nebosh diploma

Document Sample
nebosh diploma Powered By Docstoc

Aim and Objective: The NEBOSH International Diploma is designed for individuals who want
to progress their career in health & safety & develop
the international knowledge & skills in order to become an international health &
safety practitioner.

The NEBOSH International Diploma has been modeled on the National Diploma
which has for many years been the flagship NEBOSH award

Course Content

The course consists of the following 4 modules

Unit A: Unit A:Managing health and safety (170 hours)

Principles of Health and Safety Management, Loss Causation and Incident Investigation,
Identifying Hazards, Assessing and Evaluating Risks, Risk Control and Emergency Planning,
Organizational and Human Factors, Principles of Health and Safety Law, Criminal Law, Civil
Law, Measuring Health and Safety

Unit B: Hazardous agents in the workplace (115 hours)

General Aspects of Occupational Health and Hygiene, Principles of Toxicology and
Epidemiology, Hazardous Substances – Evaluating Risk, Preventive and Protective Measures
and Monitoring and Maintenance of Control Measures, Biological Agents, Physical Agents –
Noise and Vibration and Radiation and Thermal Environment, Psycho- Social Agents,
Ergonomic Factors

Unit C: Workplace and work equipment (115 hours)

General Workplace Issues, Principles of Fire and Explosion, Workplace Fire Risk
Assessment, Storage, Handling and Processing of Dangerous Substances, Work
Equipment, Machinery Safety, Mechanical Handling, Electrical Safety, Safety in
Construction and Demolition, Environmental Pollution and Waste Management

Unit D : Application of health and safety theory and practice (56 hours Assignment).

This unit comprises an 8,000-word assignment.
Target Audience:

Managers, supervisors and employees based outside the U.K.

Entry Requirements:

There are no longer entry requirements, though students will find it helpful to have completed
the International General Certificate first.

Certification: Certification:

Delegates who successfully complete 3 Units and practical assessment
will receive an NEBOSH International Diploma.

Membership and recognition:

Holders of the NEBOSH International Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety may use the
designatory letters “IDipNEBOSH” after their name and gain GradIOSH leading to chartered
status (CMIOSH) from the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH).

Shared By: