Learning Center
Plans & pricing Sign in
Sign Out

The Five Pillars of Islam


5pillar sof islam 321_V2N2 December 85 - B Review 321_V2N2 December 85 - B Review - Islam between East and West A Concise Encyclopedia of Islam Gordon Newby en_Islam_In_Brief en_misconceptions en_the_principles_of_Islam en_The_Prophet_Muhammad_from_A_to_Z Five Pillars of Islam Great Women of Islam Islam and the West Three Stories llhe Principles of The Five Pillars of Islam the_prophet_as_a_husband what must be known about islam Women of Islam Answers To Non Muslims Common Questions About Islam The Essence of Islam Islam and the West Annual Report on the State of Dialogue

More Info
									The Five Pillars of Islam                   Welfare Due to the Needy

The Declaration of Faith                    This is known as Zakat payment.
                                            Annually 2.5% of the net saving is spent
In Arabic it is known as Ash-Shahadah       on the poor or needy, as a means of
– Declaration of Faith. “I bear witness     purifying their possessions. The word
that there is none worthy of worship        Zakat means purification and growth.
except God, and that Muhammad               Each Muslim is responsible for
(pbuh) is His servant and Messenger.”       calculating and giving their own Zakat
The Prophethood of Muhammad (pbuh)          individually. Many Muslims also give as
obliges the Muslims to follow his           much they can Sadqa, (voluntary
exemplary life in every way.                donation) and it is best to do so secretly.

                                            Pilgrimage (Hajj)
Prayers are prescribed five times a day
as a duty towards God. They strengthen      Pilgrimage to Makkah in Saudi Arabia
and enlighten the belief in God and         once in a lifetime is obligatory, provided
inspire individuals to a higher morality.
They purify the heart and control
temptation towards wrongdoing and evil.
“O you who believe! Seek help with
patient perseverance and prayers, for
Allah is with those who patiently
persevere.“ (Quran 2.153)

                                            one has the means to do so. Hajj
                                            implies an individual’s temporary
                                            suspension of all worldly activities and
                                            realisation of oneself as a single soul in
                                            front of God alone. This is a close
                                            picture of the Kabah in Saudi Arabia.

Here are two boys in prayer -
demonstrating the two different
positions of prayer.


Fasting is observed once each year
during the month of Ramadan. This
means abstention from food, drink and
sexual intercourse from dawn to sunset.
Fasting teaches love, sincerity and
devotion. It develops a sound social
conscience, patience, unselfishness and
willpower. Muslims believe when they
fast by choice, God remembers their

To top