buildings by shitingting

VIEWS: 5 PAGES: 19

									                                            Buildings – past and present, extant and non-extant – known to have been used by Illinois Institute of Technology (Chicago), 1940 - 2010

                                Year of
                                                                                                                                                                    Open to the
          Building Name        Construc-       Designed By                 Location             Historic Use by IIT          Current Use        Year Razed                                                                                Notes
                                                                                                                                                                      public?
                                  tion
Alpha Epsilon Pi                  1960      Mittelbusher and    3350 S. Wabash Ave., Chicago    Residential           Fraternity house              N/A       No                        • Located in “The Quad,” a group of nine buildings built for the IIT fraternities 1958-1960.
                                            Tourtelot                                                                                                                                   • Built as Alpha Epsilon Pi (?) fraternity house.

Alpha Sigma Alpha                 1960      Mittelbusher and    3340 S. Wabash Ave., Chicago    Residential           Sorority house                N/A       No                        • Located in “The Quad,” a group of nine buildings built for the IIT fraternities 1958-1960.
                                            Tourtelot                                                                                                                                   • Built as Theta Xi (?) fraternity house.
                                                                                                                                                                                        • One of IIT’s three sorority communities as of 2010. (Note that Zeta Pi Omega does not have a sorority
                                                                                                                                                                                        house.)

Alpha Sigma Phi                   1960      Harry Weese;        3361 S. Wabash Ave., Chicago    Residential           Fraternity house              N/A       No                        • Located in “The Quad,” a group of nine buildings built for the IIT fraternities 1958-1960.
                                            William Goodman,                                                                                                                            • Built as Alpha Sigma Phi (?) fraternity house
                                            consulting engineer
Alumni Memorial Hall              1946      Ludwig Mies van der 3201 S. Dearborn St., Chicago   Academic              Academic                      N/A       Yes                       • First academic (i.e., classroom) building designed by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe to be built on the IIT
                                            Rohe                                                                                                                                        campus.
                                                                                                                                                                                        • Originally identified as “Navy Building,” it was designed to house the Naval ROTC program.
                                                                                                                                                                                        • The double-height armory space was converted to other uses in 1972, and # ? bays were divided into
                                                                                                                                                                                        two floors.
                                                                                                                                                                                        • Dedicated as Alumni Memorial Hall in 1946 to the memory of IIT’s alumni and students who were died
                                                                                                                                                                                        in World War II.
                                                                                                                                                                                        • Currently (2009) houses the Department of Civil Engineering, Industrial Waste Elimination Research
                                                                                                                                                                                        Center, Pritzker Department of Environmental Engineering offices and classrooms.

Arcade Building                   1920s     Unknown             35th & State Sts., Chicago      Research and          Non-extant                    1962      N/A                       • Built by African-American entrepreneur Jesse Binga in the 1920.
                                                                                                administration                                                                          • Original use: commercial; served as an anchor for Bronzeville businesses.
                                                                                                                                                                                        • At five stories and he tallest building in the area, it was the neighborhood’s “skyscraper.”
                                                                                                                                                                                        • Together with the Binga Bank next to it, it was purchased by Armour Research Foundation and IIT in
                                                                                                                                                                                        1952.
                                                                                                                                                                                        • Housed Armour Research Foundation administrative offices, 1952 – ca. 1962.

Armour Family Residence (?)   Information not Unknown           3240 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago Residential            Non-extant                    ????      N/A                       • Phi Kappa Sigma house ca. 1928.
                                 available                                                                                                                                              • Previously, Delta Tau Delta’s 2nd house (ca. 1919).
                                                                                                                                                                                        • May have been an Armour family residence originally.

Armour Flats                      1888      Patten & Fisher     Armour Ave. (previously known Academic                Non-extant                Portions razed N/A                      • Built by Philip Danforth Armour, Sr. as rental to the Armour meatpacking company employees (and
                                                                as Butterfield St. and now known                                                 in 1917 and                            later faculty of the Armour Institute) to provide financial support for Armour Mission.
                                                                as Federal St.) and 34th St.,                                                    1919. Final                            • Surrounded the block on which Armour Mission stood.
                                                                Chicago                                                                         portions razed                          • Originally held 213 separate suites of apartments.
                                                                                                                                                   in 1986.                             • The office of Armour Flats was at 3322 Armour Ave. (previously, Butterfield St.; currently, Federal
                                                                                                                                                                                        St.).
                                                                                                                                                                                        • Portions of the buildings were razed by P. D. Armour in 1917.56 units on the west side of Federal St.
                                                                                                                                                                                        and 18 units on 34th St. were razed in 1919.
                                                                                                                                                                                        • Sections of the Flats that were left (around 63) were used by Armour Institute and IIT as classrooms,
                                                                                                                                                                                        lab, and office space for physics and psychology programs, and identified as Chapin Hall. Portions used
                                                                                                                                                                                        by AIT and IIT, 1909 – 1986.
Armour Institute Laboratory       1901      Patten & Fisher     3240 S. Federal St, Chicago     Maintenance           Maintenance; laboratory       N/A       The building is           • Third building to be constructed as part of the Armour Institute of Technology complex.
                                                                                                                                                              generally not open        Opened in 1917 as an internal combustion laboratory.
                                                                                                                                                              unless it is in use for   • Housed the school’s academic engineering laboratories.
                                                                                                                                                              some program.             • Other names include: AIT Laboratory; Maintenance Garage; Carpenter Shop.
                                                                                                                                                                                        • Concrete block walls added later to inside of building.
                                                                                                                                                                                        • Other uses include: garage, storage, ROTC shooting range.
                                                                                                                                                                                        • Currently (2009) used by IIT where it houses the student organization Society for Automotive
                                                                                                                                                                                        Engineers, and is used by the Facilities Department.
Armour Mission                            1886      Burnham & Root       33rd & Butterfield (now Federal) Auditorium; student   Non-extant                   1962   N/A                   • The Armour Mission building was built by Philip D. Armour to house a church congregation and social
                                                                         Sts., Chicago                    union                                                                           service organizations which provided spiritual, educational and recreational programs.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • Later used by Armour Institute and IIT variously as an auditorium, a lecture hall, the student union, and
                                                                                                                                                                                          a faculty club.

Armour Research Building              Information not Unknown            35 W. 33rd St., Chicago         Research and           Non-extant                   XXX    N/A                   • Armour Research Foundation (AKA Armour Research Foundation of Armour Institute of Technology)
                                         available                                                       Administrative                                                                   was founded 1936.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • In 1945, the name was changed to Armour Research Foundation of Illinois Institute of Technology, and
                                                                                                                                                                                          changed again in 1963 to IIT Research Institute.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • Uncertain which historic building is being referenced; the building name may refer to part of the
                                                                                                                                                                                          original Armour Mission/Armour Flats complex if 33rd St. address is correct.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • Alternate names of Armour Research Foundation Laboratory and Armour Research Foundation
                                                                                                                                                                                          Laboratory and Administration Building may refer to same building or may refer to a different historic
                                                                                                                                                                                          commercial building on State St.

Armour Research Foundation            Information not Unknown            XXX                             XXX                    Non Extant                   1957   N/A                   • Location uncertain; may have been part of the original Armour Flats.
Magnetic Recording Lab                   available                                                                                                                                        • AKA Field House Beanery.

Art Institute of Chicago Building         1893      Shepley, Rutan &     Michigan Ave. & Adams St.,      Academic               Art museum; not associated   N/A    N/A                   • Built as a museum and art school ca. 1890.
                                                    Coolidge             Chicago (not on IIT campus)                            with IIT                                                  • Through a joint arrangement of the two organizations, it housed classroom space and offices for
                                                                                                                                                                                          Armour Institute of Technology and Illinois Institute of Technology architecture department, 1893 – ca.
                                                                                                                                                                                          1945.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • Location of Ludwig Mies van der Rohe’s academic office 1938 – 1945.

Arthur Keating Hall                       1968      Myron                3040 S. Wabash Ave., Chicago    Athletic facility      Athletic facility            N/A    Access to interior    • Built as IIT athletic building, including an indoor pool.
                                                    Goldsmith/SOM                                                                                                   beyond the lobby area • Named for Arthur Keating, Armour alumnus and IIT Trustee.
                                                                                                                                                                    is restricted.        • Funding sources include Arthur Keating, the Arthur Keating Foundation, and the Ekco Foundation.


Association of American Railroads         1960      Schmidt, Garden &    3120 S. Federal St., Chicago    Research               Rental property leased to    N/A    No                    • Part of Association of American Railroads [AAR] Complex.
[AAR] – Laboratory Building                         Erikson                                                                     Chicago Transit Authority                                 • The addition to the north of the original building includes the tower.
(Addition)                                                                                                                                                                                • 1st section, identified as Building 3 elsewhere in this document, was built in 1956.

Association of American Railroads         1950      Ludwig Mies van der 3140 S. Federal St. (32nd and    Administration and     Rental facility leased to    N/A    See Vander Cook       • Built as part of the Association of American Railroads [AAR] complex.
[AAR] Building 1 – Administration /                 Rohe                Federal), Chicago                research               Vander Cook College of              College of Music      • Also called the Research Building (and AAR Technical Center?).
Technical Center                                                                                                                Music                                                     • 1996 to present (2009) houses Vander Cook College of Music.

Association of American Railroads         1953      Ludwig Mies van der 3100 S. Federal St., Chicago     Research               Rental facility leased to    N/A    No                    • Part of the Association of American Railroads [AAR] Complex.
[AAR] Building 2 - Mechanical                       Rohe                                                                        Chicago Transit Authority                                 • Currently leased by the Chicago Transit Authority, which uses them for instruction of trainees in safety
Engineering                                                                                                                                                                               measures and repair of transit vehicles.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • A small building along 31st St. by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe houses a compressor.

Association of American Railroads         1956      Ludwig Mies van der 3120 S. Dearborn Ave., Chicago Research                 Rental facility leased to    N/A    No                    • Built as part of Association of American Railroads [AAR] complex.
[AAR] Building 3 – Laboratory                       Rohe                                                                        Chicago Transit Authority                                 • A free standing small building to the northwest designed by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe as an explosion
Building                                                                                                                                                                                  proof storage building.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • In 1960 a tower was added to the building at the north.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • Currently leased by the Chicago Transit Authority, which uses them for instruction of trainees in safety
                                                                                                                                                                                          measures and repair of transit vehicle.

Automotive Laboratory                    1917 (?)   Unknown              XXX                             XXX                    N/A                          XXX    N/A                   • May be the building at 3240 S. Federal St.

Bailey Hall                               1955      Ludwig Mies van der 3101 S. Wabash Ave., Chicago     Residential            Currently (Nov. 2010)        N/A    No                    • Fourth apartment building on campus.
                                                    Rohe                                                                        unoccupied                                                • Named for Alex D. Bailey, Lewis Institute alumnus and Trustee; also an IIT Trustee.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • Built as an apartment building for IIT faculty and married students.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • Dedicated on November 3, 1955.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • AKA Bailey Hall Apartments
Binga Bank                            1920s   Unknown              3452 S. State St., Chicago        Administration   Non-extant                    ca. 1962    N/A                   • Built by Jesse Binga in the 1920s to house the Binga Bank (its second (?) location).
                                                                                                                                                                                      • Together with the Arcade Building next to it, the bank building was purchased by Armour Research
                                                                                                                                                                                      Foundation and IIT in 1952.
                                                                                                                                                                                      • Housed Armour Research Foundation administrative offices, 1952 – ca. 1962.
                                                                                                                                                                                      • The IIT Tower at 35th and State Sts. now stands on the site.

Bog, The                              1894    Unknown              3241 S. Federal St., Chicago      Athletics        Non-extant                  Closed in 1960 N/A                  • AKA Ogden Field.
                                                                                                                                                                                      • A plot of land, originally surrounded by an iron fence, was set aside by J. Ogden Armour to become the
                                                                                                                                                                                      recreation field for Armour Institute of Technology.
                                                                                                                                                                                      • The iron fence was donated to the World War II metals collection project.
                                                                                                                                                                                      • The athletic field was nicknamed “The Bog” because of its rain soaked condition with the slightest
                                                                                                                                                                                      rainfall.
                                                                                                                                                                                      • The site is now occupied by Hermann Hall which houses The Bog, the campus pub and recreation
                                                                                                                                                                                      center.
                                                                                                                                                                                      • The Bog location in Hermann Hall was renovated and re-opened in 2007.

Boiler Plant and Steam Generating     1950    Ludwig Mies van der 3430 S. Federal St., Chicago       Maintenance      Maintenance                     N/A       No                    • Built in two stages: 1945-50 – 5 south bays; 1964 – 6 bays added to the north.
Plant                                         Rohe                                                                                                                                    • Complex includes a test cell for gas pumping at Federal and 35th St. and oil booster pump and metering
                                                                                                                                                                                      plant (south of chimney).
                                                                                                                                                                                      • Wall along Federal St. formed a coal storage yard to the north.

Buildings and Grounds Storage         1893    Patten & Fisher      3322 S. Federal St., Chicago      Maintenance      Maintenance                     N/A       No                    • A small building to the south of Main Building, formerly the heating plant for Main Building.
Building                                                                                                                                                                              • Chimneys have been removed and new windows have been installed.

Carman Hall Apartments                1953    Ludwig Mies van der 60 E. 32nd St., Chicago            Residential      Residential                     N/A       Access to interior    • Named for George Noble Carman, founding director of Lewis Institute.
                                              Rohe                                                                                                              beyond the lobby area • Second campus “apartment building” intended for staff, faculty and married student housing
                                                                                                                                                                is restricted.
Carr Chapel                           XXX     XXX                  XXX                               XXX              XXX                             XXX       XXX                   • XXX
See Robert F. Carr Chapel
Central Electrical Vault              1946    Ludwig Mies van der XXX                                Maintenance      Maintenance                     N/A       No                    • The building complies with the campus module, but is notable for its brick wall-bearing construction.
                                              Rohe
Chapin Hall                           1888    Patten & Fisher     East side of Federal St. between   Academic;        Non-extant                      1968      N/A                   • Built as part of Armour Flats.
                                                                  33rd and 34th Sts., Chicago        Administration                                                                   • After Armour Flats were demolished, 63 units were left on Federal St. to the south of the Armour
                                                                                                                                                                                      Mission building.
                                                                                                                                                                                      • They were renovated in 1937 for use by Armour Institute of Technology and named Chapin Hall for
                                                                                                                                                                                      Simeon B. Chapin, an AIT trustee.
                                                                                                                                                                                      • Housed the engineering societies, a large drafting room, offices of the Fulcrum, Armour Engineer, and
                                                                                                                                                                                      Integral (campus publications), and Board of Athletic Council.
                                                                                                                                                                                      • Stretched over 5 floors with separate stairwells, it was necessary to go down to ground level, cross over,
                                                                                                                                                                                      and go up again to reach upper level floors.
                                                                                                                                                                                      • The Hall was also used by IIT until 1968, housing the psychology (and other?) departments and faculty
                                                                                                                                                                                      offices.
                                                                                                                                                                                      • It also housed the “Experimental Stress Analysis Laboratory” in Room 332.
Chemistry Research Building           1961    Schmidt, Garden &    3440 S. Dearborn St., Chicago     Research         Rental property leased to       N/A       Access to interior    • Built as the Armour Research Foundation Chemistry Research Building.
                                              Erikson                                                                 research-based companies                  beyond the lobby area • Dedicated on May 10, 1949.
                                                                                                                                                                is restricted.        • Later used by IIT Research Institute for Chemistry, Chemical Engineering and Life Sciences Research;
                                                                                                                                                                                      currently (as of 2009), the building is part of IIT’s University Technology Park.
                                                                                                                                                                                      • Other names include: IITRI Chemistry Research; Technology Business Center I.

Chicago Historical Society Building   1892    Henry Ives Cobb      632 N. Dearborn St., Dearborn at Academic          Excalibur nightclub; not        N/A       N/A                   • Built for Chicago Historical Society; housed the Society’s collections until 1931.
                                                                   Ontario Sts., Chicago (Not on                      associated with IIT                                             • Housed the Institute of Design 1946 – 1956.
                                                                   IIT campus.)
Chicago Kent College of Law   Information not Unknown            10 N. Franklin St., Chicago (Not Academic        Non-extant ?                ????   N/A            • Chicago-Kent’s first location was in the Athenaeum Building at 18-26 Van Buren St.
                                 available                       on IIT campus.)                                                                                    • In 1912 it moved to the Lakeview Building at 116 S. Michigan Ave.
                                                                                                                                                                    • In 1924 it took over its own six-story building at 10 North Franklin Street.
                                                                                                                                                                    • It occupied the building as 77 S. Wacker Dr. ca. 1975-1991.
                                                                                                                                                                    • In 1992, moved to a building built by IIT for the law school which later became known as known as
                                                                                                                                                                    IIT’s Downtown Campus; located at 565 W. Adams St.
                                                                                                                                                                    • Auxiliary space rented by Chicago-Kent over the years included the following locations: 130 N. Wells
                                                                                                                                                                    St; Wells and Randolph; Wells and Madison; 1 S. Wacker.

Chicago Kent College of Law   Information not Unknown            116 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago      Academic      Non-extant ?                ????   N/A            • Chicago-Kent’s first location was in the Athenaeum Building at 18-26 Van Buren St.
                                 available                                                                                                                          • In 1912 it moved to the Lakeview Building at 116 S. Michigan Ave.
                                                                                                                                                                    • In 1924 it took over its own six-story building at 10 North Franklin Street.
                                                                                                                                                                    • It occupied the building as 77 S. Wacker Dr. ca. 1975-1991.
                                                                                                                                                                    • In 1992, moved to a building built by IIT for the law school which later became known as known as
                                                                                                                                                                    IIT’s Downtown Campus; located at 565 W. Adams St.
                                                                                                                                                                    • Auxiliary space rented by Chicago-Kent over the years included the following locations: 130 N. Wells
                                                                                                                                                                    St; Wells and Randolph; Wells and Madison; 1 S. Wacker.

Chicago Kent College of Law   Information not Unknown            18-26 Van Buren St., Chicago       Academic      Non-extant ?                ????   N/A            • Chicago-Kent’s first location was in the Athenaeum Building at 18-26 Van Buren St.
                                 available                                                                                                                          • In 1912 it moved to the Lakeview Building at 116 S. Michigan Ave.
                                                                                                                                                                    • In 1924 it took over its own six-story building at 10 North Franklin Street.
                                                                                                                                                                    • It occupied the building as 77 S. Wacker Dr. ca. 1975-1991.
                                                                                                                                                                    • In 1992, moved to a building built by IIT for the law school which later became known as known as
                                                                                                                                                                    IIT’s Downtown Campus; located at 565 W. Adams St.
                                                                                                                                                                    • Auxiliary space rented by Chicago-Kent over the years included the following locations: 130 N. Wells
                                                                                                                                                                    St; Wells and Randolph; Wells and Madison; 1 S. Wacker.

Chicago Kent College of Law   Information not Unknown            77 S. Wacker Dr., Chicago          Academic      Non-extant ?                ????   N/A            • Chicago-Kent’s first location was in the Athenaeum Building at 18-26 Van Buren St.
                                 available                                                                                                                          • In 1912 it moved to the Lakeview Building at 116 S. Michigan Ave.
                                                                                                                                                                    • In 1924 it took over its own six-story building at 10 North Franklin Street.
                                                                                                                                                                    • It occupied the building as 77 S. Wacker Dr. ca. 1975-1991.
                                                                                                                                                                    • In 1992, moved to a building built by IIT for the law school which later became known as known as
                                                                                                                                                                    IIT’s Downtown Campus; located at 565 W. Adams St.
                                                                                                                                                                    • Auxiliary space rented by Chicago-Kent over the years included the following locations: 130 N. Wells
                                                                                                                                                                    St; Wells and Randolph; Wells and Madison; 1 S. Wacker.

Chicago Kent College of Law       1992       Gerald Horn/Holabird 565 W. Adams Street, Chicago,     Academic      IIT’s Downtown Campus       N/A    See Downtown   • Chicago-Kent’s first location was in the Athenaeum Building at 18-26 Van Buren St.
                                             & Root               (Adams at Jackson) (IIT’s                       housing Chicago-Kent               Campus         • In 1912 it moved to the Lakeview Building at 116 S. Michigan Ave.
                                                                  downtown campus)                                College of Law and Stuart                         • In 1924 it took over its own six-story building at 10 North Franklin Street.
                                                                                                                  School of Business                                • It occupied the building as 77 S. Wacker Dr. ca. 1975-1991.
                                                                                                                                                                    • In 1992, moved to a building built by IIT for the law school which later became known as known as
                                                                                                                                                                    IIT’s Downtown Campus; located at 565 W. Adams St.
                                                                                                                                                                    • Auxiliary space rented by Chicago-Kent over the years included the following locations: 130 N. Wells
                                                                                                                                                                    St; Wells and Randolph; Wells and Madison; 1 S. Wacker.

Civil Engineering Building    Information not Unknown            3420 S. Federal St.. Chicago       Academic      Non-extant                  ????   N/A            • Location of laboratory facilities of the Department of Civil Engineering prior to the department’s move
                                 available                                                                                                                          into Alumni Memorial Hall.
Cogeneration Plant                 1991       National Energy    3400 (?) S. Federal St., Chicago   Maintenance   Heating plant               N/A    No             • A $10 million electrical plant whose steam would heat the IIT campus.
                                              Systems                                                                                                               • Houses a steam turbine generator fuelled by natural gas which generates 9 MW of electricity.
                                                                                                                                                                    • Designed, built, operated and maintained by Lombard-based National Energy Systems, a subsidiary of
                                                                                                                                                                    the Marmon Group.
                                                                                                                                                                    • This new plant like the old boiler plant can be converted to fuel oil if gas is cut off.
                                                                                                                                                                    • The old boiler was (is?) available as a backup.
                                                                                                                                                                    • Dedicated in March 1991.
Commons Building                     1954      Ludwig Mies van der 3200 S. Wabash Ave., Chicago     Dining                  Dining hall/cafeteria         N/A    The building is         • Built as the campus cafeteria.
                                               Rohe                                                                                                              generally open during   • Also housed various retail businesses over the years, including the following: campus bookstore; valet
                                                                                                                                                                 the day when school     shop; barber shop; post office; 7-Eleven grocery store (1985-2003); dry cleaners (1985-1991); pizzeria;
                                                                                                                                                                 is in session. Campus   automatic banking facility.
                                                                                                                                                                 visitors are welcome    • Basement originally housed recreation and meeting rooms and a bowling alley.
                                                                                                                                                                 to enter the building   • Later housed campus offices including Public Relations, Pre-University and Minority Programs,
                                                                                                                                                                 through MTCC and        housing office, and the Newman Center.
                                                                                                                                                                 can purchase a meal.    • The building was renovated and re-opened in 2003 (?). All retail activities and university offices were
                                                                                                                                                                                         removed, and the building was returned to its original use as the campus’s primary dining facility for
                                                                                                                                                                                         students, employees, and visitors.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • Campus catering services and food preparation activities occupy the basement level.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • A new entrance at the south-east corner was created in 2002 to allow direct entrance into McCormick
                                                                                                                                                                                         Tribune Campus Center.
Crown Hall                           XXX       XXX                  XXX                             XXX                     XXX                           XXX    XXX                     • XXX
See S. R. Crown Hall
Crystal Lake Property            Information not Unknown            Crystal Lake, Illinois          Academic; Research      No longer owned/used by IIT   ????   N/A                     • Formerly, the Pure Oil Co. facility, 107 acres with six buildings
                                    available                                                                                                                                            • Gift to IIT, from Union Oil Company of California June 1967.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • IIT sold the property ca. April 1979.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • The property was used for educational and research activities. Evening courses in business
                                                                                                                                                                                         administration, information science, engineering and sciences and city and regional planning were
                                                                                                                                                                                         offered during the fall 1970-71 semesters.

Cudahy Residence                     1886      Burling &            3254 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago Residential              Non-extant                    ????   N/A                     • Built as a private residence Victorian mansion, it had (at some point) 40 rooms.
                                               Whitehouse                                                                                                                                • Between 1919 and 1928, the Chicago Motor Club occupied the home.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • Used by AIT and IIT to house students, 1939 – 1961.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • Other names include: Graduate House; Brown Hall; Quarters 1 (during WW-II).
                                                                                                                                                                                         • During WWII, it housed Navy V-12 students.

Cunningham Hall                      1955      Ludwig Mies van der 3100 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago Residential               Currently (Nov. 2010)         N/A    No                      • Third apartment building to be built on campus to house IIT faculty and staff, and married students.
AKA Cunningham Hall Apartments                 Rohe                                                                         unoccupied.                                                  • Named in honor of James D. Cunningham, AIT and IIT trustee.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • Dedicated on November 3, 1955.


Delta Tau Delta                      1960      Alfred J. Mell - Mell 3349 S. Wabash Ave., Chicago   Residential             Fraternity house              N/A    No                      • Located in “The Quad,” a group of nine buildings built for the IIT fraternities 1958-1960.
                                               & Fox Associates                                                                                                                          • Built as Delta Tau Delta (?) fraternity house.

Downtown Campus                      1992      Gerald Horn/Holabird 565 W. Adams, Chicago (IIT’s    Academic;               IIT’s Downtown Campus         N/A    Yes                     • 10-story building built by IIT (opened 1992) for Chicago-Kent College of Law.
                                               & Root               downtown campus)                Administration          housing Chicago-Kent                                         • Later known as IIT’s Downtown Campus when Stuart School of Business was relocated there from
                                                                                                                            College of Law and Stuart                                    main campus in 1994.
                                                                                                                            School of Business
Downtown Campus Library              1992      Gerald Horn/Holabird 565 W. Adams Street, Chicago    Library                 Library located in IIT’s      N/A    See Downtown            • Serving Chicago-Kent College of Law and Stuart School of Business.
                                               & Root               (IIT’s downtown campus)                                 Downtown Campus                      Campus

Downtown Center                  Information not Unknown            18 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago    Academic                No longer used by IIT         ????   N/A                     • Opened September 24, 1945.
                                    available                                                                                                                                            • Housed the Department of Home Economics (relocated from the Lewis Campus) and the Department of
                                                                                                                                                                                         Architecture (relocated from the Art Institute of Chicago building).
                                                                                                                                                                                         • Also offered graduate and undergraduate evening courses; also Russian and Dutch classes taught there
                                                                                                                                                                                         at some point in the past.

Downtown Center                  Information not Unknown            77 So. Wacker Dr., Chicago      Chicago-Kent College of No longer used by IIT         ????   N/A                     • The term “downtown center” was used ca. the late 1980s to identify this property in the Chicago Loop
                                    available                                                       Law                                                                                  owned by IIT and sold in anticipation of constructing the new building at 565 W. Adams which later
                                                                                                                                                                                         became known as the “Downtown Campus.”
East Hall                            1963      Mittelbusher &       3241 S. Wabash Ave., Chicago    Residential             Residential                   N/A    No                      • Built as a dormitory, this is one of the six residence halls on the campus.
                                               Tourtelot                                                                                                                                 • Prior to the construction of State Street Village (opened 2003), the Residence Hall Complex, AKA
                                                                                                                                                                                         McCormick Student Village, consisted six dorms, all linked by a lounge and dining room, all built
                                                                                                                                                                                         between 1958 and 1959.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • The former lounge and dining room are currently (Nov. 2010) common area spaces.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • All built between 1958 and 1959.
Economic – Mechanics Building           1942       Unknown               3228 S. Federal St., Chicago       Academic      Non Extant                   ca. 1973   N/A                     • One of the five temporary buildings donated to IIT (government surplus) after World War II.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • Contained general classrooms and meeting facilities.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • Used by the Institute of Design and for a Civil Engineering Lab.

Engineering Building                Information not Unknown              55 W. 34th Street, Chicago         XXX           N/A                           XXX       N/A                     • This address tracks to the UTP Incubator Building (as of 2010).
                                       available                                                                                                                                          • It is unclear what historic building this entry refers to.

Engineering I Building                  1967       Myron                 10 W. 32nd St., Chicago            Academic      Academic                       N/A      Yes                     • Built for (?) the Materials, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering department.
                                                   Goldsmith/SOM                                                                                                                          • Later housed the Pritzker Institute of Medical Engineering and the Fluid Dynamics Research Center,
                                                                                                                                                                                          which includes a wind tunnel.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • To the west, a twin to Engineering I, which was to be known as Engineering II, has not been completed
                                                                                                                                                                                          except for its fully usable basement (under the lawn).
                                                                                                                                                                                          • To the south of Engineering I is a memorial bench and marker donated by Tau Beta Pi in 1981 to
                                                                                                                                                                                          commemorate 75 years of undergraduate engineering at Armour Institute and IIT.

Engineering II                         1967 ?      Myron                 ???                                XXX           Storage (?)                   XXX       No                      • A building to be known as Engineering II (a twin in design to Engineering I) was planned for the space
                                                   Goldsmith/SOM (?)                                                                                                                      west of Engineering I.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • Engineering II was not built except for its fully usable basement (under the lawn).

Engineering Research Building        1944 / 1945   Ludwig Mies van der 3441 S. Federal St., Chicago         Research      Rental property leased to      N/A      Access to interior    • Built for Armour Research Foundation to house laboratories for research in ceramics, fluid mechanics,
                                                   Rohe                                                                   research-based companies                beyond the lobby area engines, and heat transfer.
                                                                                                                                                                  is restricted.        • Other names include: IITRI Engineering Research Building; Ceramic Building; Incubator.
                                                                                                                                                                                        • The south section housed IIT’s library before the Crerar / Kemper Library was built.
                                                                                                                                                                                        • The Food and Drug Administration maintains laboratory space (as of 2009?).
                                                                                                                                                                                        • Housed the Ohmite Laboratory ca. 1945 when the building opened; lab funded by David Siegel for ca.
                                                                                                                                                                                        $30,500.

Engineering Research Storage            1948       Ludwig Mies van der ????????                             Maintenance   Rental property leased to      N/A      No                      • Originally called as “Armour Research Foundation Engineering Research Storage Building.”
Building                                           Rohe                                                                   research-based companies                                        • Two storage sheds of brick were connected to the east facade of ARF Engineering Research Building
                                                                                                                                                                                          three years after its construction.

Farr Hall                               1948       Skidmore, Owings & 55 E. 34th St., Chicago               Residential   Administrative offices         N/A      Access to interior    • Originally constructed as a student residence hall, it was the only residence hall not linked to the
                                                   Merrill                                                                                                        beyond the lobby area dormitory complex built after 1958 which centered on McCormick Lounge.
                                                                                                                                                                  is restricted.        • Named for Charlotte C. Farr, mother of Newton C. Farr, IIT Trustee.
                                                                                                                                                                                        • Farr Hall now (2009) houses the IIT Department of Public Safety.

Fowler Hall                             1948       Skidmore, Owings & 3241 S. Wabash Ave., Chicago          Residential   Residential                    N/A      No                      • Built as a residence hall, the first to be built on the IIT campus.
                                                   Merrill                                                                                                                                • Named in memory of Harriet O. Fowler who stipulated in her will that a dormitory be built at IIT.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • With the construction, between 1958 and 1963, of five other dormitories and a lounge and dining room
                                                                                                                                                                                          linking them all, the Residence Hall Complex was created.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • The former lounge and dining room are currently (Nov. 2010) common area spaces.


Freund Instrumentation Laboratory       1948       Lab redesign (?) done 107, Chemistry Building (i.e.,     Academic      Academic laboratory            N/A      No                      • Located in Wishnick Hall.
                                                   by ????               Wishnick Hall)                                                                                                   • 9Dedicated on September 28, 1951.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • Named in memory of Erwin O. Freund, founder of the Visking Corporation, who attended Armour
                                                                                                                                                                                          Institute of Technology, 1902-1904.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • Lab was established by Dr. Martin Kilpatrick, chairman of the Department of Chemistry.

Gas Dynamics Laboratory               Ca. 1940s    Unknown               3240 S. Federal St., Chicago       XXX           See Armour Institute           N/A      See Armour Institute    • This building is referenced in Acc. No. 2002.041; apparently a laboratory located in the Armour
                                                                                                                          Laboratory                              Laboratory              Institute Laboratory building., q. v.
Glessner House                          1887       Henry Hobson          Prairie Ave. & 18th St., Chicago   Academic      Historic house museum; no      N/A      N/A                     • Built as the residence of the John J. Glessner family.
                                                   Richardson                                                             longer associated with IIT                                      • Donated to Armour Institute of Technology in 1938 by Ms. Francis G. Mead.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • Housed IIT Human Engineering (psychology and vocational aptitudes) Laboratory, 1938 – ca. 1958.
Government Surplus Buildings     1946 (received) Unknown             Various                           Various          Non-extant                        ????   N/A                     • Government surplus building became available after WW II under the Lanham Bill amendment.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • IIT applied for buildings totally 50,000 square feet to provide auxiliary classroom, cafeteria, and library
                                                                                                                                                                                         space.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • At least 4 (perhaps a total of 5) of these temporary buildings were acquired by IIT.


Graduate Hall                        1958       Mittelbusher &       3241 S. Wabash Ave., Chicago      Residential      Residential                       N/A    No                      • Built as a dormitory, this is one of the six residence halls on the campus.
                                                Tourtelot                                                                                                                                • Prior to the construction of State Street Village (opened 2003), the Residence Hall Complex, AKA
                                                                                                                                                                                         McCormick Student Village, consisted six dorms, all linked by a lounge and dining room, all built
                                                                                                                                                                                         between 1958 and 1959.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • The former lounge and dining room are currently (Nov. 2010) common area spaces.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • Additions were made in 1965-66.

Graham Resource Center               1955       Library space        In lower level of S. R. Crown Hall Library         Architecture library located in   N/A    See S. R. Crown Hall • Located on the lower level of S.R. Crown Hall, GRC is IIT’s architecture library – a branch of IIT’s
                                                expansion done in                                                       Crown Hall                                                    main library.
                                                2008 by Tom Brock                                                                                                                     • AKA: IIT’s architecture library.
                                                of IIT                                                                                                                                • Opened in 1993 with funding provided via a grant from the Graham Foundation.

Grover M. Hermann Hall               1962       Walter Netsch /    3241 S. Federal St., Chicago        Student Union    Administrative offices,           N/A    The building is         • Named for Grover M. Hermann, chairman of Martin Marietta Co. and an IIT life trustee.
                                                Skidmore, Owings &                                                      meeting rooms; ballroom;                 generally open during   • AKA: Hermann Union Building; HUB.
                                                Merrill                                                                 auditorium; lower level has a            the day when school     • The original precast stone porch has been replaced with granite.
                                                                                                                        bowling alley and “the Bog”              is in session. Campus   • Houses McCormick Auditorium and the Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions.
                                                                                                                        bar                                      visitors are welcome    • Also houses The Bog, the campus pub and recreation center.
                                                                                                                                                                 to enter the building   • The Bog (which had closed temporarily after the opening of MTCC) was renovated and re-opened in
                                                                                                                                                                 and see the main        2007.
                                                                                                                                                                 floor.

Gunsaulus Hall                       1949       Skidmore, Owings & 3140 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago Residential           Residential                       N/A    Access to interior    • Names after the first president of Armour Institute of Technology, Frank W. Gunsaulus.
                                                Merrill                                                                                                          beyond the lobby area • First apartment building on campus; built as housing for faculty, staff, and married students.
                                                                                                                                                                 is restricted.        • AKA Gunsaulus Hall Apartments.

Harold Leonard Stuart Building       1970       Myron                10 W. 31st St., Chicago           Academic         Academic                          N/A    Yes                     • Named for Harold Leonard Stuart, a Lewis Institute alumnus.
                                                Goldsmith/SOM                                                                                                                            • Originally built to house the Department of Business which later became the School of Business.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • Later housed the Department of Computer Science; ROTC units; the William F. Finkl Interactive
                                                                                                                                                                                         Instructional Television Network (IIT/V); the Academic Computing Center.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • A satellite dish was installed on the roof in 1985.


Heating Plant – 3 sections        1949, 1958,   Ludwig Mies van der 3430 S. Federal St., Chicago       Maintenance      Maintenance                       N/A    No                      • The first section was built in 1949.
                                     1965       Rohe                                                                                                                                     • Two additional sections were added in 1958 and 1965.

Hermann Hall                         XXX        XXX                  XXX                               XXX              XXX                               XXX    XXX                     • XXX
See Grover M. Hermann Hall
HUB, The                             XXX        XXX                  XXX                               XXX              XXX                               XXX    XXX                     • XXX
See Grover M. Hermann Hall
Huber and Huber Motor Express       1920S ?     Unknown              55 E. 33rd St., Chicago           Administration   Non-extant                        ????   N/A                     • The Huber and Huber Motor Express building was acquired by Armour Research Foundation in 1949.
Building                                                                                                                                                                                 • Housed ARF administrative offices, 1950 – ca. 1966 so research labs could have expanded space in
                                                                                                                                                                                         other ARF buildings.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • AKA: Armour Research Foundation Chemistry Research Building 2.


Ice Lab (IITRI Lab)                  1913       Unknown              3301 S. Dearborn St., Chicago     Research         Non-extant                        1956   N/A                     • An early campus building on the site of the current Siegel Hall.

IIT Research Institute Tower         XXX        XXX                  XXX                               XXX              XXX                               XXX    XXX                     • XXX
See IIT Tower
IIT Tower                                   1965      Schmidt, Garden &    10 W. 35th St., Chicago          Research;        University administrative          N/A   Access to interior    • Built for Illinois Institute of Technology Research Institute; aka IITRI Tower - the tallest building (20
                                                      Erikson                                               Administration   offices and IITRI research               beyond the lobby area stories building) on IIT’s campus, housed the university’s research affiliate.
                                                                                                                             operations; leased space                 is restricted.        • Dedicated on April 27, 1966.
                                                                                                                                                                                            • A tunnel connects Research Tower and Chemistry Research Building to the west making it possible to
                                                                                                                                                                                            reach almost all areas of (the former) IITRI complex without going outdoors.
                                                                                                                                                                                            • Currently (2009) houses IIT’s Office of Institutional Advancement on the 17th floor.
                                                                                                                                                                                            • A glass enclosed connection to the (former) IGT South Building dates from 1964 and houses an
                                                                                                                                                                                            auditorium dedicated in November 1978 to Dr. E. H. Schulz.

Institute of Design                     Information not Unknown            4th Floor 350 N. La Salle St.,   Academic         Academic                           N/A   Access to interior    • The school’s first location was at 1905 South Prairie Ave, the former Marshall Field mansion designed
                                           available                       Chicago                                                                                    beyond the lobby area by Richard Morris Hunt. The residence was redesigned by Henry Holsman and used for one year (1937)
                                                                                                                                                                      is restricted.        by The New Bauhaus, later The Institute of Design.
                                                                                                                                                                                            • In 1939 the school relocated to 247 East Ontario St. and reopened as the School of Design.
                                                                                                                                                                                            • In 1945 the school occupied 1009 North State Street, later moving to 632 North Dearborn (the former
                                                                                                                                                                                            Chicago Historical Society building designed in 1892 by Henry Ives Cobb; now (2009) the Excalibur
                                                                                                                                                                                            nightclub).
                                                                                                                                                                                            • In 1955 ID moved to IIT’s main campus, into the lower level of Crown Hall, and in 1992 relocated to
                                                                                                                                                                                            the IIT Research Institute building (IITRI Tower) also on the main campus.
                                                                                                                                                                                            • ID is currently (2010) housed at the 350 N. LaSalle, just north of the Chicago River in downtown
                                                                                                                                                                                            Chicago, in a building owned by Steelcase when ID moved in but subsequently sold to ???.


Institute of Gas Technology – Central       1965      Schmidt, Garden &    3424 S. State St, Chicago        Research;        Rental facility with spaces        N/A   Access to interior    • Originally built as the third (of three) buildings which formed the IGT complex.
Building                                              Erikson                                               Administration   leased to various businesses             beyond the lobby area • Currently (2009) houses Shimer College (The Great Books College of Chicago), which relocated to the
                                                                                                                                                                      is restricted.        IIT campus in 2006.

Institute of Gas Technology –               1977      Schmidt, Garden & XXX                                 Research         Pedestrian circulation             N/A   No                     • Infill structure which connects the South and Central IGT buildings.
Crossover                                             Erikson
Institute of Gas Technology – North         1950      Ludwig Mies van der 3424 S. State St., Chicago        Research         College of Architecture annex      N/A   Access to interior    • First building to be constructed as part of the IGT complex. (The Institute of Gas Technology was an
Building                                              Rohe                                                                   building (faculty offices)               beyond the lobby area independent, international, not-for-profit energy research and education organization established on the
                                                                                                                                                                      is restricted.        IIT campus in 1941. Currently (2009) known as the Gas Technology Institute, it relocated to Des
                                                                                                                                                                                            Plaines, IL sometime after 1967).
                                                                                                                                                                                            • Internal changes were made in 1954.
                                                                                                                                                                                            • Renovations (ADA accommodations and other) were done in ca. 2000 when the building housed the
                                                                                                                                                                                            Young Women’s Leadership Charter School (which has since moved from the IIT campus).
                                                                                                                                                                                            • Currently (2009), the building houses offices and classrooms for the IIT College of Architecture.



Institute of Gas Technology – Power         1964      Schmidt, Garden &    3424 S. State St., Chicago       Maintenance      Power plant                        N/A   No                     • Part of the IGT complex.
Plant                                                 Erikson                                                                                                                                • Intended as a total energy center providing heat and electricity from gas generators (removed 1975/76).
                                                                                                                                                                                             It now (2009) houses a boiler, a research lab, and a loading dock.
                                                                                                                                                                                             • Walls enclosing the parking area are a later addition.

Institute of Gas Technology - South         1955      Ludwig Mies van der 3424 S. State St, Chicago         Research         Rental facility partially leased   N/A   Access to interior    • Originally built as a research facility as part of the Institute of Gas Technology complex.
Building                                              Rohe                                                                   to Shimer College                        beyond the lobby area • Later used by Armour Research Foundation of Illinois Institute of Technology when IGT moved from
                                                                                                                                                                      is restricted.        the IIT campus.
                                                                                                                                                                                            • Housed the Univac 1105 computer (not extant), and the first industrial nuclear reactor in U.S.
                                                                                                                                                                                            (dismantled in 1977/78).
                                                                                                                                                                                            • AKA: Physics and Electrical Engineering Research Building (PER Building).
James Kemper Library       1962      Walter Netsch /    35 W. 33rd St., Chicago            Library                 See Paul V. Galvin Library   N/A    See Paul V. Galvin   • Built as The John Crerar Library’s new facility when the Crerar, a private library dedicated to math and
                                     Skidmore, Owings &                                                                                                Library              science established in Chicago in 18__ by John Crerar, left its downtown Loop location in 1962.
                                     Merrill                                                                                                                                • Also housed the James S. Kemper Library (IIT’s academic library) upon construction.
                                                                                                                                                                            • Renovated in 1985 when the Crerar Library declined to renew its lease with IIT. (Crerar Library moved
                                                                                                                                                                            to the University of Chicago), the building was rededicated and renamed as the Paul V. Galvin Library in
                                                                                                                                                                            memory of the founder on Motorola.
                                                                                                                                                                            • Currently (2009) serves as IIT’s main library.
                                                                                                                                                                            • Also houses the IIT Archives.
                                                                                                                                                                            • The library air conditioning unit (1962) is a free-standing structure to the south of the building.



John Crerar Library        1962      Walter Netsch /    Former location: 35 W. 33rd St.,   Library                 See Paul V. Galvin Library   N/A    See Paul V. Galvin   • Built as The John Crerar Library’s new facility when the Crerar, a private library dedicated to math and
                                     Skidmore, Owings & Chicago Currently located on                                                                   Library              science established in Chicago in 18__ by John Crerar, left its downtown Loop location in 1962.
                                     Merrill            The University of Chicago                                                                                           • Also housed the James S. Kemper Library (IIT’s academic library) upon construction.
                                                        campus.                                                                                                             • Renovated in 1985 when the Crerar Library declined to renew its lease with IIT. (Crerar Library moved
                                                                                                                                                                            to the University of Chicago), the building was rededicated and renamed as the Paul V. Galvin Library in
                                                                                                                                                                            memory of the founder on Motorola.
                                                                                                                                                                            • Currently (2009) serves as IIT’s main library.
                                                                                                                                                                            • Also houses the IIT Archives.
                                                                                                                                                                            • The library air conditioning unit (1962) is a free-standing structure to the south of the building.



Kappa Phi Delta            1960      Mittelbusher And     3330 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago Residential               Sorority house               N/A    No                   • Built as (?) Tau Epsilon Phi fraternity house.
                                     Tourtelot                                                                                                                              • Currently (as of 2010) one of IIT’s three sorority communities. (Note that Zeta Pi Omega does not have
                                                                                                                                                                            a sorority house.)
                                                                                                                                                                            • Located in “The Quad,” a group of nine buildings built for the IIT fraternities 1958-1960.

Keating Hall               XXX       XXX                  XXX                              XXX                     XXX                          XXX    XXX                  • XXX
See Arthur Keating Hall
Keith School               1884      Unknown              34th and Dearborn Streets        Public elementary school Non-extant                  1960   N/A                  • Presumably built as public elementary school, this was the last (?) historic building on the IIT campus
                                                                                                                                                                            to be razed.
                                                                                                                                                                            • After use as a school was discontinued, the building housed the Chicago Police Department training
                                                                                                                                                                            academy and was razed in 1960.

Law House                 ca. 1961   XXX                  3241 S. Wabash Ave., Chicago     Residential             Residential                  N/A    No                   • Located in “The Quad,” a group of nine buildings built for the IIT fraternities 1958-1960.
                                                                                                                                                                            • Renovated ca. 2000 as a residence hall for law students.
                                                                                                                                                                            • As of Nov. 2010, this is the Kappa Phi Delta fraternity house.

Lewis Hall                 1958      Mittelbusher &       3241 S. Wabash Ave., Chicago     Residential             Residential                  N/A    No                   • One of the six residence halls on the campus; built as IIT’s first dormitory for women.
                                     Tourtelot                                                                                                                              • Named for Allen C. Lewis, founded of Lewis Institute.
                                                                                                                                                                            • Houses Mollie Cohen Lounge which was dedicated April 16, 1980 to Mollie Cohen, a 1924 Lewis
                                                                                                                                                                            Institute alumna who served Lewis and IIT for 56 years as an English teacher.
                                                                                                                                                                            • Additions were made in 1965-66 (?).
Lewis Institute                   1895   Henry Ives Cobb       1951 W. Madison St., Chicago    Academic;        Non-extant                     ????   N/A                    • In 1877 Allen C. Lewis, a Chicago real estate investor, died and left his substantial estate for the
                                                                                               Administration                                                                creation of a college to serve Chicago’s immigrant populations. His will detailed the requirements of the
                                                                                                                                                                             facility as well as the school’s curriculum which included engineering, science, and the arts.
                                                                                                                                                                             • Lewis Institute was strategically located at the intersection of Madison and Robey (now Damen) Sts.
                                                                                                                                                                             This location served as a transfer point for two of Chicago’s 19th century streetcar lines making the
                                                                                                                                                                             school easily accessible by public transportation.
                                                                                                                                                                             • At least two other buildings were built on the property surrounded by Damen, Madison, Wood, and
                                                                                                                                                                             Monroe Sts. for Lewis Institute’s growing academic programs.
                                                                                                                                                                             • In 1939, Lewis Institute and Armour Institute of Technology merged, creating Illinois Institute of
                                                                                                                                                                             Technology.
                                                                                                                                                                             • The Lewis Institute complex continued to be used by IIT until 1946 when it was sold to the Cook
                                                                                                                                                                             County which used it to house the Cook County Department of Welfare until 19??.
                                                                                                                                                                             • Chicago’s United Center (home of the Chicago Bulls and the Blackhawks) currently sits on the
                                                                                                                                                                             location.
                                                                                                                                                                             • One of the six residence halls on the campus; built as IIT’s first dormitory for women.
                                                                                                                                                                             • Named for Allen C. Lewis, founded of Lewis Institute.
                                                                                                                                                                             • Houses Mollie Cohen Lounge which was dedicated April 16, 1980 to Mollie Cohen, a 1924 Lewis
                                                                                                                                                                             Institute alumna who served Lewis and IIT for 56 years as an English teacher.
                                                                                                                                                                             • Additions were made in 1965-66 (?).
Life Sciences Building            1966   Myron Goldsmith       3105 S. Dearborn St., Chicago   Academic         Academic                       N/A    Yes                    • IIT’s original campus plan included a building to be identified as “Lewis Building” (commemorating
                                                                                                                                                                             Lewis Institute, one of IIT’s predecessor schools) and meant to house the general sciences, humanities,
                                                                                                                                                                             and liberal arts programs. Currently (2010) IIT’s humanities department is housed in Siegel Hall, the
                                                                                                                                                                             name given to the building on its construction.
                                                                                                                                                                             • By 1966 when Life Sciences Building was built, the Lewis name association had been lost.

Life Sciences Research Building   1943   Schmidt, Garden &     35 W. 34th St., Chicago         Research         Rental property leased to      N/A    Access to interior    • Built as Armour Research Foundation’s Mechanical Engineering Research Building where it served as
                                         Erikson                                                                research-based companies              beyond the lobby area offices and laboratory space for ARF.
                                                                                                                                                      is restricted.        • Intended as a research facility for heat transfer, design of weapons systems, stress analysis and life
                                                                                                                                                                            science research.
                                                                                                                                                                            • Nine-bay addition to the north in 1961 is by Schmidt, Garden & Erikson.
                                                                                                                                                                            • AKA: Mechanical Research Building; Mechanical and Electrical Engineering Research Building;
                                                                                                                                                                            IITRI Center.
                                                                                                                                                                            • Later (ca. 2005) included with the buildings at the south end of campus being renovated for the creation
                                                                                                                                                                            of “University Technology Park” with space leased to private R&D companies.
                                                                                                                                                                            • Currently (as of 2009) used for Electronics Research and Life Science Research.

Machinery Hall                    1901   C. V. Kerr – Patten & 100 W. 33rd St., Chicago        Academic         Facilities offices & storage   N/A    Access to facilities   • Built for Armour Institute as a classroom building with labs and equipment for teaching the mechanical
                                         Fisher                                                                                                       office (Room 200)      arts classes.
                                                                                                                                                      only.                  • AKA: Mechanical Engineering Building.
                                                                                                                                                                             • Building was a gift from Malvina Armour in memory of her son, Philip D. Armour, Jr.
                                                                                                                                                                             • Recognized as Chicago Landmark, 2004.
                                                                                                                                                                             • Currently (as of 2009) houses the IIT Facilities offices and storage.
                                                                                                                                                                             • In continuous use by Armour Institute of Technology and Illinois Institute of Technology since built.


Main Building                     1893   Patten & Fisher       3300 S. Federal St., Chicago    Academic;        Administrative offices         N/A    Yes                    • Originally the principal classroom structure of Armour Institute. Included administrative offices,
                                                                                               Administration                                                                classrooms, and labs; also housed the AIT library and gymnasium.
                                                                                                                                                                             • The columns, capitals and other external ornamentation are of terra cotta. Stained glass window at the
                                                                                                                                                                             head of the central staircase is dedicated to Philip D. Armour, Jr. (died 1900).
                                                                                                                                                                             • Attic tower burned and was torn down in winter 1950.
                                                                                                                                                                             • The adjacent small building to the south is the former heating plant for the Main Building.
                                                                                                                                                                             • Over the years, Main Building has housed a variety of IIT academic and administrative offices and
                                                                                                                                                                             classrooms, including the architecture program at one point.
                                                                                                                                                                             • In continuous use by Armour Institute of Technology and Illinois Institute of Technology since built.
                                                                                                                                                                             • Recognized as Chicago Landmark, 2004.
Maintenance Garage                   1901      Patten & Fisher      3240 S. Federal St, Chicago    Academic           See Armour Institute            N/A    See Armour Institute    • Third building to be constructed as part of the Armour Institute of Technology complex.
                                                                                                                      Laboratory                             Laboratory              • Opened in 1917 as an internal combustion laboratory.
                                                                                                                                                                                     • Housed the school’s academic engineering laboratories.
                                                                                                                                                                                     • Other names include: AIT Laboratory; Maintenance Garage; Carpenter Shop.
                                                                                                                                                                                     • Concrete block walls added to inside of building.
                                                                                                                                                                                     • Later served as a garage, storage, and ROTC shooting range.
                                                                                                                                                                                     • Currently (2009) houses the student organization, Society for Automotive Engineers, and is used by the
                                                                                                                                                                                     Facilities Department.

Mandel Residence                   Ca. 1890s   L. B. Dixon          3400 Michigan Ave., Chicago    Residential        Non-extant                      1958   N/A                     • Built as the home of the Emanuel and Babette Mandel family.
                                                                                                                                                                                     • Housed student–soldiers during WW I.

Marshall Field Mansion               1876      Richard Morris Hunt 1905 S. Prairie Ave., Chicago   Academic           Non-extant                      ????   N/A                     • Built as the home of the Marshall Field family residence. Chicago entrepreneur Marshall Field founded
                                                                                                                                                                                     the “Field’s” chain of department stores.
                                                                                                                                                                                     • Redesigned by Henry Holsman and used for one year, 1937, by László Moholy-Nagy as The New
                                                                                                                                                                                     Bauhaus (which later became the Institute of Design).

McCormick Lounge and Dining Hall     1959      Skidmore, Owings & 3241 South Wabash St. Chicago    Residential        The dining hall was closed in   N/A    No                      • The Robert R. McCormick Lounge, located in the residence hall complex, was dedicated on January 27,
                                               Merrill                                                                2001 with the renovation of                                    1960.
                                                                                                                      The Commons.                                                   • Prior to the construction of State Street Village (opened 2003), the Residence Hall Complex, AKA
                                                                                                                                                                                     McCormick Student Village, consisted of six dorms, all linked by a lounge and cafeteria/dining room.
                                                                                                                                                                                     • The former dining room now serves as common area space.


McCormick Student Village            1963      Skidmore, Owings & 3241 S. Wabash Ave., Chicago     Residential        Residential. The dining hall    N/A    Access to interior    • Built as a dormitory, this is one of the six residence halls on the campus.
                                               Merrill; Mittelbusher                                                  was closed in 2003 with the            beyond the lobby area • All built between 1958 and 1959.
                                               & Tourtelot                                                            renovation of the Commons.             is restricted.        • Prior to the construction of State Street Village (opened 2003), the Residence Hall Complex, AKA
                                                                                                                                                                                   McCormick Student Village, consisted of six dorms, all linked by a lounge and cafeteria/dining room.
                                                                                                                                                                                   • The former dining room now serves as common area space.
                                                                                                                                                                                   • Dedicated on January 27, 1960.
                                                                                                                                                                                   • The six interconnected dormitories are: Fowler Hall; East Hall; Graduate Hall; Lewis Hall; North Hall;
                                                                                                                                                                                   South Hall.
                                                                                                                                                                                   • The typical residence hall room is approximately 11 feet by 16 feet.
                                                                                                                                                                                   • A new main entrance on the west side of the complex was designed by IIT Architects, the campus
                                                                                                                                                                                   architecture firm based in the College of Architecture, in 1992 under a grant from the McCormick
                                                                                                                                                                                   Tribune Foundation.
                                                                                                                                                                                   • The cafeteria, lounges, and other common areas were renovated under the same grant.
                                                                                                                                                                                   • The cafeteria was removed ca. 2003 upon renovation of The Commons.


McCormick Tribune Campus Center      2003      Rem Koolhaas /       3201 S. State St., Chicago     Student Services   Administrative offices;         N/A    The building is         • Key dates:
                                               OMA                                                                    student services; dining               generally open during   -- July 1997 Richard H. Driehaus Foundation International Design Competition announced
                                                                                                                      facilities; meeting rooms;             the day when school     -- Feb. 5, 1998 final presentations and public announcement of winner, Rem Koolhaas/OMA
                                                                                                                      auditorium                             is in session. Campus   (Netherlands)
                                                                                                                                                             visitors are welcome    -- Feb. 5, 1998 McCormick Tribune Foundation announces $10 million gift toward construction
                                                                                                                                                             to enter the building   -- Dec. 7, 1999 official announcement of the $9 million Illinois FIRST grant for construction of Exelon
                                                                                                                                                             and eat in any of the   Tube
                                                                                                                                                             food service venues.    -- March 9, 2000 formal groundbreaking ceremony
                                                                                                                                                                                     -- 2000-2003 in construction
                                                                                                                                                                                     -- Sept. 30, 2003 building dedicated
                                                                                                                                                                                     -- Oct. 4, 2003 building opened to the public
                                                                                                                                                                                     • The Campus Center includes two primary components: a 110,000-square-foot, one-story building to
                                                                                                                                                                                     serve a variety of student activity functions; and a 530-foot-long stainless steel clad tube that sits directly
                                                                                                                                                                                     above the building’s roof, designed to significantly muffle the noise and vibration generated by passing
                                                                                                                                                                                     Chicago Transit Authority commuter trains.
                                                                                                                                                                                     • Dining facilities, auditorium and meeting rooms, student organization offices, campus bookstore, coffee
                                                                                                                                                                                     bar, post office, and 7-11 convenience store are all located in the building.
                                                                                                                                                                                     • Uniquely connected to the Mies-designed Commons Building which serves as the campus’ dining hall.
Mecca Building                    Ca. 1890    Unknown               3360 S. State St., Chicago         Never used as a       Non Extant                     1952   N/A                    • An apartment building considered the most modern of its time, it was erected in time to house long-
AKA: Mecca apartments; Mecca                                                                           university building                                                                term visitors to the 1892 World’s Columbian Exposition.
Flats                                                                                                                                                                                     • Located on the northwest corner of 34th and State Sts., it was a large, U-shaped structure and each of its
                                                                                                                                                                                          five stories contained 7-room apartments with ornate balconies overlooking fountains in the landscaped
                                                                                                                                                                                          courtyard.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • During the Great Migration, apartments were divided and subdivided as more and more African
                                                                                                                                                                                          Americans arrived in the area needing housing. Overcrowding and deferred maintenance resulted in
                                                                                                                                                                                          severe deterioration of the building.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • Purchased by IIT in 1941 as part of the campus development program.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • S. R. Crown Hall now stands on the site.

Mechanical Engineering         Information not Unknown             XXX                                 XXX                   N/A                            XXX    N/A                    • Uncertain what building this name refers to; it may indicate either to an ARF building or an alternative
                                  available                                                                                                                                               name for Machinery Hall.
Michigan Place                      2004       David Hovey, Optima Bounded by 31st St. Michigan        Residential           Residential; long-term lease   N/A    No                     • Michigan Place Condominiums and Town Houses was a project initiated by IIT to create a residential
                                               Inc.                Ave., 32nd St. and Indiana Ave.                           by IIT to private                                            community for faculty and staff adjacent to its Main Campus.
                                                                                                                             management development                                       • Consists of two buildings, 120 units, located between Michigan and Indiana Aves. south of 31st St.
                                                                                                                             company                                                      • Designed by David Hovey, IIT alumnus and a member of the architecture faculty, in late modernist
                                                                                                                                                                                          form with flat roofs and exterior walls of glass separated by strips of anodized aluminum.



Military Science Building      1965 (acquired) Unknown              3201 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago Academics                 Non-extant                     ????   N/A                    • AKA Information Science Building.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • The building was acquired in 1965 through a gift by Newton Farr, trustee and realtor.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • Originally housed the university’s Information Science operations (i.e., computer center which later
                                                                                                                                                                                          moved to Stuart Building).
                                                                                                                                                                                          • Ca. 1971 – 1994 (?), it housed the Air Force and Navy ROTC programs.

Minerals and Metals Research   1943 (& 1958) Ludwig Mies van der 3350 S. Federal St., Chicago          Research              Rental property leased to      N/A    Access to interior    • First Mies-designed building to be built on IIT campus and his first in America.
Building (& addition)                        Rohe                                                                            research-based companies              beyond the lobby area • Built for Armour Research Foundation (ARF).
                                                                                                                                                                   is restricted.        • Original south bays opened January 11, 1943 and housed a foundry.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • Another section, also designed by Mies, was added in 1958 to the north making this building also the
                                                                                                                                                                                         last Mies-designed building to be built on the IIT campus.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • Cited at 15th Anniversary Exhibition of the Museum of Modern Art, New York (1943-44) as an
                                                                                                                                                                                         outstanding example of modern functional architecture.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • Two window levels on the southern side were later bricked up. Decorative mullions were added later
                                                                                                                                                                                         because columns were too thin.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • To the south stands a test cell and transformer building by Mies.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • AKA: IITRI Materials Technology Building; Metals Research Building; IITRI Minerals and Metals
                                                                                                                                                                                         Research Building.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • Building is located at the south end of campus, an area which has been referred to variously as: IIT
                                                                                                                                                                                         Research Institute complex; Biomedical Research Complex; University Technology Park (UTP).


Moffett Technical Center            1947      Schmidt, Garden, and 6502 S. Archer Rd., Summit-         Academic;             Research facility and          N/A    Access to interior    • AKA Moffett Campus.
                                              Erickson             Argo, Illinois                      Administration        laboratory                            beyond the lobby area • Built as the corporate headquarters and research laboratories for Corn Products International and named
                                                                                                                                                                   is restricted.        for Corn Products President George M. Moffett.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • Buildings were donated to IIT in 1988 as a gift of buildings by CPC International Inc.
                                                                                                                                                                                         • Now houses IIT’s National Center for Food Safety and Technology

North Hall                          1959      Mittelbusher &        3241 S. Wabash Ave., Chicago       Residential           Residential                    N/A    No                     • Built as a dormitory, this is one of the six residence halls on the campus.
                                              Tourtelot             71 E. 32nd St. may be an earlier                                                                                      • All built between 1958 and 1959.
                                                                    address.                                                                                                              • Prior to the construction of State Street Village (opened 2003), the Residence Hall Complex, AKA
                                                                                                                                                                                          McCormick Student Village, consisted of six dorms, all linked by a lounge and cafeteria/dining room.
                                                                                                                                                                                          • The former dining room now serves as common area space.
Ogden Field                          1894   Unknown              3241 S. Federal St., Chicago       Athletics     Non-extant                  Closed in 1960 N/A                    • A plot of land, originally surrounded by an iron fence, was set aside by J. Ogden Armour to become the
                                                                                                                                                                                    recreation field for Armour Institute of Technology.
                                                                                                                                                                                    • The iron fence was donated to the World War II metals collection project.
                                                                                                                                                                                    • The athletic field was nicknamed “The Bog” because of its rain soaked condition with the slightest
                                                                                                                                                                                    rainfall.
                                                                                                                                                                                    • The site is now occupied by Hermann Hall which houses The Bog, the campus pub and recreation
                                                                                                                                                                                    center.

Paul V. Galvin Library               1962   Walter Netsch /    35 W. 33rd Street Chicago            Library       Main university library         N/A       The building is         • Built as The John Crerar Library’s new facility when the Crerar, a private library dedicated to math and
                                            Skidmore, Owings &                                                                                              generally open during   science established in Chicago in 18__ by John Crerar, left its downtown Loop location in 1962.
                                            Merrill. 1985                                                                                                   the day when school     • Also housed the James S. Kemper Library (IIT’s academic library) upon construction.
                                            renovation done by                                                                                              is in session.          • Renovated in 1985 when the Crerar Library declined to renew its lease with IIT. (Crerar Library moved
                                            ??????                                                                                                                                  to the University of Chicago), the building was rededicated and renamed as the Paul V. Galvin Library in
                                                                                                                                                                                    memory of the founder on Motorola.
                                                                                                                                                                                    • Currently (2009) serves as IIT’s main library.
                                                                                                                                                                                    • Also houses the IIT Archives.
                                                                                                                                                                                    • The library air conditioning unit (1962) is a free-standing structure to the south of the building.



Perlstein Hall                       1947   Ludwig Mies van der 10 W. 33rd St., Chicago             Academic      Administrative offices;         N/A       Yes                     • Dedicated as Metallurgy and Chemical Engineering Building on June 17, 1949.
                                            Rohe                                                                  Academic                                                          • Named Perlstein Hall and re-dedicated May 1964 for Harris Perlstein, IIT life trustee.
                                                                                                                                                                                    • Building incorporates a lecture hall, interior courtyard, and a foyer.
                                                                                                                                                                                    • A fountain was installed on the south lawn in 1964 and dedicated as the Anne Perlstein Memorial Court
                                                                                                                                                                                    in memory of Harris’s spouse.
                                                                                                                                                                                    • Built to house the metallurgy and chemical engineering programs and university administrative offices.
                                                                                                                                                                                    • Executive and administrative offices located in the building until Nov. 2010 (when the moved to The
                                                                                                                                                                                    Tower) included the president’s office, several vice presidents, and the general counsel’s office.



Phi Kappa Sigma                      1958   Karl M. Schmidt      3366 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago Residential       Fraternity house                N/A       No                      • Located in “The Quad,” a group of nine buildings built for the IIT fraternities 1958-1960.
                                                                                                                                                                                    • Built as Phi Kappa Sigma (?) fraternity house.
                                                                                                                                                                                    • Porch was added in June 1977.

Physics and Electrical Engineering   1955   Ludwig Mies van der 3424 S. State St, Chicago           Research      Rental property leased to       N/A       Access to interior    • Built for the Institute of Gas Technology, as South building of what was the Institute of Gas
Research Building                           Rohe                                                                  research-based companies                  beyond the lobby area Technology Complex.
                                                                                                                                                            is restricted.        • Later used by Armour Research Foundation of Illinois Institute of Technology when IGT moved from
                                                                                                                                                                                  the IIT campus.
                                                                                                                                                                                  • Housed the Univac 1105 computer (not extant), and the first industrial nuclear reactor in U.S.
                                                                                                                                                                                  (dismantled in 1977/78).
                                                                                                                                                                                  • AKA: PER Building; IGT South.

Physics Building                     1888   Patten & Fisher      East side of Federal St. between   Academic      Non-extant                      1968      N/A                     • The classrooms known as of Physics Hall, AKA Physics Building, were originally part of Armour Flats.
                                                                 33rd and 34th Sts., Chicago                                                                                        • After some Armour Flats units were demolished prior to 1920, 63 units were left. Some of those
                                                                                                                                                                                    remaining units (the northernmost portion) were renovated as the Physics Hall in 1937.
                                                                                                                                                                                    • The southern units were known as Chapin Hall and used to house the Psychology Department.



Pi Kappa Phi                         1960   Mittelbusher &       3333 S. Wabash Ave., Chicago       Residential   Fraternity house                N/A       No                      • Located in “The Quad,” a group of nine buildings built for the IIT fraternities 1958-1960.
                                            Tourtelot                                                                                                                               • Built as Pi Kappa Phi (?) fraternity house.

Residence Dining Hall                1963   Mittelbusher &       71 E. 32nd St., Chicago            Residential   Common area space (as of        N/A       No                      • Also called “South Dining Hall.”
                                            Tourtelot                                                             2010).                                                            • Built 1958-1959 as part of the residence hall complex.
                                                                                                                                                                                    • Prior to the construction of State Street Village (opened 2003), the Residence Hall Complex, AKA
                                                                                                                                                                                    McCormick Student Village, consisted of six dorms, all linked by a lounge and cafeteria/dining room.
                                                                                                                                                                                    • The former dining room now serves as common area space.
Rice Campus                             1990      Solomon Cordwell    201 E, Loop Rd., Wheaton,          Academic;        Academic and administration         N/A      Yes ?                     • Dedicated in 1990; first classes held in Jan. 1991.
                                                  Buenz & Associates, Illinois                           Administration                                                                          • Initially identified as “IIT West” during planning stages, it was officially named the Daniel F. and Ada
                                                  Inc.                                                                                                                                           L. Rice Campus.
                                                                                                                                                                                                 • Prior to construction of the Rice Campus facility, IIT held classes in leased space at College of DuPage
                                                                                                                                                                                                 in Glen Ellyn (1986-1990).
                                                                                                                                                                                                 • Houses the Louis W. Biegler Library, classrooms, and IIT’s VOIP lab.

Richard D. Irwin Inc. building      Information not Unknown            3201 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago Research            Non-extant                          ????     N/A                       • The Irwin book publishing building was used by Armour Research Foundation’s to house its electrical
                                       available                                                                                                                                                 engineering research laboratories and operations.
Riverbank Acoustical Laboratories       ca. 1918    Unknown            1512 S. Batavia Ave., (Ill. St. Rt. Research       Research laboratory ? No            N/A      N/A                       • Used by Armour Research Foundation’s physics division beginning in 1947.
                                                                       31), Geneva, Illinois                              longer owned/used by IIT.                                              • The facility contained a specially constructed reverberation chamber for research in acoustical testing
                                                                                                                                                                                                 and measurement.

Robert F. Carr Memorial Chapel          1952      Ludwig Mies van der 65 E. 32nd St., Chicago            Chapel           Religious services by campus        N/A      The building is           • The only liturgical structure designed by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe.
                                                  Rohe                                                                    church groups and                            generally not open        • The chapel commemorates Robert F. Carr, president of Dearborn Chemical Company. Unique among
                                                                                                                          appropriate secular activities.              unless it is in use for   the single-story pavilions on campus, the chapel has load-bearing brick walls, not a steel frame.
                                                                                                                                                                       some program. Most        • The altar is a solid block of travertine.
                                                                                                                                                                       of the interior of the    • The Chapel exterior was restored in 2009; interior restoration is in progress (as of 2010) with the
                                                                                                                                                                       one-room building can     replacement of the curtain behind the altar in late 2009.
                                                                                                                                                                       be seen through the       • AKA: Memorial Chapel of St. Savior (or St. Saviour); the God Box.
                                                                                                                                                                       windows on the east
                                                                                                                                                                       facade.

S. R. Crown Hall                        1955      Ludwig Mies van der 3360 S. State St., Chicago         Academic         Academic                            N/A      The building is           • Widely regarded as Ludwig Mies van Der Rohe’s masterpiece, S. R. Crown Hall is one of the most
                                                  Rohe                                                                                                                 generally open during     architecturally significant buildings of the 20th Century Modernist movement.
                                                                                                                                                                       the day when school       • Designed to house the IIT Department of Architecture (now, the College of Architecture), the building
                                                                                                                                                                       is in session. Campus     accommodated the Institute of Design on it lower level when it was first occupied. (ID has since
                                                                                                                                                                       visitors are welcome      removed to another location.).
                                                                                                                                                                       to enter the building     • Crown Hall currently (2010) houses administrative and academic offices, classrooms, studio and lecture
                                                                                                                                                                       and walk through both     space, and a workshop and library for the IIT College of Architecture.
                                                                                                                                                                       upper and lower           • Ground breaking, Dec. 2, 1954; opened, ca. Sept. 1955; dedicated April 30, 1956.
                                                                                                                                                                       levels.                   • Named for Sol R. Crown, founder of material Service Corp., brother of Henry Crown, a former IIT
                                                                                                                                                                                                 trustee.
                                                                                                                                                                                                 • The building suffered a major fire on March 25, 1955 during construction.
                                                                                                                                                                                                 • Major renovation occurred ca. 1977-1978 (roof, exterior stairs, lights); original windows were replaced
                                                                                                                                                                                                 in 1975 (to meet then current Chicago building codes).
                                                                                                                                                                                                 • A/C installed 1986.
                                                                                                                                                                                                 • A major preservation effort occurred in 2004-2005, resulting in restoration of the exterior (included
                                                                                                                                                                                                 glass and south porch replacement), and renovation of the interior.
                                                                                                                                                                                                 • Granted Chicago Landmark status in 1997. Granted National Historic Landmark status in 2001.
                                                                                                                                                                                                 • The 2005 restoration received the 2006 Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Preservation Award for
Service Station                         1961      Mittelbusher &       3240 S. Wabash Ave., Chicago      Maintenance      Non-extant                        Ca. 2000   N/A                       Project of the Year, a station operated exclusively for Chicago, and a staff.
                                                                                                                                                                                                 • Campus auto service2006 Citation of Merit from AIAIIT students and2005 Honor Award from Chicago
                                                  Tourtelot                                                                                                                                      • Station ceased to sell gasoline in 1993 to comply with state and federal underground storage tank
                                                                                                                                                                                                 regulations, but continued to perform some routine maintenance services until 19??.

Siegel Hall                             1957      Ludwig Mies van der 3301 S. Dearborn St., Chicago      Academic         Academic                            N/A      Yes                       • Named for IIT Trustee David T. Siegel.
                                                  Rohe                                                                                                                                           • Dedicated April 1958.
                                                                                                                                                                                                 • The site where Siegel Hall stands was designated on the original Mies campus plan for the “Lewis
                                                                                                                                                                                                 Building,” the building intended to house the humanities and general sciences programs.
                                                                                                                                                                                                 • One of several buildings on campus which features the “Mies corner” construction technique.



Sigma Phi Epsilon                       1961      Mittelbusher &       3341 S. Wabash Ave., Chicago      Residential      Fraternity house                    N/A      No                        • Located in “The Quad,” a group of nine buildings built for the IIT fraternities 1958-1960.
                                                  Tourtelot                                                                                                                                      • Built as Sigma Phi Epsilon (?) fraternity house.
South Hall                                1959       Mittelbusher &       3241 S. Wabash Ave., Chicago      Residential             Residential                     N/A    No                     • Built as a dormitory, this is one of the six residence halls on the campus.
                                                     Tourtelot            An earlier address may have                                                                                             • All built between 1958 and 1959.
                                                                          been: 71 E. 32nd St.                                                                                                    • Prior to the construction of State Street Village (opened 2003), the Residence Hall Complex, AKA
                                                                                                                                                                                                  McCormick Student Village, consisted of six dorms, all linked by a lounge and cafeteria/dining room.
                                                                                                                                                                                                  • The former dining room now serves as common area space.


State Street Village                      2003       Helmut Jahn /        3303-3353 S. State St., Chicago   Residential             Residential                     N/A    No                     • Dedicated July 22, 2003, this student housing complex was the first (of two) new buildings to be added
                                                     Murphy-Jahn                                                                                                                                  to State St. campus since 1970.
                                                     Architects                                                                                                                                   • Designed by Helmut Jahn, an IIT alumnus.
                                                                                                                                                                                                  • Complex is three separate dormitories buildings; the five-story units are conceived as three pairs, each
                                                                                                                                                                                                  of which consists of two wings flanking a courtyard planted with birches and lined at the rear by a sound-
                                                                                                                                                                                                  insulating glass wall that rises to the full height of the building.
                                                                                                                                                                                                  • Awarded the 2004 Institute Honor Award from the American Institute of Architects.

Stuart Hall                               XXX        XXX                  XXX                               XXX                     XXX                             XXX    XXX                    • XXX
See Harold Leonard Stuart Building

Temporary Building # 1                  ca. 1946     Unknown              Between Dearborn and State Sts. Athletics                 Non-extant                      1966   N/A                    • Following World War II, a large temporary building (government surplus) was placed on stilts.
                                                                          on 32nd Street, Chicago                                                                                                 • Served as the university’s gymnasium until the summer of 1966.


Tennis courts                             1982       First Impressions   3100 block of Wabash Ave.,         Recreation              Recreation                      N/A    No ?                   • Tennis courts by First Impressions, 1982.
                                                                         Chicago
Test Cell                                 1948       Ludwig Mies van der 3430 S. Federal St., Chicago       Maintenance             Non-extant                      2010   N/A                    • Built for Armour Research Foundation on the northwest corner of 35th and South Federal Streets.
                                                     Rohe                                                                                                                                         • Initially used for research in the testing of firearms; later used for storage.
                                                                                                                                                                                                  • Razed 2010 for construction of Metra station at 35th St.


Tower Building, The                       XXX        XXX                  XXX                               XXX                     XXX                             XXX    XXX                    • XXX
See: IIT Tower
Transformer Vault                         1946       Ludwig Mies van der XXX                                XXX                     Maintenance                     XXX    No                     • See entry on the Minerals and Metals Research Building.
                                                     Rohe
Triangle (fraternity house)               1959       Ekroth, Martorano & 3360 S. Wabash Ave., Chicago       Residential             Fraternity house                N/A    No                     • Located in “The Quad,” a group of nine buildings built for the IIT fraternities 1958-1960.
                                                     Ekroth                                                                                                                                       • Built as Triangle (?) fraternity house.

VanderCook College of Music          Information not Ludwig Mies van der 3140 S. Federal St., Chicago       Originally; research;   Private music college offices   N/A    Access to interior    • VanderCook College moved onto the IIT campus in 1996 into a building (Association of American
                                        available    Rohe                                                   later, Academic         and classrooms                         beyond the lobby area Railroads [AAR] Building 1) designed by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe.
                                                                                                                                                                           is restricted.
Vendome Theater                           1887       Unknown              3143-3147 S. State St., Chicago   Maintenance             Non Extant                      1949   N/A                   • In 1887, a Turner Hall (a German cultural and athletic center), was built at this location. After a 1915
                                                                                                                                                                                                 fire, Turner Hall was either renovated or razed.
                                                                                                                                                                                                 • In 1919, the building at this location became known as the Vendome Theater, a movie theater catering
                                                                                                                                                                                                 to Black audiences. It doubled as a jazz performance theater and became well-known for its resident
                                                                                                                                                                                                 orchestra led by Erskine Tate.
                                                                                                                                                                                                 • Acquired by IIT in 1945 and used for storage.
                                                                                                                                                                                                 • Ca. 1960, used by Armour Research Foundation as its Industrial Chemistry Building.
                                                                                                                                                                                                 • AKA: Vendome Storage Building; South Side Turner’s Hall.

Victorian Mansions used as fraternity ca. late 1800’s Various             South Michigan Ave. between       Residential             Non-extant                      ????   N/A                    • Used by Armour Institute of Technology and IIT Greeks, ca. 1908 – ca. 1958.
houses                                                                    32nd & 33rd Sts.                                                                                                        • Fraternities known to have occupied these buildings included the following: Delta Tau Delta, Phi
                                                                                                                                                                                                  Kappa Sigma; Rho Delta Rho; Beta Psi; Kappa Delta Tau; Theta Xi; Stray Greeks; Sigma Kappa Delta;
                                                                                                                                                                                                  Pi Kappa Phi; Sigma Alpha Mu; Omega Lambda; Triangle; Phi Pi Phi; Tau Delta Phi; Beta Ph.
                                                                                                                                                                                                  • AKA: Fraternity Row.
                                                                                                                                                                                                  • Some buildings also housed NROTC students during WW II.
Wabash Building   Information not Unknown           XXX                             Research;        Non-extant   ????   N/A   • Originally a trucking firm’s office and loading dock.
                     available                                                      Administration                             • Acquired in 1950 and used by Armour Research Foundation for office, laboratory and shipping space.
                                                                                                                               • Later adapted for university use and housed the Institute of Psychological Services. General classrooms
                                                                                                                               and a few specialized laboratories for the Physics and Environmental Engineering were also located in
                                                                                                                               the building.


Wishnick Hall         1947      Ludwig Mies van der 3255 S. Dearborn St., Chicago   Academic         Academic     N/A    Yes   • Dedicated as the Chemistry Building on October 17, 1949.
                                Rohe                                                                                           • Renamed in 1966 for Robert I. Wishnick, IIT alumnus and trustee.
                                                                                                                               • Houses the Center for Excellence in Polymer Science and Engineering.

								
To top