What is Cub Scouting by student19


									Cub Scouting is a family- and home-centered part of the Boy Scouting program that helps boys develop ethical decision-making skills with activities emphasize character development, citizenship training, and personal fitness. Your boy will be in Cub Scouts for three years:

What is Cub Scouting?

Wolf Den Age 8

Bear Den Age 9

Webelos Den Age 10

Each den meets weekly. Den meetings are planned to explore the monthly theme and contribute to advancement requirements. The Wolf den meets every __________________ at _______p.m. The Pack is made up of the boys in each den, their leaders and their families. The Pack meets once a month as the culmination of the month’s den meetings and activities. The month’s activities are planned around a monthly theme and include ceremonies, recognition of boys who have earned awards, skits and games, and exhibits of things the boys have made at den meetings. Pack meeting is held:______________________________________ Cub Scout Advancement The first badge to earn is the Bobcat Badge: 1. Learn and say the Cub Scout Promise and complete the Honesty Character Connection. 2. Say the Law of the Pack and tell what it means. 3. Tell what Webelos means. 4. Make the Cub Scout sign. Tell what it means. 5. Show the Cub Scout handshake. Tell what it means. 6. Say the Cub Scout motto. 7. Give the Cub Scout salute. Tell what it means. 8. With your parent or guardian, complete the Bobcat requirements section of “How to Protect Your Children from Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide.” Earn the Bobcat badge before the next Pack Meeting: Date: ___________________

Cub Scout Advancement
To earn the Wolf rank, a boy must pass 12 achievements involving physical and mental skills There are 24 Bear achievements in four categories: God, Country, Family, and Self. To earn the Bear rank, a boy must complete 12 of these.

Webelos helps a boy transition from Cub Scouts to Boy Scouts. Most of a boy’s advancement work is approved by the Webelos den leader or an activity badge counselor.

After earning the Wolf or Bear Badge, your boy can earn Arrow Points  A GOLD Arrow Point for the first ten electives completed  A SILVER Arrow Point for each additional ten electives completed There is no limit to the number of Arrow Points a boy may earn

Arrow of Light Award
The highest award a boy can earn as a Cub Scout is the Arrow of Light, earned while he is a Webelos Scout. It is the only Cub Scout badge authorized to be worn on the Boy Scout uniform.

Cub Scout Promise I, ______________, promise to do my best To do my duty to God and my country, To help other people, and To obey the Law of the Pack. The Law of the Pack The The The The Cub Scout follows Akela. Cub Scout helps the pack go. pack helps the Cub Scout grow. Cub Scout gives goodwill.

Cub Scout Motto Do Your Best

How Cub Scouting Helps Your Boy Fun Goal Setting Service Belonging Social Skills Values Hands On Experience Teaches Self-Reliance How Cub Scouting Helps Your Family Derbies Pack Meetings Family Centered Program Family Involvement Good Role Models Religious Award The Pack’s Responsibilities to the Family:      To provide a well-planned, year-round program of activities in the den and pack To provide trained, qualified and enthusiastic leaders for all den and pack activities To provide training for parents/guardians and to keep them informed To provide activities that help strengthen family members and give them opportunities to work and play together To help families participate in Cub Scouting Outings

How the Family Can Provide Help and Support for the Pack:       Work with their Cub Scout on advancement requirements Attend pack meetings with their Cub Scout Help at an occasional den meeting Provide refreshments Assist with transportation Serve on the pack committee as needed

Faith in God Religious Award
Each boy should begin working on the Faith in God award when he turns eight years old and finish all of the requirements in the guidebook before his twelfth birthday. To earn the Cub Scout Religious Square Knot complete all the activities with a square knot emblem next to them when he is nine or ten years old. Basic       Requirements: Pray daily to Heavenly Father. Read the scriptures regularly. Keep the commandments and live “My Gospel Standards.” Honor your parents and be kind to your family. Pay your tithing and attend tithing settlement. Attend sacrament meetings and Primary regularly.

Other Requirements:  Write your testimony.  Memorize the Articles of Faith and explain what they mean.  Complete at least two activities each year in the guidebook for: o Learning and Living the Gospel o Serving Others o Developing Talents  While you are eleven years old, complete the activities for: o Preparing for the Priesthood  Have an interview with your bishop or branch president.

To top