MITACS GEOIDE Summer School 2009 Program by DWzJ823

VIEWS: 10 PAGES: 5

									                                   QuickTime™ and a
                          TIFF (Uncompressed) decompressor
                             are neede d to see this picture.




          MITACS/GEOIDE Summer School on:


 "Mathematical and Statistical Descriptions
           of Forest Fire Spread:
  Spatial Statistics and Level Set Method"


                  June 15-19, 2009
          Hinton Training Centre, Alberta




                    QuickTime™ and a
          TIFF (Uncompressed) decompressor
             are neede d to see this picture.




                          QuickTime™ and a
                TIFF (Un compressed) decompressor
                   are neede d to see this picture.


Aim:


                                          1
The modelling of forest fire spread involves various
physical scales, from the microscopic scales associated
with combustion and heat conduction, to macroscopic scales
associated with landscape and weather. Various mathematical
and statistical methods are needed to accommodate this
multi-level modelling process. In this summer school, we
focus on two aspects: spatial statistics and level set
methods. Training will take the form of lectures and hands-
on computer tutorials.


Organisers:

     A. Bourlioux, Université de Montréal
     J. Braun, University of Western Ontario
     C.B. Dean, Simon Fraser University
     T. Hillen, University of Alberta
     C. Tymstra, Alberta Sustainable Resource Development


Instructors:

“Spatial Statistical Methods”
   P. Guttorp, University of Washington
   C.B. Dean, Simon Fraser University
   J. Braun, University of Western Ontario


“Level Set Methods”
   A. Bourlioux, Université de Montréal
   T. Hillen, University of Alberta
   P. Babak, University of Alberta

Funding and Support:

     MITACS: www.mitacs.ca
     GEOIDE: www.geoide.ulaval.ca
     Alberta Sustainable Resource and Development,
      http://www.firegrowthmodel.com/project.cfm
     The Hinton Training Centre




                              2
Program
Breakfast:         7 AM              Cafeteria
Lunch:             12 noon           Cafeteria
Coffee Breaks:     10:00 AM and      Outside 210, 208
                   3 PM
Supper:            5:30 PM           Cafeteria


Lecture Room:      214 or 210
Computer Room:     208
Instructor Room:   206


Monday, June 15    8:30 - 8:45       Welcome
                   8:45 – 10:15      Spatial Statistics I
                   10:30 – 12:00     Spatial Statistics II


                   1:30 – 3:00       Level Set Methods I
                   3:30 – 5:00       Level Set Methods, Lab


                   7:00 - 8:30       Introduction to R and Matlab



Tuesday, June 16   8:30 – 10:00      Level Set Methods II
                   10:30 – 12:00     Level Set Methods, Lab


                   1:30 – 3:00       Spatial Statistics III
                   3:30 – 5:00       Spatial Statistics, Lab



Wednesday, June    8:30 – 10:00      Spatial Statistics IV
17
                   10:30 – 12:00     Level Set Methods III




                                 3
                        Afternoon         No coffee break
                        free



Thursday, June          8:30 – 10:00      Spatial Statistics Lab
18
                        10:30 – 12:00     Spatial Statistics Lab


                        1:30 – 3:00       Level Set Methods IV
                        3:30 – 5:00       Level Set Methods, Lab



Friday, June 19         8:30 – 10:00      Level Set Methods, Lab
                        10:30 – 12:00     Labs, Presentations,
                                          Farewell




Participants:

Babak            Petro        petro@ualberta.ca             Alberta

Belkine          Anna         aba38@sfu.ca                  Simon Fraser

Blanchet         Guilaume     gblanche@ualberta.ca          Alberta

Bourlioux        Anne         anne.bourlioux@umontreal.ca   Montreal

Braun            John         braun@stats.uwo.ca            Western Ontario
                                                            Eastern
Ciloglu          Huseyin      kharyantas@gmail.com          Mediterranean
                 Gwilym
Davies           (Matt)       gmdavies@u.washington.edu     Washington

Dawes            Adriana      adawes@math.ualberta.ca       Alberta

Dean             Charmaine    dean@sfu.ca                   Simon Fraser
Desfosses
Foucault         Alexandre    foucault@dms.umontreal.ca     Montreal

Feng             Xin          xfeng@sfu.ca                  Simon Fraser




                                      4
Ghimire    Shishir      sghimir2@uwo.ca             Western Ontario

Gonzi      Siegfried    sgonzi@staffmail.ed.ac.uk   Edinburgh

Guttorp    Peter        peter@stat.washington.edu   Washington

Han        Spectrum     1han3@uwo.ca                Western Ontario

He         Fangliang    fhe@ualberta.ca             Alberta

Hillen     Thomas       thillen@ualberta.ca         Alberta

Huston     Carolyn      chuston@sfu.ca              Simon Fraser

Kim        Hye Rin      hkim447@uwo.ca              Western Ontario

Lee        Jonathan     jlee253@uwo.ca              Western Ontario

Mahdi      Esam         emahdi@uwo.ca               Western Ontario

Martin     Jonathan     jmartin@math.ualberta.ca    Alberta

Pratola    Matthew      mpratola@gmail.com          Simon Fraser
           Louis-
Proulx     Xavier       proulx@dms.umontreal.ca     Montreal

Reich      Daniel       dreich@math.arizona.edu     Arizona

Tymstra    Cordy        cordy.tymstra@gov.ab.ca     SRD Forestry Div

Woolford   Douglas      dgw4@sfu.ca                 Simon Fraser

Xu         Jia          xja7@sfu.ca                 Simon Fraser

Xu         Changjiang   cxu49@uwo.ca                Western Ontario




                              5

								
To top