Mathematics Association of America Bill

Document Sample
Mathematics Association of America Bill Powered By Docstoc
					Bill S13- 27                                                                 Senator: Taylor Williams
February 18, 2013

                           Mathematics Association of America
                Louisiana/Mississippi Section Meeting, Hattiesburg, Mississippi

Whereas, The Mathematics Association of America is a student organization whose objective is
to promote a general understanding and appreciation of mathematics. This organization
encourages students to pursue activities and careers in mathematical sciences;

Whereas, The Mathematics Association of America works closely with students to support and
encourage learning in all levels and areas of mathematical sciences. This organization offers
activities and resources to promote academic and professional growth;

Whereas, The Mathematics Association of America does not require dues from its members,
and revenue from fundraising activities are used to fund activities throughout the semester;

Whereas, The Mathematics Association of America has participated in yearly
Louisiana/Mississippi Section meetings since 1991. These section meetings include individual
and group competitions in mathematics. Students are also encouraged to participate in the
student paper sessions that strengthen their skills in areas of public speaking and research. The
experiences members gain at these conferences strengthens them as students;

Whereas, the approximate cost of these events for 11 people is $1402.40;

Be It Therefore Resolved, the sum of $873.60 be appropriated from the Organization
Assessment Fund to defer the cost of The Mathematics Association of America’s trip to the
Louisiana/Mississippi Section Meeting.

_______________________                                                _________________________
      Davante Lewis                                                          Caleb Whalley
Student Government President                                           Student Government Treasurer

                                           Terence Delaine Jr.
                                       Speaker of the Student Senate

Davante Lewis       Josiah Eastman         Terence Delaine Jr.    Caleb Whalley          Maci Wilcox
 President           Vice-President         Senate Speaker          Treasurer             Secretary

Shared By: