Intro page08

Document Sample
Intro page08 Powered By Docstoc
					                                                           Mindy Hong
                                                           Academic Dean

September 2008

Dear Colleagues,

         To promote professional growth, the Episcopal Academy offers financial support to
faculty who participate in graduate degree programs; international travel, study, and exchange
opportunities; curriculum development; and seminars and workshops pertinent to current class
assignments. Several of these funds were endowed by donors who recognize that teachers make
the difference between a good and a great school. All awards used for professional development
are considered non-taxable income. Recipients are required to remain on the Episcopal faculty
for at least one year following the award.

       In addition to the grants for which faculty may apply, the faculty and/or administration
nominate and select recipients for four additional awards: Class of 1940 Faculty Enrichment
Fund, Brian Edward Breskman Memorial Fund for Faculty Support, Morgan Chair in Creative
Writing, and The Bishop William White Award.

        I encourage you to review the following opportunities and to see me if you have
questions. Applications for grants are available in my office. The due date for many of the
grants is on December 15th.

Mindy Hong

The Episcopal Academy
1785 Bishop White Drive
Newtown Square, PA 19073-0379
484-424-1540 Tel 484-424-1600 Fax E-mail
                          Professional Development Grants

                                Available by Application

Advanced Study/ Graduate Studies
      Tuition Reimbursement Scholarship
      Class of 1948 James H. McK. Quinn Faculty

International Programs
        Faculty International Fund
        EA Oxbridge/Kulp Fellowship
        Travel Grants
        Consortium for International Teacher Exchange

Faculty Enrichment
       Crawford Hill Fund for Faculty Enrichment
       Class of 1944 50th Reunion Faculty Enrichment Fund
       Outward Bound Scholarship
       Sabbatical Award

                        Awards by Nomination or Appointment

Class of 1940 Faculty Enrichment Fund
Brian Edward Breskman Memorial Fund for Faculty Support
Morgan Chair in Creative Writing
Bishop William White Award

Shared By: