NRA / ILA Firearms Laws for Connecticut May 2008 Compiled by: NRA-Institute for Legislative Action 11250 Waples Mill Road A synopsis of stAte lAws on purchAse, Fairfax, Virginia 22030 (800) 392-8683 possession And cArrying of fireArms. www.nraila.org QUICK REFERENCE CHART may lawfully possess a handgun under state and federal law, and has successfully completed an approved Rifles and handgun safety or training course. The applicant must be Shotguns Handguns fingerprinted and pay all appropriate fees. The certificate Permit to Purchase No* Yes is valid for 5 years. The Commissioner of Public Safety Registration of Firearms Yes** No must be notified within 2 business days of an address Licensing of Owners No No change. Permit to Carry No Yes A certificate of eligibility for a handgun does not *2-week waiting period authorize an individual to carry a pistol or revolver. **“Assault Weapons” It is unlawful to sell or transfer a handgun to any person who is forbidden to possess a firearm under state or STATE CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION federal law, or to a person under 21. However, a handgun may be temporarily transferred to a person under 21 “Every citizen has a right to bear arms in defense of himself for target shooting under the immediate supervision of and the state.” Article 1, Section 15. a person eligible to possess a handgun and such use is otherwise permitted by law. PURCHASE No person, firm or corporation shall sell, deliver or otherwise transfer any pistol or revolver at retail unless No state permit is required for the purchase of rifles such pistol or revolver is equipped with a reusable trigger or shotguns. No sale or delivery of a rifle or shotgun lock, gun lock or gun locking device. can be made until the expiration of two weeks from the No person, firm, or corporation shall sell, deliver, or date of application for purchase. The waiting period otherwise transfer any type of firearm at a gun show until does not apply to law enforcement officers, active duty the seller has contacted the Connecticut State Police and military personnel, holders of a valid state permit to carry requests a background check and receives an authorization a handgun, holders of a valid hunting license or antique number from the Commissioner of the Connecticut State firearms. Police. A permit to carry a handgun, a permit to sell handguns, or a handgun eligibility certificate is required POSSESSION to purchase a pistol or revolver. Any person, firm or corporation who sells or otherwise transfers a handgun No state permit is required for the possession of rifles, must contact the Connecticut State Police to verify the shotguns or handguns. validity of the permit to carry handguns or the handgun A person must be twenty-one years of age to possess a eligibility certificate. All firearms sellers are required to handgun. retain records of firearms sales for a minimum of five It is unlawful to possess a handgun by a person who years. has been convicted of a felony; convicted as a delinquent Any person who is twenty-one years of age or older of a serious juvenile offense which includes illegal may apply to the Commissioner of Public Safety for possession of a controlled substance, negligent homicide, an eligibility certificate for a pistol or revolver. The third degree assault, first degree reckless endangerment, Commissioner must issue this certificate if the applicant second degree unlawful restraint, rioting, or second degree stalking; discharged from custody within the preceding 20 permits) years after acquittal by reason of mental disease or defect; • Has not been convicted of a felony or a violation confined by court order for mental illness within the of; preceding 12 months; subject to a restraining or protective • Criminal possession of a narcotic order involving physical force; or an illegal alien. It is substance; unlawful to possess any other firearm by a person who has • Criminally negligent homicide; been convicted of a felony. • Assault in the third degree; • Reckless endangerment in the first CARRYING degree; A permit to carry a pistol or revolver is required to • Unlawful restraint in the second degree; carry a handgun on or about one’s person, either openly • Riot in the first degree; or concealed, or in a vehicle. However, the Connecticut • Stalking in the second degree; Board of Firearms Permit Examiners (which reviews • Has not been convicted as a delinquent for the denials and revocations of permits) cautions that “every commission of a serious juvenile offense; effort should be made to ensure that no gun is exposed • Has not been discharged from custody within the to view or carried in a manner that would tend to alarm preceding twenty years after having been found people who see it.” not guilty of a crime by reason of mental disease A permit to carry is required to carry a handgun or defect; outside one’s home (even though one may still be on his • Is not subject to a restraining or protective order own property) or in any place of business in which one is issued by a court in a case involving the use, merely an employee, not an owner or operator. A permit attempted use or threatened use of physical force is also required to transport a handgun back and forth against another person; between one’s home and place of business, or to and from • Is not subject to a firearms seizure order issued for a range for target shooting. posing a risk of personal injury to self or others In order to receive a state permit to Carry Pistol and after a hearing; or Revolvers, a local permit must be obtained first. Out-of- • Is not prohibited from possessing a firearm for state residents may apply for a non-resident Connecticut having been adjudicated as a mentally incompetent State Pistol Permit, and apply directly to the Connecticut under federal law. State Police. The application paperwork may be obtained from The application for the local permit (temporary a local police department, city or town hall or first pistol permit) is $35.00. The application fee dor the selectman’s office in the case of a local permit, or any state permit is $35.00 plus sufficient funds as required state police barracks in the case of a state pistol permit. to cover the cost of a National Criminal History Records An applicant is required to complete a handgun safety Check. The issuing authority has eight weeks to inform course prior to submitting the application. An applicant the applicant whether his or her application has been must also submit to a background investigation, criminal approved or denied. An eligibility certificate or permit history check and submit photographs in connection with to carry revocation or refusal to issue or renew may be the application. appealed within 90 days to the Board of Firearm Permit An applicant may be issued a concealed carry license Examiners, State Armory, 505 Hudson Street, 5th Floor, if the local licensing authority finds that the applicant: Hartford, CT 06106. No fee is charged for this review. • Is twenty-one years of age; The Board will overturn a revocation or refusal to issue • Is a legal resident of the United States; (Applicants if “just and proper cause” is found. Either the applicant must provide proof of citizenship, such as a birth or the issuing authority may appeal any decision of the certificate, voters' registration card or a U.S. Board to the courts passport. Legal Alien Residents must provide A statewide permit to carry is valid (unless revoked for Alien Registration numbers and 90-day proof of cause) for five years. The renewal fee for a carry permit residency. Naturalized citizens require proof of shall be $35.00. citizenship) A permit to carry may be revoked for cause if the • Has a residence or business in the jurisdiction in issuing authority determines that the permit holder is which they are applying; no longer a suitable person to carry a handgun having • Intends to use the handgun for only lawful been convicted of a felony or specified misdemeanor or purposes; upon the occurrence of an event that would disqualify the • Is a "suitable person" to receive a permit; (The holder from being issued a license. suitability clause applies both to the issuance No permit to carry is required: of new permits and the revocation of existing • If the person transporting is a peace officer; • While in one’s own home or place of business; a police department or the department of public safety, • While transporting a handgun from the place of or by bequest or intestate succession. Any person who purchase to one’s residence or place of business obtains title to an assault weapon for which a certificate if it is contained in the package in which it was of possession has been issued by bequest or intestate originally wrapped at the time of sale; succession shall, within 90 days of obtaining title, • While moving one’s residence from one place to apply to the department of public safety for a certificate another; of possession, render the weapon inoperable, sell the • While transporting a handgun from his residence weapon to a licensed gun dealer, or remove the weapon or place of business to a place of repair and back; from the state. Any person who moves into the state in • To transport an antique handgun. lawful possession of an assault weapon shall, within 90 days, either render it permanently inoperable, sell it to a It is unlawful to possess a firearm on public or private licensed gun dealer, or remove it from the state. elementary or secondary school property. This prohibition A person who has been issued a certificate of shall not apply to a person with a firearm carrying permit, possession of an assault weapon may possess it only under with permission from school officials, or while traversing the following conditions: school property with an unloaded firearm for the purpose • At the person’s residence, place of business or of gaining access to lands open to hunting or for other other property owned by that person, or on lawful purposes, provided entry is not prohibited by property owned by another with the owner’s school officials. express permission; • While on the premises of a target range of a public NON-RESIDENTS or private club or organization organized for the A non-resident of Connecticut may obtain a permit purpose of practicing shooting at targets; to carry a pistol or revolver by contacting the Connecticut • While on a target range which holds a regulatory State Police Special License and Firearm Unit. or business license for the purpose of practicing A non-resident may carry a handgun in or through shooting at that target range; Connecticut without a permit for the purpose of taking • While on the premises of a licensed shooting part in a competition; for the purpose of repairing such club; pistol or revolver; to attend formal pistol or revolver • While attending any exhibition, display or training or to attend a meeting or an exhibition of an educational project which is about firearms and organized collectors group provided he is a resident of the which is sponsored by, conducted under the U .S. and has a valid permit to carry a pistol or revolver in auspices of, or approved by a law enforcement the state or subdivision of the U.S. in which such person agency or a nationally or state recognized entity resides. that fosters proficiency in, or promotes education about, firearms; or ANTIQUES AND REPLICAS • While transporting the assault weapon between any of the places mentioned above, or to any licensed An antique firearm is defined as “any firearm which gun dealer, for servicing or repair, provided the was manufactured in or before 1898 and any replica of assault weapon is unloaded, kept in the trunk of such firearm provided such replica is not designed or such vehicle or in a case or other container which redesigned for using rimfire or conventional centerfire is inaccessible to the operator of or any passenger fixed ammunition except rimfire or conventional centerfire in such vehicle. ammunition which is no longer manufactured in the The theft of a lawfully possessed assault weapon must United States and not readily available in the ordinary be reported to the police within 72 hours of discovery. channel of commercial trade.” “Assault Weapon” are defined as:: Any selective-fire firearm capable of fully automatic, semiautomatic or “ASSAULT WEAPONS” burst fire at the option of the user or any of the following No person shall possess any “assault weapon” unless specified semiautomatic firearms: Algimec Agmi; Armalite that person possessed that firearm before October AR-180; Australian Automatic Arms SAP Pistol; Auto 1, 1993 and received a certificate of possession from Ordnance Thompson type; Avtomat Kalashnikov AK- the Connecticut State Police prior to July 1994. The 47 type; Barrett Light-Fifty model 82A1; Beretta AR 70; commissioner of public safety shall maintain a file of all Bushmaster Auto Rifle and Auto Pistol; Calico models certificates of transfer at the central office. M-900, M-950 and 100-P; Chartered Industries of No assault weapon may be sold or transferred to Singapore SR-88;Colt AR-15 and Sporter; Daewoo K-1, any person other than to a licensed gun dealer, or any K-2, Max-1 and Max-2; Encom MK-IV, MP-9 and MP- individual who arranged in advance to relinquish it to 45; Fabrique Nationale FN/FAL, FN/LAR, or RN/FNC; FAMAS MAS 223; Feather AT-9 and Mini-AT; Federal not less than 5 years nor more than 10 years. XC-900 and XC-450; Franchi SPAS-12 and LAW-12; Galil AR and ARM; Goncz High-Tech Carbine and High MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS Tech Long Pistol; Heckler & Koch HK-91, HK-93, HK- 94 and SP89; Holmes MP-83; MAC-10, MAC-11 and A person must report the loss or theft of any firearm MAC-11 Carbine type; Intratec TEC-9 and Scorpion; to the local police department within 72 hours of when Iver Johnson Enforcer model 3000; Ruger Mini-14/5F such person discovered or should have discovered the loss folding stock model only; Scarab Skorpion; SIG 57 AMT or theft. Any person who fails to make the required report and 500 series; Spectre Auto Carbine and Auto Pistol; within the required time period shall commit an infraction Springfield Armory BM-59. SAR-48 and G-3: Sterling and be fined not more than $90.00 for a first offense and MK-6 and MK-7; Steyr AUG; Street Sweeper and Striker be guilty of a class D felony for any subsequent offense. A 12 revolving cylinder shotguns; USAS-12; UZI Carbine, person who violates this law for the first offense does not Mini-Carbine and Pistol; Weaver Arms Nighthawk; lose a person’s right to hold or obtain any firearm permit. Wilkinson “Linda” Pistol; or a part or combination of parts Loaded shotguns and rifles may not be carried in a designed or intended to convert a firearm into an assault vehicle or snowmobile. Muzzle-loading rifles and muzzle- weapon that may be rapidly assembled if those parts are loading shotguns are regarded as “unloaded” even though in the possession or under the control of the same person. a charge may be in the bore, provided there is no powder The term “assault weapon” does not include any firearm in the flash pan or percussion cap on the nipple. modified to render it permanently inoperable. It is unlawful for any person to transport a BB gun unless it is stored in the trunk of the vehicle or other MACHINE GUNS locked container. It is unlawful to alter, remove, deface, or obliterate the It is lawful to possess a machine gun in compliance name of any maker or model or maker’s number or other with federal law, provided annual registration takes place mark of identification on any firearm. The possession with the state police. of any firearm with its numbers or other marks altered A machine gun is any weapon designed or readily creates a legal presumption that the possessor committed restored to shoot automatically more than one projectile, the offense. without manual reloading, by a single function of the Any person convicted of carrying a firearm without trigger. It also includes parts designed to convert a weapon a permit shall be fined not more than $1,000.00 or into a machine gun. imprisoned for less than 1 year or both, noting that Each machine gun shall be registered in the office of absent mitigating cirucumstances, the sentence may not the commissioner of public safety within 24 hours after be suspended or reduced by the Court. acquisition and, thereafter, annually on July 1. No person shall keep or store any loaded firearm on A presumption of possession for an offensive or any premises under his control if he knows or reasonably aggressive purpose is raised: should know that a person under 16 is likely to gain access • By failure to register a machine gun of a type without a parent’s or guardian’s permission, unless it is in required to be registered (see above); a location which a reasonable person would believe to be • By possession at a place other than the possessor’s secured, is carried on the person or within close proximity, home, land or place of business; or is in a locked container. • When empty or loaded cartridges which have It is unlawful to distribute, transport or import, keep been or are susceptible for use in the machine gun or offer for sale, or possess an “assault weapon” except as are found in the immediate vicinity thereof; or provided. • When in the possession of, or used by unnaturalized foreign-born persons or person convicted of Sources: General Statutes of Connecticut, Title 29 et.al. crimes of violence. and Title 53, §202, §205, §217. Possession of a machine gun for an “aggressive or offensive purpose” is prohibited, and is punishable by a fine of not more than $1,000.00 and imprisonment of CAUTION: Firearm laws are subject to frequent change and court interpretation. This summary is not intended as legal advice or restatement of law. This summary does not include federal or local laws, ordinances or regulations. For any particular situation, a licensed local attorney must be consulted for an accurate interpretation. YOU MUST ABIDE WITH ALL LAWS: STATE, FEDERAL AND LOCAL. This may be reproduced. It may not be reproduced for commercial purposes.
Pages to are hidden for
"Connecticut Laws"Please download to view full document