The New Jersey Drivers Manual
Chapter 1- The New Jersey Driver License System
6 Point Verification System
1 _____________ document (birth certificate)
1 secondary document
Social Security Number
Laws Governing Driver Licenses
1. YOU MUST carry ____________________________, a valid
___________________________________ or a validated New Jersey
4. Address change- 1 week after moving
5. Name change- within 2 weeks
6. If you move to NJ and have an out-of-state license you must apply for a NJ
license within 60 days
DRIVING IS A PRIVILEDGE, NOT A RIGHT.
Graduated Drivers License (GDL) Program
GDL- is a multi-stage driver licensing program that _____________ introduces
driving privileges to first-time drivers, extends their ________________driving
time and requires a minimum age of _____ in order to receive an unrestricted,
basic driver license.
GDL restrictions placed upon first-time drivers must be strictly adhered to. Failure
to do so may result in a fine of __________ or a possible suspension of a
motorist’s driving privilege.
1. ______________________ Road
2. The ______________________________ Road
3. The Adult Road
The Early Bird Road
STEP 1- Get a _____________________________ Permit (16)
STEP 2- Practice with _____________________ (6 months)
STEP 3- Get a ___________________ License (17)
STEP 4- With a _____________________ License (1 year)
STEP 5- Get Basic Drivers License (18)
Special Learners Permit Restrictions
NO driving between __________pm- __________am
at least ____________
have _________ years of driving experience
Provisional Drivers License Restrictions
NO driving between _________am- __________am
NO cell phones
The Young Adult Road
STEP 1- Get an ______________ Permit (17)
MVC Knowledge and Vision Test
STEP 2- Practice _________________ Driving (6 months)
STEP 3- Get a _________________ License
STEP 4- Practice _________________ Driving (1 year)
STEP 5- Get the Basic Drivers License (18)
Examination Permit Restrictions
NO driving between ___________am- ____________am
*If 21, does not apply
NO cell phones
in __________ seat
at least ______
have ______ years of driving experience
The Adult Road
STEP 1- Get an ________________ Permit (21)
MVC Knowledge and Vision Test
STEP 2- Practice _______________ Driving (3 months)
STEP 3- Get a _________________ License
STEP 4- Practice __________________ Driving (1 year)
STEP 5- Get the Basic Drivers License
Follow the Rules!
Failure to follow GDL restrictions:
may result in a __________________
or a possible suspension of a motorist’s ______________
If the student driver commits a traffic offense, responsibility will be with
Basic Divers License- Class ____
Valid for _____________
Under 21- _____________, Over 21- _______________
Getting a drivers license illegally may result in-
Altering a drivers license, or showing an altered driver license, may result
Fine of up to ___________________
All ___________________________ drivers under age 21 must display a
________________________________________ on each license plate of any
motor vehicle they operate
Must have for road test!
Chapter 2- New Jersey Driver Testing
Requirements for a Basic Drivers License
Must score at least ______% (40/50)
* Pass: Results good for _______________
* Fail: Wait __________ to retake
Organ Donation Survey
Test Item Page
Driving in reverse 49
Following other vehicles 85, 86
Nearing corners, intersections 62
Parking (parallel) 52
Sitting properly 38
Starting a vehicle 44, 45
Steering properly 46, 47
Stopping at signs 71
Stopping smoothly 48
Turning 50, 68, 69
Turning around 51
Using the horn 43
Yielding right-of-way 61
Test Vehicle Requirements
No Obstructions- Examiner to foot/parking brakes*
Accompanied by a Licensed Driver
Schedule Your Road Test
Permit valid for _____________________
Failed Road Test- __________________________________________
Chapter 3- Driver Safety and the Rules of the Road
New Jersey’s Seat Belt Law
All ___________________________ passengers must wear a seatbelt.
Drivers with _______________________________ and all of their
passengers must wear seatbelts
Wearing a seatbelt increases your chance of surviving a crash by
Seatbelts Help in Many Ways
Keeps you from _____________________________________________
in a collision
Keeps you from
Child Restraint Law
Children up to _________ or weight of 80lbs must ride in a federally
approved ___________________________________ of the vehicle.
Children under age 8 and over 80lbs must be
If a passenger in the front seat is over 18 and caught not wearing a seat
belt, he/she _________________________________________.
Before you Drive
Steering Hand Position
Use the _____________ to signal when passing or when coming out of a
blind alley, curve or driveway.
Should be able to be heard from ________________
*The _______________ a vehicle is going, the _________________ it will take
to stop. When a motorist must stop quickly, speed can
To maintain a proper following distance when driving, you should stay at
least _______________ behind the vehicle in front of you.
At least 100 _____________________________
________________ the signal after the turn
Stop or slowing down:
Right turn: _________________________
Left turn: _____________________________
Driving in Reverse
In order to steer the car while moving backward, you should
ROAD TEST- back the vehicle about _____________________________,
slowly and smoothly
To back your car in a straight line you should turn your
__________________________ to the right (looking over your right
shoulder) until you can see clearly through the back window, and
1. Mirrors- _______________________
2. Check for ______________________ vehicles
3. ____________________________________________ at least 100 feet
5. Steady speed and follow _________________________________
7. Cancel turn after turn is finished
Turn wheels toward ______________
Turn wheels ___________ from curb
Must be able to parallel park in order to pass Road Test!
Markers are _________ apart
2. Signal for a ______________________________________________
to alert motorists that the vehicle will back up to the right.
3. Pull up ___________________________ about two to four feet from
the vehicle in _____________.
4. Turn and check to see that the way is clear behind the vehicle before
5. Turn body to look out _____________________. Back up slowly for
6. When the front of the vehicle has cleared ________________________
of the vehicle in front, stop and check the angle.
7. Make sure the right back wheel
8. Turn the steering wheel all the way _________________ while
beginning to back up slowly. Make sure the vehicle can clear its
9. When the vehicle is in line, ___________. Be sure not to hit the vehicle
10. Turn the vehicle’s wheels ______________, and drive to the center of
the parking space. The vehicle’s tires should be no more than
Chapter 4- Safe Driving Rules and Regulations
A good rule is to keep up
Double fines for exceeding the ________ limit by 10 mph or more.
___________________ also apply to most other moving violations
committed in a 65 mph zone.
Never drive faster than ____________, _________, or other conditions
safely allow, regardless of the posted speed limit.
Driving on a Curve
When driving around a curve, your vehicle will tend to
NJ Speed Limits
25 mph -
• 35 mph –
• 50 mph –
• 55 mph – Certain state and interstate highways, as posted
• 65 mph –
Both center lines are broken:
One center line is broken:
Both center lines are solid:
Note: All passing must be completed before
Passing on the Right
You may pass on the right on a two-lane roadway when
Do NOT Pass:
__________, __________, or at any time you cannot see far enough
When a sign prohibits passing or center lines restrict passing
When behind a vehicle that has stopped to ________________________
Yielding the Right of Way
Car on the _____________
_______________ ($100 fine)
Motorized or mobility-assistance devices
Other vehicles that are already in the i__________________
Entering Highways, Parkways, and Turnpikes
Obey _____________________________ (if any) at the entrance ramp.
Speed up to the flow of traffic when leaving the _____________________
_______________ to traffic and enter the right-hand lane when safe.
Leaving highways, Parkways and Turnpikes
Obey the posted advisory speed limit
When the exit is located on the left of a roadway,
If you miss an exit, ______________________________
Never __________________ on an exit ramp or deceleration lane.
When seeing a disabled vehicle ahead:
Increase the __________________ disabled vehicle
Be alert for ___________________, tow trucks and/or police vehicles.
If a motorist’s vehicle becomes disabled:
Turn on ____________________________.
_________________________ to signal for assistance.
Not get into a stranger’s vehicle.
Unless a No Turn on Red sign is posted, New Jersey law authorizes a right
turn on a red light
Turn into the lane nearest the center line of the right side of the other road
(passing lane). When traffic permits, the motorist should move to the right,
out of the passing lane.
Most accidents at traffic signals happen
______________________________after the light has changed.
______________________________ show motorists where to stop at stop
signs or traffic signals.
If a school bus has stopped directly in front of a school to pick up or let off
children, a motorist may pass from either direction at a speed of no more
Must yield for ______________________________________________
Allow ___________ behind vehicles
Do NOT park
"Move Over Law”- When approaching a stationary emergency vehicle,
tow truck, highway maintenance or other emergency service vehicle that is
displaying a flashing, blinking or alternating red, blue, amber or yellow light
or, any configuration of lights containing one of these colors, must change
lanes, safety and traffic conditions permitting, into a lane not adjacent to
the authorized vehicle. If a lane change is impossible, prohibited by law or
unsafe, the motorist must reduce the speed of his/her vehicle to a
reasonable and proper speed that is lower than the posted speed limit and
be prepared to stop, if necessary. Violators- fine of $100-$500.
Between _____________ after sunset and _____________ before
Visibility is ___________ or less, when using windshield wipers (during
rain, snow and ice) or when encountering fog, mist, smoke or other factors
that reduce visibility.
Bright beam-open-country driving when
_________________________________. The bright beam helps a
motorist see farther ahead and peripherally or at a wider angle.
Dim beams- _________________________________________________.
Dim beams are focused down on the road. Dim beams are used when
traveling behind other vehicles or when another vehicle is approaching.
Do NOT Park:
More than ___________ from the curb
Within ______ of a stop sign
Within 20 ft of the driveway entrance to __________________
Chapter 5- Defensive Driving
Standard Collision Prevention Formula:
Act in Time
Aggressive Driving/Road Rage: ______________________________________
Tired Driver/Highway Hypnosis
A tired driver is a ______________ driver
Can be as dangerous as a drunk driver
Reckless driving under ______________________________
Communicating and Driving
The best way to “talk” to other drivers is to
Stay in the lane that shows where he/she ________________________
At night, headlights from low to high and back to low
Keeping a Safe Distance
One Car Length- keep _____ car length back for each ________ of speed
To maintain a proper distance when driving, you should stay
1. Choose some _________________ ahead of the vehicle in front (sign or a
2. As the vehicle in front passes the object, begin counting seconds (one
thousand-one, one-thousand-two, one-thousand-three).
3. If it takes at least three seconds before the vehicle passes the object, a
motorist should have enough distance for a sudden stop.
4. Stopping Distance = __________________+ __________________ +
5. Keeping a foot near ________________
6. Time and distance relationships are designed for
*Heavier vehicles may _________________________
Minimum Safe Following Distance (in car lengths)
Road 20 MPH 30 MPH 40 MPH 50 MPH
Ideal 2 car lengths 3 4 5
Wet 4 car lengths 6 8 10
Gravel 4 car lengths 6 8 10
Packed Snow 6 car lengths 9 12
Ice 12 car lengths 18
Passed By Another Vehicle
If a vehicle is passing you, you should
Return to ____________________ after the passing vehicle is well ahead
Wet Roads- most slippery during the _____________________________
Chances _______________ as speed increases
○ Do NOT drive on ______________________
*Slow down during heavy rain, standing water, or slush is present.
Motorists may use studded snow tires between November 15 and April1.
When driving at night, be sure that you
Drive more ________________
Motorists should look at least _________________ ahead
Reacting to Driving Problems
If your car breaks down on any road, the first thing you should do is
After driving through a deep puddle you should
• Turn in the direction the ___________________________________
• Flare (300ft)
Running off the Pavement:
• Slow down and _________________________________
Holding wheel _________________
Pull to ________________________
Windshield Wiper Failure
Roll down _______________ window
If a motorist sees that his/her vehicle may hit something, one of three
things can be done: ________________________________________
If a collision is impossible to avoid, you can lessen the impact by:
What to do in Case of a Collision
Assume the worst and ____________ (notify the police; call an
Ask for assistance from passing motorists, bikers or joggers, if needed.
Depending on the location of the accident – local road, highway or in a
busy city intersection–warn oncoming traffic.
New Jersey law requires motorists to notify the police of accidents where there is
injury, death, or vehicle or property damage. If someone has been killed, do not
move the body or permit anyone to move the body until the police or ambulance
Chapter 6- Drinking, Drugs, and Health
After 2-4 drinks, alcohol begins to impair your:
The only thing that can make a person sober is __________!!
Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)
BAC is determined by 4 factors:
How quickly drinks were _________________
Legal limit for 21 and older: BAC of ________
Under 21: BAC of ______________________
If you drive a vehicle with as little as 0.01% BAC, you are subject to a penalty of:
______________ driver license suspension
______________ community service
Participation in an intoxicated driver resource center or other alcohol
education highway safety program
Blood Alcohol Content
BAC of .05 = risk for collision _______________
BAC of 1.0 = ____________ as great
BAC of .15 = ____________ as great
Driving while under the influence
The first signs of alcohol impairment are usually:
Under state law, refusal to ____________________ is equal is driving with a
BAC of .08 percent for a first offense.
Loss of driving privileges for ________________________________
MVC insurance surcharge of ________________________________
Drugs and Driving
Drugs that may affect basic driving skills are:
After alcohol, ___________________ is the drug most often found with drivers
involved in collisions.
Affects of Marijuana:
Loss of ____________ ability
Chapter 7- Driver Privileges and Penalties
The Driving Privilege
__________________________, not a right!
Reasons for Loss of Driving Privileges
Failure to _________________ or to pay fines
Failure to _______________________________________
Failure to provide _________________________________
Physical or mental disqualification
Traffic law __________________
Failure to respond to an MVC notice
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Penalties
First offense/BAC .08% or more but less than .10:
Three-month suspension of driving privilege
$250 to $400 fine
12- to 48-hour participation in an
$230 per day IDRC fee
Up to 30 days imprisonment
$100 Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund fee
$100 Alcohol Education, Rehabilitation and Enforcement Fund (AERF) fee
$1,000 annual surcharge for three years
$75 Safe Neighborhood Services Fund fee
Possible interlock device requirement for six months to one year
Driving while a license and/or registration is suspended…
and having a collision that causes injury to another person will result in a
____________, continued ______________________ and the potential for a
minimum ______________________________________ sentence.
Points added to the record
The more serious the violation, the more __________ the motorist is given.
Up to ____ points will be subtracted from your driving record if you have
Driver Improvement Program
Motorists who accumulate between ____ and ____ points in a
____________ period will receive a Notice of Scheduled Suspension by
mail from the MVC.
When your license is returned to you after suspension for points (or after
completing a DMV Driver Improvement Program), you will be on probation
Defensive Driver Courses
Probationary Driver Program
A motorist begins a two-year probationary driver period after receiving a
special learner or examination permit.
During this probationary period, a motorist convicted of
___________________ moving violations totaling _________________
must enroll in the Probationary Driver School Program, which is
administered by the MVC. Cost $____________
Mature Driver Program
A mature driver should constantly re-evaluate his/her driving skills. Driver
improvement courses are available to mature drivers at various driving
schools or through specific organizations.
NJ does not allow __________________________________________
If a motorist loses his/her license, driving is not permitted for any reason
Chapter 8- Sharing the Road with Others
Trucks, Tractor Trailers, and Buses
The no-zone Principle: ________________________________________
In adverse weather conditions, a truck takes _________________ to stop.
This can be as much as _____%
Motorcycles and Mopeds
Mopeds- may not exceed ____________, drive on the right side of the
road with the flow of traffic
Chapter 9- Vehicles Information
Chapter 10- Essential Driver Information
Lost or Stolen Driver License
A lost or stolen driver license should be reported to the police.
The applicant must appear in person at any agency to obtain a duplicate
and the applicant must show 6 Points of ID Verification.
Every vehicle registered in NJ must have __________________________
Uniform Anatomical Gift Act-
Traffic Signs, Signals, and Road Markings
During heavy traffic or in an emergency, a _________________ may direct traffic
A police officer can _______________________________________
Law enforcement orders/directions _________________ be obeyed
When traffic signals are hung horizontally, red is always on the ________
Right on Red
If not prohibited by a “no turn on red” sign, NJ law permits you to turn on
Flashing Yellow- __________________ and ______________ with care.
Flashing Red- ______________________________________________
Signs are divided into 3 basic categories:
____________and ___________-shaped with a _________ symbol or
Example: Roadwork Signs
Diamond shaped sign
Generally ___________________, with longer vertical dimension, and
have ____________ wording and borders on a _________ background
Yield sign- _______________________________
School Area- _______________________________
Road Markings have ___________________________ as signs or traffic signals
Yellow center lines:
separate traffic going the _____________ when there is more than
show __________ of roads
Dashed lines: passing is ____________ when safe
Solid line: ______________________
Crossing center lines on a two-way roadway for passing is legal when?