Document Sample
Seven-Deadly-Sins Powered By Docstoc
					Seven Deadly
       Self-Destructive Behaviors

• A "sin" in the context of Thomas of Aquinas, can be
  defined as "something human beings do which
   causes them to be unreasonable and
• Another way to define "sin" is
   Sin is an offense against reason, truth, and
  right conscience; it is failure in genuine love
   for God and neighbor caused by a perverse
   attachment to certain goods. It wounds the
 nature of man and injures human solidarity. It
has been defined as "an utterance, a deed, or a
        desire contrary to the eternal law."
             The Seven Deadly Sins
                   A painting by Hieronymus Bosch
• c.1485 (50 Kb); Prado, Madrid

• depicts scenes of worldly transgressions

• The circular layout with god in the center represents
  gods all seeing eye - No sin goes unnoticed.

• In the corners of the image appear the "Four Last
  Things" mentioned in late medieval spiritual handbooks:
  Deathbed, the Last Judgment, Heaven, and Hell, all of
  which are favorite themes of separate Bosch panels.

      (The next slide is a clearer picture of Bosch’s famous work.)
         Pope Gregory the Great
•  Pope Gregory the Great revived
  the idea of "The Seven Deadly
  Sins" in the sixth century.
• He listed the spiritual offenses
  with Pride being the first and
  gravest of the seven because it
  can lead to the other six.
• The seven deadly sins are
  usually committed against one's
  self and can destroy a person's
  physical and spiritual health.
Capital Vices
     During the 13th century, the
      Roman Catholic Church
      incorporated these sins into
      its teaching.
     The church called them "capital
       vices" that can lead to sin.

     Literature such as Geoffrey
        Chaucer's "Canterbury Tales"
        and various paintings have
        illustrated the seven deadly
   (a desire to be important or attractive to others)

• A person thinks he/she
  already "knows it all" and
  "has it all".
• Pride is a sin when it is in
  excess because it prevents
  one from growing and
  evolving, and from accepting
  oneself and others fairly and
               the Narcissus myth
• In Greek mythology,
  Narcissus was an extremely
  beautiful young man who was
  obsessed with his own
• When he saw his face in the
  water, he fell in love with it
  and could not stop looking at
  the reflection.
• He gradually turned into a
  flower, now commonly known
  as Narcissus.
             the Narcissus myth

• In another version of the
  myth, Narcissus drowns
  after trying to kiss his
  own reflection.

• Narcissism is a term
  meaning “excessive self
   (a desire to possess more than one has need or use for.)

• One allows material items control his/her
  sense of contentment.
• People under the influence of greed want
  more and more and are never satisfied.
                       3. ENVY
(resentment of others for their possessions; jealous competitiveness.)

                           • Those suffering from envy wish
                             they were someone else because
                             of the qualities and/or
                             possessions a person has.
                           • Instead of honoring what they do
                             have, they dishonor the gift of life
                             they were given by being
                             dissatisfied with it.
        4. ANGER
(Uncontrollable feelings of resentment, revenge or
     even denial, it is also known as Wrath. )

                One becomes angry at someone or
                  something to the point that one
                  loses control over actions and
                • rage, fury, ire, wrath, resentment,
                  indignation, offense, rant, temper,
                  seethe, livid, annoyance, antagonism,

  “Anger and intolerance are the twin enemies of correct
           understanding.” --Mahatma Gandhi
           5. Lust
Sexual desires that disrespect the dignity
            of self and others

                         • Sufferers of lust may
                           have a strong sexual
                           attraction towards a
                           person and can't get
                           him/her out of their

       eating for pleasure;
 overindulgence in food, drink or

• Instead of being satisfied with what one
  has, he/she wants more, more, more.

• The chief error about Gluttony is to think it
  only pertains to food. Some people can't
  have enough toys, television,
  entertainment, sex, or company.

• It is about an excess of anything.
     (laziness or idleness)

 • Slothful people occasionally
   do something, but they only
   do it haphazardly -- only
   enough to get it done.

 • Instead of giving life their
   best, they give much less
   than their best.
    “True happiness is not found in
 riches or wellbeing, in human fame
      or power, or in any human
 achievement—however beneficial it
      may be—such as science,
technology, and art, or indeed in any
    creature, but in God alone, the
source of every good and of all love”

- Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1723 -
Seven Deadly

 End of presentation

Shared By: