CEO joins DOS board

Document Sample
CEO joins DOS board Powered By Docstoc
					Media Note                                                                          July 12, 2011

 Meeting of the International Security Advisory Board
 Washington, DC - Today, the International Security Advisory Board (ISAB) met with Under
 Secretary Bill Burns, Under Secretary Ellen Tauscher, Assistant Rose Gottemoeller, Assistant
 Secretary Andrew Shapiro, and Acting Assistant Secretary Vann Van Diepen. The Board
 provides independent insight and advice on scientific, technical, and policy aspects of arms
 control, disarmament, proliferation, international security, and related aspects of public
 diplomacy. The ISAB provides its recommendations directly to Secretary of State Hillary
 Rodham Clinton and the Department of State.

 The meeting marked the first gathering of ISAB members appointed by Secretary Clinton:

    Dr. Graham Allison, Director of the Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs and
     Douglas Dillon Professor of Government at Harvard's John F. Kennedy School of
    Dr. Michael Anastasio, former Director of Los Alamos National Laboratory and Livermore
     National Laboratory;
    Dr. Bruce Blair, President of the World Security Institute and Co-founder of Global Zero;
    Hon. Douglas Bereuter, former Republican Congressman from Nebraska;
    Mr. Joseph Cirincione, President of Ploughshares Fund;
    Mr. Charles B. Curtis, Senior Advisor to the Center for Strategic and International Studies
     and President Emeritus of the Nuclear Threat Initiative;
    Hon. Robert Terry Everett, former Republican Congressman from Alabama;

    Mr. Rajiv “Raj” Fernando, CEO and founder of Chopper Trading;
    Ambassador Robert Gallucci, President of the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur
    Ambassador James Goodby, former career minister in the Senior Foreign Service;
    Dr. Robert E. Hunter, Director of the Center for Transatlantic Security Studies at the
     National Defense University;
    Dr. Shirley Ann Jackson, President of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute;
    Dr. Raymond Jeanloz, Senior Fellow in the Miller Institute for Basic Research in Science and
     Professor of Earth and Planetary Science and Astronomy at the University of California,
    Dr. David A. Kay, former head of the Iraq Survey Group and UN Chief Weapons Inspector;
    General Montgomery C. Meigs, USA (Ret.), President and CEO of Business Executives for
     National Security;
    Rep. Harold P. Naughton Jr., member of the Massachusetts House of Representatives;
    Dr. William Perry, the Michael and Barbara Berberian Professor (emeritus) at Stanford
     University and former U.S. Secretary of Defense;
    Lt. General Brent Scowcroft, USAF (Ret.), President of The Scowcroft Group Inc. and
     former National Security Advisor to Presidents Gerald Ford and George H. W. Bush;
Meeting of the International Security Advisory Board                          Media Note – July 12, 2011

       Mr. Walter Slocombe, Senior Counsel in the law firm of Caplin & Drysdale, Chartered and
        former Under Secretary of Defense for Policy;
       Dr. James A. Tegnelia, President and Owner of DBE Consulting LLC and former Director of
        the Defense Threat Reduction Agency;
       Mr. William H. Tobey, Senior Fellow at the Belfer Center for Science and International
        Affairs at Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government;
       Dr. Ellen D. Williams, Chief Scientist for British Petroleum and former Distinguished
        Professor in the Institute of Physical Science and Technology and the Department of Physics
        at the University of Maryland;
       Dr. Joan B. Woodard, Presiding Director, Member of Nominating & Governance Committee
        and Member of Compensation & Human Resources Committee for PNM Resources Inc. and
        former Executive Vice President and Deputy Laboratories Director for Nuclear Weapons at
        Sandia National Laboratories.

    The ISAB is sponsored and overseen by the Under Secretary for Arms Control and International
    Security, Ellen Tauscher. Dr. William Perry will serve as Chairman and Charles B. Curtis will
    serve as Vice Chairman. Photos taken at the meeting can be found here.


Shared By: