EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Chief Executive Officer, James M. Cornelius

Document Sample
EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Chief Executive Officer, James M. Cornelius Powered By Docstoc
					EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
Chief Executive Officer, James M. Cornelius: jim.cornelius@bms.com
Chairman of the Board, James D. Robinson III
Executive VP, Worldwide Pharmaceuticals: Lamberto.Andreotti@bms.com
Senior VP, Strategy: Andrew.Bodnar@bms.com
Chief Financial Officer: Andrew.Bonfield@bms.com
President, Technical Operations: Carlo.denotaristefani@bms.com
President, Global Marketing: Wendy.Dixon@bms.com
President, U.S. Pharmaceuticals: Anthony.Hooper@bms.com
Senior VP Corporate and Business Development: Tamar.Howson@bms.com
Chief Scientific Officer: Elliott.Sigal@bms.com
Senior VP and General Counsel: Richard.Willard@bms.com
Senior VP Global Regulatory Sciences: Richard.Wolgemuth@bms.com
Senior VP Corporate and Business Comms: Robert.Zito@bms.com

Bristol-Myers Squibb Pharmaceuticals Limited
BMS House, Uxbridge Business Park
Sanderson Road
Uxbridge, Middlesex, UB8 1DH
ph: 01895 523000; fax: 01895 523010

Bristol-Myers Squibb Pharmaceuticals Limited
Pharmaceutical Research Institute (Moreton)
Reeds Lane, Moreton, CH46 1QW
ph: 0151 5521500; fax: 0151 5521702

Bristol-Myers Squibb Business Services Limited
Lakewood, Heronsway
Chester Business Park, Wrexham Road
Chester, CH4 9QW
ph: 01244 586100; fax: 01244 586107

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am concerned about the welfare of animals used in the development of Bristol Myer Squibb
pharmaceutical products. I understand BMS contracts Huntingdon Life Sciences (HLS.

I respectfully ask you to join the global list of former customers, suppliers, and financiers who severed
ties with HLS after learning about the laboratory's habitual falsification of data and animal cruelty.

HLS kills an average 500 animals each day for experiments "only reliable 5-25% of the time," one HLS
record contends. Documentation from six investigations has exposed HLS for multiple breaches of the
U.S. Animal Welfare Act, the arrest of workers on animal cruelty charges, more than 520 infringements
of
Good Laboratory Practice in England, and a $50,000 payoff to the U.S. Agriculture Department for
misstated records and animal welfare violations.

As recently as late 2005, two former HLS employees from the Beagle Unit left their jobs distressed over
the animal suffering they witnessed daily for 12 months. According to their tape-recorded testimonial,
animals are inadequately anesthetized before invasive procedures, such as painful extraction of bone
marrow from the chest bone.

Careless workers transfer blood into the wrong tubes. "One license holder would go in and out about
five times with the same needle, not hitting the vein," the one-time employee maintains. "I saw co-
workers grab [dogs] by the scruff, shout and swear at them, swing them by the scruff and slap them."

I've personally viewed substantiated accounts of HLS technicians who kill dogs by flooding their lungs
with toxic materials meant for the animals' stomachs. In one investigative video clip, a technician
repeatedly punches a screaming 4-month-old beagle in the face. During a supposedly post-mortem
dissection, another tech slices into the chest of a convulsing monkey.

You likely find deliberate animal abuse as unconscionable as I do. I urge Bristol Myer Squibb to issue
a candid statement that conveys its refusal to do business with Huntingdon Life Sciences.

Thank you for your valuable time and consideration,