Credit Card Statute of Limitations The statute of limitation

Document Sample
Credit Card Statute of Limitations The statute of limitation Powered By Docstoc
					Credit Card Statute of Limitations
The statute of limitation is the length of time someone has to sue you if you do something wrong, such as
cause an auto accident or break a contract, including an obligation to pay debt. In every state the statute of
limitations for credit card debt begins to tick from the date you failed to make a payment that was due, as long
as you never make another payment on that credit card account. If your state's statute on credit card debt is
seven years and your last payment was due on January 10, then the statute of limitations on your debt will run
out seven years from January 10, assuming you haven't made another payment.

Alabama            3 years             Kentucky           5 years            North Dakota        6 years
Alaska             3 years             Louisiana          3 years            Ohio                6 years
Arizona            3 years             Maine              6 years            Oklahoma            3 years
Arkansas           3 years             Maryland           3 years            Oregon              6 years
California         4 years             Massachusetts      6 years            Pennsylvania        6 years
Colorado           3 years             Michigan           6 years            Rhode Island        4 years
Connecticut        6 years             Minnesota          6 years            South Carolina      3 years
Delaware           4 years             Mississippi        3 years            South Dakota        6 years
D.C.               3 years             Missouri           5 years            Tennessee           6 years
Florida            4 years             Montana            5 years            Texas               4 years
Georgia            4 years             Nebraska           4 years            Utah                4 years
Hawaii             6 years             Nevada             4 years            Vermont             4 years
Idaho              5 years             New Hampshire      3 years            Virginia            3 years
Illinois           5 years             New Jersey         6 years            Washington          3 years
Indiana            6 years             New Mexico         4 years            West Virginia       4 years
Iowa               5 years             New York           6 years            Wisconsin           6 years
Kansas             3 years             North Carolina     4 years            Wyoming             8 years