Docstoc

Google-Adwords-and-Analytics

Document Sample
Google-Adwords-and-Analytics Powered By Docstoc
					Hatteras Software along with the Wake Forest Chamber


       Google Adwords and Analytics
                                                  Google Adwords
   Google Adwords allows you to advertise on:
    Google.com

    Google ad boxes on websites

    Specific websites

    Mobile devices

    Video advertising (Youtube & Google Video)



   Adwords offers both per click (CPC), per 1000 impressions (CPM),
    and per acquisition (CPA) pricing models

   You control your budget amounts and how you want your ads
     targeted.
    Daily budget, Monthly charge limit

    Location limiting

    Keyword targeting




Tech for Dummies – Google Adwords and Analytics                       2
                                                   Google Adwords
   Maximum Bid
    This is the most you are willing to pay per click, mille (CPM), or

     acquisition.
    What you actually pay is 1¢ more than the the maximum bid of

     the loser.

   Budgets
    You set your daily budget.

    Google will spread the display of your ad over the day. The higher

     your budget, the more your ad is shown.
    You may be charged up to 20% over your daily budget on any

     day, but never more than your daily budget * 30.4 in a month.
    Example:

       Daily budget: $10. Maximum daily charge: $12. Never more

        than $304 in a month.


Tech for Dummies – Google Adwords and Analytics                           3
                                                            Google Adwords
   CPM or CPC?
    CPM is traditional for brand awareness campaigns, but can be

     used to create a pseudo CPC campaign at lower cost.
    Using your click through rate (CTR) you can compare what your

     CPC is by what you are paying for your CPM
      CPC = CPM / (CTR * 1000)
          $3.40 / (0.08 * 1000) = 4.25¢ per click = CPC



   Conversion Tracking and CPA
    Requires conversion tracking. Conversion tracking can be setup

     in any campaign type to help you track ROI.
    In CPA campaigns you pay when the customer completes an

     action such as visiting a page, buying a product, etc.
    Conversion tracking and CPA campaigns require special additions

     to the specific pages you are tracking.
          http://www.youtube.com/adwordsclassroom#p/c/0/wkt7hkoF9qE


Tech for Dummies – Google Adwords and Analytics                          4
                                                  Google Analytics
   Free tracking of visitors to your website.

   http://www.youtube.com/googleanalytics?hl=en#p/u/2/_qfG2d9etvk

   Requires a privacy notice to be posted on your site with verbiage
   from Google included.

   Requires a small change on every page on your site. If you use
   Wordpress or another CMS, place this in your theme!

   Customizable reports that can be emailed on a weekly basis. Use
   the email button while viewing a report to set this up.




Tech for Dummies – Google Adwords and Analytics                        5
                                                  Google Analytics
   Can be integrated with your Adwords account. Your Adwords traffic
    will be shown in your Analytics reports.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9fQCWoJ0fm8

   Goals and Funnels
    Goals are specific target pages you want visited. Such as a

     receipt page after a purchase.
    A funnel is the series of pages you expect to be visited on the

     path to a goal.
    The Funnel Visualizer allows you to see metrics about your

     funnels. Goals will be included in the normal reporting if they are
     set up.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IibCs23EuiE



   Bounce Rate? This is the percentage of visitors to your site that
    view one page and then leave. Lower is better!

Tech for Dummies – Google Adwords and Analytics                            6
                                                  Google Analytics
   Free tracking of visitors to your website.

   Requires a privacy notice to be posted on your site with verbiage
   from Google included.

   Requires a small change on every page on your site. If you use
   Wordpress or another CMS, place this in your theme!

   Customizable reports that can be emailed on a weekly basis. Use
   the email button while viewing a report to set this up.

   Bounce Rate? This is the percentage of visitors to your site that
   view one page and then leave. Lower is better!




Tech for Dummies – Google Adwords and Analytics                        7
                                                             Google Analytics

                                            Live Demo
                                     Meet “[UTAC] Raycaster”

                                                  aka

                                             Erik Nedwidek

     Wrote a web based cheater detection application for Battlefield 2.

                                     Went viral April 26, 2008.




Tech for Dummies – Google Adwords and Analytics                             8
                                     Questions
   Erik Nedwidek
   Hatteras Software
   nedwidek@lighthousitc.com




Tech for Dummies – Green Computing           9

				
DOCUMENT INFO
Shared By:
Categories:
Tags:
Stats:
views:3
posted:11/22/2012
language:English
pages:9