ADAPTING ADAPTING STANDARDS OF CARE

Document Sample
ADAPTING ADAPTING STANDARDS OF CARE Powered By Docstoc
					                   ADAPTING STANDARDS OF CARE
                    UNDER EXTREME CONDITIONS
                                               June 12, 2008
                                                       Overview:

                              The American Nurses Association recently released:
                              Adapting Standards of Care Under Extreme
                              Conditions: Guidance for Professionals During
                              Disasters, Pandemics, and Other Extreme
                              Emergencies which identifies significant policy
                              questions to be addressed and suggests strategies to
                              guide health professionals, institutions and policy
                              makers in such challenging situations.

                               The speakers, who co-chaired the development of the
                               document will discuss how decisions will have to be
                               made regarding changes in usual practices due to
                               changes in resources available, practice in unusual
                               settings, or practice in a setting with patient care
                               needs unfamiliar to the clinician.




Speakers:                                                                           Live                Rebroadcast
Kristine M. Gebbie, DrPH, RN                                    Eastern        10:00-11:15am             4:00-5:15 pm
Elizabeth Standish Gill Professor of Nursing                     Central        9:00-10:15am            3:00-4:15 pm
Director, Center for Health Policy                              Mountain        8:00-9:15 am            2:00-3:15 pm
Columbia University School of Nursing                            Pacific        7:15-8:15 am             1:00-2:15 pm
                                                                 Alaska         6:15-7:15 am            12:00-1:00 pm
Kathleen M. White, PhD, RN, CNAA, BC                             Hawaii         5:15-6:15 am          11:15am-12:15 pm
Assoc Professor/Director of Masters Program
Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing

                                                                                Local Viewing Site:
                                                                           UAlbany School of Public Health,
                                                                            East Campus, Rensselaer, NY



                                                 Registration:
                     To register your facility with programmable satellite dish to receive signal, visit
                                       http://www.ualbanycphp.org/registration/
                          To register for live webcast viewable at your personal computer with
                                                           internet connection, visit
                   http://www.prepareiowa.com/Public/Catalog/Description.aspx?CourseID=604