; Delta Sigma Theta Bill
Learning Center
Plans & pricing Sign in
Sign Out
Your Federal Quarterly Tax Payments are due April 15th Get Help Now >>

Delta Sigma Theta Bill


  • pg 1
									Bill F12-07                                                                     Senator Desire’e Burnett
October 17, 2012

                                     Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Whereas, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded on January 13, 1913 by twenty-two collegiate
women at Howard University. These students wanted to use their collective strength to promote
academic excellence and to provide assistance to persons in need. The first public act performed by
the Delta Founders involved their participation in the Women's Suffrage March in Washington D.C.,
March 1913. Delta Sigma Theta was incorporated in 1930.

Whereas, DST promotes interaction through forums, meetings and other mediums for the exchange
of information and engages in cooperative programming and initiatives through various activities
and functions which include activities such as: Voter Registration Drives, Pennies for Popsicles,
Voting Reminders, and etcetera;

Whereas, DST will be hosting and attending several activities throughout the remainder of the
semester as well as into the spring 2013 semester. These include: the Pink and Violet Social; the Safe
Sex Awareness Drive; Sex, Lies, and Chocolate; the Total Woman Tea; and Founders Day

Whereas, the approximate cost of these events for an unlimited amount of students at approximately
$84.97 for the Pink and Violet Social, approximately $77.28 for the Safe Sex Awareness Drive,
approximately $29.97 for Sex, Lies, and Chocolate, approximately $72.84 for Delta Sigma Theta
Day of Service, approximately $114.95 for the Total Woman Tea, and approximately $1,348 for
Founders Day Weekend totals $2,307.13;

Be it therefore resolved that the sum of $1,728.01 be appropriated from the Organization
Assessment Fund to defer the cost of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated’s upcoming
programs and events.

_______________________                                            _________________________
      Davante Lewis                                                        Caleb Whalley
Student Government President                                       Student Government Treasurer

                                          Terence Delaine Jr.
                                      Speaker of the Student Senate

Davante Lewis      Josiah Eastman         Terence Delaine Jr.   Caleb Whalley           Maci Wilcox
 President          Vice-President         Senate Speaker         Treasurer              Secretary

To top