100th Anniversary by mamapeirong


									   2007                           CONGRATULATIONS!
 Commencement 2007                 As we mark the 100th anniversary of
                                   the first Ph.D.’s being conferred at MIT,
Graduate              Group        it is particularly pleasing to note that        n 1907, the first three MIT
Akana, Jennifer       Sadighi      the first three recipients were chemistry
Bailey, Ghislaine     Swager                                                       Ph.D.’s were awarded to
                                   graduates. Professor Arthur Amos Noyes,
Bajaj, Vikram         Griffin                                                      students of the Research
Barder, Timothy       Buchwald     through the establishment of the Research
Choi, Seungjib        Imperiali    Laboratory of Physical Chemistry in          Laboratory of Physical Chemistry.
Chung, Hoi Sung       Tokmakoff    1903, instigated a graduate program for
Hamilton, Charles     Sadighi      physical chemists and paved the way for
Hock, Adam            Schrock
                                   future Ph.D. candidates in other areas of    Raymond Haskell, 1907; thesis title:
Hodgkiss, Justin      Nocera                                                    The Effect of Concentration and Ioniza-
Hu, Kan-Nian          Griffin      chemistry.
Jarosz, Daniel        Walker
                                                                                tion on the Rates of Diffusion of Salts in
Lee, Elaine           Fu           Commencement 2007 will honor                 Aqueous Solutions
Lin, Chi-Wang         Ting         37 Ph.D.’s in Chemistry. How the
Lohman, Gregory       Stubbe
Loparo, Joseph        Tokmakoff    Department has grown in one hundred
Malia, Thomas         Wagner       years! We are, needless to say, extremely    Morris A. Steward, 1907; thesis title:
Maloney, Kevin        Danheiser    proud of the wonderful education our         The Ionization Relations of Sulphuric
Martinelli, Joseph    Buchwald     graduate students in chemistry receive       Acid
Moslin, Ryan          Jamison      at MIT.       The spectrum of research
Ndubaku, Chudi        Jamison
Oertel, David         Bawendi      activity, combined with a variety of
Pilyugina, Tatiana    Schrock      challenging graduate subjects and an
Porter, Venda         Bawendi      extensive seminar program, provides our       Robert B. Sosman, 1907; thesis title:
Radhakrishnan, Mala   Tidor        candidates with the foundation needed         The Hydrolysis of Ammonium Acetate
Rosenthal, Joel       Nocera       for a meaningful professional career and      and the Ionization of Water at 218 de-
Satrijo, Andrew       Swager                                                     grees and 306 degrees
Sirokman, Gergely     Sadighi      a lifetime of independent learning. It is
                                   this combination which makes the MIT

Smythe, Nathan        Schrock
Stokes, Kristoffer    Hammond      graduate in chemistry capable of adapting
Tonzetich, Zachary    Schrock      both to the changing demands of his or her
Trenkle, James        Jamison      profession and to the career opportunities         ince 1907 a total of 2,642
Vogel, Elizabeth      Imperiali
                                   encountered.                                       Ph.D.’s in Chemistry have
Wong, Bryan           Field
Xia, Xiang            Silbey                                                          been awarded.
Yang, Jenny           Nocera       I wish our 2007 graduates every success
Yen, Brian            Bawendi      as they embark on their future careers.
Zimmer, John          Bawendi

                                                     Arthur Amos Noyes, 1866-1936

        rthur Amos Noyes, S.B., Chemistry, MIT, 1886; S.M., Chemistry, MIT, 1887; Ph.D., University of Leipzig, 1890, was acting president of the
        Massachusetts Institute of Technology from 1907 to 1909. Noyes went to the University of Leipzig in Germany to earn his Ph.D. under the
        guidance of Friedrich Wilhelm Ostwald, a German chemist who won the Nobel Prize in 1909 for his work on catalysis, chemical equilibria
and reaction velocities. Pursuing a Ph.D. overseas convinced Noyes that there should be graduate education at MIT leading to a Ph. D. He returned
to Massachusetts after his graduation to begin at MIT as an instructor of chemistry. He quickly moved up the ranks to full Professor of Chemistry at
MIT by 1895.

His initial proposal in 1901 to the MIT administration for the establishment of a Research Laboratory of Physical Chemistry was turned down as too
expensive, so he returned in 1903 with an offer that they could not refuse: he would provide funds of his own to pay half of the costs of the Laboratory
(a sum of $3000 to $5000 a year). In 1903 he founded the Research Laboratory of Physical Chemistry at MIT, which he directed for 17 years. His first
three Ph.D. candidates graduated in 1907, one of whom, Robert B. Sosman, stayed on at the Laboratory after graduating. Noyes left the Institute in
1920 to direct the Gates Chemical Laboratory at the California Institute of Technology.

Arthur Amos Noyes was devoted to the idea that students should learn the principles of science by solving problems. His research interests focused on
the nature of the solutions of electrolytes. Emeritus Professor John S. Waugh was appointed to the chair in the mid 1970’s. At that time endowed chairs
at MIT (or other universities) were a relative rarity. The endowment came from a physician whose land on outer Cape Cod had been appropriated by the
National Seashore project. No name had been chosen for the chair, and Professor Waugh was asked for a suggestion. Since he knew Noyes’connection
with physical chemistry at MIT, and because he was his scientific grandfather, he was Professor Waugh’s choice. Professor Stephen J. Lippard is the
current holder of the Arthur Amos Noyes chair.

To top