Job Search

Document Sample
Job Search Powered By Docstoc
					                                Job Search Web Sites
                                and Online Resources
                                Updated 09/2007

Best of the Job Search Sites

America's Job Bank                    www.ajb.dni.us
Career Builder                        www.careerbuilder.com
Career Journal from Wall Street       www.careerjournal.com
Career Magazine                       www.careermag.com
College Grad                          www.collegegrad.com
JobBank USA                           www.jobbankusa.com
JobHunt                               www.job-hunt.org
JobWeb                                www.jobweb.org
Monster.com                           www.monster.com
Zotlink                               www.career.uci.edu
Quintessential Careers                www.quintcareers.com
The Riley Guide                       www.rileyguide.com

Information on Majors and Occupations

Wetfeet                               www.wetfeet.com
Florida State University              www.career.fsu.edu
Univ. of N. Carolina at Wilmington    www.uncwil.edu/stuaff/career/majors/
Viterbo University                    www.viterbo.edu/academic/as/cpp/whatcani.html
Univ. of Tennessee                    career.utk.edu/students/majors.asp
JobStar                               www.jobstar.org/tools/career/spec-car.cfm
CollegeBoard                          www.collegeboard.com/csearch/majors_careers/profiles
California EDD                        www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov/cgi/career
CollegeGrad                           www.collegegrad.com/careers/all.shtml

Other Great Sites

Careers in Business                   www.careers-in-business.com
County of Orange H.R. Dept            www.oc.ca.gov/hr/
Career.Com                            www.career.com
Jobsearch.about.com                   jobsearch.about.com
Relocation Central                    www.relocationcentral.com
UCI Career Center                     www.career.uci.edu
Snag-A-Job                            www.snagajob.com

Sites for Underrepresented Populations

Minority Job Bank                     www.iminorities.com/
LatPro                                latpro.com

Company Research/Links

EDGAR                                 www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/srch-edgar
Hoover’s Online                       www.hoovers.com
IPO Central (Part of Hoover’s Site)   www.ipocentral.com
Rich’s Internet Link List             www.norcalcompanies.com
Silicon Valley Web Directory          www.gocee.com/valley/
Thomas Register of American Mfg       www.thomasnet.com
Vault Reports                         www.vaultreports.com
WetFeet.Com                           www.wetfeet.com
On-Line Resume Preparation

Resume Help                         www.resume-help.org

Interviewing Information

Job Interviews                      www.job-interview.net
How to Interview                    www.howtointerview.com

Salary and Occupational Guides

Job Star California                 jobstar.org/tools/salary/sal-surv.htm
Salary.Com                          www.salary.com
Occupational Outlook Handbook       stats.bls.gov/oco
Occupational Outlook Quarterly      stats.bls.gov/opub/ooq/ooqhome.htm
O’Net                               online.onetcenter.org
America’s Career InfoNet            www.acinet.org/acinet

Graduate School Information

Graduate Schools                    www.gradschools.com
Peterson’s Guide                    www.petersons.com
All About Grad Schools              www.allaboutgradschool.com

Career Search Sites by Categories

Arts/Humanities
Art Job                             www.artjob.org
Artist Resources                    www.artistresource.org/jobs.htm
The Riley Guide                     www.rileyguide.com
Actors Equity                       www.actorsequity.org/home.html
Backstage Jobs                      backstagejobs.com/jobs.htm
Showbiz Jobs                        www.showbizjobs.com
USC                                 www.sc.edu/career/la/theatre.html

Athletics/Sports
ESPN Careers                        www.joinourteam.espn.com
OnLine Sports.Com                   www.onlinesports.com/pages/CareerCenter.html
Sporting Goods Manuf. Assoc.        www.sportlink.com
Malakye                             www.malakye.com

Biological Sciences
Bio Online                          www.bio.com
Biospace.com                        www.biospace.com
Medzilla                            www.medzilla.com

Business
Accounting                          www.aicpa.org/temp/jobres.htm
Careers in Business                 www.careers-in-business.com
USC Marketing Resources             www.marshall.usc.edu/Web/Career.cfm?doc_id=555
Vault Reports                       www.vaultreports.com
Actuary                             www.beanactuary.org

Chemical Sciences
ChemJobs                            www.chemjobs.net
iHireChemists                       www.ihirechemists.com
Science Jobs                        www.sciencejobs.com
Medzilla                            www.medzilla.com
OCRW                                organicworldwide.net

Communications
CopyEditor                          www.copyeditor.com
Opportunities in Public Affairs     www.brubach.com
Jobs Page (Newspaper)               reep.micareerbuilder.com
Journalism                          www.journalismjobs.com

Counseling
CACD                                www.cacd.org
New Social Worker Online            www.socialworker.com
Social Work                         www.gwbweb.wustl.edu

Dance
Ballet Companies dir.yahoo.com/Arts/Performing_Arts/Dance/Ballet/Ballet_Companies/
Variety                            www.variety.com
Backstagewest                      www.backstage.com
Dancenet                           www.dance.net
DanceUSA                           www.danceusa.com
Answers4Dancers                    www.answers4dancers.com

Education Community Colleges
Bay Area Colleges & Universities    www.abag.ca.gov/abag/local_gov/univ.html
CA Com Colleges Chancellor’s        www.cccco.edu

Education K-Adult
Academic Employment Network         www.academploy.com
Nat’l Job Network Page              www.nationjob.com/education
Recruiter for Independent Schools   www.csa-teach.com
Cal Teach                           www.calteach.org

Education Universities
Academe This Week                   chronicle.com/jobs/
American Universities               www.clas.ufl.edu/CLAS/american-universities.html
Job Hunt                            www.job-hunt.org/academia.shtml
University of California Campuses   www.ucop.edu
US Universities by State            www.utexas.edu/world/univ/state

Engineering
Jobs in Engineering                 www.phds.org
National Science Foundation         www.nsf.gov
Engineering Jobs                    www.engineerjobs.com
Dice                                seeker.dice.com
Mechanical Engineer                 www.mechanicalengineer.com
Electrical Engineer                 www.electricalengineer.com
Engineering Central                 www.engcen.com

Entertainment/Acting/Theater/Screenwriting
Entertainment Recruiting Network   www.showbizjobs.com
PlayBill                           www1.playbill.com
Screenwriters/Playwrights          www.writerswebsite.com
Entertainment Careers              www.entertainmentcareers.net

Environment
Amazing Envir. Org. Web Directory   webdirectory.com
ECO Online                          www.eco.org
Environmental Jobs & Careers        www.ejobs.org/
Environmental Job Opportunities     ecojobs.com/
Environmental Design                www.lib.berkeley.edu/ENVI/jobs.html#find
Fashion
Women’s Wear Daily                     www.wwd.com
Fashion Career Center                  www.fashioncareercenter.com
On-line fashion guide                  www.fashion.net
Career Choices in Retail               www.retailology.com
Apparel , Fashion & Textile Industry   www.apparelsearch.com

Forensic Science
Zeno’s Forensic Website                forensic.to/forensic.html
ASCLD                                  www.ascld.org/employment.html
Forensic Alliance                      www.forensicalliance.com
AAFS                                   www.aafs.org
Crime and Clues                        www.crimeandclues.com

Government City & County
San Francisco HR                       www.ci.sf.ca.us/jobs/index.htm
County of Orange HR                    www.oc.ca.gov/hr
LA County Dept. of HR                  www.co.la.ca.us./hr
San Diego County HR                    www.sdcounty.ca.gov/hr


Government Federal & State
CA. Civil Service Employment Info.     www.spb.ca.gov/jobsrd.cfm
Federal Jobs Central                   www.fedjobs.com
Federal Jobs Digest                    www.jobsfed.com
Miltary Career Guide Online            www.militarycareers.com
USA Jobs                               www.usajobs.opm.gov
DEA                                    www.usdoj.gov/dea/resources/job_applicants.html

Graphic & Design
3Dsite                                 www.3dsite.com
Filter                                 www.filtertalent.com
Communication Arts                     www.commarts.com/index.html
DesignSphere                           www.afternic.com/careers.php
ImageSite                              www.imagesite.com/design
Internet/Web Services                  search.yahoo.com/bin/search?p=Services%2Fweb
Publish RGB                            www.publish.com
Writing for the Web                    www.useit.com/papers/webwriting

Human Resources
ASTD                                   www.astd.org
Society of Human Resources Mgm’t       www.shrm.org/jobs
Jobs4HR                                www.jobs4hr.com
Net Temps                              www.net-temps.com
iHireHR                                www.ihirehr.com
HR.com                                 www.hr.com

Law
Legal Employment Search Site           www.legalemploy.com
Law Crossing                           www.lawcrossing.com
Legal Staff                            www.legalstaff.com
LawJobs                                www.lawjobs.com
Vault                                  www.vault.com
Mathematics
American Mathematical Society        www.ams.org
Mathematics Career Bulletin          www.phds.org
Society of Actuaries                 www.beanactuary.org

Museum
American Assoc. of Museums           www.aam-us.org
Museums in the U.S                   www.museumca.org
Museum Jobs                          www.museumjobs.com
MERC                                 www.museum-employment.com
Museum Spot                          www.museumspot.com

Music
DNA2k                                www.dna2k.com
Los Angeles Music Network            www.lamn.com
Menc Job Center                      www.menc.org/industry/job/jobcente.html
MusicStaff                           www.musicstaff.com
American Music Therapy Assoc.        www.musictherapy.org
Solo Performers                      www.soloperformer.com/careers
Worldwide Internet Music Resources   www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources

Non-Profit
Idealist                             www.idealist.org
Opportunity Knocks                   www.opportunitynocs.org/default.asp
NCNA                                 www.ncna.org
Volunteer Match                      www.volunteermatch.org
GuideStar                            www.guidestar.org

Nursing
Discover Nursing                     www.discovernursing.com
Guide to Nursing Careers             www.allnursingschools.com

Physical Sciences
National Science Foundation          www.nsf.gov
Jobs in Science                      www.phds.org
American Institute of Physics        www.aip.org/careersvc
Phys. Sci. Resource Center           www.psrc-online.org
PhysicsWeb                           physicsweb.org

Public Health
Public Health Employment             cfusion.sph.emory.edu/PHEC/phec.cfm

Internships
Internship Programs                  www.internshipprograms.com
Zotlink                              www.career.uci.edu
Internships.com                      www.internships.com/index.cfm
Rising Star Internships              www.rsinternships.com

International Jobs
Over Seas Jobs                       www.overseasjobs.com
Jobs Abroad                          www.jobsabroad.com
Transitions Abroad                   www.transitionsabroad.com
Peace Corps                          www.peacecorps.com

				
DOCUMENT INFO
Shared By:
Stats:
views:1292
posted:10/16/2008
language:English
pages:5
Description: This doc lists quite a few job search websites and specifies the websites with the career choices.