Docstoc

A Guide to the common E numbers

Document Sample
A Guide to the common E numbers Powered By Docstoc
					A Guide to the common E numbers found in Fast Moving Consumer Goods(FMCG). Muslims are advised to take these only as a guide and display Taqwa in all doubtful situations. This list is the current update and is subject to occasional updates. Those numbers that do not appear here are possibly doubtful. Please refrain from them as well.
E- means EC (European communities) and E-Numbers are assigned to various food additives. Some E-Numbers are banned in some countries. In UK Numbers without E prefix are allowed but may not be allowed in other country. We are getting lot of e-mails from our Muslims brother and sisters inquiring about Halal status of E-Numbers, so we decided to add to our web site. E-Numbers are divided into following category: E-Numbers 100-180 200-252 260-297 300-385 400-429 430-499 620-640 950-967 Food Additives Colors Preservatives Acidities Antioxidant Thickeners Emulsifiers Flavor Enhancer Sweeteners

Halal Status: The Halal status was given to the ingredients which are obtained from 100% Halal raw materials without use of alcohol. These are plant and chemical based material. Haram: Those are obtained from animal source or use of alcohol. All non-zabiha Halal animal by-products were considered as Haram because Allah’s name was not announced at the time of slaughtering the animal. Off course pork by product was considered 100% Haram. Some Muslims may differ with us about not accepting the meat slaughtered by people of the book as not Halal meat.

Mushbooh: Mushbooh status was given to those E-Numbers where source of raw material was not known, it could be from plant source or animal source and also lack of information of use of alcohol with based ingredients.

Hidden ingredients: We have no knowledge of different food laws in different countries regarding hidden processing aid ingredients which may be Haram. HARAM E – NUMBERS: The following ingredients are considered as Haram: E 120: Cochineal (red color from insects) according to Hanafi Muzhab E 441: Gelatin, if it is from pig E 542: Edible Bone Phosphate if it is from pork bones We have carefully checked these ingredients based on our knowledge of US food industry. Sources of food ingredients in different countries may be different and we request you to check them out by contacting the food ingredient suppliers and food manufacturer in your country. Warning: Some ingredients are not 100% pure. Hidden ingredients or processing aid ingredients are added to help dissolve or mix or process a food ingredient in a food system. These hidden ingredients are not reported along the food ingredients names or ingredients statement of a food product where they use if they fall under regulatory allowance such as a maximum 2% of the total formula of a food ingredient or food product in US. For example Beta Carotene food ingredient in US is not 100% pure, it is 98% pure and 2% may include vegetable oil or fish gelatin. Please verify the Halal status of the hidden ingredients from food ingredients suppliers or food manufacturer in your country. E-Number Name Description Halal Status Halal if pure grind turmeric powder or granular. Mushbooh if used as liquid, the solvents has to be Halal. Haram if hidden ingredient is pork fat based emulsifier in dry mix. Mushbooh (Haram if from pork liver & Kidney, Halal if 100% plant material Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent other than water has to be Halal

E100

Curcumin/Turmeric

Color

E101

Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)

Color

E102

Tartrazine

Color

E104

Quinoline Yellow

Color

E110

Sunset Yellow FCF / Orange Yellow S Cochineal / Carminic Acid

Color

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Haram according to Hanafi Muzhab Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if use as is as a 100% synthetic color but if pork glycerin is added as a solvent then it is Haram Halal if use 100% powder or Halal if water or vegetable oil was used as a solvent Halal if use 100% powder or Halal if water or vegetable oil was used as a solvent Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal

E120

Color

E122

Carmoisine / Azorubine

Color

E123

Amaranth

Color

E124

Ponceau 4R / Cochineal Red A

Color

E127

Erythrosine BS

Color

E131

Patent Blue V

Color

E132

Indigo Carmine / Idigotine

Color

E140

Chlorophyll

Color

E141

Copper Complex of Chlorophyll

Color

E142

Green S / Acid Brilliant Green BS Caramel Color/with

Color

E150(a-d)

