DON’T TEXT AND DRIVE
Driver distraction is a leading factor in crashes in
Minnesota, accounting for around 25 percent of all
crashes annually, resulting in at least 70 deaths
and 350 injuries. DPS reports these numbers are
vastly underreported due to officers’ challenges of
determining “distraction” as a contributing crash
In 2008, it became illegal in Minnesota for drivers to read or compose texts/emails, and access the Web
on a wireless device while the vehicle is in motion or a part of traffic, such as at a stoplight. It is also
illegal for drivers under age 18 to use a cell phone at any time. There are other distracted driving laws
that address a driver’s duty “to drive with due care.”
Except for novice drivers and school bus drivers, there is no prohibition on cell phone use while driving in Minnesota. All
drivers are prohibited from texting while driving. According to Minnesota's Office of Traffic Safety, distracted or inattentive
driving is a factor in one in four crashes in Minnesota, resulting in at least 70 deaths and 350 serious injuries. The OTS
estimates these numbers are vastly underreported because of the difficulty in determining distraction as a crash factor.
Cell Phone Use
There is no handheld cell phone prohibition for drivers in Minnesota.
Novice drivers in Minnesota - drivers under the age of 18 with learner’s permits or intermediate licenses – are prohibited
from using a cellphone (handheld or hands-free) while driving.
All drivers are prohibited from texting while driving.
All Minnesota school bus drivers are prohibited from using cell phones or texting while driving.
How is it Enforced?
A violation of Minnesota’s anti-texting law can cost up to $300 and applies to drivers of all ages. Minnesota’s novice cell
phone and texting laws are considered “primary” laws. A primary law means that an officer can pull you over for the offense
without having to witness some other violation. That is, the officer sees you texting and issues a citation.
Review Minnesota’s distracted driving law.
Here is the State of Minnesota's government website that information regarding the cell-phone driving law.
State Website- Information on Minnesota's Cell-Phone Driving Law
Minnesota Drunk Driving Laws, Penalties & Fines
Minnesota Teen Driving Laws
Minnesota SR22 Insurance
DON’T TEXT AND DRIVE