APCO International - DOC by 8P6711R


									                                                                            Terry M. Whitham
                                                                                         Chapter President
                                                                                          Delaware State Police
                                                                                            E911 Administrator
                                                                                                  P.O. Box 818
                                                                                      303 Transportation Circle
                                                                                               Dover, DE 19903
                                                                                          VOICE: 302-744-2682
                                                                                            FAX: 302-739-4874
                                                                             E-Mail: terry.whitham@state.de.us

TO:       All Communication Center Managers

REF:     2011 Annual APCO Telecommunicator Award Nominations
         Local Award Period - March 1, 2010 - February 28, 2011
         National Award Period – April 1, 2010 – March 31, 2011

Dear Communications Center Manager,

Our nation's "Telecommunications Professionals", comprised of the telecommunicators, administrators,
supervisors, radio and IT technologists, and call-takers are our first line of defense for homeland security.
Each year the Association of Public Safety Communications Officials, International, Inc. (APCO)
celebrates National Telecommunications Week during the second full week in April.

The Mid-Eastern Chapter of APCO, consisting of Delaware, Maryland and District of Columbia, hosts an
awards program in an effort to provide prominent recognition to our winners while also honoring our other
nominees in the various categories. Our 2011 awards luncheon will be held as part of the spring
chapter meeting in April. Our nomination and award process includes:

      1. Exclusive use of APCO International’s award forms so all local winners (except unit citation) can
         be forwarded to APCO International for inclusion in their overall awards program.
      2. A booklet outlining a brief excerpt of the overall award nomination for winners and a listing of
         nominees will be distributed at the awards luncheon.
      3. A specific excerpt of the winner’s nomination will be read during award presentation for all
         winners, with names of runner-up nominees being read during presentation of certificates.

Nominations are now being accepted in the following categories:

          1.   Telecommunicator of the Year
          2.   Line Supervisor of the Year
          3.   RF Technologist of the Year
          4.   IT Technologist of the Year
          5.   Information Technologist of the Year
          6.   Center Director of the Year
          7.   Trainer of the Year
          8.   Team Award

Attached are the nomination forms. Please E-mail your nominations to the appropriate awards committee
member for your area as listed below no later than March 2, 2011 at 4 p.m.

Delaware Awards                           Terry Whitham            terry.whitham@state.de.us
Maryland Awards                           Sharon Lechowicz         tunnelkid@verizon.net
DC Awards (District/Federal)              Chuck Nash               jnpoet@aol.com

Your participation will guarantee another successful awards program to honor our peers.

                                              Sincerely Yours,
                                             Terry M. Whitham
                                             Chapter President

To top