The following information was gathered from each client: medical by 4K9bV7S8

VIEWS: 0 PAGES: 3

									CASP 534 Summer 2000                                                                                                 1
The following information was gathered from each client: medical, educational, vocational, social, psychological,
financial information, vocational goal or specific objective, interest in training, and leisure activities.

Lauren Knorr
Medical: Three years ago when Lauren was 32 she was involved in an automobile accident which resulted in a
spinal cord injury at the sixth thoracic vertebrae (T6). She has paraplegia but is able to use a manual wheelchair.
Her physical rehabilitation has taken two years. With the training she received she is able to take care of herself,
dress, personal hygiene, write, eat, transfer from bed to chair and chair to car. She drives with hand controls. She
does not take medication. She has not had any problems with decubitis ulcers. Her bowel and bladder problems
are not any more difficult than usual. She does not have any chronic pain. She wears glasses.

Educational: Lauren finished high school at a nearby small town. She reports that she did well in business classes.
She disliked math and science and preferred choir and orchestra. Lauren went to cosmotologist school for one
year and has attended a number of workshops to keep current.

Vocational: Lauren worked during high school at a fast food restaurant taking orders and serving as a cashier for
two years. The work was busy and she liked the fast pace. After high school she worked on a golf course watering
the greens at night for a year. Lauren liked the free time during the that his job allowed but was bored with the
repetition. The job required heavy lifting of water pipes, but she had the stamina to do the work. Lauren entered
the cosmotologist school and did child care for one year. The child care was a good experience, Lauren enjoyed
interacting with the children teaching them new things and training them at developmental tasks. After that she
went to work as a hair stylist for three different businesses for the last 13 years. Her work history was fairly
consistent with only a few months not working between each change in jobs. Lauren liked the pace of the work as
a hair stylist and interacting with the customers. She cashiered, she was very good with her hands and had good
finger dexterity. Lauren is still cutting hair for a few of her loyal customers and friends but she does not have the
stamina to do this more than occasionally.

Social: Lauren married Ken when she was 20 years old, they have two children a boy and a girl, Carl and Louisa,
ages 10 and 8 respectively. Lauren’s parents live in town and were very helpful when she was going through her
rehabilitation. They helped around the house and with child care. Lauren has a two sisters and a brother. Her
brother and his wife live in town and have helped take care of Lauren's children since the accident.

Psychological: Lauren said she cried everyday for two months after her accident and was very worried that Ken
would leave her. Lauren said at first she did not think she would ever have the strength to do the transfers from
bed to wheelchair or into a car but she kept working at it. Lauren explained that Ken is a quiet man who does not
show his emotions but he was always there for her. Lauren explained that she cannot do all the things she used to
do for her children. Ken helps out a lot, and she said at first she was resentful that Ken did more with the children.
He has become more attached to them, and I like that Lauren reports. I feel I need to get out and start working
again and Ken is all for it she said.

Financial: Ken's job in construction pays well and he makes $50,000 a year. Lauren made $20,000 as a hair stylist
before the accident. Their house mortgage is $900 a month and a car payment of $200. Even though Lauren had
medical insurance, her rehabilitation bill is $40,000 which the pay on when they can. Lauren's parents have been
helping out.

Vocational Goal: Lauren says she would like to work in a small business like being a hair stylist. She liked working
with the public and working with her hands. She would like to go to college or vocational/technical school to get
some skills. She is not sure what she can do. For her leisure time she likes reading to her children, doing stain
glass, and playing cards.

Counselor Impression: Lauren came to the interview dressed as if she were going to a job interview. She spoke
clearly and was fairly articulate. Lauren appeared enthusiastic. She seemed to be quiet and tense when she
talked about the emotional parts of her life, but she was balanced and seemed to become more comfortable as the
topics moved away from emotional issues.
CASP 534 Summer 2000                                                                                                   2

Lark Carson
Medical: Lark walked into the agency and into the counselor's office without any noticeable limitations. Lark was a
thin man. He talked about his disability as being unable to deal with stress. He had a nervous breakdown and
went to the hospital a few years ago. He takes medication (Haldol) which helps him with the stress. Lark reports
that he is in fine health other than the stress condition.

Educational: Lark reports that he dropped out of high school when he was in the 10th grade. He lived with his
grandmother after that. He said that a few years ago he went to the Community College and obtained his GED.
He has taken some College classes. He likes math. He reports that he received A's and B's in these classes.

Vocational: Lark reports that he worked in his grandmother's grocery store stocking shelves, unloading food,
cleaning the floors, etc.. He has worked delivering newspapers, lawn care at a cemetery, cleaning a movie theater,
building fences, feeding cattle, and as a janitor. Lark was unable to give precise dates and lengths of employment.
A number of times he described his employers as difficult people, and he left working because of conflicts with the
employer.

Social: Lark lives alone in an apartment. He keeps in contact with his grandmother who lives in a city 50 miles
away. His parents are divorced. He does not know where his mother is living, she left when he was a boy. He is
very upset with his father who he says beat him and treated him poorly. He moved to his grandmother’s (his
father’s mother). When asked about current friends or if he has a girlfriend. He answered with embarrassment that
he did not have any girlfriends and his male friends were “bums” His last friend and roommate moved out a month
ago.

Emotional: Lark reported that he had been to a hospital for a nervous breakdown and that he had been in treatment
with a psychiatrist five years ago. He takes medication (Haldol) to help him with stress. When asked how he copes
with stress now, he took a long time to answer and said he thinks a lot.

Financial: Lark is currently not working. His roommate was helping with the rent. He has received help with the
rent from a social services agency. He has been eating occasionally at the local Mission.

Vocational Goal: Lark is not sure what sort of work he would like to do. He would like to go to college. For leisure
activities, Lark likes to read biology books about plants and trees and take walks in the woods.

Counselor Impression: Lark came to the interview with a flannel shirt and jeans with holes in them. He appeared to
be unwashed and there was a noticeable odor. Lark is 25 years old. He appeared to talk with a monotone and
without emotion. He was polite and answered questions but did not volunteer information.
CASP 534 Summer 2000                                                                                    3


Larry Roan
Medical: Larry Roan is an 18 year old male who has a cognitive developmental disability as
related by his father, Joe, and mother, Sally who came to the interview. When Larry was born it
was a difficult birth and the doctors think that he was without oxygen for a short period of time and
this may have caused a delay in his development. Larry and his family report that he also has a
heart problem. One of the valves is does not close properly. While it does not affect him all the
time, he needs to be careful that he does not over exert himself.

Educational: Larry is about to graduate from high school. Larry has attended the local schools
and went to special education classes. Larry reads, writes, and can do some math.

Vocational: Larry says he helps out around the house by washing dishes, taking out the garbage,
cleaning his room, helping with yard work. At school Larry reports that he had a part-time job at a
local motel helping with the laundry putting the sheets and towels in the washers, putting in the
soap, and starting them then removing them and putting them in the dryer starting it and then
taking them out and folding them for the maids.

Social: Larry lives with his mother and father and four brothers and sisters. Three younger sisters
and one older brother. Larry has two good male friends with whom he goes fishing, skating, and
basketball and football games.

Psychological: Joe and Sally report that Larry is a happy young man. He is generally smiling and
has a positive attitude. He can get stubborn sometimes. He does not like to be told what to do
over and over again.

Vocational Goal: Larry reports that he would like to do the same kind of work as his older brother
who is in the forest service. Larry says he would like to be out in the woods. He would attend
training if he had to, but wants to go to work now.

Counselor Impressions: Larry was dressed appropriately for the interview nice slacks and a sport
shirt. He was quiet but able to communicate and responded to questions directly put to him. His
parents advocated for him. Joe and Sally appeared to be concerned about what is best for Larry.

								
To top