Skills Recognition and Qualifications Certificate IV in Government by undul846


									Information Sessions
The Commission schedules regular information sessions for APS staff who are interested in applying for recognition. Supervisors may also like to attend these sessions. Please check the Commission’s public calendar for details of an information session convenient for you. At the session you will receive information on the following topics:
• Introductory information on RTOs, qualifications, competencies, assessment and recognition • The benefits of accredited learning and qualifications • Information on the Commission’s scope of registration

• The relationship between the Commission’s programmes and competencies

• Detailed information on the Commission’s assessment and recognition processes

As places on these information sessions are limited please register online at or fax the completed registration form to (02) 6202 3799. Programme name Skills Recognition and Qualifications Information Session Programme date/s Surname Mr Ms Mrs APS 1 Miss APS 2 Other APS 3 APS 4 Agency APS 5 APS 6 EL 1 EL 2 Location First name

Skills Recognition and Qualifications

Classification Title/Position Branch/team Postal address Phone Email

Certificate IV in Government


Do you identify as Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander?
(This information will assist the Commission to improve learning and development outcomes for Indigenous employees)

Special needs Please note any special dietary or other requirements

Payment This is a free session
Identifying information: Your information is collected for the purpose of the Public Service Commissioner’s functions under the Public Service Act 1999, which include coordinating and supporting APS-wide training and career development opportunities and fostering leadership and reporting on the State of the Service. It will be used for course administration, statistical analysis and evaluation of programmes. Some details may be disclosed to your home agency for administrative and statistical/monitoring purposes. Your information may be used to distribute information about other Commission-run or sponsored opportunities and to check our other databases. Occasionally mailing lists are made available to bodies with related functions. If you do not wish to have your information used for marketing purposes email Commission mailing list request. For more details see our privacy statement at Other conditions: Whilst the Commission aims to deliver programmes at the locations and on the dates specified in this publication, changes may occur. The Commission will endeavour to provide reasonable notice to participants of these changes.

Certificate IV in Government

Skills Recognition for APS Employees
The Australian Public Service Commission is a Registered Training Organisation (RTO) and provides assessment and recognition services in key areas of government skills and knowledge. Through skills recognition APS employees can achieve a nationally recognised qualification or statement of attainment based on their existing skills.

Certificate IV in Government (PSP40104)
The Certificate IV in Government is a generalist qualification for APS employees working without close supervision and generally demonstrating a range of skills rather than a particular specialty. Many of the Commission’s learning and development programmes can assist you in developing the skills that you need to achieve this qualification. You can be awarded the Certificate IV in Government by participating in the Commission’s Skills Recognition programme and achieve a statement of attainment or qualification for your skills and knowledge. You will need to gather samples of your work that demonstrate your achievement of public sector units of competency and obtain reports from your supervisor, or other third parties, to support your claims. You will be awarded a statement of attainment for each unit of competency you demonstrate successfully. To be awarded the Certificate IV in Government you will need to demonstrate your skills against 15 units of competency: 7 required units and 8 elective units.

• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •

Undertake career planning (PSPGOV410A) Deal with conflict (PSPGOV411A) Compose complex workplace documents (PSPGOV413A) Monitor performance and provide feedback (PSPGOV416A) Develop internal and external networks (PSPGOV418A) Exercise delegations (PSPGOV421A) Design simple projects (PSPPM401B) Manage simple projects (PSPPM402B) Close simple projects (PSPPM403B) Contribute to policy development (PSPPOL401A) Assist with specialist policy development (PSPPOL402A) Give and receive policy information (PSPPOL403A) Administer contracts (PSPPROC410A) Use public sector financial processes (PSPFIN401A) Implement effective workplace relationships (BSBFLM403B) Promote team effectiveness (BSBFLM412A) Manage a small team (BSBSBM407A)

Relevant units of competency that have been awarded by another RTO will be recognised by the Commission under the Commonwealth Government’s ‘Mutual Recognition’ arrangements and may contribute to your Certificate IV in Government qualification.

The Recognition process
• Select the competencies you wish to seek recognition in • Complete the relevant self-assessment documents which are available on the • Register and pay for assessment and submit your portfolio of evidence • A Commission assessor will formally evaluate your portfolio and may meet with you • If you meet the necessary competency requirements you will be awarded a statement • The Certificate IV in Government will be awarded when you have achieved

Commission’s website

Required Units
• • • • • • •

Uphold and support the values and principles of public service (PSPETHC401A) Deliver and monitor service to clients (PSPGOV402B) Value diversity (PSPGOV408A) Use advanced workplace communication strategies (PSPGOV412A) Apply government processes (PSPGOV422A) Encourage compliance with legislation in the public sector (PSPLEGN401A) Support policy implementation (PSPPOL404A)

to further evaluate your skills and discuss options to address any gaps in evidence of attainment in your selected competencies 15 appropriate competencies

Fees and Charges
$150 per Unit of Competency (Certificate IV) assessed 25% discount applies where more than one unit of competency is submitted together for assessment (Fees are GST inclusive)

Elective Units
One of the eight electives needs to be selected from:
• Contribute to workplace safety (PSPOHS301A) • Implement workplace safety procedures and programs (PSPOHS401B)

The remaining seven elective units can be selected from the following, which are currently available for recognition at the Commission:
• Use resources to achieve work unit goals (PSPGOV403B) • Provide input into change processes (PSPGOV405B) • Gather and analyse information (PSPGOV406B)

Further information
To find out more about the Commission’s Skills Recognition services visit the website: and read the Information Guide for Recognition and Assessment Services or attend a free information session at the Commission (see over). You can also contact the National Recognition Coordinator on (02) 6202 3787 or

To top