Telecommunications Industry Association by YQG6f0

VIEWS: 0 PAGES: 2

									                                                                     UPED-20041019-006


                     Telecommunications Industry Association
                    User Premises Equipment Division (UPED)
               Hearing Aid Compatibility Working Group (HAC WG)
                                 Meeting with the
                       Federal Communications Commission

                                    Meeting Report


  DATE AND TIME:               Friday, October 8, 2004
                               1:30 PM – 3:00 PM (EDT)

  PLACE:                       Federal Communications Commission
                               445 12th Street, SW
                               Washington, DC

  PARTICIPANTS:

          Name            Office/Business                Email                Phone #
Cheryl King              FCC/CGB/DRO        Cheryl.king@fcc.gov            202-418-2284
Bruce Romano             FCC/OET            Bruce.romano@fcc.gov           202-418-2124
Julius Knapp             FCC/OET            Julius.knapp@fcc.gov           202-418-2468
Tom Chandler             FCC/CGB/DRO        Thomas.chandler@fcc.gov        202-418-1475
Jay Keithley             FCC/CGB            Jay.keithley@fcc.gov           202-418-2319
Janet Sieuest            FCC/EB             Janet.sievest@fcc.gov          202-418-1362
Mark Stone               FCC/EB             Mark.stone@fcc.gov             202-418-0816
Susan German             FCC/EB             Susan.german@fcc.gov           202-418-2735
William Hurst            FCC/OET Lab        William.hurst@fcc.gov          301-362-3010
(via video conference)
Martin Perrine           FCC/OET Lab        Martin.perrine@fcc.gov         301-362-3010
(via video conference)
Bill Belt                TIA                bbelt@tiaonline.org            703-907-7790
Derek Khlopin            TIA                dkhlopin@tiaonline.org         703-907-7739
Robert Wegner            Panasonic          wegnerr@us.panasonic.com       201-392-6115
Paul Schomburg           Panasonic          schomburgp@us.panasonic.com    202-912-3800
Fred Lucas               FAL Associates     Fred.lucas@ieee.org            410-239-0248
Steve Whitesell          Vtech              swhitesell@vtech.com           732-751-1079
Jim Haynes               Uniden             jhaynes@uniden.com             843-374-3852
Cheryl King from the FCC’s Consumer & Government Affairs Bureau, Disability Rights
Office opened the meeting by describing the recent increase in informal complaints from
the hearing impaired community against digital cordless telephones. The FCC takes their
responsibility on Hearing Aid Compatibility very seriously and thus called this meeting
with TIA members.

Steve Whitesell, VTech and Chairman of TR-41, reviewed the attached power point
presentation, entitled FCC Cordless Telephone HAC Presentation-r2.ppt

The power point presentation was followed by general discussion on the obligations of
cordless telephone manufacturers to comply with accessibility rules, the difficulties faced
by wireless (cellular/PCS) manufacturers in compliance with HAC rules, technical
discussion on the difference between wireless (cellular/PCS) and cordless telephone, and
the importance of these issues within the FCC.

Julius Knapp from the FCC’s Office of Engineering and Technology recommended to the
participants the following:
    1. Work quickly to address these important issues
    2. Stay abreast of the issues by coordinating, to the extent possible, with disability
        advocates
    3. Make the hearing impaired public aware that analog cordless telephones do work
        well with hearing aids

Julie also noted that Congress is asking the FCC for more oversight on HAC problems.

Steve Whitesell noted that TR-41 will be investigating HAC issues with cordless phones.
TR-41 participants have been asked to report on internal company initiatives to address
HAC at the November 2004 TR-41 meeting. Specifically, TR-41 is seeking information
that will help to accurately characterize the nature of the interference. For example, is the
reported interference due to magnetic or RF coupling, or some combination of the two?

ACTION: TIA/TR-41 will report back to the FCC after the November TR-41 meeting
on: i) what TR-41 has learned concerning the nature of the HAC issues and ii) what
TIA/TR-41 proposes as next steps to address the issues.

								
To top