Color

chemicals Black PN / Brilliant Black BN Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if used as 100% dry powder or granular or Halal if vegetable oil is used as a solvent in liquid form as a hidden ingredient. Haram if pork gelatin is used as hidden ingredient or carrier Halal if used as 100% dry powder or granular or Halal if vegetable oil is used as a solvent in liquid form as a hidden ingredient. Haram if pork gelatin is used as hidden ingredient or carrier Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if used as 100%

E151

Color

E153

Carbon Black / Vegetable Carbon (Charcoal)

Color

E160a

Alpha, Beta, Gamma

Color - Carotene

E160b

Annatto, Bixin, Norbixin

Color - Carotene

E160c

Capsanthin / Capsorbin

Color- Carotene

E160d

Lycopene

Color - Carotene

E160e

Beta-apo-8-carotenal

Color - Carotene

E160f

Ethyl ester of Beta-apo8-cartonoic acid

Color - Carotene

E161a

Flavoxanthin

Color

E161b

Lutein

Color

dry powder or granular. Haram if pork gelatin or pork glycerin is added in dry or liquid form Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if obtained from rock mineral and used as 100% dry powder or granular. Mushbooh if used as liquid, solvent has to be Halal Halal Halal Halal Halal

E161c

Cryptoxanthin

Color

E161d

Rubixanthin

Color

E161e

Violaxanthin

Color

E161f

Rhodoxanthin

Color

E161g

Canthaxanthin

Color

E162

Beetroot Red / Betanin

Color

E163

Anthocyanins

Color

E170

Calcium Carbonate (Chalk)

Color - Inorganic

E171 E172 E173 E174

Titanium Dioxide Iron Oxides and Hydroxides Aluminium Silver

Color - Inorganic Color - Inorganic Color - Inorganic Color - Inorganic

E175

Gold Pigment Rubine / Lithol Rubine BK Sorbic Acid Soduim Sorbate Potassium Sorbate Calcium Sorbate Benzoic Acid Sodium Benzoate Potassium Benzoate Calcium Benzoate

Color - Inorganic

Halal Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal Halal Halal Halal Halal Halal Halal Halal, if calcium obtained from mineral, Mushbooh if it is obtained from bones. Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent Halal Halal Halal Halal

E180

Color - Inorganic

E200 E201 E202 E203 E210 E211 E212 E213

Preservative Preservative Preservative Preservative Preservative Preservative Preservative Preservative

E214

Ethyl 4hydroxybenzoate Ethyl 4hydroxybenzoate, Sodium Salt Propyl 4hydroxybenzoate Propyl 4hydroxybenzoate, Sodium Salt Methyl 4hydroxybenzoate Methyl 4hydroxybenzoate, Sodium Salt Sulphur Dioxide Sodium Sulphite Sodium Hydrogen Sulphite Sodium Metabisulphite

Preservative

E215

Preservative

E216

Preservative

E217

Preservative

E218

Preservative

E219 E220 E221 E222 E223

Preservative Preservative Preservative Preservative Preservative

E224 E226

Potassium Metabisulphite Calcium Sulphite Calcium Hydrogen Sulphite

Preservative Preservative

Halal Halal Halal, if calcium is obtained from mineral or chemicals. Mushbooh if it is obtained from bones. Halal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent Halal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent Halal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent Halal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent Halal Halal Halal Halal Halal

E227

Preservative

E230 E231 E232 E233 E239 E249 E250 E251 E252 E260 E261 E262 E263 E270 E280 E281 E282 E283 E290 E300 E301 E302

Biphenyl / Diphenyl 2-Hydroxybiphenyl Sodium Biphenyl-2-yl Oxide 2-(Thiazol-4-yl) Benzimidazole Hexamine Potassium Nitrate Sodium Nitrite Sodium Nitrate Potassium Nitrate(Saltpetre) Acetic Acid Potassium Acetate Potassium Hydrogen Diacetate Calcium Acetate Lactic Acid Propionic Acid Sodium Propionate Calcium Propionate Potassium Propionate Carbon Dioxide L-Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C) Sodium-L-Ascorbate Calcium-L-Ascorbate

Preservative Preservative Preservative Preservative Preservative - other Preservative Preservative Preservative Preservative

Miscellaneous - Acids Halal Miscellaneous - Acids Halal Miscellaneous - Acids Halal Miscellaneous - Acids Halal Halal if obtained other than whey. In USA it is Miscellaneous - Acids always from non dairy source. Preservative - Acids Preservative- Acids Preservative- Acids Preservative- Acids Miscellaneous Halal Halal Halal if calcium obtained from mineral, Mushbooh if it obtained from bones Halal Halal

Antioxidants- Vitamin Halal C Antioxidants- Vitamin Halal C and derivatives Halal, if the calcium Antioxidants- Vitamin source is from mineral, C and derivatives Mushbooh if it is from

bones Halal if saturated fatty acid Palmitic acid is Antioxidants- Vitamin obtained from plant. C and derivatives Haram if palmitic acid is obtained from pork fat Halal If Tocopherol is Antioxidants- Vitamin obtained from plant fat. E Haram if Tocopherol is obtained from pork fat Halal only if it is made Antioxidants- Vitamin with all Halal synthetic E material without alcoholic fermentation Halal only if it is made with all Halal synthetic Antioxidants- Vitamin material without E alcoholic fermentation synthetic method Halal only if it is made Antioxidants- Vitamin with all Halal synthetic E material without alcoholic fermentation Antioxidants- other Antioxidants- other Halal Halal if obtained from nutgalls or plant secretion Halal if obtained from nutgalls or plant secretion. Haram if alcohol was used as solvent Halal if only vegetable oil is used as a carrier. Haram if the carrier is from pork fat. It is not available as pure 100% chemical. Halal if only vegetable oil is used as a carrier. Haram if the carrier is from pork fat. It is not available as pure 100% chemical. Halal if obtained from soy fat or egg yolk in Europe. It is Halal in USA because it is always obtained from soy fat.

E304

Ascorbyl Palmitate

E306

Natural Extracts rich in Tocopherols

E307

Synthetic AlphaTocopherol

E308

Synthetic GammaTocopherol

E309 E310 E311

Synthetic DeltaTocopherol Propyl Gallate Octyl Gallate

E312

Dodecyl Gallate

Antioxidants- other

E320

Butylated Hydroxyanisole (BHA)

Antioxidants- other

E321

Butylated Hydroxytoluene (BHT)

Antioxidants- other

E322

Lecithin

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers

E325 E326

Sodium Lactate Potassium Lactate

Miscellaneous - Salts Halal if the lactic acid of Lactic Acid from non dairy source Miscellaneous - Salts Halal if the lactic acid of Lactic Acid from non dairy source Halal if the lactic acid Miscellaneous - Salts from non dairy source of Lactic Acid and calcium from mineral Miscellaneous - Citric Halal Acid and its Salts Miscellaneous - Citric Halal Acid and its Salts Miscellaneous - Citric Halal Acid and its Salts Miscellaneous - Citric Halal if calcium source Acid and its Salts is not from bones Halal, if it is not obtained from wine byMiscellaneous product, in USA it is Tartaric Acid and its Halal because it is Salts obtained from unfermented grapes. Halal, if it is not obtained from wine byMiscellaneous product, in USA it is Tartaric Acid and its Halal because it is Salts obtained from unfermented grapes. Halal, if it is not obtained from wine byMiscellaneous product, in USA it is Tartaric Acid and its Halal because it is Salts obtained from unfermented grapes. Halal, if it is not obtained from wine byMiscellaneous product, in USA it is Tartaric Acid and its Halal because it is Salts obtained from unfermented grapes. Miscellaneous Phosphoric Acid and its Salts Miscellaneous Phosphoric Acid and its Salts Miscellaneous Phosphoric Acid and its Salts Halal

E327

Calcium Lactate

E330 E331 E332 E333

Citric Acid Sodium Citrates Potassium Citrates Calcium Citrates

E334

Tartaric Acid

E335

Sodium Tartrates

E336

Potassium Tartrates (Cream of Tartar)

E337

Potassium Sodium Tartrates

E338

Orthophosphoric Acid

E339

Sodium Phosphates

Halal

E340

Potassium Phosphates

Halal

E341 E400 E401 E402 E403 E404 E405 E406

Calcium Phosphates Alginic Acid Sodium Alginate Potassium Alginate Ammonium Alginate Calcium Alginate Propane-1,2-Diol Alginate Agar

Miscellaneous Halal if calcium from Phosphoric Acid and mineral source its Salts Emulsifiers and Halal Stabilizers - Alginates Emulsifiers and Halal Stabilizers - Alginates Emulsifiers and Halal Stabilizers - Alginates Emulsifiers and Halal Stabilizers - Alginates Emulsifiers and Halal if calcium source Stabilizers - Alginates is from mineral Emulsifiers and Halal Stabilizers - Alginates Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums Sugar Alcohols Sugar Alcohols Halal

E407

Carrageenan Locust Bean Gum (Carob Gum) Guar Gum

Halal

E410

Halal

E412

Halal

E413

Tragacanth Gum Acacia (Gum Arabic) Xanthan Gum Sorbitol Mannitol

Halal.

E414

Halal

E415 E420 E421

Halal Halal Halal Mushbooh, called Glycerin in USA, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat Halal Halal

E422

Glycerol

Sugar Alcohols

E440a E440b

Pectin Amidated Pectin

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Pectin and derivatives Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Pectin

and derivatives E450a,b,c Sodium and Potassium Phosphates and Polyphosphates Microcrystalline / Powdered Cellulose Methylcellulose Miscellaneous Halal

E460

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose Halal and derivatives Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose Halal and derivatives

E461

E463

Emulsifiers and Hydroxypropylcellulose Stabilizers - Cellulose Halal and derivatives HydroxypropylMethylcellulose Ethylmethylcellulose Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose Halal and derivatives Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose Halal and derivatives

E464

E465

E466

Emulsifiers and Carboxymethylcellulose, Stabilizers - Cellulose Halal Sodium Salt and derivatives Sodium, Potassium and Calcium Salts of Fatty Acids Mono-and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Mushbooh, Halal if it is Stabilizers - salts or from plant fat, Haram if Esters of Fatty Acids it is from pork fat Emulsifiers and Mushbooh, Halal if it is Stabilizers - salts or from plant fat, Haram if Esters of Fatty Acids it is from pork fat

E470

E471

E472

Various Esters of MonoEmulsifiers and Mushbooh, Halal if it is and Diglycerides of Stabilizers - salts or from plant fat, Haram if Fatty Acids Esters of Fatty Acids it is from pork fat Sucrose Esters of Fatty Acids Sucroglycerides Polyglycerol Esters of Fatty Acids Propane-1,2-Diol Esters of Fatty Acids Sodium Stearoyl-2Lactylate Calcium Stearoyl-2Lactylate Emulsifiers and Mushbooh, Halal if it is Stabilizers - salts or from plant fat, Haram if Esters of Fatty Acids it is from pork fat Emulsifiers and Mushbooh, Halal if it is Stabilizers - salts or from plant fat, Haram if Esters of Fatty Acids it is from pork fat Emulsifiers and Mushbooh, Halal if it is Stabilizers - salts or from plant fat, Haram if Esters of Fatty Acids it is from pork fat Emulsifiers and Mushbooh, Halal if it is Stabilizers - salts or from plant fat, Haram if Esters of Fatty Acids it is from pork fat Emulsifiers and Mushbooh, Halal if it is Stabilizers - salts or from plant fat, Haram if Esters of Fatty Acids it is from pork fat Emulsifiers and Mushbooh, Halal if it is Stabilizers - salts or from plant fat, Haram if Esters of Fatty Acids it is from pork fat

E473

E474

E475

E477

E481

E482

E483

Stearyl Tartrate

Emulsifiers and Mushbooh, Halal if it is Stabilizers - salts or from plant fat, Haram if Esters of Fatty Acids it is from pork fat

FOOD INGREDIENTS NUMBERS WITH NO E-PREFIX Number 107 Name Yellow 2G DESCRIPTION Colors HALAL STATUS Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal Halal Halal Halal Halal Halal Halal Halal Halal Halal Halal Halal

128

Red 2G

Colors

133

Brilliant Blue FCF

Colors

154

Brown FK

Colors

155 234 262 296 297 350 351 352 353 355 363 370

Brown HT Nisin Sodium Acetate Malic Acid Fumaric Acid Sodium Malate Potassium Malate Calcium Malate Metataric Acid Adipic Acid Succinic Acid 1,4-Heptonolactane

Colors Preservative - other Miscellaneous - Acids and their Salts Miscellaneous - Acids and their Salts Miscellaneous - Acids and their Salts Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

375 380 381 385 416 430

Nicotinic Acid Triammonium Citrate Ammonium Ferric Citrate Calcium Disodium EDTA Karaya Gum Polyoxyethane (8) Stearate Polyoxyethane (40) Stearate Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan / Polysorbate 20

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid Emulsifiers and Stabilizers

Halal Halal Halal Halal Halal

Emulsifiers and Halal if it is 100% from Stabilizers - Fatty Acid plant fat, Haram if it is derivatives from pork fat Emulsifiers and Halal if it is 100% from Stabilizers - Fatty Acid plant fat, Haram if it is derivatives from pork fat Emulsifiers and Halal if it is 100% from Stabilizers - Fatty Acid plant fat, Haram if it is derivatives from pork fat

431

432

433

Polyoxyethane (20) Emulsifiers and Halal if it is 100% from Sorbitan Mono-oleate Stabilizers - Fatty Acid plant fat, Haram if it is / Polysorbate 80 derivatives from pork fat Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Monopalmitate / Polysorbate 40 Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Monostearate / Polysorbate 60 Emulsifiers and Halal if it is 100% from Stabilizers - Fatty Acid plant fat, Haram if it is derivatives from pork fat Emulsifiers and Halal if it is 100% from Stabilizers - Fatty Acid plant fat, Haram if it is derivatives from pork fat

434

435

436

Polyoxyethane (20) Emulsifiers and Halal if it is 100% from Sorbitan Tristearate / Stabilizers - Fatty Acid plant fat, Haram if it is Polysorbate 65 derivatives from pork fat Polyglycerol Esters of Polycondensed Esters of Caster Oil Lactylated Fatty Acid Esters of Glycerol and Propane-1,2-Diol Sorbitan Monostearate Sorbitan Tristearate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

476

478

491

492

493

Sorbitan Monolaurate

494

Sorbitan Mono-oleate Sorbitan Monopalmitate Sodium Carbonate / Sodium Bicarbonate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Carbonates

Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat Halal Halal Halal Halal

495 500 501 503 504

Potassium Carbonate Miscellaneous - Acids / Potassium and Salts: Carbonates Bicarbonate Ammonium Carbonate Magnesium Carbonate Hydrochloric Acid Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Carbonates Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Carbonates Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts

507

Halal

508

Potassium Chloride

Halal

509

Calcium Chloride

Halal

510

Ammonium Chloride

Halal

513

Sulphuric Acid

Halal

514

Sodium Sulphate

Halal

515

Potassium Sulphate

Halal

516

Calcium Sulphate

Halal

518 524 525

Magnesium Sulphate Sodium Hydroxide

Halal

Miscellaneous - Alkalis Halal

Potassium Hydroxide Miscellaneous - Alkalis Halal

526 527 528 529 530 535 536 540 541 542

Calcium Hydroxide Ammonium Hydroxide Magnesium Hydroxide Calcium Oxide Magnesium Oxide Sodium Ferrocyanide Potassium Ferrocyanide Dicalcium Ferrocyanide Sodium Aluminium Phosphate Edible Bone Phosphate (BoneMeal) Calcium Polyphosphates Ammonium Polyphosphates

Miscellaneous - Alkalis Halal Miscellaneous - Alkalis Halal Miscellaneous - Alkalis Halal Miscellaneous - Alkalis Halal Miscellaneous - Alkalis Halal Miscellaneous - other Salts Miscellaneous - other Salts Miscellaneous - other Salts Miscellaneous - other Salts Miscellaneous - AntiCaking Agents Miscellaneous - AntiCaking Agents Miscellaneous - AntiCaking Agents Halal Halal Halal Halal Haram if the bones from pig Mushbooh, Halal if it is from minerals, Haram if it is from pig bones Halal

544 545 551 552 553 554

Silicon Dioxide (Silica Miscellaneous - Silicon Halal Salt) Salts Calcium Silicate Miscellaneous - Silicon Halal Salts

Magnesium Silicate / Miscellaneous - Silicon Magnesium Trisilicate Halal Salts (Talc) Aluminium Sodium Silicate Aluminium Calcium Silicate Bentonite Kaolin (Aluminium Silicate) Stearic Acid Miscellaneous - Silicon Halal Salts Mushbooh, Halal if Miscellaneous - Silicon calcium from mineral Salts rocks, Haram if calcium from pig bones Miscellaneous - other compounds Miscellaneous - other compounds Halal Halal

556

558 559

570

Mushbooh, Halal if the Miscellaneous - other source is from plant fat, compounds Haram if it is from pork fat Mushbooh, Halal if the Miscellaneous - other source is from plant fat, compounds Haram if it is from pork

572

Magnesium Stearate

fat 575 576 577 578 Glucono DeltaLactone Sodium Gluconate Potassium Gluconate Calcium Gluconate Miscellaneous - other compounds Miscellaneous - other compounds Miscellaneous - other compounds Miscellaneous - other compounds Miscellaneous Flavour Enhancers Halal Halal Halal Halal Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant protein, Haram if it is from pig protein Mushbooh, Halal if all ingredients including culture media to grow culture from Halal source, Haram if media is from pork fat Mushbooh, Halal if all ingredients including culture media to grow culture from Halal source, Haram if media is from pork fat Mushbooh, Halal if all ingredients including culture media to grow culture from Halal source, Haram if media is from pork fat Halal if it is obtained from sardines or baker's yeast extract. Mushbooh if it is made from brewer yeast extract, a byproduct of beer making Halal if it is obtained from sardines. Mushbooh if it is made from brewer yeast extract, a by-product of beer making. Haram if it is extracted from pig meat. Mushbooh, it is a combination of E N 627 and EN 631 Halal

620

L-Glutamic Acid

621

Monosodium Glutamate (MSG)

Miscellaneous Flavour Enhancers

622

Monopotassium Glutamate

Miscellaneous Flavour Enhancers

623

Calcium Glutamate

Miscellaneous Flavour Enhancers

627

Sodium Guanylate

Miscellaneous Flavour Enhancers

631

Sodium Inosinate

Miscellaneous Flavour Enhancers

635 636

Sodium5Ribonucleotide Maltol

Miscellaneous Flavour Enhancers Miscellaneous Flavour Enhancers

637 900 901 903

Ethyl Maltol Dimethylpolysiloxane Beeswax Carnauba Wax

Miscellaneous Flavour Enhancers Miscellaneous Flavour Enhancers Miscellaneous Glazing Agents Miscellaneous Glazing Agents

Halal Halal Halal Halal Halal if no if it is not treated with alcohol, two types of shellac is available, the Halal type is not treated with alcohol but other type is treated with alcohol. A gummy secretion material from the pores of a insect Coccus lacca that feed on Palas trees in India and South Asia. This gummy material is called Lac. Manufactured by Indian companies. Halal Mushbooh, Halal if obtained from plant fat wax. Haram if it is obtained from pork fat wax Mushbooh, Haram if it is obtained from human hair, Halal if it is made from Halal synthetic material. The third source is from chicken/duck feathers. There is difference of opinions among different Islamic scholars. One school of ulema says it is Halal the other says not Halal. Halal

904

Shellac

Miscellaneous Glazing Agents

905

Mineral Hydrocarbons Refined Microcrystalline Wax

Miscellaneous Glazing Agents Miscellaneous Glazing Agents

907

920

L-Cysteine Hydrochloride

Miscellaneous Compounds used to treat Flour

924

Potassium Bromate

Miscellaneous Compounds used to treat Flour Miscellaneous Compounds used to treat Flour Miscellaneous Compounds used to

925 926

Chlorine Chlorine Dioxide

Halal Halal

treat Flour 927 Azodicarbonamide Miscellaneous Compounds used to treat Flour Halal

Courtesy: www.halalconsumergroup.com Updated 03/2006.


				
DOCUMENT INFO
Shared By:
Categories:
Stats:
views:582
posted:12/20/2009
language:English
pages:18