Currents-April -- Zone Adds--LS

Document Sample
Currents-April -- Zone Adds--LS Powered By Docstoc

Team Ray's Raiders/Kershaw Commons is embarking on its first MS walk as a team on Sunday, April 15 for
Multiple Sclerosis. The team is honoring the late Raymond Kershaw who served as Freehold Township Mayor and
Committeeman. Kershaw was highly instrumental in getting Kershaw Commons off the ground.

Kershaw Commons (which was named after Ray) is a brand new facility that opened in September 2011 and has
30 apartments specifically designed as a supportive facility for people living with MS. It is the second such facility
in the nation.

Team co-captains are Arlene Amtzis and Susan Kershaw, who say they are seeking sponsorship in the form of
donations and walkers to join the team. All donations must be collected before June 1st.

There are a total of 12 walk sites in New Jersey and only three in Monmouth County: Freehold, Belmar and Sandy
Hook. The walk takes place on Sunday April 15 at CentraState Hospital, Fitness & Wellness Center, Freehold.

In addition, Team Ray's Raiders is raising funds by selling a #3 carwash from Freehold Raceway Carwash (6
Schlechtweg Way, off Route 537), for $15. You can purchase more than one.

To donate or join the team, Please contact: Arlene Amtzis, (732) 431-5144,, or

For all woodworking hobbyists, The Garden State Marquetry Society Plus (GSMSP) meets once a month at the
Monmouth County Library, Manalapan. Marquetry -- "painting" with wood materials -- is actually an ancient art
form performed for centuries. The GSMSP is a growing group of woodworkers and craftsman of various skill
levels and interests who meet monthly to trade ideas, share tips and learn from presentations by members and
expert guest speakers. The meetings are on Saturdays: April 7, May 5 and June 2. For times and more information,
visit or call John at (610) 222-3829.

Photo Caption

The Freehold Borough March 5, 2012 council meeting featured the swearing in of the first Youth Government, an
initiative of Councilman Jaye Sims.

Standing (l to r): Caitlyn Kafka, Deputy Youth Borough Clerk; Matt Parke, Youth Police Chief; Cierra Sims, Youth Councilperson
Alternate; Mackenzie Parke, Youth Administrator; Emily Higgins, Youth Borough Attorney; Kayla Ciok - Youth Borough Clerk
Sitting, (l to r): Cydney Sims, Youth Councilperson; Jaye Sims, Councilman;   Allyssa Gonzalez, Youth Councilperson, John
Newman, Councilman; Daniel Gross, Youth Council President; Sharon Shutzer, Council President; Nolan Higgins, Mayor; Brayden
Donnelly, Youth Mayor.

Photo by Allan Goldberg, Coachman Studios

(409 words)

Shared By: