Dual Credit at Collin College
What is Dual Credit?
• Dual Credit - Credit is earned for
both high school and college at
the same time.
• Begin a college transcript:
Fall Course Offerings at LHS
ENGL 1301 MATH 1314
9:40 – 10:30 am MWF 8:45 – 9:35 am MWF
2:40 – 3:30 pm MWF 3:35 – 4:25 pm MWF
9:15 – 10:30 am TR
ECON 2301 SPCH 1311
9:15 – 10:30 am TR 8:45 – 9:35 am MWF
2:40 – 3:55 pm TR
9:40 – 10:30 am MWF
Concurrent Classes at CC
• Graphic Design • Morning - Choose a
time that will allow
• Culinary Arts (Frisco) you to be back at
school by 10:40 for
• Interior Design
• Afternoon – Choose a
• Criminal Justice class that begins after
3:00 so that you have
enough time to travel
after 2:35 (6th period)
A few things to consider…
• College Calendar vs Lovejoy Calendar
– Weather Closings
• FERPA and Personal Responsibility
– Family Education Rights and Privacy Act
– Impact on graduation
• C or better rule
• ACCESS is Accommodations at Collin
County for Equal Support Services.
• Follows ADA guidelines by providing
reasonable accommodations, individual
attention, and support for students with
disabilities who need assistance with any
aspect of their campus experience such as
accessibility, academics, testing, and
• Submit an Application
• Official Transcript
•Proof of Bacterial Meningitis
vaccination or waiver
• Complete the TSI requirements
• Register with an Academic Advisor
here at LHS on June 13 at 2:30
• Pay for courses & books
Application for Admission
• WHEN do I apply?
– You may apply online now for Fall 2013!
– Must be complete before anything else
can occur at Collin.
– Complete online with the Texas Common
Application at www.ApplyTexas.org
Questions on ApplyTexas.org
• Create an account/ profile and then an application.
• Collin is a two year school.
• Our McKinney location is the only site option.
• You may select any available choice for major.
• Under Admissions Basis, you will select Dual Credit.
• Residency/ tuition is decided based on your answers on
-Questions? Please contact our Admissions office-
• Collin needs the most recent transcript
for every student.
– Naviance login
– How – go to your page --
» Go to the college tab
» On the left choose transcripts
• State Law (SB 1107) requires all students
under the age of 30 entering a higher
education institution to show proof of having
the vaccine 10 days prior to the start of the
• Exemption to showing proof is if taking the
course at your high school, must sign a
Texas • The TSI is designed to
Success measure competency in
reading, writing, and
Initiative mathematics. Students
need a status in all subject
• It is used for placement
• All students not eligible for
an exemption must take an
approved placement test
prior to enrolling in any
Texas public college or
TAKS- 2200 2200 3
Exit Level Math Verbal Writing
11th Grade SubScore
ACT 19 19 23
Math Verbal Composite
SAT I 500 500 1070
Math Verbal Composite
What will I need to do?
• Get a testing referral from Admissions
• Pay at the cashier, cost is $29.
• Visit the campus Testing Center to test
• See an academic advisor to review your
What if my TSI scores are low?
The purpose of this assessment is to
find out what level you should start
If you do not place at “college level,”
that means you need to focus on
your high school work at this time.
- This is NOT uncommon.
Register for Courses
with an Academic Advisor
• Dual Credit students must register in
person with a photo ID.
• You will need your completed
permission form with the required
• Pay attention to deadlines for
add/drop and payment.
Fall 2013 Important Dates
• You have a priority registration date in June!
– June 18, 2013 at LHS Library 9:00 – 11:00 am
• First Come first serve basis -
• Registration and Payment must be complete
by Wednesday, July 31st
• This is a firm deadline – they will drop you!
• Fall semester: August 26th-December 13th
What if I can not attend
• Parents may register for their student
with a letter of release and a photo ID.
• The letter is only good for one day.
• Needs to include the students name,
your name, the date, what you are
going to do and the student’s
• $37 per credit hour for students residing in
Collin County=$113 for a 3 credit hr course
• Pay online or in person by July 31, 2013
• You have to buy books in college!
• You can find out which books to get
from the College bookstore by going
online to their website.
• You may purchase books from your