Mandatory Automobile Insurance Law Traffic Night Court Schedule
For specific information on court locations please see the
Under the mandatory insurance law, all drivers Court web page or call the contact number listed below.
must carry evidence of financial responsibility and Court
must provide that evidence to an officer on re- Locations Schedule Contact
quest. A violation may be dismissed with a pay-
ment of a $25 fee if the defendant shows proof of
Barstow Last Thursday
of the Month
(760) 718-3700 TRAFFIC
insurance that was valid at the time of the viola-
tion. On a first conviction, the court must impose Big Bear Wednesday on the 1st full Week (909) 366-4040
of the Month
a minimum base fine plus penalty assessments.
Chino 2nd Thursday (909) 356-5337
If the defendant claims an inability to pay both the of the Month
insurance and the fine or other financial hardship,
the court may allow the defendant to make install- Fontana 1st Thursday
of the Month
ment payments or pay the entire amount within a
specified time. In a case of extreme financial Needles Tuesday on the 2nd full (760) 326-4355 of California
hardship, the court may allow the defendant to week of the Month,
substitute community service in place of payment excepting Holidays
Rancho Twice a Month (909) 350-9761
of the fine. Cucamonga on Thursdays
Failure to Pay a Fine San 1st & 3rd Thursdays (909) 384-1888
Bernardino of the Month
If the defendant fails to pay the fine, the court may
issue a warrant for the separate offense or failure Victorville 1st Thursday (760) 245-6215
to pay or obey a court order, assess civil assess- of the Month
ments, impose additional fines, and/or suspend the
defendant’s driving privilege. Traffic School
Traffic violators who have received a moving violation may
qualify for traffic school. Violators will still have to pay the
imposed fine, but points against their driving record are not
accumulated for eligible violations. Upon payment of fine
See the California Courts Self-Help Center locat- and traffic school fees, an approved list of traffic schools will
ed on the Web for more information and forms be provided. If you have a commercial license, you are not
related to Traffic located at: eligible for traffic school.
http://dmv.ca.gov/forms/ol/ol745.htm County of
The website for the San Bernardino County Supe-
rior Court is located at:
Pay your ticket online or request an extension at:
www.sb-court.org www2.epay-it.com/sbd Visit us at www.sb-court.org
Enriching Communities Through The Courts
Traffic Violations Traffic Infractions Driving Under the Influence
Millions of traffic violations are filed each The most common infractions are moving violations
year in California’s courts. There are three without injury, such as speeding or running a red light.
Drivers charged with an infraction who want to admit The penalties for driving under the influence
levels of severity of traffic violations:
infractions, misdemeanors, and felonies. Most guilt, can avoid a court appearance by paying a fine. If vary depending on the number of prior
drivers do not pay the traffic fine (bail) within the convictions for this offense.
traffic violations are infractions, but some, like
vehicular manslaughter, are felonies. authorized time, their driver’s license may be suspended
or a warrant of arrest may be issued. Also, a $300.00 First time violators can be punished by a jail
civil assessment plus additional penalties will be added term of not more than six months, a fine and
Infractions are not punishable by jail or prison
to the fine. For unpaid parking tickets, usually, they will penalty, and suspension or restriction of
and not subject to trial by jury; the punishment
not be able to renew their vehicle registration until they driving privileges for six months.
may be a fine. The more common traffic
infractions include speeding and running a red have paid all outstanding parking tickets and other costs
in full. Subsequent DUI violations will result in
light or stop sign.
increased fines, fees, penalties, jail or prison
Drivers who plead not guilty and request a trial may be terms and may be filed as felonies.
Misdemeanors, such as driving under the
influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs, can carry required to post bail or sign a written document to
appear in court. If they fail to appear, they will be Drivers charged with a DUI must appear in
penalties. Misdemeanors can carry penalties
charged with the additional misdemeanor of violating court for an arraignment and may be
of up to one year in county jail and/or a fine.
their agreement to appear. In this case, a warrant may requested to post bail. Bail amounts can
Felonies are punishable by confinement of
be issued for their arrest and their driver’s license may vary.
greater than one year.
also be suspended.
Upon request, the court will appoint an
attorney for a driver who cannot afford to
Traffic Misdemeanors hire one whenever the possible sentence
Traffic Hearings includes jail time.
The most common traffic misdemeanors are
driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs If a driver pleads not guilty, the state must prove guilt
and driving without a valid license. In some beyond a reasonable doubt. The defendant may offer
cases, drivers suspected of driving under the opposing evidence, argue the law, present supporting
influence of drugs or alcohol will be taken into witnesses and other evidence, and cross-examine the Traffic Citations
custody. Drivers charged with almost all other law enforcement officer who issued the citation. If you are asked to sign a Notice to Appear
traffic misdemeanors and infractions usually and refuse, you may be taken into custody.
will not be taken into custody but will be asked If a driver is judged “not guilty,” any bail posted will be Your signature does not mean you are
to sign a Notice to Appear which is printed on refunded. Drivers judged “guilty” must pay the fine or admitting guilt. It only means you promise
the traffic citation or ticket. A signed Notice serve the sentence imposed by the court. People who to appear in court at a date and time specified
to Appear obligates the driver to appear in willfully do not pay the fine and/or do not serve the either on the front of the Notice to Appear or
court at a set date and time. sentence within the time authorized may have their in the courtesy notice that may be mailed by
driver’s license suspended. They may also be charged the court to the address on the citation. Do
with contempt of court or failure to pay a fine, in which not disregard your ticket if you do not
case a warrant will be issued for their arrest and their receive your courtesy notice in the mail.
driver’s license may be suspended. Also, a $300.00 civil
assessment plus additional penalties will be added to the Visit us at www.sb-court.org