1332563397PSY 230 Week 8 CheckPoint Stages of Ego

Document Sample
1332563397PSY 230 Week 8 CheckPoint Stages of Ego Powered By Docstoc
					1. Explanation of Jane Loevinger’s Stages of Ego Development.

        Ego is a conscious self sense that people develop with the pass of the years. Jane
Loevinger’s stages of ego development bring Erikson’s theory of psychosocial development very
close to perfection. The difference that we can mention between these theories is that Ericson’s
theory is focused more on what people do at different life stages and that each stage requires the
resolution of conflict that may produce positive and/or negative outcomes. In the other hand
Loevinger’s theory focus more on how people organize things in their mind as they change over
the years. Therefore, individuals become a system that frequently recognize and organize all of
their senses, which adapt to the environment and evolve from a primitive stage to a more
complex perspective.

2. List and description of each stage.

        The model developed by Jane Loevinger, describes the human personality development
very well. The model includes and demonstrates eight stages of ego development; they are:
Impulsive,      Self-protective,   Conformism,      Conscientious-Conformist,       Conscientious,
Individualistic, Autonomous and Integrated (McAdams, 2006).
        Jane Loevinger’s stages of development start in childhood instead of in infancy due to her
measuring system that requires verbal ability to communicate to complete Loevinger’s
assessment. Loevinger perceives the childhood stage as more selfish; a stage that is based on his
or her needs, is relationship dependent, and is locked in an impulsive stage. Loevinger identified
the adolescence stage as a transformation event (conscientious/conformist) where each person
gains an awareness of their inner self and becomes one with him/ her self. According to
Loevinger’s theory, adulthood is the stage where a person is more able to reach his/her full
potential and developing a better understanding for others and his/her environment

3. Manifestations that might appear during each of the stages.

Impulsive: During this stage typical manifestations include dependency and bodily feelings.
This stage may also be characterized by reactions to restraints, rewards, and/or punishments.
Self-protective: this stage consists of the first signs of self-control, and during this stage wariness
and manipulation can also arise. In this stage one might be more likely to pass the blame and
also likely to foresee reward or punishment.
Conformist: In this stage is when the individual look for the approval of others. During this
stage physical appearance and social acceptance become very important.
Conscientious-conformist: During this stage approval of others is not as important. One may
begin to give more importance to the inner workings of their own mind and also to their own
feelings and beliefs.
Conscientious: In this stage one develops a strong sense of self apart from the group. Setting
goals and determining right from wrong will also manifest during this stage.
Individualistic: The inner self manifests during this stage. One may experience inner conflict
and better awareness of themselves and the world around them.
Autonomous: In this stage an inner conflict will arise based upon what one truly wants versus
what one should want and/or do.
Integrated: The typical manifestations of this stage include self-actualization, and maybe the
individual can discover their own true identity.

Shared By: