There is also a special invocation to Chitragupta as Dharmraj Lord of Justice to be made at the performance of shradh or other rituals by 64JB6CO


                                                        Amar Akshat

According to Hindu Vedic Scriptures and Hindu Mythology believes that the entire world, as we know it, was
created by LORD BRAMHA, the Creator. Lord Bramha first created 16 Sons from various parts of his own
body. Shree Chitraguptjee, his 17th creation, is believed to be the creation from Lord Bramha's Mind & Soul.

Shree Chitraguptjee is divine incarnation in human form. Called Kayastha since he is the only creation of Lord
Bramha, created in entirety [KAYA] from the lords body, unlike the other 16 sons who were created only from
various parts of the body. Shree Chitraguptjee (& hence the Kayastha's) were accorded a dual caste status,
namely KSHATRITYA [Warrior] and BRAHMIN [The Learned].. The Kayastha trace their genealogy from
Lord Chitragupta. It is said that after Lord Brahma had created the four Varnas (Brahmins, Kshatriyas, Vaishyas
and Shudras), Yama (Dharamraj) requested Lord Brahma to help him record the deeds, both good and evil, of
men, and administer justice.

According to scriptures, Lord Brahma went into meditation for 11,000 years and when he opened his eyes he
saw a man holding a pen and ink-pot in his hands, as well as a sword girdled to his waist. Lord Brahma spoke:
Thou hast been created from my body (Kaya), therefore shall thy progeny be known as the Kayasthas. Thou hast
been conceived in my mind (Chitra) and in secrecy (gupta), thy name shall also be Chitragupta. Brahma then
enjoined him to dispense justice and punish those who violated the dharma. Thus, the Kayasthas were accorded
a dual caste, Brahman/Kshatriya.

In the legends of Chitragupta as well as in the Vedas, he is referred to as the greatest King, while the rest are
"Rajakas," or little kings.
    इद               इद                        ।
       इ        द                      दद ॥ RIG VEDA Book 8/ Hymn 21/ Stanza 18

In the Garud Purana, Chitragupta is hailed as the first man to give the script.
"Chitragupta namastubhyam vedaksaradatre"
(Obeisance to Chitragupta, the giver of letters)

The Rig Veda mentions an invocation to be made to Chitragupta before offering sacrifice. There is also a special
invocation to Chitragupta as Dharmraj (Lord of Justice) to be made at the performance of shradh or other rituals.
"Om tat purushaya vidmahe Chitragupta dhimahi tena lekha prachodayata."

The priests also pay reverence to Shri Chitragupta :
"Yamam Dharmarajya Chitraguptaya vain namah."'

The History
Puranas which mention Kayastha as a higher upper caste are very old and deal with castes of a particular region.
Brhadharma Purana and Brahmavaivart Purana dealing with castes of Bengal do not mention Kayastha at all
though they are comparatively recent creations. Kayastha ministers find mention in Hindu mythology. Prior to
the Raghuvanshis, Ayodhya was ruled by Mathur Rulers, progeny of Chitragupta.

The Kayastha who are represented by the "Kayats" or the hereditary caste of the scribes of the present day,
formed originally a sub-military class. The Anthropological Survey of India conducted a survey during
the British Raj which concluded that the Kayastha community were also influential during the Mauryan period
as administrators. Also, many proof have been found that the Hindu Kings used to grant lands to the Kayasthas,
a practise enjoyed only by a particular caste. Also, it is but logical to consider the status of the Kayasthas when
Sanskrit was the state language under the Hindu Kings.

The Family Tree

The 13 clans of Brahma Kayastha:

        Mathur
        Gour
        Bhatnagar
        Saxena
        Ambashtha
        Nigam
        Khare(Sinha)
        Karna
        Kulshreshtha
        Srivastava
        Surdhwaja
        Johri
        Asthana

To top