2011 Annual Meeting Highlights

Document Sample
2011 Annual Meeting Highlights Powered By Docstoc
					               Evidence-Based Science and Regulation of the Tobacco Industry
                                     Williamsburg VI
                                               May 22 - 24, 2011


DRESS CODE: All meetings and social events are business casual except for the cocktail party and
dinner on Monday evening which is more formal with prearranged seating.

Sunday, May 22nd
10:00 - 4:00      Golf Tournament (for non-preconference participants)

12:00 - 4:00   GMP Preconference Workshop (TMA Members Only)
                 (Moderator: Farrell Delman, TMA President)
  12:00 - 12:45   Lunch
  12:45 - 1:15        GMP Overview
                       Seth Mailhot, Sheppard Mullin
                       Dean Cirotta, EAS Consulting
    1:15 - 2:00       Draft GMP Presentation
                       Mike Ogden, R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Co.
                           (Reynolds American, R.J. Reynolds Tobacco)
        2:00 – 2:30   Response
                       Ben Haas, Latham & Watkins
                           (JTI, Commonwealth Brands, King Maker Marketing, Nat Sherman & Swedish Match)

    2:30 - 4:00        Industry Discussion (Industry Only)

 4:00 - 6:00      TMA Board Meeting

 6:00 - 9:00      Buffet Dinner and Cocktail Party at the Marina

Monday, May 23rd
 8:00 - 8:30      Continental Breakfast
 8:30 - 8:40      Welcome (Farrell Delman)

 8:40 - 10:00     Securities Analysts (Moderator: Darryl Jayson, TMA Vice President)
                      Erik Bloomquist, Berenberg Bank; Matthew Grainger, Morgan Stanley
                      Ann Gurkin, Davenport and Janice Hofferber, Moody’s

10:00 - 10:45     21 Month Review of FDA Regulation (Moderator: Arnold Hamm, Consultant)
        10:00     Small Manufacturer: Ron Tully, National Tobacco/CITMA
        10:15     Large Manufacturer: Mike Ogden, R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Co.
        10:30     Supplier:           Janet Aho, Mane USA

10:45             Break

11:00 - 11:45     The Menthol Reports’ “Weight of Evidence” (Moderator: Farrell Delman)
                      Chris Coggins, Carson-Watts Consultancy
                      Matthew Grainger, Morgan Stanley
                      Ben Haas, Latham & Watkins
                      Michael Siegel, Boston University’s School of Public Health
 11:45 - 12:55 FDA’s Center for Tobacco Products: The Department Directors (Moderator: Rob Wilkey,
                      Incoming TMA Chairman and Commonwealth Brands)
                 David Ashley, Director, Office of Science
                 Eric Lindblom, Director, Office of Policy
                 Beverly Chernaik, Director, Office of Regulations
                 Ann Simoneau, Director, Office of Compliance and Enforcement
                 Kathy Crosby, Director, Office of Health Communication and Education
        12:25 Q & A

1:00 - 2:30    TMA Annual Meeting & Luncheon (Moderator: James H. Starkey)
       1:50    Election of Board Members
       1:55    President’s Report
       2:05    Chairman’s Report
       2:15    Award Presentation to James H. Starkey (Rob Wilkey, Commonwealth Brands)
       2:20    James H. Starkey
       2:30    Conclusion

 2:40 - 3:40   Illicit Trade (Moderator: Paisley Cameron, JTI - Macdonald)
                       Loren Yager, US Government Accountability Office
                       Gary Grant, National Coalition Against Contraband Tobacco - Canada
                       Jeff Cohen, ATF Attorney
                       William McGowan, Native Trading
               Discussion and Q & A

3:40           Break

3:55 - 5:00    Substantial Equivalence (Moderator: Seth Mailhot, Sheppard Mullin)
                   Bill McGrath, Wiley Rein
                   Will Woodlee, Kleinfeld, Kaplan & Becker
                   John Manthei, Latham & Watkins
               Discussion and Q & A

6:00 - 7:00    Cocktail Party
7:00 - 8:30    Dinner
8:30 - 9:00    Keynote Speaker: Daniel M. Delen, President and Chief Executive Officer, Reynolds-American

Tuesday, May 24th
7:30 - 8:00    Continental Breakfast

8:00 - 9:15    Attractiveness / Palatability of Tobacco Products (Moderator: Chris Coggins,
                        Carson-Watts Consulting)
       8:00    Neil Sherwood, JTI
       8:30    Monica Graves, R.J. Reynolds Tobacco
       8:50    Discussion and Q & A

9:15 - 10:30   Adapting to Regulatory Change - Part I (Moderator: Farrell Delman)
        9:15   Leaf Varieties
                    Dr. Michael Timko, University of Virginia
                    Dr. Ralph Dewey, NC State
        9:45   Cigarette Papers
                    Karl Thelen, Delfort Group
       10:00   Track and Trace
                    Shelley Vereen, SICPA Product Security
                    Glenn Wood, Reconnaissance International (Codentify)
               Discussion and Q & A
10:30 - 11:30    Adapting to Regulatory Change - Part II Pesticide Use and the FDA
                        (Moderator: Mike Ligon, Universal)
                    Stan Biconish, Bayer CropScience
                    Victor Moldovan, McGuire Woods
                    Dr. Loren Fisher, NC State
                    Dr. Sandy Stewart, NC State
                Discussion and Q & A

11:30 - 12:30   Tobacco Harm Reduction: eCigarettes & Dissolvables
                        (Moderator: Scott Ballin, Consultant)
                     Mr. John Manthei, Latham Watkins
                    Dr. Michael Siegel, Boston University’s School of Public Health
                    Dr. Joel Nitzkin, AAPHP
                    Sara Machir, Star Scientific
                Discussion and Q & A

12:30 - 1:30    Testing (Moderator: Darryl Jayson)
                     Richard Higby, Microbac Laboratories
                     Randy Courington, Arista Laboratories
                     Amy Walker, Global Laboratories
                Discussion and Q & A

1:30            Conference Conclusion

Shared By: