Docstoc

Useful Websites - Download as DOC

Document Sample
Useful Websites - Download as DOC Powered By Docstoc
					THE BRIT GUIDE TO… Useful Careers Websites
The BRIT Careers Pages - http://www.brit.croydon.sch.uk/Careers/index.html - are a useful starting point – access from the BRIT Home Page. Or try the following links. Or type in a title on a search engine. The most useful for careers searches is Google - www.google.co.uk/ Try typing in the career you are interested in and click on the button ‘search pages in the UK’ Acting  Shooting People Networks - www.shootingpeople.org/ - includes casting section  The Stage: online version of the newspaper carries auditions: www.thestage.co.uk/  Conference of Drama Schools, acting training in the UK www.drama.ac.uk/schools.html  Spotlight – the biggest talent directory in the world: www.spotlight.com  Disney job opportunities: http://corporate.disney.go.com/careers/index.html  Disneyland Paris: www.disneylandparis-casting.com  Am-Dram Stuff on UK Theatre Web: www.uktw.co.uk  Agents - www.agents-uk.com/ searchable listing of UK entertainment agencies.  Actor Net: get your CV on the web for free www.actornet.com  Extras Online Directory: info & guidance on getting extra work http://extras.co.uk/  Turns: work for actors, when they are not working… www.turns.net/ Dance  The Stage: online version of the newspaper carries auditions: www.thestage.co.uk/  CDET; Council For Dance Education & Training: www.cdet.org.uk/  Thinking of running away to join the Circus? www.thecircusspace.co.uk/  Dance Funding Info www.dfes.gov.uk/financialhelp/dancedrama  Dance UK comprehensive site www.danceuk.org/  Agents - www.agents-uk.com/ listing of UK entertainment agencies including Dance.  Danceworks: classes, studios & info www.danceworks.co.uk/  Pineapple: classes, studios & school www.pineapple.uk.com/  Disney Cruise Jobs www.dcljobs.com  BBC Blast – dance advice, links, info - www.bbc.co.uk/blast/dance/ Design  Stage Design including Costume Design: - http://www.theatredesign.org.uk/edu/courses.htm  Getting into the Computer Gaming industry http://www.blitzgames.com/  Art School.com – A&D training http://www.artschools.com/careers-jobs/  The Artists Information Company – tons of useful info: http://www.a-n.co.uk  Museum Jobs: www.museumjobs.com/uk/  BBC Blast – Art advice, links, info - http://www.bbc.co.uk/blast/art Film, TV & Radio  Skillset: UK media courses, careers & training: www.skillset.org/  FT2 Freelance Film & TV Training - 2 year Scheme: http://www.ft2.org.uk/  BBC Jobs, vacancies, job descriptions etc www.bbc.co.uk/jobs/  TV Work – how to get started: www.startintv.com/  BKSTS – professional media useful links http://www.bksts.com/  Massive directory of Media companies: www.theknowledgeonline.com/  Shooting People Networks - www.shootingpeople.org/  Broadcast Now – media jobs & news http://www.broadcastnow.co.uk/  Channel 4 Talent http://4talent.channel4.com/  Production Base – Jobs for freelancers www.productionbase.co.uk  BBC Blast – Media advice, links, info - www.bbc.co.uk/blast/film/ Music Courses & Industry Information  The British Phonographic Industry (BPI) www.bpi.co.uk  The Music Education Directory of courses: www.bpi-med.co.uk/  Brighton Institute of Modern Music: http://www.bimm.co.uk  Berklee College guide to Careers In Music: http://www.berklee.edu  Radio One – One Music help for musicians: www.bbc.co.uk/radio1/onemusic/  Pro-sound.com - sound recording careers: http://www.professional-sound.com/soundadvice/index.shtml  Pro advice for musos… Protect your hearing: www.hearnet.com/index.shtml  Music Managers Forum: www.musicmanagersforum.co.uk  Incorporated Society of Musicians: www.ism.org/  Find the perfect music industry job: www.musicworkmatch.com/  The Musicians’ Union: www.musiciansunion.org.uk/

  

Academy of Contemporary Music: www.acm.ac.uk/ Vocaltech – courses for singers: www.vocal-tech.co.uk/ BBC Blast – Music advice, links, info - www.bbc.co.uk/blast/music/_audio

Technical Theatre  Drama Schools, techie training in London & the UK - www.drama.ac.uk/schools.html  PLASA; Professional Lighting & Sound Association - www.plasa.org/  ABTT; Association of British Theatre Technicians – careers & training www.abtt.org.uk/  Stage Design, Education and Training - http://www.theatredesign.org.uk/ Writing  The Writers Guild – contracts, scripts, advice etc www.writersguild.org.uk  Screen Writers Magazine www.scriptwritermagazine.com  Shooting People Networks - www.shootingpeople.org/ - includes screenwriting section  Word Play – how to turn your script into a film that gets made www.wordplayer.com  Journalism Training: www.nctj.com/  Jobs in journalism www.journalism.co.uk  BBC Blast – Song writing, screen writing advice, links, info - http://www.bbc.co.uk/blast/writing Entertainment & Media Industry – Overall Useful Links  The Careers Factory: www.careers-factory.co.uk/  Your Creative Future – all types of creative careers.. www.yourcreativefuture.org/  The Stage: online version of the newspaper carries auditions: www.thestage.co.uk/  Disneyland Paris - all jobs www.disneylandparis.com/uk/employment/index.htm  Entertainment Immigration Services – USA work visas & permits www.myvisa.com/EIS/ General Courses  Floodlight - London Part-time/evening courses - www.floodlight.co.uk/  A searchable database of local FE courses - www.prospects.co.uk/careers/  The new Connexions Service with searchable Careers Bank http://www.connexions-direct.com/jobs4u/  Learn Direct www.learndirect.co.uk/ gives courses, careers info/advice locally & across the UK. All Jobs  Agency Seeker – www.agency-seeker.co.uk allows you to search for a recruitment agency in the area that you are seeking employment e.g. Media and creative  Careers Seeker – www.careers-seeker.co.uk allows you to search for job vacancies in the area that you are seeking employment    Total Jobs: www.totaljobs.com/ Top Jobs: www.topjobs.co.uk/ UK Jobs: www.uk.plusjobs.com/     Job Site: www.jobsite.co.uk/ Guardian Unlimited Jobs: http://jobs.guardian.co.uk/ Jobs 1: www.jobs1.co.uk/ Gis-a-job: www.gisajob.com/   Monster: www.monster.co.uk/ Fish4jobs: http://jobs.fish4.co.uk/

Looking Ahead… Higher Education  UCAS the University application system and information/course search etc - www.ucas.com  Hot Courses.Com www.hotcourses.com - all types of higher education & other courses UK wide. Looking Ahead… Gap Year  www.anyworkanywhere.com - find casual jobs abroad.  www.gapyear.com - covers all the options & issues on taking a Gap Year.  www.saintorsinner.org.uk - Volunteering Gap Year - another way to get experience  http://www.bunac.org/ - summer camp and other work around the world programmes  www.fco.gov.uk - advice for safe travel from the Foreign Office  www.mv-online.gov.uk - Millennium Volunteer Opportunities  www.thesite.org.uk - loads of ideas and advice for young adults on all sorts of things       www.csv.org.uk - Community Service Volunteers www.inter-rail.co.uk - cut-price train travel to over 28 countries www.worldwidevolunteering.org.uk - free database of volunteering opportunities www.raleigh.org.uk - Raleigh International adventure activities Year Out. www.stagedoormanor.com USA Summer Camp specialising in the performing arts www.frenchwoods.com - USA Summer Camp specialising in the performing arts

Tim Goodall/Sam Gottshalk Careers Department BRIT School - (Updated May 2009)


				
DOCUMENT INFO
Shared By:
Categories:
Stats:
views:95
posted:11/28/2009
language:English
pages:2