Document Sample
2010 BENIN SUMMER SCHOOL Powered By Docstoc
					2010 BENIN SUMMER SCHOOL June 28- July 11 2010
Recent Developments in Nonlinear Analysis and Applications

The aim of this summer school is to bring together PhD students, junior faculty and wellestablished experts working in the areas of Analysis, PDEs and the Calculus of Variations. This program is also expected to foster long-term collaborations between the participants from Africa, America and Europe.

Scientific Overview
The program consists of two main parts. The first part is a series of mini-courses that introduce basic tools in geometric analysis, Morse theory, contact geometry, the calculus of variations and partial differential equations. The second part is a workshop that focuses on research topics connected to the subject areas of the mini-courses.

Mini-course speakers:
There will be four mini-courses directed toward graduate students, by:
-Abbas Bahri (Rutgers University)

-John Ball (University of Oxford) -Luis Caffarelli (University of Texas at Austin) -Lawrence Craig Evans (University of California at Berkeley) -Cedric Villani (Institut Henri Poincare)

Workshop speakers:

(*To be confirmed)

Martial Agueh (University of Victoria) Mohameden Ould Ahmedou (Eberhard-Karls -Universitat Tubingen)

Gerard Awanou (Northern Illinois University) Olivier Besson (Universite de Neuchatel) Eric Carlen (Rutgers University) Maria Carvalho (University of Lisbon) Charles Chidume (ICTP, Italy) Bernard Dacorogna (Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne) Guy Degla (IMSP/UAC) Irene Fonseca (Carnegie Mellon University) Irene Gamba (University of Texas at Austin) Nassif Ghoussoub (University of Bristish Columbia, Canada) Gilles Gnancadja (Amgen Inc.) Come Goudjo (UAC, Benin) Jean-Pierre Gossez (ULB, Belgique) Slim Ibrahim (University of Victoria) Jean Lubuma* (University of Pretoria) Robert McCann* (University of Toronto) Nader Masmoudi (Courant Institute, NYU) Gabriel Nguetseng (University of Yaounde) Jose Fransisco Rodrigues (University of Lisbon) Diaraf Seck (Universite Cheikh Anta Diop) Hamidou Toure* (Universite du Burkina)

Deadline for registration and submission of abstracts: April 15, 2010 Deadline for payment of registration fees: May 15, 2010 Working languages : French, English

The application form is available online at the school website at: Please submit

the complete application file (application form and the required documents) by email to Aboubacar Marcos at: or

For additional information, please contact: Aboubacar Marcos IMSP, BP 613 Porto-Novo, Benin Fax: (229) 20222455, Cell: (229) 95155144 or Wilfrid Gangbo School of mathematics Georgia Institute of Technology, USA Tel (404) 894-7055, Fax: (404) 894-4409

There are limited support for travel and living expenses. However, the program expects to support few participants. Priority will be given to junior researchers and participants from emergent nations.

Registration Fees
The registration fees are to cover coffee breaks and lunches: Students : 100 euros (50 euros per week) Faculty: 200 euros (100 euros per week)

Scientific Committee
Abbas Bahri (Rutgers University) Wilfrid Gangbo (Georgia Tech) Nassif Ghoussoub (University of British Columbia) Jean-Pierre Gossez (ULB, Belgique)

Come Goudjo (UAC, Benin) Aboubacar Marcos (IMSP/UAC) Joel Tossa (IMSP/UAC)

Martial Agueh (University of Victoria) Bernardin Ahounou (FAST/UAC) Guy Degla (IMSP/UAC) Wilfrid Gangbo (Georgia Tech) Cyprien Gnanvo (FAST/UAC) Aurelien Goudjo (FAST/UAC) Come Goudjo (UAC, Benin) Leadi Liamidi (FAST/UAC) Aboubacar Marcos (IMSP/UAC) Carlos Ogouyandjou (IMSP/UAC) Joel Tossa (UAC, Benin) Léonard Todjihounde (IMSP/UAC) Hamidou Toure (Univ. Ouaga, Burkina-Faso)

Organizing Institutions and Potential Sponsors
This program is initiated by the Institut de Mathematiques et de Sciences Physiques (IMSP) and the Département de Mathématiques de la Faculte des Sciences et Techniques (UAC, Benin). The organizers of the program will seek financial support from the Benin government, the National Science Foundation (USA), the John Templeton Foundation (USA), UAC (Benin), IMSP (Benin), ICTP (Italy), CDE, UMI, IHES (France), CIMPA.