Docstoc

CT Driver's Test - Westport Public Schools

Document Sample
CT Driver's Test - Westport Public Schools Powered By Docstoc
					                                                               Driving in Connecticut

                                                                 Right or Privilege?
         CT Driver’s Test
                What You Need
                                                            Driving in the state of Connecticut is a
                      to
                                                                       privilege not a right
               Know, Have & Do




              Learner’
              Learner’s Permit                                 New Laws: Aug 1, 2008
                                                                                        learner’
                                                           Limits # of passengers under learner’s
Knowledge Test                                             permit: (except when with a driver
 Applicants need to pass a 25-question                     instructor)’
                                                           instructor)’
 knowledge test to obtain a permit.
                                                             effect…
                                                          In effect…. the entire time the student
                                                                               learner’
                                                                   has his/her learner’s permit




  Learner’
  Learner’s Permit: Passenger Restrictions                Learner’
                                                          Learner’s Permit Holders: Exceptions
         Regardless of when you got the permit

May not have any passengers except for:                                               DMV-
                                                           Under the instruction of a DMV-licensed driving
                                                           instructor
 A licensed driving instructor giving instruction or         2 passengers in addition to the teen driver and the
 His or her parents or legal guardian, at least one          instructor may be transported
 of whom holds a valid driver’s license or                    • if the school has obtained written authorization from a parent
                                                                or legal guardian
 One person who is providing instruction and is at
 least 20 years old,                                       In addition to the person providing instruction,
    Must have held license for 4 years with good record
                                                           one or both parents or a legal guardian may be
                                                           passengers in a vehicle being operated by teen
                                                                      learner’
                                                           holding a learner’s permit.
 In Effect for the entire time a learner’s                   For example, if the teen is under the instruction of a
                                                             sibling over the age of 20, a parent or parents may be
                permit is held.                              passengers.




                                                                                                                                 1
       Learner’
       Learner’s Permit: Curfew                               Learner’
                                                              Learner’s Permit
                   No Curfew                          Failure to follow the passenger rules
                                                                  learner’
                                                    pertaining to learner’s permits may result in
                                                                                learner’
                                                    a permit revocation of the learner’s permit.
Permit holders must be accompanied by
 A licensed instructor,
                                                   Because the Learner can never drive alone
 Parent(s)
                                                    Parents,
                                                    Parents, Legal Guardians & Driving
 Legal guardian or
                                                                Instructors
 Qualifying adult.
                                                               are also responsible
                                                  for enforcing these passenger restriction laws




                                                        Driver’
                                                        Driver’s License Holders
             Learner’
             Learner’s Permit
                                                         New Law: Aug 1, 2008
       Learners Driving Out of State:
                                                       Those receiving a license
DMV advises the permit holder to check with
    proper authorities if planning to drive             prior to August 1, 2008
            outside of Connecticut.                        are subject to the
 Learner's permits are not valid in all states.
Please contact the state in which you plan to      passenger restrictions and curfew
             drive for verification.                     in place at that time.
       Check the State DMV website




       Driver’
       Driver’s License Holders                    Parent Training Requirements
  License obtained prior to August 1, 2008                       Effective: Aug 1, 2008

                                                  Under the new law, a parent or legal guardian of a
       For 16 and 17-year-old drivers              teen who is issued a learner’s permit on or after
 The teenager may always drive alone.              August 1, 2008, is required to complete two
       Curfew at 12 midnight                       hours of instruction concerning the laws
                                                   governing drivers under age 18 and the dangers
 1st 3 months: no passengers except for
                                                   of teen driving.
 parents/adult over 20
                                                  This course may be offered by a commercial or
 2nd 3 months: drive with family members            secondary driving school and will be included in
 After 6 months: drive with friends                 the eight-hour program already required for all
                                                    16 and 17-year-olds.




                                                                                                       2
      Driver’
      Driver’s License Holders                           Driver’
                                                         Driver’s License Holders
       New Law: Aug 1, 2008                                             Effective: Aug 1, 2008

                                                   Rules on passengers:
  Passenger restrictions for 16 and 17-            First 6 months, the only passengers
                                                           months,
     year-old drivers are extended.                   allowed in the vehicle with the driver
                                                        A licensed driving instructor giving
     The new law doubles the length of time that        instruction; or
     passenger restrictions apply                       One passenger who is at least 20 years old
                                                                        driver’
                                                        who has had a driver’s license for at least 4
     The teenager may always drive alone. The           years and has not had the license
     law limits passengers.                             suspended during the preceding 4 years; or
                                                             driver’
                                                        The driver’s parents or legal guardian (one
                                                        must have a valid license)




      Driver’
      Driver’s License Holders                           Driver’
                                                         Driver’s License Holders
                Effective: Aug 1, 2008                                  Effective: Aug 1, 2008

                                                   Curfew for Nighttime Driving
Rules on passengers:
                   (7- 12),
Second 6 months (7-12),                               Under 18 will not be allowed to drive between
  the only passengers allowed in the                  11 p.m. and 5 a.m., except for employment,
  vehicle with the driver                             religious, school-related or for certain other
                                                      purposes.
     Anyone previously permitted;
                                                             Assigned driver in the safe ride program
     As well as any additional members of the
     driver’
     driver’s immediate family.
                                                      Currently, the nighttime hours restriction is midnight to 5 a.m.




      Driver’
      Driver’s License Holders                          Learner’
                                                        Learner’s Permit Holders &
                Effective: Aug 1, 2008                       year-
                                                     16 & 17 year-old Licensed Drivers
These restrictions do not apply to persons who     may NOT:
  are active members of
                                                      Transport more passengers than the
  a volunteer fire company or department,
                                                      number of seatbelts in the vehicle.
  a volunteer ambulance service or company,
                                                      Operate any vehicle that requires a
  an emergency medical service organization
                                                      public passenger transportation
                                                      permit or a vanpool vehicle.
 who are responding to an emergency call or
   carrying out duties as an active member.




                                                                                                                         3
      Learner’
      Learner’s Permit Holders &                           48-
                                                           48-Hour License Suspension for
           year-
   16 & 17 year-old Licensed Drivers                             Certain Violations
                                                                        Effective: Aug 1, 2008
 may NOT:
    Use a cell phone (even if it is hands-                Drivers under 18 who commit certain
                                    hands-
    free) or mobile electronic device while               moving violations will have their
    driving.                                              drivers’
                                                          drivers’ licenses seized by a police
    Transport any passenger on a
                                                          officer for 48 hours.
    motorcycle for six months after the                   In addition, the police officer is
    issuance of a motorcycle endorsement.                 authorized to remove the vehicle from
                                                          the scene.




      48-
      48-Hour License Suspension                              48-
                                                              48-Hour License Suspension
          for Certain Violations                                  for Certain Violations
                 Effective: Aug 1, 2008                                 Effective: Aug 1, 2008

            17- year-
Sixteen and 17-year-olds would face an
  immediate suspension penalty if they are cited             driver’
                                                         The driver’s license would be considered
  for:                                                                               48-
                                                          suspended (held) for that 48-hour period.
  Violating any of the driving restrictions that apply
  after licensure;                                       In order to regain possession of the license after
  Driving 20 miles per hour or more above a posted             48-
                                                           the 48-hour period, the teen and their parent or
  speed limit;                                             legal guardian must go to the police department
  Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs;         and sign a written statement acknowledging the
                                                           license has been returned
  Driving recklessly; or
  Racing a motor vehicle on a public highway.




              Implied Consent                                   Administrative Per Se
….When a driver who signs their license                                                  itself“
                                                                Per Se" means "in and of itself“
 agrees to submit to a breath test if asked
 for one by a law enforcement official with                  Administrative Law is the area that deals with
 just cause for the request.                              administrative agencies, and how they handle things
                                                           -- how administrative hearings are conducted, what
                                                            powers a bureaucratic administrative agency can
                                                                                have, etc
Failure to submit will result in immediate loss of
    license and automatic license suspension
                                                          Drunk Driving Arrest means you can face
                                                           both administrative & criminal penalties




                                                                                                                4
      Drinking and Driving Penalties
                                                                                Driver Retraining
                                    Se)
                (Administrative Per Se)
                                                                                 Effective: August 1, 2008
                   Effective: Aug 1, 2008

                                              17-
Administrative license suspension for a 16 or 17-
                                                                 Anyone age 24 or younger who commits two or
  year-
  year-old who drives under the influence of
  alcohol will be                                                  more moving violations or suspension violations
                                                                                                              DMV-
                                                                   (or combination thereof) must complete the DMV-
  No less than one year if they submitted to the
  test analysis and had an elevated Blood Alcohol                  certified driving retraining program.
  Content (BAC).
                          17- year-
  18 months, if the 16 or 17-year-old refuses to                 Over age 24 must complete the program after
  submit to the test.                                             three moving or suspension violations.

Currently, the suspension period is not less than 6 months.




               Driver Retraining                                             Penalties Increased
                                                                                    Effective: Aug 1, 2008
                Effective: August 1, 2008
                                                                 Under the new law, effective August 1, 2008, DMV will
Additional offenses will trigger participation in the program.     suspend the driver’s license of a 16 or 17-year-old for
                                                                   any conviction of violating a teen driving restriction,
                                             17- year-
  The new offenses that could lead a 16 or 17-year-old             otherwise know as a Graduated Driver’s License (GDL)
  driver to take the retraining program are:                       provision.
                                                                 This includes a 30-day suspension for a first offense. On a
  Driving in violation of learner’s permit requirements
                          learner’                                 second offense, the driver would receive a 6-month
                                                                   suspension or a suspension until the driver turns 18,
                                      Driver’
  Driving in violation of Graduated Driver’s License Laws          whichever is longer.
  (such as passenger restriction and driving curfew laws)
  Using a cell phone or other mobile electronic device
  outside of permitted uses.                                     In addition, the new law imposes new license suspensions
                                                                    for drivers under the age of 18 who are convicted of
  By law, drivers under 18 cannot use a cell phone or               speeding, reckless driving, street racing or violating the
                                               hands-
  mobile electronic device, not even if it is “hands-free.          laws that apply after licensure, otherwise known as the
                                                                    Graduated Driver’s Licensing (GDL) laws.




                                                                                Seat Belt Laws
                                                                                  Effective: Aug 1, 2008

                                                                 Drivers under the age of 18, and each of their
                                                                   passengers are required to wear a seat belt.


                                                                 Individuals younger than 18 years old and their
                                                                   passengers (regardless of age) cited for a seat
                                                                   belt violation would be …
                                                                                        fined $75
                                                                               (as opposed to current $15 fine).




                                                                                                                                 5
     Youthful Offender Status                             Youthful Offender Status
              Effective: Aug 1, 2008                                 Effective: Aug 1, 2008
                                                     Any youth adjudicated as a youthful offender for the
   Under the age of 18 who commits the following        following offenses shall have their records disclosed
      cannot be considered a youthful offender:         to DMV for the purposes of imposing a driver’s
                                                        license suspension:
      Negligent homicide with a motor vehicle           Reckless driving
                                                        Operating while under suspension
      Evading responsibility following an accident
      that results in a death or serious injury         Evading responsibility following an accident involving
                                                        property or non-serious injury
      Driving under the influence of alcohol or
                                                        Racing
      drugs.
                                                        Disregarding a police officer’s signal to stop and
                                                        increasing speed to elude such officer




        Training Requirements
            (Behind the Wheel)
               Effective: Aug 1, 2008

Any drivers who are issued a learner’s permit
 on or after August 1, 2008, must complete…
 40 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction.

   Currently, learner’s permit holders are
 required to complete 20 hours of behind-the-
                wheel training.




                                                                                                                 6
      Driver’
   CT Driver’s Test: Walk-in testing
                     Walk-                                             Driver’
                                                                    CT Driver’s Test:                  after August 1, 2008

                                             you…
In order to take your driver's license test, you…
  must drop in for your test.                                      At the time of your test, you must provide:
 Bridgeport, Danbury, Enfield, Hamden, New Britain, Norwalk,       Proof of Driver Training:
                    Saybrook,
      Norwich, Old Saybrook, Waterbury, Wethersfield, and
                  Winsted DMV branch offices.                        Learner permit holders will need to show
                                                                                          behind-the-
                                                                     proof of 40 hours of behind-the-wheel, on
Testing hours for all offices are as follows:                                  training.
                                                                     the road training.
              Tuesday 8 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.                            Either one of the following for proof of driver
              Wednesday 8 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.                          training:
              Thursday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.                                 Home Training Statement
              Friday 8 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.                                Commercial Driving School Certificate.
                       walk-
              ***** No walk-in testing on Saturdays                     Secondary Driver School Certificate.




    Secondary School Certificate                                          Driver’
                                                                       CT Driver’s Test: Requirements
                                                                   Proof of Parental Training:

             Eric Theodore Cartman                Jan 1, 1998
                                                                     A parent or legal guardian of a teen who obtains
                                                                       learner’
                                                                     a learner’s permit on or after August 1, 2008, is
            South Park Elementary    South Park   CO                 required to complete two hours of instruction
                                                                     concerning the laws governing drivers under age
        x                                                            18 and the dangers of teen driving.
        x                                                            This course may be offered by a commercial or
                                                                     secondary driving school
                                                                                             eight-
                                                                     Will be included in the eight-hour program
                                                                                              16-      17- year-
                                                                     already required for all 16- and 17-year-olds.
                                                                     Our school will give you a certificate




          Driver’
       CT Driver’s Test: Requirements                                       Driver’
                                                                         CT Driver’s Test: Requirements
  Learner Permit: Learner's Permit issued at least                 To take test:
       180 days prior or                                             Photograph: A recent photograph of yourself without
                                                                     head covering or dark glasses (photograph will not be
       120 days if you completed a Commercial or Secondary           returned).
       driver training course.
                                                                     Verification of Connecticut Residence Address
  To be eligible for the driver license in 120 days you must           (P.O. Box is not acceptable):
    Complete a Commercial or Secondary driver training                 Verification may be in the form of your appointment
    course consisting of a minimum of 30 hours of classroom            confirmation letter or a piece of postmarked mail that
    Minimum of 8 hours on-the-road driving practice with the
                         on- the-                                      has been delivered to your home address, dated
                                                                       within 90 days (such as magazines, letters, etc.)
    school
    2 hours of parent/legal guardian training, & a
                            on- the-
    An additional 32 hours on-the-road training with a qualified
    home trainer.




                                                                                                                                7
        Driver’
     CT Driver’s Test: Requirements                                           Driver’
                                                                           CT Driver’s Test: Requirements
To take test:                                                    To take test:
  Identification: Certified Birth Certificate (hospital issued        Social Security Number:
  certificates are not acceptable) or valid U.S. Passport, in              If you do not have a social security number, you must obtain a
  addition to one form of identification from list of                                                                                     are
                                                                           letter from the Social Security Administration that states you are
  acceptable forms of identification .                                     ineligible for a social security number. This letter must
                                                                           be submitted to DMV when applying for your driver's license,
                                                                           learner's permit or ID card.
  Photocopies of documents are not
  acceptable. Note: If an applicant has been issued a                 Properly registered and insured vehicle appropriate
  Connecticut Identification Card (ID), it must be                    for the type of test you are taking.
  surrendered when the driver's license is issued.                         Daily rentals are not allowed on road tests.

  Note: If you are not a citizen of the United States , you
  will be required to show proof of your legal status in this                                    Certificate.
                                                                      Motor Vehicle Registration Certificate.
  country.
                                                                                            card.
                                                                      Connecticut Insurance card.




                  Driver’
               CT Driver’s Test                                                Driver's License Test
To take test:                                                    The test to receive your license is in
  License Fee:
  The fee for your license, which can vary from $66 to $77,         three parts.
  depending on the number of years the license will be
                  one-
  valid (five and one-half to seven years), which depends
  on your date of birth.                                         1. Eye test
                             payment.
  See acceptable forms of payment.
                                                                 2. Knowledge Test
                                                                      1.                               25-
                                                                             Applicants need to pass a 25-question
                                                                             knowledge test
                                                                 3.    to obtain a permit.Road test.




        Driver's License Test                                                  Driver's License Test
Eye Test:                                                        Law (Knowledge) Test:
The eye test evaluates:                                          The law test consists of 25 questions;
a. Acuity (how clearly you see).
                                                                   Answering 20 correctly is considered passing
b. Peripheral vision (how far you can see to either
   side while looking straight ahead).                             The test is based on the information contained in
c. Depth and color perception.                                     the Connecticut Driver's Manual (PDF)
                                                                 Parents should also read:
The minimal vision requirements for all classes of                 How Parents Can Help Their Teens Become
   license is at least 20/40 in each eye with or
   without glasses or contact lenses. But if the                   Safe Drivers (PDF) which explains how parents
   applicant is blind in one eye, the other eye                    should train their teens to drive.
   must be at least 20/30.




                                                                                                                                                8
         Driver's License Test                                               Driver's License Test
          (Behind- the-
Road Test (Behind-the-Wheel Evaluation):                             Road Test evaluates:
  Given after you have successfully passed the eye and                 Safe condition of the test vehicle
  25question knowledge test.
  You must supply a vehicle for the road test.                         Ability to properly adjust seat, mirrors, and seat belts
  This vehicle must be:                                                ("preparing to drive")
     appropriate for the license class for which you are applying,     Response to traffic control signs and signals,
     be mechanically safe &                                            signaling, interaction with other motorists (yielding
     have a proper registration, emissions sticker, and insurance      right-of-
                                                                       right-of-way, response to emergency vehicles)
     card.
  There is no limit to the number of individuals who can be            Backing and/or parking
  tested in the same vehicle; however, driving schools are             Proficiency in basic driving skills such as turns
  limited to four per vehicle.
  A non-licensed operator cannot drive to the test
     non-                                                              Other driver maneuvers at the direction of the
  location unless accompanied by a licensed operator.                  inspector.
                                                                       Takes 15 to 20 minutes.




         Driver's License Test                                               Driver's License Test
Individuals using an out of state registered                         If the test vehicle is found to be in an unsafe
  test vehicle must bring a copy of the                                                                  the-
                                                                        operating condition, no behind the-wheel
  vehicle's insurance policy (meeting                                   evaluation will be conducted;
  Connecticut minimum requirements for                                   the owner may be issued a warning ticket for
  insurance):                                                            defective equipment and the applicant will be
     $20,000 bodily injury per person                                                              re-
                                                                         given a no fee card for a re-test at a future
                                                                         date.
     $40,000 bodily injury per accident
                                                                         Road tests may be conducted if minor defects
     $10,000 property damage per accident
                                                                         are found, even if a warning ticket is issued.




         Driver's License Test                                               Driver's License Test
The road test evaluates:                                             If you fail the law (knowledge) test
  Safe condition of the test vehicle                                   Wait one week (7 days) before you can take the
  Ability to properly adjust seat, mirrors, and seat belts             test again.
  ("preparing to drive")
  Response to traffic control signs and signals, signaling,          If you fail the road test
                                              right- of-
  interaction with other motorists (yielding right-of-way,             Wait 14 days before you can be tested again.
  response to emergency vehicles)
  Backing and/or parking
  Proficiency in basic driving skills such as turns                    If you fail either the law or the road test the $40
  Other driver maneuvers at the direction of the inspector.              examination fee must be paid again before you
  The road test generally takes 15 to 20 minutes.                                      can take another test.




                                                                                                                                  9

				
DOCUMENT INFO
Shared By:
Categories:
Tags:
Stats:
views:3
posted:9/29/2012
language:Unknown
pages:9