Quality and Safety Challenge 25thSept 2012 .Distinguished Clinical Teacher _Medicine_ Uni.of Auckland. Consultant Physician_ North Shore Hospital..ppt

Document Sample
Quality and Safety Challenge 25thSept 2012 .Distinguished Clinical Teacher _Medicine_ Uni.of Auckland. Consultant Physician_ North Shore Hospital..ppt Powered By Docstoc
					Quality and Safety Challenge
              25thSept 2012 Wellington   .
             Dr Vinod Singh Chairman,
             NZVTEP Steering Group.
Distinguished Clinical Teacher ,Medicine, Uni.of Auckland.
       Consultant Physician, North Shore Hospital.
•   The NZ VTE Prevention Steering Group members are:
•   Vinod Singh - Chairman / Acute Stroke and Internal Medicine, WDHB / Distinguished
    Clinical Teacher Medicine, the University of Auckland
•   Anne Blumgart - Project Manager NZ VTE Prevention Programme / Secretary NZ
    VTE Prevention Steering Group / Principal Pharmacist Drug Utilisation Evaluation,
•   Eileen Merriman - Consultant Haematologist, WDHB
•   Sharon Jackson - Consultant Haematologist / Clinical Head of Haematology, CMDHB
•   Gordon Royle - Consultant Haematologist, CMDHB
•   Chris Cameron - General Physician and Clinical Pharmacologist, CCDHB
•   Daryl Pollock - Clinical Nurse Specialist Haemophilia / Thrombosis, MCDHB
•   Elizabeth Brookbanks - Pharmacist Team Leader Medical Services, WDHB
•   Debi Smith - Thrombosis Clinical Nurse Specialist, CMDHB
•   Tracey Woulfe - Thrombosis Clinical Nurse Specialist, WDHB
•   Neil Graham - Consultant Physician, BOPDHB
•   David Simpson – Clinical Haematologist, WDHB
•   Richard Luke - Cardiologist, Hasting
•   Johanna Lim - Clinical Pharmacist, HBDHB (resigned December 2011)
•   Andre van Rij andre.vanrij@stonebow.otago.ac.nz H.O.D. Surgery , Otago DHB, DunedinAndrew Bowers
    Andrew.Bowers@otagodhb.govt.nz Physician : General Medicine, Otago DHB, DunedinAnne Blumgart
    Anne.Blumgart@middlemore.co.nz Pharmacist, MiddlemoreAnne Blumgart ABlumgar@middlemore.co.nzPharmacist,
    MiddlemoreBarbara Neave Barbara.Neave@cdhb.govt.nz Surgical Quality Insurance, CDHB Bruce King
    Bruce.King@nmhs.govt.nz General Physician, NelsonCatherine Shaw catdog_111@hotmail,com CNM Medical Ward, Northland
    DHBCatherine Shaw catherine.shaw@ndhb.co.nz CNM Medical Ward, Northland DHBCharlotte Jones CharlotteJ@adhb.govt.nz
    Pharmacist - Wards 41& 42 Team Pharmacy Department Leader SurgeryChris Duffy chrisdgis@windowslive.com C.D. General
    Medicine, Tairawhiti DHBChristina Cameron Christina.Cameron@ccdhb.org.nz General Physician, Wellington HospitalClaire
    McLintock clairemcl@orcon.net.nz Haematologist, AucklandDaryl Pollock gopo@xtra.co.nz Thrombosis Nurse, Palmerston
    NorthDebi Smith DSmith@middlemore.co.nz VTE Nurse Specialist, MiddlemoreDiane Redding diane.redding@sdhb.govt.nz
    Pharmacist Southland DHB, InvercargillDianna Hurne Dianna.Hurne@tdh.org.nz Pharmacist, Tairawhiti DHBGillian Robb
    g.robb@auckland.ac.nz University of Auckland, Faculty of Medical & Health SciencesGordon Royle GRoyle@middlemore.co.nz
    Haematologist, MiddlemoreHannelie Fourie Hannelie.Fourie@tdh.org.nz CNM Orthopaedic Ward, Tairawhiti DHBKathy Olsen
    kathy.olsen@bopdhb.govt.nz VTE Project Co-ordinator, BOPDHBKerry Gunn KGunn@adhb.govt.nz Aneasthetist, Auckland
    DHBLeonard Bagley leonard.bagley@sdhb.govt.nz Pharmacist Southland DHB, InvercargillMargaret Dewse
    DewseM@middlemore.co.nz VTE Project Co-ordinator, BOPDHBNeil Graham neil.graham@bopdhb.govt.nz H.O.D. Medicine ,
    BOPDHBNirasha Parsotam NirashaP@adhb.govt.nz Principal Pharmacist for medication safety, Auckland DHBPauline Connors
    pauline.connors@cdhb.govt.nz Outpatient Haematology Nurse, CDHB Peter Mcintosh peter.mcintosh@hawkesbaydhb.govt.nz
    Research Pharmacist, Hawkes Bay DHBReena Chauhan ReenaC@adhb.govt.nz Pharmacist: Medication Safety, Auckland
    DHBRenea Collins renea_collins@health.qld.gov.au CNC VTE Prevention, Brisbane, AustraliaRhondda Paice
    RhonddaP@adhb.govt.nz Richard Luke luke@xtra.co.nz Cardiologist, Hawkes Bay DHBSanjeev Chunilal
    Sanjeev.Chunilal@waitematadhb.govt.nz Haematologist, North Shore HospitalSavitha Bhagwan SavithaB@adhb.govt.nz
    Sharon Jackson sjackson@middlemore.co.nz Haematologist, MiddlemoreShelly Proctor proctors@waikatodhb.govt.nz
    Pharmacist, Waikato DHBThrombo Team sanofi-aventis staffTracey Woulfe Tracey.Woulfe@waitematadhb.govt.nz VTE Nurse,
    North Shore HospitalVinay Kumari vksingh4S@hotmail.com VTE Nurse, MiddlemoreVinod Singh
    Vinod.Singh@waitematadhb.govt.nz Physician : General Medicine/Stroke, Waitemata DHB
•   Writer/Developer Name :Dr Vinod Singh FRACP
    Vikrant Singh BSC.      Phone Number:021882880E-Mailsinghv@waitematadhb.govt.nzIssuers Name:Vinod Singh
• This Policy Framework aims to guide DHBs and health
  providers with planning and progressing improved
  prevention of hospital-associated VTE in adult
  hospitalised patients. It has been compiled in
  consultation with the multidisciplinary membership of the
  NZ VTE Prevention Steering Group and key opinion
  leaders drawn from a range of clinical sub-specialities
  and the Medical Colleges.
• This Policy Framework utilises current knowledge about
  effective ways of implementing VTE prevention activities
  in hospitals, and includes:
• Our Expectations
  – HQSCommission will disseminate the
    information to all DHBs , Hospitals and
    encourage VTE prophylaxis.
  – Will ask NZVTEP for assistance if necessary.
  – We hope ALL DHBs, Hospitals in New
    Zealand will have a VTE prevention policy for
    adult patients, soon.

Shared By: