g of cannabis found in a cigarette stub on the sole of his shoe, another for having 0.03g of cannabis in his coat pocket. Possession of banned substances also includes any traces detected in urine, hair or bloodstream. The list of banned substances includes many common over-the-counter and prescription medication, such as painkillers, cough syrups, anti-depressants and even hormone replacement therapy medication. The UAE is becoming an increasingly popular tourist destination, and over 1 million British citizens visit Dubai every year. FTI was increasingly concerned at the lack of advice for travellers who could easily prevent unnecessary problems by taking a few basic precautions. In February 2008, we issued an urgent warning to all travellers to the UAE and published a list of banned substances on our website.

FTI’s warning was covered extensively in the national media and was picked up by specialist travel forums and magazines such as Wanderlust and Lonely Planet. Since we issued the travel warning, FTI has received calls every week from concerned travellers seeking advice. In addition to these preventative measures, FTI continues to assist those facing criminal charges in the UAE. As part of its campaign, FTI worked with the Foreign and Commonwealth Office to increase their awareness of individual cases, and to push for the British government to raise concerns with the UAE authorities over the unjust mandatory sentencing practice. While there has been no change in the law, in practice it appears that the UAE may now have relaxed its approach to some extent. The country may now be deporting travellers possessing trace amounts of banned substances rather than seeking criminal prosecution.

Fair Trials International Annual Review 2008 15

Consular Assistance Consular assistance is a lifeline for those arrested and imprisoned in a foreign country. Consular officers around the world provide crucial support in frequently challenging and difficult conditions. Consulates can provide practical support to help detainees maintain contact with their families, secure appropriate legal representation and translation, and understand the local legal system. Moreover, consular assistance can be vital in protecting the fundamental rights of detainees, including the right to a fair trial. One form of assistance that Consulates can provide is to attend the trial of an individual facing criminal charges. FTI’s clients frequently request that a consular officer be present in court to offer moral support and observe the trial. However, these requests are rarely granted. FTI recognises that consulates face a diverse range of demands on their time and work and have limited resources. However, we are concerned that a potentially important form of assistance is not readily available to those in need. Over the last year, FTI has been conducting research to better understand the role of consular trial attendance in promoting and protecting fair trial rights. This 2-year research project explores the policies and practices regarding consular trial attendance of five ministries of foreign affairs (Australia, Germany, the Netherlands, the UK, and the USA) and their consulates around the world. The next phase of the project will engage with experienced defence lawyers to explore their experiences of working with consulates, and their views on
16 www.FairTrials.net

the importance of consular trial attendance in protecting and supporting foreign defendants. FTI will report on the research in summer 2009. The research will be used to promote public debate on the provision of this essential public service. Protecting Fundamental Rights During 2008 we used our unique casework experience to influence the development of UK and EU policy on issues of access to justice and fundamental rights. In particular, FTI continued its campaign to raise the profile of defence rights and fair trials within the EU.

risk violating fundamental defence rights, and the very principle of justice itself. FTI believes that enhanced mutual recognition must be built on mutual trust. Mutual trust cannot exist unless basic standards of defence rights are in place across Europe. As a minimum, these must include the right to legal representation, the right to translation and interpretation, the right of the defendant to receive information about their case and, when applicable, the right to receive consular assistance. During 2008, FTI worked with MPs, MEPs, and policymakers both in the UK and at a European level to promote this key message, and was invited to provide evidence to the Justice and Home Affairs Future Group on the future direction of EU criminal justice policy. FTI was also pivotal in ensuring that amendments setting out minimum standards for notifying defendants of trials and hearings were included in an EU proposal that makes it easier to extradite an individual after a trial at which they were not present. While still far from ideal, due to FTI’s lobbying, the final measure contained significantly stronger procedural safeguards than were originally proposed.

“FTI plays a key role in fighting for the rights of those facing trial overseas. We work closely with them and value their input as we develop our own policies and strategy.”
Julian Braithwaite, Director, Consular Services, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Over the last five years, the EU has implemented a series of initiatives that make it easier for prosecutors and judicial authorities to co-operate and share information across national borders. However, the EU has failed to deliver on commitments to develop measures to strengthen procedural safeguards and ensure that fundamental defence rights are consistently applied across the EU. This leaves individuals increasingly vulnerable to aggressive law enforcement measures that

Right: Michael Shields Snr. Father of Michael Shields, Fair Trials International client since 2005

Fair Trials International Annual Review 17

Capacity Building

Training and Capacity Building FTI is committed to improving access to justice and a key element of this is working to improve access to effective and informed criminal defence. Despite advances in the administration of justice around the world, there remain many countries where providing essential defence representation is poorly valued or, worse, actively threatened. For this reason, we work to maintain and expand our networks of defence practitioners and those who influence the shape of justice and home affairs policy around the world. In this way, we can host peer-to-peer support, mentoring and training for defenders and bolster their efforts to secure fair trials according to international standards of justice in the communities where they practise.

Members of these networks also conduct ongoing work to improve the application of fundamental rights and defence rights in particular, and exchange information on the administration of justice to incorporate greater respect for fundamental rights into legal processes. As part of our programme of capacity building, we hold regular forums and meetings, and in 2008 successfully launched the European Young Defenders Network and the Legal Expert Advisory Panel. In addition, FTI continues to build a network of NGOs across Europe concerned with the rule of law and fundamental rights. European Young Defenders Network In March 2008 FTI hosted a week-long training conference in Nottingham, UK. The conference was attended by 45 emerging human rights defenders and legal professionals under the age of 35, drawn from the new Eastern European member states of Bulgaria and Romania, and from Italy and the UK. Participants received expert training on the promotion of respect for fundamental rights and defence rights in their respective countries, how to handle cross-border cases and obtain support from their peers for what can be difficult work.

18

www.FairTrials.net

The first Young Defenders Training Programme was a great success and FTI is planning to host further similar trainings in the future. The next conference is scheduled to take place in June 2009 and will regroup participants from existing EU countries as well as the candidate countries of Croatia and Turkey.

“FTI’s Young Defenders Programme was a great opportunity to meet young lawyers from across Europe and broaden my understanding of fair trial and defence rights in theory and in practice. Learning from each other about the challenges faced in different legal systems was an eye-opening experience.”
Florin Poiana, (Member of the Young Defenders’ Network)

Legal Expert Advisory Group FTI is constantly building its EUwide network of academics, legal professionals, NGOs and policy-makers who are experts in the field of fundamental rights, access to justice and criminal justice. In 2008, we launched our Legal Expert Advisory Panel (LEAP). This builds on FTI’s valuable experience of coordinating the former European Criminal Law Advisory Panel (ECLAP). LEAP members discuss issues such as the development of the new EU Justice Programme; measures to promote cross-border data sharing, related data protection issues and their implications for fundamental rights; the operation of the European Arrest Warrant and fair extradition; and how to achieve mainstreaming of procedural rights in criminal proceedings, particularly access to translation and legal assistance in criminal proceedings across the EU. The outcome of these discussions informs FTI’s policy, advocacy and research work. We also convey this information and expert input to legal, judicial and administrative authorities.

Fair Trials International Annual Review 2008 19

Accounts

Statement of Financial Activities For the year ended 31 March 2008
INCOME RESOURCES from generated funds Grants & Donations Bank Deposit Interest Total Incoming Resources Unrestricted Funds (£) 117,690 9,564 127,254 Restricted Funds (£) 171,352 171,352 Total 2008 (£) 289,042 9,564 298,606 Total 2007 (£) 161,170 8,293 169,463

RESOURCES EXPENDED Charitable Activities Casework & Policy Advice Work Governance Costs Total Resources Expended Net (expenditure) Income for the Year Net Movement in Funds Fund Balances at 1 April 2007 Fund Balances at 31 March 2008 78,070 4,225 82,295 139,952 139,952 218,022 4,225 222,247 200,865 4,170 205,035

44,959 16,736 61,695

31,400 6,780 38,180

76,359 23,516 99,875

(35,572) 59,088 23,516

Trustees Statement This financial statement is a summary of information extracted from the full annual accounts approved by the Trustees on 8 September 2008. This summary financial statement may not contain sufficient information to allow for a full understanding of the financial affairs of the charity. For further information, the full annual

accounts, the Independent Examiner’s Report on those annual accounts and the Trustees’ Annual Report should be consulted; copies of these may be obtained from The Treasurer, Fair Trials International, 59 Carter Lane, London EC4V 5AQ, United Kingdom. Signed on behalf of the Trustees Peter Lipscomb OBE

