Southwest Michigan Library Cooperative - DOC

Document Sample
Southwest Michigan Library Cooperative - DOC Powered By Docstoc
					            Southwest Michigan Library Cooperative
                       Council Meeting
Date: 10 July 2008
Time: 7:00 PM
Place: Portage District Library
       300 Library Lane
        Portage, MI 49002

1. Call to order: The meeting was called to order by President Jennifer Ray at 7:45
following a demonstration of MyLibraryDv by Jim Keating of Recorded Books and the
Early Literacy Station by Michael Mok.
        A. Roll Call: (Attendance was taken from sign up sheets)
        The following members from public libraries were present:
Ann Perrigo            Allegan
Fred Kirby             Benton Harbor
Judy Berry             Berrien Springs
Kristina Knezic        Berrien Springs
Carol Richardson       Bridgman
Kate Thomas            Buchanan
Jennifer Ray           Cass
Tim Wiggins            Cass
Meg King-Sloan         Comstock
Jackie Goodman         Dowagiac
Ann Greene             Eau Claire
Donna Kowalewski Galesburg
Sue Robinson           Galien
Stephanie Daniels      Hartford
Ann Rohrbaugh          Kalamazoo
Chris Roussel          Lawton
Dina Reilly            Lincoln Twp.
Chris Nofsinger        Marcellus
Nancy Studebaker       Niles
Teresa Stannard        Parchment
John Mohney            Paw Paw
Christine Berro        Portage
Lawrence Kapture       Portage
Kay LaPierre           Richland
Mary Kynast            St. Joseph
Erik Nieman            Three Oaks
Lois Hartman           Watervliet

       The following members from other library types were present:
Lauren Matacio        Andrews University
Dennis Kreps          KIA

2. Approval of the agenda:
    C. Richardson made a motion to approve the agenda. There was support. Motion
3. Minutes of the April Council meeting:
   L. Hartman made a motion to approve the minutes. There was support. Motion

4.   Unfinished Business:
     Service reimbursement plan deadline is 9/15.

5. Committee Reports:
     A. TAG-T. Wiggins reported the committee will be meeting soon.
     B. Sunshine-D. Kowalewski reported that no action was taken.

6. New Business:
   The following libraries will begin terms on the 2008-2009 SMLC Board:
   Class I & II Climax/Lawrence
   Class III Parchment
   Class IV Otsego
   Class V Benton Harbor & Cass

     MCACA Minigrant deadline is 8/1. Money is available from the Michigan Council of
     Arts and Cultural Affairs for programs.

     Two public access computers, purchased with the remaining funds from the Bill and
     Melinda Gates Foundation grant, were awarded in a random drawing to the
     Galesburg and Eau Claire libraries.

     The next Public Library Director’s meeting should be held in August. Anyone wishing
     to host the program should contact Jennifer.

7. Adjournment:
   The next meeting will be held on October 9 at 7 PM at the Cass District Library.
   Jennifer declared the meeting adjourned at 9:20 PM.

Minutes taken by:

Ann Greene

Shared By: