Foreign relations by ghnayghnay1


Main article: Politics of Mongolia

Mongolia is a parliamentary republic. The president is directly-elected. The people also elect the
deputies in the national assembly, the State Great Khural, which chooses the prime minister, who
nominates the Cabinet in consultation with the president. The Khural confirms the ministers.
Mongolia's constitution guarantees a number of freedoms, including full freedom of expression
and religion. Mongolia has a number of political parties, the biggest are the Mongolian People's
Party and the Democratic Party.

The People's Party - the People's Revolutionary Party between 1921 and 2010 - formed the
government of the country from 1921 to 1996 (in a one-party system until 1990) and from 2000
to 2004. From 2004 to 2006, it was part of a coalition with the Democrats and two other parties,
and after 2006 it was the dominant party in two other coalitions. The party initiated two changes
of government from 2004 until it lost power in a 2012 election. The Democrats were the
dominant force in a ruling coalition between 1996 and 2000, and an almost-equal partner with
the People's Revolutionary Party in a coalition between 2004 and 2006. An election of deputies
to the national assembly on 28 June 2012 resulted in no party having an overall majority.[56] The
Democratic Party won most seats[57] and its leader, Norovyn Altankhuyag, became prime
minister on 10 August 2012.[58]

The President of Mongolia has a largely symbolic role, but can block the Parliament's decisions.
The assembly can respond by overruling that veto by a two-thirds majority vote. Mongolia's
constitution provides three requirements for taking office as president; the candidate must be a
native-born Mongolian, be at least 45 years old, and have resided in Mongolia for five years
before taking office. The president must also formally resign his or her party membership.
Tsakhiagiin Elbegdorj, a two-time former prime minister and ex-member of the Democratic
Party was elected as president on May 24, 2009 and inaugurated on June 18 that year.[59]

State Great Khural chamber in session

Mongolia uses a unicameral parliamentary system in which the president has a symbolic role and
the government chosen by the legislature exercises executive power. The legislative arm, the
State Great Khural, has one chamber with 76 seats and is chaired by the speaker of the house. It
elects its members every four years by general elections. The State Great Khural is powerful in
the Mongolian government with the president being largely symbolic and the prime minister
being chosen by the parliament from among its own membership.

Foreign relations

Main article: Foreign relations of Mongolia

A Mongolian soldier, with an SA-7 man-portable air-defense system on the Pacific Alaskan
Range Complex during Red Flag-Alaska 07-3 in Alaska, United States.

Mongolia maintains positive relations and has diplomatic missions in many countries such as
Russia, the People's Republic of China, India, North and South Korea, Japan, and the United
States. The government has focused a great deal on encouraging foreign investments and trade.

Mongolia has embassies in Almaty, Ankara, Bangkok, Berlin, Beijing, Brussels, Budapest,
Cairo, Canberra, Warsaw, Washington, D.C., Vienna, Vientiane, Havana, Delhi, Kuwait City,
London, Moscow, Ottawa, Paris, Prague, Pyongyang, Seoul, Sofia, Stockholm, Tokyo, Hanoi,
and Singapore, a consulate in Irkutsk and Ulan-Ude, and diplomatic missions to the United
Nations in New York City and in Geneva.[60]

To top