20

www.FairTrials.net

Balance Sheet For the year ended 31 March 2008
2008 (£) Fixed Assets Tangible Assets Current Assets Debtors Bank Balances & Deposits 2008 (£) 2007 (£) 2007 (£)

-

518

65,366 219,551 284,917

23,025 231,198 254,223

Creditors: Amounts falling due within one year Net Current Assets Total Assets less current liabilities Creditors: Amounts falling due after more than one year Net Assets Income Funds Restricted Funds Unrestricted Funds

(35,042) 249,875 249,875 (150,000) 99,875

(31,225) 222,998 223,516 (200,000) 23,516

38,180 61,695 99,875

6,780 16,736 23,516

Independent Examiners’ Report to the Trustees of the Fair Trials Abroad Trust We confirm that the summarised statement of financial activities and the summarised balance sheet are a fair extract from the full annual accounts of the Trust for the year ended 31

March 2008 on which we reported separately as Independent Examiners on 10 September 2008. Cartwrights, Accountants and Business Advisors, Regency House, 33 Wood Street, Barnet, Herts, EN5 4BE, United Kingdom

Fair Trials International Annual Review 2008 21

Fundraising

Fair Trials International is a small, specialist charity which relies on charitable grants, donations and some public funding to support its vital work. Securing funding from mainstream providers can be difficult; aspects of our work can fall outside funding criteria, and work on human rights in the field of criminal justice often competes at a disadvantage with other, more immediately identifiable causes. Yet the people we work with everyday – many of whom are victims of grievous human rights abuses – rely on our work as a very real lifeline. It is therefore essential that we have a robust fundraising strategy in place that clearly articulates our priority areas of work, in order to maintain existing supporters and to attract new sources of funding. In the past FTI has relied heavily on the generosity of individual donations, with some European Union funding and support from grant-making Trusts. These funds are particularly valuable as they can be used for general running costs and core activities, which can be difficult to fund from other sources.

We will continue to seek funding from statutory sources, including the EU, and from grant-making foundations.

“I leave you with my thanks and best wishes; just knowing that there are people out there that care makes a huge difference to us in here.”
From a UK prisoner in the US FTI has three fundraising priorities which reflect the key areas of our work: Casework Casework is at the heart of FTI’s work. Every year we help hundreds of clients across the globe. Over the next year we will actively seek funding to develop much-needed capacity to keep up with the increasing demand for our services. This will include funding for an additional caseworker and to support the costs of a weekly evening clinic.

Campaigns Our second priority area is to secure funding for innovative research on fair trial rights issues, and to develop highimpact campaigns to influence policy makers and practitioners. This will include seeking project funding for campaigns on consular assistance, to expand our capacity building among young lawyers in new EU member states, and to conduct research into justice and home affairs policy, from access to legal aid to mandatory prison transfers. Core services In order to support our casework and campaigning activities, FTI needs high quality administrative systems and support. In particular, we seek support for communications and paralegal assistance. We will also be seeking funding or in-kind contributions to our other core costs. In addition to funding support, FTI welcomes in-kind and pro bono support from lawyers, service providers and others able to contribute to our work. If you would like to support our work, as a volunteer, member, donor, in-kind sponsor or funder, please contact us on 020 7762 6400 or at jago.russell@fairtrials.net

22

www.FairTrials.net

Who we are

Trustees Peter Lipscomb OBE Chair Edward Hutson Treasurer Deborah Annetts Peter Carter QC Belinda Harding JP Andrew Hobson Martin Hughes HH Judge Dennis Levy QC Tara Lyle Nigel Siederer Hans Warendorf

Staff Jago Russell Chief Executive (from September 2008) Catherine Wolthuizen Chief Executive (until September 2008) Sabine Zanker Head of Legal Team Amanda Cumberland Head of Research and Campaigns Saima Hirji Solicitor (until September 2008) Priscillia de Corson Policy Officer & Caseworker Catherine Heard Caseworker Cindy Nesbit Project Officer (until June 2008)

Patrons Kathalijne Buitenweg MEP Paolo Iorio, Avvocato Lord Goodhart QC Stephen Jakobi OBE Founder of FTI Baroness Sarah Ludford MEP Jozef Rammelt, Advocat Maître Robert Thompson Geoffrey van Orden MEP

Fair Trials International Annual Review 2008 23

Thanks

Pro Bono assistance FTI and our clients rely heavily on the support of dozens of lawyers and other professionals around the globe. We would particularly like to thank the following for their assistance during 2008: Arnold & Porter (UK) LLP Peter Carter QC 18 Red Lion Court Jeremy Donne QC QEB Hollis Whiteman Edwards Angell Palmer & Dodge LLP Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP Edwin Glasgow QC. 39 Essex Street Hickman & Rose Solicitors Adam King QEB Hollis Whiteman Eleanor Mawrey 9 Gough Square Alex Milne 18 Red Lion Court Jonathan Mitchell 25 Bedford Road Oury Clark Solicitors Priya Patel Neumans LLP Faisal Saifee Thomas Moore Chambers Joe Stone Doughty Street Chambers White & Case LLP
24 www.FairTrials.net

Volunteers FTI’s work would not be possible without the many volunteers and interns that assist us. In particular we would like to thank: Noémie Bienvenu Andrea Bumcke Patrick Callaghan Nancy Card Zakiyya Chowdhury Zeina Chedid Drewry Cooper Nikki Costa Faye Goddard Aurélie Godet Daniel Haddad Catherine Heard Melanie Jacques Tomasz Jedrowski Arturo John Andrea Kapelke Sandjar Khasanov Sandra Malo Mafalda Isotta Marchioro Natasha Mellersh Addrienne Munday Patrick Muwanguzi Amir Nakhjavani Cindy Nesbit Gemma Robertson Nick Rowe Catherine Schade Georgia Sessi Charles Sinclair Antonio Suarez-Martinez Amanda Telfer Beverley Warnes Hanna Wright Amy Yau Yida Xu

Supporters During the course of the year, we have been privileged to gain several major sources of funding without which we could not carry out our work. In particular, we would like to thank: The Bromley Trust The European Community The European Union Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency The Foxglove Trust Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP Goldman Sachs Herbert Smith LLP Mr and Mrs Holinger The Inverforth Charitable Trust The Joseph Rowntree Charitable Trust The Law Society Charity The Network for Social Change The Nuffield Foundation The Tanner Trust Mr and Mrs Warendorf William Grant & Sons Limited Thank you as well to all our individual donors. Your support keeps us going and we could not do without you.

Partners and Others FTI relies heavily on the individuals and organisations, including the many members of our networks, who assist us in our fight for fair trials and our defence of the rights of individuals facing charges in a country other than their own. There are too many individuals and organisations to list here but we would particularly like to thank: Advisory Group Members, Consular Research Project Avocats Sans Frontieres Italia Bulgarian Lawyers for Human Rights Centre for European Political Studies Death Penalty Project Euromos European Criminal Bar Association Consular Directorate, British Foreign and Commonwealth Office JUSTICE Legal Expert Advisory Panel Prisoners Abroad Redress Reprieve The University of Nottingham Human Rights Law Centre

Fair Trials International 3rd Floor 59 Carter Lane London EC4V 5AQ United Kingdom Tel: 0044 (0) 207 762 6400 Fax: 0044 (0) 207 762 6401

Fair Trials International Annual Review 25

26

To r on w Mi of in ork ssi rig ju te fo on ch ht sti rna r th ar s o ce tio fai an ge f an n r t th s in tho d d al s rial ei a se e ta s Fa r o c f fe n ba 3r ir w ou aci nd dar se 59 d F Tri n n n th d d Lo C lo als tr g e s yo Un nd art or In th te ite on er er rn d EC La at Ki 4 ne io ng V na do 5A l m Q

Ou

www.FairTrials.net


				
DOCUMENT INFO
Shared By:
Tags: Annual, Review
Stats:
views:210
posted:1/18/2010
language:English
pages:28
Description: Annual Review