Docstoc

LERU_UNIGE-InfoTravel2011

Document Sample
LERU_UNIGE-InfoTravel2011 Powered By Docstoc
					GENEVA – Venue, hotels, maps


Arrival in Geneva


By air

Geneva is accessible by air from every major European airports. Many companies, including
low-cost, serve Geneva. For any information on all incoming routes, see the Geneva Airport
website.


From airport to Geneva downtown: In the
arrival lounge, a free train and bus ticket
machine is available. It is located next to the
exit, please see the picture below. It allows
you to travel one hour on any bus and by
train from the airport to the train station
called “Gare Cornavin”.

Transportation from the airport downtown takes around
   -     10-15minutes by train (Swiss railways, departure approx. every 15 minutes)
   -     20-30 minutes by bus
   -     15-20 minutes by taxi (phone 022 3314133, CHF 30-40)




By train

Geneva can be easily reached by train from Germany (via Basel), from Italy (via Milano), or
from France (via Paris or Lyon), with arrival at Geneva “Gare Cornavin” central station.

For all useful information on fares and timetables, see the Swiss railways website.

From the railway station, all locations can be easily reached by tramway/bus or by taxi (phone
022 3314133) or walking ...
Conference/meeting location in Geneva


UNI DUFOUR BUILDING

Address :
Rue Général-Dufour 24
1204 Genève
Tél: +41 22 379 71 11 (reception)

Room 408 (4th floor)

More information / Other UNIGE locations


At your arrival at Geneva's railway station “Gare Cornavin”, go to the main entrance and,
outside, on place Cornavin
    - take the tramway 15 and get off at the bus stop called "place du Cirque" or the next one
       called "Plainpalais" (10 minutes) and walk to Uni Dufour (5 minutes), or
    - walk (15-20 minutes), or
    - take a taxi (5-10 minutes, CHF 20).


From the railway station (A) to Uni Dufour (B)
Hotels- Accomodation
There are more than 200 hotels in Geneva. For direct internet booking and special offers,
please consult Geneva Tourism:
http://www.geneve-tourisme.ch/?rubrique=0000000000&lang=_eng


Some hotels near the central railway station:

****Hotels:
     Hotel Cornavin http://www.fhotels.ch/fassbind-hotels.ch/fr-hotel-cornavin.html
         (situated just beside station, with modern extension)
        Hotel Montbrillant1) http://www.montbrillant.ch/fr/index.php#index.php
        Hotel du Midi http://www.hotel-du-midi.ch/
         (situated near lake/Rhône, calm, confortable)

***Hotels:
     Hotel Astoria http://www.astoria-geneve.ch/index.html
     Hotel Savoy http://www.hotel-savoy.net/index.htm
     Hotel Strasbourg http://www.hotelstrasbourg.ch/index.php?lang=en
     Hotel Suisse http://www.hotel-suisse.ch/en/index.php
     Hotel Bernina http://www.bernina-geneve.ch/
     Hotel Cristal http://www.fhotels.ch/fassbind-hotels.ch/fr-hotel-cristal.html

**Hotels:
    Hotel Ibis http://www.ibishotel.com/gb/hotel-2154-ibis-geneve-centre-gare/index.shtml


Some hotels near the University:

****Hotels:
                         1)
     Hotel Ambassador www.hotel-ambassador.ch
                   1)
     Tiffany Hotel   http://www.hotel-tiffany.ch/fr/
         (Art Deco style, calm)

***Hotels:
                   1)
     Hotel Comédie   http://www.hotel-comedie.ch/

**Hotels:
                          1)
    Hotel Belle Espérance http://www.hotel-bel-esperance.ch/welcome/en/
         (situated in old town of Geneva, calm setting, small/simple rooms)




Hotel with different type of rooms, and others:

         Hotel Central http://www.hotelcentral.ch/en/index.php
          (situated in the old town – 10 minutes walk from Uni Dufour)

         Auberge de Carouge http://www.aubergedecarouge.ch/
         (situated in the trendy old town of Carouge, nice setting, 15 min. from Uni Dufour by tramway)


1)
  Special offers UNIGE: hotels with special rates for UNIGE bookings, depending on availability (please contact
christiane.bezuchet@unige.ch) and communicate your hotel/room choice)

				
DOCUMENT INFO
Shared By:
Categories:
Tags:
Stats:
views:4
posted:11/17/2012
language:English
pages:3