; January Meeting Minutes - School of the osage
Learning Center
Plans & pricing Sign in
Sign Out
Your Federal Quarterly Tax Payments are due April 15th Get Help Now >>

January Meeting Minutes - School of the osage


  • pg 1
									                            SCHOOL OF THE OSAGE SCHOOL DISTRICT
                                     Minutes of the Regular-Open Session
                           Heritage Bldg-Board Room-January 23, 2012 – 6:00 P. M.

MEMBERS PRESENT                                        MEMBERS ABSENT
Mary Whitman, Presiding Officer                        B.J. Page
Steven Hermann
Rocky Miller
Rod Miller
Alison Schneider
Tim Tabor

Dr. Brent Depeé-Superintendent                         Dan Field, Janet Dabbs-Media
Dr. Mary Anne Graham-Asst. Superintendent              Dale Law, James Edwards, Kathy Vance
Tony Hermann-Asst. Superintendent                      J.C. Reardon-Ittner Architects
Lori Sallee-Dir. Of Spec. Programs
Kathleen Mayer-Secretary

A quorum being present and due notice having been delivered and published, the regular monthly meeting of
the Board of Education of School of the Osage School District was called to order on Monday, January 23,
2012 by Mrs. Mary Whitman, Presiding Officer.

Motion by Mr. S. Hermann, seconded by Mrs. Schneider, to approve the tentative agenda as presented.
Motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Mrs. Schneider, seconded by Mr. S. Hermann, to approve the minutes as presented of the regular
open session December 19, 2011. Motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Mr. S. Hermann, seconded by Mr. Tabor, to approve payment of the list of bills as submitted.
Motion carried 5-0.

Financial statements for the month ending December 31, 2011 were reviewed. As of December 31, 2011, we
had received $5,354,301 or 26.8% of our budget revenue with expenditures to date of $8,189,515. Health
Escrow was $338,496 compared to $344,917 in 2010. Food Service paper balance at the end of December
was $116,040.

Open Forum: No one to speak.

Mr. Rod Miller entered the meeting at 6:07 p.m.

A.  Planning & Student Achievement-The board was given an update on drug testing. Chief Maples
    discussed a grant that the Lake Ozark Police Department had obtained to provide vouchers to parents
    for at-home drug testing kits. The school was asked to partner with them on this. All tests are
    confidential and results mailed to the parent only. The board will partner with the Police Department.
    The next meeting will be on Thursday, February 9th at 7:30 a.m.
Minutes of the Regular-Open Session Board Meeting Held January 23, 2012
B.    Operations-Facilities, Finance & Human Resources-During their January meeting, the committee
      discussed the Mills Building and decided to send it back to the Long Range Planning Committee for
      further discussion and planning. Their next meeting is scheduled for February 17th at 2:00 p.m.
C.    Communication & Community Involvement-No meeting.
A.    Board of Education Election – Filing closed on Tuesday, January 17th at 5:00 p.m. Mr. James
      Edwards, Mr. Dale Law, and Ms. Kathy Vance have filed for the two open seats. The election will be
      on Tuesday, April 3, 2012.
B.    Mills Elementary – Mr. Hermann presented information on room size, class size, the number of
      classrooms, and how the rooms were being utilized. Currently, there are not classrooms that have over
      20 students per class. However, every room is being used for teaching.
C.    Health Escrow Discussion – Dr. Depeé expressed concerns over the current escrow balance and
      presented several possible ways to increase the escrow fund balance. A motion by Mrs. Schneider,
      seconded by Mr. Rocky Miller, to approve a one year contract with Windsor Benefit Solutions to
      provide an evaluation of our current plan at a cost of $.75 per employee per month. Motion
      carried 6-0.
D.    Federal and State Program Evaluations -– Dr. Graham presented the annual evaluation for federal and
      state grant programs including Title IA, Title IIA, Title VIB, and Title Ia. Mrs. Sallee then reviewed
      the annual evaluations for Special Services, Parents as Teachers, and Early Childhood Special
      Education 2010-11. Motion by Mr. Rod Miller, seconded by Mrs. Schneider, to approve program
      evaluations as presented. Motion carried 6-0.
E.    Professional Learning Communities – Dr. Depeé discussed the steps needed for implementing an
      Osage Learning Community. Professional Learning Communities provide a district-wide plan (not
      individual building plans) for improving student achievement. The school will be using Solution Tree
      as a source to aid in designing a plan for the district as well as designating time for collaboration
      between staff.
F.    Faculty and Student Recognition – A copy of the report is attached.
      Second Reading MSBA Board Policy GBH Amendment – A motion by Mr. S. Hermann, seconded by
      Mr. Tabor, to approve adoption of Policy GBH as recommended by MSBA. Motion carried 6-0.
A.     City of Osage Beach TIF – Motion by Mr. S. Hermann, seconded by Mrs. Schneider, to accept
       the resignation of Rocky Miller from his position on the City of Osage Beach TIF. Motion carried
       6-0. An appointment to fill the position will be made during reorganization of the board in April.
B.    Facilities Usage Request – Motion by Mrs. Schneider, seconded by Mr. Rocky Miller, to approve the
      request by Bonk Hard Racing Committee to use the Heritage Building Gym for a meeting on February
      17, 2012. Motion carried 6-0.
C.    Set February Board Meeting-The regular monthly meeting will be held on Monday, February 20, 2012
      at 6:00 p.m.
D.    Reminder to submit future agenda items to Mrs. Page.

Motion by Mr. Rocky Miller, seconded by Mr. Tim Tabor, to hold another portion of the meeting in closed
session pursuant to RSMo 610.021.3 & .13 (Personnel) and .14 (Records which are protected from disclosure
by law). Motion carried. Roll call vote:
   Yes- Miller, Hermann, Miller, Tabor, Whitman, Schneider              No-None

Approved __________________                            ____________________________
                                                       Presiding Officer


To top