IIIH Literature Syllabus1 by 2Js0Tdf

VIEWS: 0 PAGES: 3

									English III Honors                                                                               Mrs. Rhodus

                                                  Literature Syllabus

This syllabus is a guide to help you prepare for class. Please read and annotate all assignments prior to
entering class. You should be prepared to discuss your notes, ideas, and questions in class. Please note
the syllabus that follows is subject to changes; the pacing and the content will be dictated by your needs
and the intended outcomes.

           Date                    Literature TO BE REVIEWED                               Notes

      August 8-10             Syllabus, Procedures & Diagnostics

Week 1: August 13-16          Synthesis Essay introduction

           Friday, Aug. 17           HTRLLP (Intro & chap 1)           Socratic Seminar on Quests 8/17/12

Week 2: August 20-23                     Synthesis Essay

           Friday, Aug. 24           HTRLLP (Chapters 2 & 3)                           Bi-Weekly Quiz

Week 3                              Early American Literature

         Monday, Aug. 27        “An Emerging Nation”(pgs 18-24)

         Tuesday, Aug. 28       “Coyote and the Buffalo” (pg. 42)                      Trickster tales

    Wednesday, Aug. 29        from “The Interesting Narrative of the                   Slave narrative
                                 life of Olaudah Equiano” (pg. 78)

         Thursday, Aug. 30    from “The General History of Virginia”                 Historical narrative
                                           (pg. 88)

           Friday, Aug. 31           HTRLLP (chapters 4 & 5)                          Socratic Seminar

Week 4                                     Puritanism

          Monday, Sept. 3      “The Puritan Tradition” (pgs. 24-25)                      Labor Day

          Tuesday, Sept. 4      Anne Bradstreet & Edward Taylor                  Extended metaphor, syntax
                                     Poetry (pgs. 110-116)

     Wednesday, Sept. 5           Edwards’s Sermon “Sinners…”               Rhetorical devices: emotional appeals
                                            (pg.118)

         Thursday, Sept. 6         The Crucible & McCarthyism                        Historical context
                                         (pgs. 212-216)
            Friday, Sept. 7          HTRLLP (chapters 6 & 7)           Bi-Weekly Quiz/ *Summer Reading Assessment
Week 5                                                                           Applying “critical lenses”

         Monday, Sept. 10           The Crucible (Act 1) pg.134      (literary, historical, biographical, psychological,
                                                                     social, political, and philosophical/moral) Pg. 6

         Tuesday, Sept. 11          The Crucible (Act 1) pg.160

   Wednesday, Sept. 12              The Crucible (Act 2 p. 160)      Read with” historical and biographical lenses”
                                                                     (pg. 6) while researching links on my webpage

         Thursday, Sept 13             The Crucible (Act 2)

           Friday, Sept 14        Mini Socratics on The Crucible            Themes, allegory, paradox, irony

                                     HTRLLP (chapters 8 & 9)

Week 6

         Monday, Sept. 17           Continue acting out 3 & 4

         Tuesday, Sept. 18          Continue acting out 3 & 4

   Wednesday, Sept. 19            Writer’s Workshop Entry #2 in                   Literary analysis essay
                                            portfolio

         Thursday, Sept 20        Writer’s workshop continued

           Friday, Sept 21         HTRLLP (chapters 10 & 11 )                         Bi-Weekly Quiz

Week 7
                                          Age of Reason
         Monday, Sept. 24
                                   Rhetoric notes pgs. 222-223
                              Writers of the Revolution pgs. 26-27

                                     Phillis Wheatley Letter &
         Tuesday, Sept. 25             Abigail Adams Letter             Primary Sources & New Emerging Voices
                                              Pg. 254
                                                                                          Diction



   Wednesday, Sept. 26                Literacy Work Stations

                                  Henry p. 224/Jefferson p. 234/        Rhetorical triangle, antithesis, rhetorical
                                   Paine p. 244/ Franklin p. 262           question, repetition, parallelism ,
                                                                                    counterargument

         Thursday, Sept 27         Work stations continued….

                                   Discuss Persuasive Speeches                     Persuasive Speeches

           Friday, Sept. 28        Work stations continued….
                             HTRLLP (chapters 12 & 13 )

Week 8

          Monday, Oct. 1     Deliver Persuasive speeches                         Literary Criticism

                             HTRLLP (chapters 14 & 15 )

          Tuesday, Oct. 2    HTRLLP (chapters 16 & 17 )

     Wednesday, Oct. 3       HTRLLP (chapters 18 & 19 )

         Thursday, Oct. 4    HTRLLP (chapters 20 & 21 )

            Friday, Oct. 5   HTRLLP (chapters 22 & 23 )                          Bi-Weekly Quiz



Week 9                              EXAM WEEK

          Monday, Oct. 8     HTRLLP (chapters 24 - 26 )

          Tuesday, Oct. 9

    Wednesday, Oct. 10

         Thursday, Oct 11




                              *HTRLLP= How to Read Literature Like a Professor

								
To top