Listed Bldgs alphabetical list by 32awkc

VIEWS: 5 PAGES: 46

									                                            LISTED BUILDINGS

TAMWORTH

SK2004SE               ALDERGATE
670-1/7/39             (North side)
11/05/50               No.11

GV                II

House, now offices. c1770 with mid C19 additions. Brick with ashlar dressings; 2-span slate roof with brick end
stacks. Double-depth plan. Georgian style. 3 storeys; symmetrical 3-window range. Plastered plinth, ground and
1st floor sill bands and top wooden cornice. Round-headed entrance has doorcase with battered panelled
pilasters, entablature blocks and open pediment, fanlight with radial glazing bars over glazed door. Ground floor
has two C19 ashlar bay windows each with angle pilasters, frieze and cornice, tripartite window with 4-pane
sash; 1st and 2nd floors have windows with rubbed brick flat arches, over 12-pane sashes to 1st floor, and over
6-pane sashes with sills to 2nd floor. Left return has C20 tile hanging. 2-storey rear wing. Interior: noted as
having open-well staircase with stick balusters and moulded cornices.

Listing NGR: SK2064304234


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE               ALDERGATE
670-1/7/40             (North side)
Nos.12 AND 13

GV                II

Two houses, now offices. c1800 with some C20 alteration. Brick; slate roof with brick cross-axial stack. Double-
depth plan. 3 storeys; symmetrical 2-window range. Windows have sills, and rubbed brick flat arches over 16-
pane sashes, some glazing bars missing, but 2nd floor has casement and 8-pane sash. Entrances to returns,
that to left in C20 small single-storey addition, that to right in rebuilt wall. Included for group value.

Listing NGR: SK2065204234


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE               ALDERGATE
670-1/7/41             (North side)
11/05/50               No.14 and attached outbuilding

GV                II

House, now shop and offices. c1800 with some C20 alteration. Brick; slate roof with brick end stacks. Double-
depth plan. 3 storeys; symmetrical 3-window range. Top modillioned brick cornice. Ground floor has C20
projecting shop front extending entire width of building. Windows have sills, and rubbed brick flat arches over 16-
pane sashes, some glazing bars missing, but 2nd floor has 8-pane sashes. Rear has 2 gabled wings, including
mid C19 workshop, L-plan with segmental arches over small-paned iron casements which extends to rear of
grounds to No 15 (q.v.).

Listing NGR: SK2066304241
TAMWORTH

SK2004SE               ALDERGATE
670-1/7/42             (North side)
09/11/72               No.15

GV                II

House, now flats. c1770 with C20 alterations. Brick; tile roof with brick end stacks. L-plan. Georgian style. 3
storeys; symmetrical 3-window range. Top modillioned wooden cornice. Entrance has doorcase with pilasters,
frieze and pediment, narrow overlight to C20 fielded-panel door. Windows have sills, those to ground and 1st
floor have rusticated wedge lintels over 12-pane top-hung casements (but that to ground floor right has lost its
lintel and there has been rebuilding to left); 2nd floor has 6-pane top-hung casements. Rear has gabled wing,
with 2 elliptical-headed carriage arches and C20 canted oriel. Interior not inspected.

Listing NGR: SK2068804249


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE               ALDERGATE
670-1/7/43             (North side)
09/11/72               Nos.16 AND 17

GV                II

Two houses, now office. c1770 with C20 alterations. Brick with plaster; tile roof. Georgian style. 3 storeys;
symmetrical 3-window range. Channelled rustication to ground floor, sill band to 1st floor, and narrow top
wooden cornice. Entrance to elliptical-headed former carriage way with C20 glazed infill and door. Windows to
ground floor have 12-pane tripartite top-hung sashes; 1st and 2nd floor windows have rusticated wedge lintels,
                                           st
over top-hung casements, of 12 panes to 1 floor, of 6 panes to 2nd floor. Rear has 2 gabled wings. Included for
group value.

Listing NGR: SK2069404256


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE               BOLEBRIDGE STREET
670-1/9/44             (North East side)
11/05/50               No.2

GV                II

House, now office. c1780. Brick; tile roof with brick end stacks. Double-depth plan. Georgian style. 3 storeys; 4-
window range. Blue brick plinth and deep top cornice and parapet; coped gables. Entrance to left of centre has
doorcase with panelled pilasters, entablature blocks and open pediment, fanlight with radial glazing bars over 6-
panel door; elliptical-headed carriage entrance to right end has paired plank doors. Windows have sills, and
rubbed brick flat arches, over 16-pane sashes to ground floor, alternate 16-pane and 12-pane sashes to 1st floor
and alternate 8-pane and 6-pane sashes to 2nd floor. Gabled wing to rear has return entrance with overlight with
decorative glazing bars to 6-panel door. Interior: dog-leg staircase with open string and stick balusters.

Listing NGR: SK2093803999


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE             BOLEBRIDGE STREET
670-1/9/45           (North East side)
11/05/50             Nos.3, 4 AND 4A
(Formerly Listed as: BOLEBRIDGE STREET Nos.3 AND 4)

GV                II
Includes: UNIT No.9 BOLEBRIDGE MEWS Tamworth. Two houses, now shops and office. c1760. Brick; tile
roof with brick stacks. Georgian style. 3 storeys; 3-window range. Blue brick plinth, 2 platt bands and C20 eaves,
original wooden cornice removed (1990). Left end has C20 shop front with bracketed ashlar frieze and cornice
taken over entry to Bolebridge Mews to right, small-paned window and recessed entrance; entrance to right of
centre has plain opening to recessed C20 door up steps. Windows have sills, and rubbed brick flat arches, over
                                                                                                     nd
16-pane and 12-pane sashes to ground floor, 12-pane sashes to 1st floor, 9-pane sashes to 2 floor. Coped
gable and end stack to left, large cross-axial stack. Rear has 2 gabled wings, that to right with chamfered beams
to interior and C20 addition. INTERIOR: partial inspection only; chamfered beams to rear wing.

Listing NGR: SK2094503986


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE           BOLEBRIDGE STREET
670-1/9/46         (North East side)
Nos.5-9 (Consecutive)

GV                II

No 9 shown as No 6 on OS map. Two shops and flats. C17 with later alterations and additions. Brick with
plastered return, some timber-framing to core; tile roof. 2 storeys; 4-window range. Ground floor has two C20
shop fronts flanking entrance to 1st floor flat; 1st floor has windows with pegged wooden frames. Right return
has signs of collar and tie beam truss with struts under plaster. Rear has large C20 addition. INTERIOR: inner
wall of right end has some exposed timber framing. 1st floor has 2 cross frames and roof truss to rear wing with
cambered tie beam. Included for group value.

Listing NGR: SK2095003980


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE               BOLEBRIDGE STREET
670-1/9/47             (North East side)
No.10                  Tamworth Working Men's Club

GV                II

House, now club. c1810 with later additions. Brick with stucco facade; asymetrical slate roof with brick end
stacks. Double-depth plan. Regency style. 3 storeys; symmetrical 2-window range. Channelled rustication to
ground floor, giant Tuscan pilasters with dentilled capitals to 1st and 2nd floors and top dentilled cornice and
blocking course. Round-headed entrance to enclosed porch with channelled rustication and cornice, fanlight with
radial glazing bars and C20 paired doors. Windows have sills and 16-pane sashes, but 8-pane sashes to 2nd
floor. Single-storey mid C20 addition to right has late C20 triple sashes. Rear has C20 addition. INTERIOR:
altered ground floor; room to left has Adam-style fireplace with fluted pilasters, figures and swags and rich
cornice; dog-leg stair to left side has stick balusters.

Listing NGR: SK2096403970


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE               CHURCH STREET
670-1/7/57             (North side)
11/05/50               Church of St. Editha

GV                I

Former collegiate church. C9 origins shown in plan of former crossing tower; Norman crossing arches and
chancel south wall and part of north wall; Early English north porch; most of church mid to late C14 following fire
of 1345; late C14-early C15 west tower; C15 clerestories and roofs; extensively restored by B.Ferrey and
G.G.Scott, 1850s, and W.Butterfield, c1871. Moulded plinths and plain parapets. 3-bay chancel with crossing
and 7-bay clerestory over both; 4-bay north chapel and north transept; 2-bay south chapel and vestry; nave with
clerestory and 5-bay aisles; west tower. Chancel has plinth and 6-light east window with king mullion and
Perpendicular tracery, mid C14 crocketed hood mould with stops, flanking niches with crocketed ogee hoods
and offset diagonal buttresses; C14 two-light south windows and C19 four-light clerestory windows, most with
crocketed ogee hoods, plain parapet; north chapel has hollow-chamfered plinth and 7-light Perpendicular east
window and 4-light north windows with head stops to hoods between offset buttresses; north transept has 4-light
window, embattled parapet; south chapel has offset buttresses flanking windows with renewed tracery of
unusual form, blocked east window, gabled vestry has straight-headed windows, of 3 round-headed lights to
east and of 2+2 lights and 3 traceried lights to south, plain south door. North aisle has plinth and plain parapet,
3-light windows with Geometrical tracery between offset buttresses and 2-storey porch with round-headed
                                             st
entrance with C20 glazed infill and door, 1 floor light with crocketed hood with stops, stair turret in buttress to
right, 5-light transomed west window with Perpendicular tracery interrupted by tower buttress; south aisle has
plinth and 3-light windows with early Perpendicular tracery between offset buttresses, end gabled buttresses with
stack to east, crocketed pinnacle to west, pointed entrance with continuous leaf-trail moulding, entrance to crypt,
slate sundial to plain parapet, clerestory as to chancel, 4-light west window with pinnacle to parapet. 3-stage
tower has gabled angle buttresses incorporating stair turrets, plinth and string courses, C19 west entrance has
hollow-chamfered architrave with arms of diocese and province to spandrels and Tudor flower, paired doors,
embattled parapet to wall passage below 6-light window with Perpendicular tracery; C19 south-west stair
entrance has niche with St George; 4-light transomed south window with Perpendicular tracery, small lights to
2nd stage; bell stage has paired Y-tracery louvred openings, cornice with gargoyles, embattled parapet with
crocketed pinnacles with wind vanes and truncated spire. INTERIOR: chancel has 3 unglazed 2-light windows to
north over 3 mid-C14 arched tomb recesses with cusping, all open to north chapel; east window flanked by 2
tiers of niches with crocketed ogee heads, similar niches alternate with clerestory windows, panelled roof has
stop-chamfered members, with bosses to sanctuary; crossing has round-headed north and south arches with flat
responds, jambs of west arch have chevron moulding with C15 cusped panels to former arch abutments, squint
to south aisle; north chapel has glazed C19 screen with brattishing, C15 panelled roof with bosses, 1882 sedilia
and piscina project with cusped arches and gables, niches flank east window; transept has C19 panelled roof;
south chapel has C14 two-bay west arcade with filleted quatrefoil piers, north wall has round-headed entrance to
chancel with blocked deeply splayed window above and shafted buttress to vestry, C14 south piscina, C15 roof
with few bosses; aisles have C15 panelled roofs with bosses, pointed entrance to porch with rib vaulting; similar
panelled roof to nave, arcades with quatrefoil piers with fillets, clerestory as to chancel, C19west wall has
unglazed traceried opening over doorway with continuous moulding; tower has rib vault and deeply splayed
windows and blind arch to north; crypt has single-chamfered vaulting. Fittings: chancel has 1852 reredos by
G.G.Scott and J.B.Philip, cusped arcading with marble shafts flanking 5 cusped gabled arches with mosaic,
1887, by Salviati, encaustic tiles to sanctuary, C19 traceried rail; crossing has stalls with C20 book rests; north
chapel has late C19 traceried timber altar and reredos with riddel posts; south chapel has free-standing organ;
nave has rich C19 timber pulpit with detached shafts, 1854 font by G.G.Scott, octagonal with shafted pier and
enriched panels. Memorials: chancel has 3 tombs to recesses: to east, Sir Baldwin de Freville, d.c1400, and
wife, chest with figures under gablets with pinnacles, inscription to cornice and 2 effigies to top; C15 tomb, chest
with cusped panels and shields and moulded square balusters to angles, effigy of woman with kennel head-
dress; to west, Sir John Ferrers, d.1512, and wife, chest with Tudor flower and shields, Tudor flower to cornice
and 2 effigies, the male now without legs; to north a wall tablet to Elizabeth Adderley, d.1661, oval panel with
flanking scrolls and foliage with cartouche to apron and segmental pediment with swan-neck pediment above; to
south tablet to Henry Michel, d.1629, and wives, round-headed panel; Thomes Willington, d.1696, cartouche
with Latin inscription and flanking drapery, apron in form of drapery with further inscription and armorial bearing
above; Francis Blick, d.1842, rich Gothic Revival tablet in form of niche; north chapel has tomb recess with effigy
of priest, Baldwin de Witney, d.1369; C14 floor slab with indents for missing brasses; transept has fragment of
C15 effigy of knight; wall tablet to members of Comberford family, d.1671-1725, in form of drapery with Latin
inscription; south chapel has wall tablet to Elizabeth Hood, d.1899, in early C19 style with stole and weeping
figure by draped urn and willow; north aisle has war memorial wall slabs; tablet to John Horner, d.1769, obelisk
with putto and portrait medallion and apron with palms; other C18 tablets to west wall; tower has large
monument to John Ferrers, d.1680, and his son, Humphrey, d.1678, by Arnold Quellin of Grinling Gibbons'
studio, chest with cartouches flanking trophy of arms supporting tablet with Latin inscription, flanked by free-
standing kneeling figures in Roman armour, top sarcophagus with gadrooning, festoons, putti and flaming urn,
with free-standing armorial bearing to front; tablet to John Clarke, d.1818, weeping figure by tomb with armorial
bearing. Stained glass: medieval fragments to vestry east window; chancel east window, 1870, by Wailes; good
south clerestory windows, 1873, by Ford Madox Brown for Morris and Co; good north chapel east window, 1874,
by E.Burne-Jones for Morris and Co., also 2 windows to north, 1901 and 1925, and 2 windows by Messrs
Camm, 1939 and 1940; 2 north aisle windows by H.Holiday, 1919, and one by G.E.Smith, 1945; 3 south aisle
windows by H.Holiday for Powell and Son, 1881-6; also C19 windows to transept and south chapel. One of the
largest parish churches in Staffordshire, especially notable for its Norman work and for its monuments.
(Buildings of England: Pevsner N: Staffordshire: London: 1974-: P.274-77; Pace GG: The Collegiate and Parish
Church of St Editha, Tamworth: Tamworth).

Listing NGR: SK2078604090
TAMWORTH

SK2004SE         CHURCH STREET
670-1/7/59       (North side)
Shorthose Monument approx. 6m E of Vestry of Church of St. Editha

GV                II

Chest tomb. 1830. Ashlar with slate panels. Reeded balusters and ashlar end panels; side panel with inscription;
top slab with moulded edge. Commemorates Thomas Shorthose, d.1830, and his wife, d.1798.

Listing NGR: SK2082104084


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE          CHURCH STREET
670-1/7/58        (North side)
Monument approx. 48m NW of Tower of Church of St. Editha

GV                II

Monument. 1838. Ashlar. Obelisk on square plinth with slate tablets to sides. Commemorates 6 female servants
who died in a fire at the Castle Hotel: Mary Ann Smith, Mary Ann Booth, Mary Garner, Mary Chatterton, Harriet
Bonner and Harriet Bushnell. Erected by the inhabitants of Tamworth.

Listing NGR: SK2074004145


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE               CHURCH STREET
670-1/7/50             (North side)
11/05/50               No.10

GV                II

House, now shop. Probably mid C18 with later alterations. Painted brick with half-hipped tile roof with brick
stack. 2 storeys with attic; 2-window range. Top wooden cornice. Ground floor has two C20 shop front to right of
              st
entrance to 1 floor. 1st floor has windows with rubbed brick flat arches and plate glass sashes; attic has 2
hipped dormers. Large T-plan cross-axial stack. Rear has gabled wing.

Listing NGR: SK2063404072


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE               CHURCH STREET
670-1/7/51             (North side)
No.21                  Social Services Department Area Office and attached wall

GV                II

Shown on O.S. map as No 25.House, at one time a police station, now office. Early C18 with later additions.
Brick with stone dressings; tile roof with brick stacks. Early Georgian style. 2 storeys; 7-window range. Cornice to
ground floor; top wooden modillioned cornice; coped gable. 2 entrances have architraves, friezes and cornices,
6-panel doors. Ground floor has windows with sills, and rubbed brick flat arches with keystones over 20-pane
horned sashes, but window between entrances has 12-pane sash; 1st floor has round-headed windows with
keystones and small-paned horned sashes. End stacks and cross-axial stacks. Rear has gabled wing with
similar windows, attic has 2 small-paned horizontally sliding sashes; single-storey extension ending in late C19
cell block with ashlar sills and lintels to barred windows, return incorporates C18 garden wall; early C20 wing to
right. Interior not inspected.
Listing NGR: SK2071904067


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE             CHURCH STREET
670-1/7/61           (North side)
11/05/50             The White House and attached wall and railings
(Formerly Listed as: CHURCH STREET (North side) No.21 Municipal Offices)

GV                II

Shown on O.S. map as Municipal Offices, No 22. House, now office. Early C19 with later additions. Stucco; roof
with stucco and brick stacks. Double-depth plan. Early Georgian style. 3 storeys; symmetrical 5-window range.
Platt band over ground floor; angle pilasters with entablature blocks; top cornice and coped parapet. Entrance
has doorcase with pediment and 4-fielded-panel door up steps with iron rails. Windows have sills, and keystones
over 12-pane horned sashes; central windows in forward break. Left return has 2 lateral stacks; round-headed
stair window has small-paned glazing. Rear has top entablature; large full-height bow with 10:15:10-pane
tripartite sash to ground floor, with frieze and cornice over; similar window to 1st floor. Right return partly brick
with brick lateral stack. Subsidiary items: mid C19 brick wall with cast-iron coping and railings extend
approximately 15m to north. INTERIOR: noted as having stick-baluster staircase to left side, with entablature.

Listing NGR: SK2069204088


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE             CHURCH STREET
670-1/7/56           (North side)
11/05/50             Bank House
(Formerly Listed as: CHURCH STREET (North side) No.22 British Legion Tamworth Club)

GV                II

Shown on OS map as No 22, Municipal Offices. Two houses, now offices. Early C19, possibly refronting to C18
building. Brick; hipped slate roof with tile to rear wing and brick stacks. Double-depth plan. Georgian style. 2
storeys; 3-window range with 3-storey, 2-window, range to right. Plastered plinth and top cornices. Entrance to
right end has doorcase with reeded pilasters, frieze and cornice and overlight to 4-fielded-panel door. Windows
have sills and rubbed brick flat arches over 16-pane horned sashes, 2 to ground floor left end in round-headed
recesses; 2nd floor has 8-pane horned sashes. Cross-axial stack and 2 gable-end stacks. Rear has earlier
gabled wing. Interior not inspected.

Listing NGR: SK2163201525


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE                CHURCH STREET
670-1/7/49             (North side) Tamworth Arts Centre

GV                II

Shown on OS map as Baptist Church. Theatre, now arts centre. c1770, became malt house early C19, Baptist
chapel, 1870, porch added 1908; became arts centre, 1970. Stuccoed brick with pebbledash and terracotta
dressings; tile roof. Right-angle plan. 2 storeys. Pilasters and dentilled pedimented gable. Entrance in porch with
terracotta top frieze and parapet, high plinth with squat paired Ionic half-columns with entasis, pulvinated frieze
and cornice supporting round arched hood, C20 infill and doors; flanking plain C20 entrances with bull's eyes
above. 1st floor has 3 round-headed C19 windows with angle pilasters, archivolts and keystones over small-
paned glazing. Right return to Gungate has weathered plinth and cornice, C20 right end entrance, ground floor
windows cutting plinth and round-headed 1st floor windows. Truncated louvre to ridge. INTERIOR: much altered,
round-arched recess to end wall. Sarah Siddons is said to have performed in the theatre c1773. The building is
an important landmark in Tamworth, and is of much local historical importance. (Tamworth Herald: Tamworth:
1921-).
Listing NGR: SK2086504094



TAMWORTH

SK2004SE               CHURCH STREET
670-1/7/48             (North side)
09/11/72               Wall to N of Nos 29 and 30 (not included)
(Formerly Listed as:    CHURCH STREET Fragment of Deanery, Mould's Yard)

GV                II

Wall, part of medieval deanery. C14. Stone rubble with tile inclusions; extends for approximately 20m from east-
west, varying in height from 3m to 1m.

Listing NGR: SK2083104102


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE               CHURCH STREET
670-1/7/60             (North side)
11/05/50               Old Stone Cross P.H.

GV                II

Public House. Early C18, with early C16 cellars and façade reconstructed, 1974. Brick with some timber framing
and concrete dressings; tile roof, hipped to one end, with brick stacks. L-plan. 2 storeys; 5-window range.
Quoins. 2 entrances have bracketed round-arched hoods and C20 6-fielded-panel doors. Windows have wedge
lintels with keystones over C20 casements. Plaque records reconstruction. Large cross-axial stack. Right return
is plastered, with simple cornice. Left return has part of gable revealed above adjacent building: exposed roof
truss with collar and principals crossed at apex. Rear has plastered gabled wing with large end stack.
INTERIOR: ground floor has chamfered beams; cellar has rib vault with chamfered ribs and Tudor-rose bosses.
Photographs of 1970s show left return revealed, with square framing.

Listing NGR: SK2084604093


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE             CHURCH STREET
670-1/7/52           (South side)
11/05/50             Nos.66 AND 67
(Formerly Listed as: CHURCH STREET (South side) Nos.67 AND 68)

GV                II

House, now 2 shops. Early to mid C18, with C17 core. Painted brick; tile roof. 2-unit plan. 2 storeys with attic; 5-
window range. Central forward break and end pilaster strips; dentilled brick frieze over ground floor and top
dentilled brick frieze and coved cornice. Ground floor has mid C20 shop fronts with marble plinth and black glass
                                                                                  st
fascia; recessed entrances have glazed doors with decorative glazing bars. 1 floor has segmental-headed
windows with rubbed brick arches over 8-pane horned sashes, the central window blind; attic has 2 gabled
dormers. Rear has some C17 brickwork and later rebuilding; rebuilt single-storey gabled wing. INTERIOR: some
chamfered beams.

Listing NGR: SK2062504051
TAMWORTH

SK2004SE                CHURCH STREET
670-1/7/53              (South side)
No.68

GV                 II

House, now tea room. C17 with early to mid C18 and later alterations. Painted brick with some timber framing;
tile roof with large brick end stack. 2 storeys with attic; 2 single-window ranges, that to right lower. Range to right
has brick platt band over ground floor and top frieze and coved cornice, that to right has top brick modillioned
cornice. Entrance in late C20 shop front to right end, window to left possibly in blocked entrance, possible
blocked entrance to left end. Ground floor has segmental-headed window to left with C20 frame; 1st floor has
segmental-headed windows, that to left with 3-light transomed pegged frame, that to right with C20 casement;
attic has 2 gabled dormers. Rear has plastered gabled wing. INTERIOR: stop-chamfered beams; rear wing has
exposed part of cross frame with wall posts and cambered tie beam cut through and queen struts; winder stair to
attic.

Listing NGR: SK2061404051


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE                CHURCH STREET
670-1/7/54              (South side)
No.70

GV                 II

Shop. 1820-40, rear possibly earlier. Brick with stucco dressings; slate roof with brick end stacks. 2 storeys; 2-
window range. Painted ground floor and 1st floor sill band. C19 shop front with pilasters, frieze and cornice,
overlight to C20 door; carriage entrance to right has rusticated elliptical arch and paired plank doors; cornice to
shop front and paired doors have large hooks, suggesting former use as butcher's shop. 1st and 2nd floor
windows have rusticated wedge lintels, over 16-pane sashes to 1st floor, 8-pane sashes to 2nd floor. Passage
has large hooks to beams. Rear has long gabled wing with cross-axial stack. INTERIOR: lst floor not inspected.

Listing NGR: SK2060704049


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE                CHURCH STREET
670-1/7/55              (South side)
No.71

GV                 II

Shop. Early C19. Painted brick; tile roof with brick cross-axial stack. 3 storeys; 2-window range. Top brick
cornice. Entrances to ends have rubbed brick flat arches, plank door to left, C20 glazed door to right. Windows
have sills, and rubbed brick flat arches; ground floor has window with 16-pane sash and former bow window with
paneled pilasters, frieze, cornice and plate glass window; 1st floor has C20 casement and 16-pane sash; 2nd
floor has 8-pane sash and C20 casement. Rear gabled wing. Interior not inspected.

Listing NGR: SK2059604045
TAMWORTH

SK2004SE             COLEHILL
670-1/7/62           (West side)
11/05/50             No.1
(Formerly Listed as: COLEHILL (West side) Nos.1-3 (Consecutive))

GV                II

Shop. Early to mid C18. Brick; tile roof. 2 storeys with attic; 3-window range. Top wooden cornice. Late C19
shop front with canopy. 1st floor has windows with rubbed brick flat arches over small-paned casements; attic
has 2 dormers. Rear has gabled wing. Interior not inspected.

Listing NGR: SK2088704020


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE             COLEHILL
670-1/7/63           (East side)
09/11/72             Nos.8 AND 9
(Formerly Listed as: COLEHILL No.9)

GV                II

Two houses, now shops. c1820. Brick with ashlar dressings; slate roof with brick cross-axial stack. Double-depth
plan. Georgian style. 3 storeys; 6-window range. 1st floor sill band and top cornice; central brick pilaster. Ground
floor has late C19 shop front to No 8, with polished granite plinth, windows with slender colonnettes and small-
paned upper glazing bowed to 2 recessed entrances, large fascia and canopy; late C20 shop front to No 9 has
triangular-headed central entrance and panelled doorcase with pedimental gable, fanlight and glaze door. 1st
and 2nd floor windows have rusticated wedge lintels with keystones over 4-pane horned sashes, those to 2nd
floor smaller, with sills. No 8 included for group value. (Hamel E B: Illustrations of Tamworth, facsimile reprint:
Tamworth: 1986-: 14 AND 15).

Listing NGR: SK2089404076


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE               COLEHILL
670-1/7/64             (East side)
09/11/72               No.10

GV                II

House, now office. Probably C17, refronted early C19. Pebbledashed brick with ashlar dressings, some internal
timber frame; parapeted roof. Double-depth plan with rear wing. 3 storeys; symmetrical 5-window range.
Entrance has Tuscan porch, columns on plinths, with steps to small-paned half-glazed door. Windows have sills
and horned sashes with margin lights, smaller windows to 2nd floor. Rear wing with large cross-axial stack.
INTERIOR: exposed timber-framing, especially to upper floors; attic has exposed C17 brickwork and queen-strut
trusses; central open-well stair with column-on-vase balusters, square newels and ramped handrails. The home
of General Bailey Willington, 1755-1822, an artillery commander at the siege of Gibraltar, 1782.

Listing NGR: SK2090304054
TAMWORTH

SK2004SE               COLEHILL
670-1/7/65             (East side)
No.11

GV                II

House, now shop. Mid to late C18. Brick; tile roof with brick end stacks. L-plan. 3 storeys; 3-window range. Platt
band over 1st floor and top wooden cornice; coped gables. Ground floor has C20 shop front with entrance to
right. 1st and 2nd floor windows have rubbed brick flat arches, over 4-pane sashes to 1st floor, smaller 4-pane
horned sashes to 2nd floor. 2-storey rear wing. Interior not inspected.

Listing NGR: SK2091204046


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE               CORPORATION STREET
670-1/7/66             (East side)
09/11/72               Assembly Rooms

GV                II

Assembly rooms. 1889. For Tamworth Corporation. Brick with ashlar dressings; slate roof. Right-angle plan.
Italianate style. 2 storeys with attic; symmetrical 5-window range with 3-window centre breaking forward under
segmental pediment. 3 entrances with angle pilasters, frieze and cornice, narrow overlights to panelled doors.
1st floor has round-headed windows with archivolts and small-paned glazing; attic has architraved windows with
imbricated friezes and cornices. Ashlar plinth, brick channelled rustication to ground floor with platt band over;
1st floor sill band and impost band; brick angle pilasters and top frieze and cornice, pedimented gable broken by
attic with pilasters with foliate capitals, entablature with date and pediment with boldly carved town arms with
mermaid supporters. 7-window right return has similar 1st floor over narrow lean-to projection with entrance to
front with rusticated brick piers, cornice and stone-coped parapet; paired panelled doors; left return similar, brick
channelled rustication to ground floor. Rear has narrower gabled wing with return and rear lean-to outshuts and
small stacks.

Listing NGR: SK2069804114


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE               GEORGE STREET
670-1/9/67             (South side)
No.1

GV                II

House, now shop. Possibly C16 with later alterations. Stucco, probably to timber frame; tile roof with brick stack.
2 storeys; 2-window range. 1st floor jettied to George Street and Bolebridge Street elevations; plain parapet.
Ground floor has late C19 or early C20 shop front with panelled pilasters, bracketed fascia and recessed corner
entrance; 2 casement windows to 1st floor. Stack to rear of ridge. INTERIOR: one exposed wall plate; roof not
inspected. Building has timber-framed structure (hidden by later alterations) as shown in E.B.Hamel's 1829
illustrations of Tamworth. (Hamel E B: 1829 Illustrations of Tamworth: Tamworth: 1986-: P.14 AND 15).

Listing NGR: SK2091103994
TAMWORTH

SK2003NE                GEORGE STREET
670-1/9/68              (South side)
10/02/89                 Nos.3, 4 AND 5 G. Griffin and Sons (4) (Formerly Listed as: GEORGE STREET
                        Nos.3, 4 AND 5 (The Yorkshire Bank, G.Griffins & Sons, & Abbey National))

GV                 II

Terrace of 3 shops, with accommodation above. Late C18 or early C19, with later additions and early C19
refronting. Brick with stucco dressings; tile roof with brick stacks. 3 storeys; 8-window range. Top wooden eaves.
No 3 has C20 shop front with panelled pilasters, fascia and cornice, with brick infill, narrow windows and central
entrance. No 4 has late C19 shop front with plinth with gilded lettering under glass to plinth, end piers with turned
balusters, fascia with gilded lettering under glass and enriched iron cresting with panel; plate glass windows
have slender colonnettes, recessed door with etched glass panel and canopy. No 5 has C20 shop front. 1st floor
has windows with stucco wedge lintels over 12-pane sashes, but 3 windows to left end (No 3) have 12-pane top-
hung casements; 2nd floor has 6-pane sashes, 3 to left end with horns, with painted blind window to left of
centre. End stacks and 3 cross-axial stacks. Round clock face to No 4. Rear has varied wings and extensions.
INTERIOR: No 4 has many original fittings, including counters and glass-fronted cupboards; No 5 noted as
having stone vaulted cellar. No 4 notable for being a good and well-preserved example of a late C19 shop front
and interior.

Listing NGR: SK2088303975


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE                GEORGE STREET
670-1/9/69              (South side)
No.17                   Lloyds Bank

GV                 II

Bank. c1910. Brick with ashlar dressings; graduated slate roof. Georgian Revival style. 2 storeys; symmetrical 5-
window range. Rusticated plinth and top entablature, with egg and dart to cornice, and balustrade; coped gables.
Entrance to left end has architrave, frieze with lettering: LLOYDS BANK/ CHAMBERS, paired fielded-panel
doors, 12-pane overlight with architrave, frieze and consoled cornice; entrance to right has architrave with bead
and reel moulding, frieze and consoled cornice; overlight with fishscale glazing and paired fielded-panel doors,
panel above has black-horse badge. Windows to ground floor have architraves, friezes and consoled cornices to
12/8-pane horned sashes altered for insertion of cashpoints; 1st floor has architraved windows with 16-pane
horned sashes. Plaster band over ground floor with letters: LLOYDS BANK. INTERIOR: fluted pilasters on
plinths and panelled ceiling with bead and reel to mouldings. Included for group value.

Listing NGR: SK2077003924


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE                GEORGE STREET
670-1/9/70              (North side)
Nos.36 AND 36A

GV                 II

Two shops and 2 flats. Late C17 with later alterations. Brick with plastered front; tile roof with brick end stack and
large cross-axial stack. L-plan. 2 storeys with attic; 3-window range. Top wooden cornice. Ground floor has C20
shop fronts. 1st floor has three C19 canted oriels with coved bases, pilasters and dentilled cornices, 2:4:2-pane
sashes; attic has 3 hipped dormers. Enriched tie end plate. Rear has small gabled wing with later addition and
C19 lean-to outshut. Carriage way has beam with stepped stops. Interior noted as having chamfered beams to
1st floor, beam with runout stops to wing and splat-baluster staircase.

Listing NGR: SK2087903999
TAMWORTH

SK2004SE               GEORGE STREET
670-1/7/71             (North side)
No.37

GV                II

Shop. Dated 1898, but some C18 brickwork to returns. Brick with buff terracotta dressings; tile roof with brick
cross-axial stack. Right-angle plan. Northern Renaissance style. 3 storeys; 2-window range. 1st floor sill and
lintel courses, 2nd floor sill course and coped shaped gable. Ground floor has banded piers, bracketed
entablature and end finials to inserted C20 shop front. 1st floor has canted oriels with transomed windows of
1:2:1-segmental-headed lights, cartouches to scrolled bases and weathered heads in rubbed brick trefoil-headed
recesses. 2nd floor has 3-light windows with king mullions flanking panel with dated cartouche, all under cornice
with central pediment under elliptical-headed recess with some terracotta voussoirs and pinnacle. Stack has
some terracotta quoins. Included for group value.

Listing NGR: SK2088604006


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE               HOLLOWAY
670-1/9/76             (East side)
11/05/50               Castle Coach-house and attached wall extending to Holloway Lodge

GV                II

Coach-house and attached wall approx 33.5m long. c1820. Stone rubble with ashlar dressings; hipped tile roof.
Rectangular structure built into edge of motte. Gothic Revival style. Single storey with loft. Coach entrance to left
end has 4-centred head and C20 paired plank doors; central entrance has 4-centred head and C20 plank door
with quatrefoil pitching eye above; window to right has 4-centred head and remains of Y tracery. Left return to
Holloway has 2 small-paned casements to loft; loft entrance to right return. Wall to south has embattled parapet.
An important element in the setting of the castle.

Listing NGR: SK2057703930


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE               HOLLOWAY
670-1/9/78             (East side)
11/05/50               Holloway Lodge

GV                II

Lodge. Dated 1810. Ashlar with hipped slate roof. In form of castle gatehouse. Gothic Revival style. Round angle
turrets on battered bases, 2 platt bands and embattled parapet. Central carriage entrance with 4-centred head,
hood with iron horseshoe stops and paired studded doors, Ferrers arms above; flanking blind slots. Rear has
similar entrance with Townshend arms above; flanking 2-light double-hollow-chamfered-mullioned windows, with
3 similar windows to 1st floor. Returns of carriageway have entrances with 4-centred heads and 6-flush-panel
doors.

Listing NGR: SK2055903890


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE             HOLLOWAY
670-1/9/79           (East side)
Statue of Ethelfleda approx 13.5m E of Holloway Lodge

GV                II
Statue. 1913. Ashlar with granite base. Circular base in form of seat on octagonal step. Short pier on inscribed
plinth, with entasis and spiral pattern, roll-moulded base and Anglo-Saxon interlace to capital, supports statue of
Ethelfleda in Anglo-Saxon dress with sword and child. Inscription records erection to commemorate raising of
castle mound by Ethelfleda (spelt Aethelfleda) in 913. Ethelfleda, known as 'The Lady of the Mercians', was the
daughter of Alfred the Great and sister of Edmund the Elder, who led the defence of Mercia against the Danes,
fortifying Tamworth and other towns. (Wood H: Borough by Prescription: Tamworth: 1958-: P.5-6).

Listing NGR: SK2057603893


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE          HOLLOWAY
670-1/9/81         (East side)
Urn approx. 20m SE of Holloway Lodge

GV                 II

Urn. C18. Ashlar. Urn on plinth with fielded panels; scrolled handles and festoons; top finial.

Listing NGR: SK2057103876


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE          HOLLOWAY
670-1/9/83         (East side)
Urn approx. 44m SE of Tamworth Castle

GV                 II

Urn. C18. Ashlar. Urn on plinth with fielded panels and acanthus base; enriched with masks and festoons; top
guilloche moulding and finial.

Listing NGR: SK2065803875


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE            HOLLOWAY
670-1/9/85          (East side)
Wall encircling Tamworth Castle

II

Wall encircling castle, forming revetting to path. Probably medieval origins; C17 or C18 with C19 rebuilding.
Stone rubble with brick to west and south. Raking buttresses at intervals, one brick buttress to south-west has
grille to opening. Stone coping to west and south. Section to east has low coped wall with signs of missing
railings flanking steps, and end piers with pine finials.

Listing NGR: SK2061403911


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE                HOLLOWAY
670-1/9/72              (East side)
11/05/50                Castle Hotel, Lakins Night Club and The Bow Street Runner

GV                 II

Includes: No.39 Castle Hotel and The Bow Street Runner MARKET STREET Tamworth. Hotel. Early C18 with
mid C19 and c1900 additions. Brick with ashlar dressings; tile roofs with brick stacks. L-plan. 3 storeys; 4-
                                                st
window range. Weathered base, platt band over 1 floor and top wooden cornice. Entrance to right end has
Tuscan porch with scrolled wrought-iron balcony, blind overlight to paired half-glazed doors. Windows have
rubbed brick flat arches,those to ground floor have 4-pane horned sashes flanking 12-pane sash with thick
                                                                                                nd
glazing bars; 1st floor has 4-pane horned sashes, that to right end has stained glass; 2 floor has 2-light
casements with pegged frames, that to right end with stained glass. Cross-axial stack. Left return to Market
Street has 5-window range with 4 Ionic pilasters, frieze and cornice to entrance with paired doors and flanking 4-
pane horned tripartite sashes; 12-pane sash with thick glazing bars to left; 1st floor has 12-pane sashes with
thick glazing bars, 2 altered; 2nd floor has pegged casements. Stack to rear of ridge. Mid C19 addition to right
(Holloway facade) of 3 storeys; 2-window range with c1900 additions forming 4-storey, 3-window range;
segmental-headed windows, 12-pane sashes to ground floor, 2 with thick glazing bars; 12-pane horned sashes
to 1st and 2nd floors; casements to 3rd floor. End stacks. Similar 3-storey, single-window range to right of c1900.
2-storey, 4-window, garage range of c1900 to end; one large and 2 small shaped gables; 2 elliptical-headed
carriage entrances with banded arches and hoods, one with paired plank doors, one with late C20 infill and
similar flanking entrances, one now with inserted window. Ground floor has 2 elliptical-headed windows with
keystones and hoods with fixed glazing; 3 similar windows to 1st floor, that to right end smaller, and large oriel to
left end on large brackets with bowed centre, dentilled cornice and slate roof, some stained glass, datestone
                                                                                                          st
above. Several brick stacks. Market Street facade has C19 three-storey, 2-window, addition to left, 1 floor sill
course, top coved cornice; ground floor has entrance with rounded upper angles and similar window to right; 1st
floor has segmental-headed windows with 4-pane sashes and continuous hood; 2nd-floor windows have 4-pane
sashes and shaped aprons. Rear has various gabled wings and additions, including single-storey wing under
hipped roof. INTERIOR: chamfered beams and staircase with column-on-vase balusters. The hotel forms a
significant element in Holloway and contributes to the setting of the castle (q.v.). The garage was an important
early facility for motorists.

Listing NGR: SK2058903958


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE               HOLLOWAY
670-1/9/74             (West side) Revetment Wall and Railings E side of Ladybank

GV                II

Revetment wall and railings. Late C19. Brick with ashlar dressings and wrought- and cast-iron. Brick wall has
chamfered ashlar coping with brick piers at intervals with plain ashlar capping. Plain iron railings have enriched
scrolled panels at intervals. The wall and railings extend approximately 92m along raised pavement to buildings
on east side of Holloway, known as Lady Bank. An important element in one of the best preserved streets in
Tamworth.

Listing NGR: SK2055603928


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE               HOLLOWAY
670-1/9/75             (East side)
11/05/50               Tamworth Castle (Formerly Listed as: TAMWORTH The Castle)

GV                I

Castle, now museum. Late C11 motte and bailey castle; rebuilt C12,early C13 repairs or reconstruction; C12-
C13 north wing, probably with 1st floor hall; early C15 hall range; C16 warder's lodge; early C17 south wing;
c1800 alterations. Stone rubble with ashlar and brick with ashlar dressings; tile and flat lead roofs. Shell keep
with north-east tower with warden's lodge to south, and later ranges forming H-plan house. Curtain walls have
embattled parapets. Tower has battered base, flat buttresses and rounded turrets; C14 two-light traceried
window and top window with label mould over 3 round-headed lights with transom. Warder's house to left has
C14 pointed entrance in canted bay under gable; late C16 double-chamfered-mullioned windows of 3 and 4
lights. South wing has c1800 facade; ashlar; ground floor windows of 3 pointed lights; 5- and 7-light 1st floor
windows with transoms, similar 3-light windows to 2nd floor. North range has 2 square projections forming bases
of bay windows demolished c1800; 3-light transomed windows in splayed surrounds with brattishing; 6-light and
3-light windows above; similar windows to right, with French window, and to left, over corbelled base to oriel.
Inner court has warder's lodge to south east: 2 storeys with attic; renewed double-chamfered-mullioned windows
with leaded glazing; coped gable with kneelers. South range: brick with ashlar dressings; 2 storeys; 2-window
range; quoins, plinth, platt bands and C19 embattled parapet; entrance to right in doorcase with 4-centred head,
remains of paired pilasters to entablature with cresting and armorial panel; ground floor has 3-light windows with
pegged casements; 1st floor 4-light transomed ovolo-mullioned windows; 2nd floor has 3-light double-
chamfered-mullioned windows. Hall has brick plinth, exposed wall post and large C17 wood-mullioned and
transomed windows with leaded glazing, forming glazed wall; stair turret to right has 2-light hollow-chamfered-
mullioned windows; east end of north range mostly brick; blocked 1st floor door to west end. INTERIOR: hall has
tie beam and double collar trusses with struts and wind braces, ovolo-mouldings with fillets to posts and soffits of
trusses; enriched doorcases and fireplace with Mannerist detail, moved from house in Kent, c1822. Tudor-
headed main entrance with studded door. Closed-well stair to north wing, which has 3 rooms with fireplace and
doorcases from house in Kent. South wing has two 1st floor rooms with C17 panelling and contemporary
fireplaces with pilasters and entablatures and enriched overmantels, one with flanking figures and relief carving
of biblical scenes; armorial panels, c1800. Warder's house has similar 1st floor room with panelling and fireplace
overmantel. Tower has stair with strapwork panels and top splat balusters; room with panelling and Tudor-
arched fireplace. The castle has been inhabited since the Norman conquest, with a break in the mid C19, when it
was used in connection with the nearby mills (dem); it was bought by the local council in 1897 and opened to the
public. James I stayed at the castle; Sir Walter Scott referred to it in his poem Marmion. (Ballard E: Tamworth
Castle Museum: Tamworth: 1987-; The Archaeological Journal: Meeson R: The Timber Frame of the Hall at
Tamworth Castle, Staffs: London: 1983-; Buildings of England: Pevsner N: Staffordshire: London: 1974-: P. 277-
8).

Listing NGR: SK2061303913


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE              HOLLOWAY
670-1/9/80           (East side)
09/11/72             Upper Lodge to NE of Tamworth Castle
(Formerly Listed as: (East side) East Gatehouse at The Castle)

GV                II

Lodge. c1820. Stone rubble with ashlar dressings. Triangular plan. Gothic Revival style. Single storey; 2-window
bowed range. End piers with loopholes; embattled parapets. Segmental-pointed entrance in forward break with
quatrefoil over and flanking 2-light segmental-pointed windows with external shutters. Short wall to right adjoins
remains of C13 east gatehouse.

Listing NGR: SK2069203934


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE            HOLLOWAY
670-1/9/84           (East side)
Wall to E of Holloway Lodge

GV                II

Wall extending east from Holloway Lodge. Early C19. Stone rubble. Embattled parapet to east half of wall.
Extends approximately 87m along path S of Tamworth Castle Mound. Included for group value.

Listing NGR: SK2060803864


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE               HOLLOWAY
670-1/9/73             Lady Bridge
21/07/77

GV                II

Bridge over River Tame. Medieval origins; rebuilt 1796 after old bridge was destroyed by flooding; widened
1840. Ashlar. Classical style. 6 rusticated segmental arches, the 2 to centre larger, with continuous hood band;
plain C19 or C20 parapet to east, roll moulding and coped parapet to west; south ends have octagonal piers.
Signs of widening to 4 outer arches. The bridge is a significant element in the landscape setting of the castle
(q.v.). (White: History, Gazeteer and Directory of Tamworth: 1851-: P.616).

Listing NGR: SK2052903801


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE             HOLLOWAY
670-1/9/77           (East side)
11/05/50             Causeway walls to NE of Tamworth Castle
(Formerly Listed as: HOLLOWAY, Tamworth (East side) The Castle)

GV                I

Causeway walls. Late C11 with later alterations and early C19 addition. Stone rubble with some dressed
squared stone. Walls have herringbone masonry, especially that to south side, with C19 embattled parapet;
extension to Upper Lodge (q.v.) is C19 with embattled parapet. Walls extend approximately 28m to east of castle
entrance, with further 17m to north side adjoining Upper Lodge. An important survival from the 1st stone castle
on the site.

Listing NGR: SK2066703928


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE          HOLLOWAY
670-1/9/82        (East side)
Urn approx. 12m SW of Upper Lodge

GV                II

Urn. C18. Ashlar. Urn on rusticated plinth with moulded base; enriched with heads, flowers and shells; top finial.

Listing NGR: SK2068103914


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE               KING STREET
670-1/9/86             (East side)
No.1

GV                II

House, now shop and office. Early to mid C18 with early C20 and later alterations. Brick; tile roof with brick
cross-axial stack. L-plan; front facing Church Street. Georgian style. 2 storeys with attic; 3-window range. Top
wooden cornice. Ground floor has early C20 shop front, contemporary with that to No 66 Church Street (q.v.),
with black glass fascia and entrance to canted angle with overlight to glazed door, which has decorative glazing
bars in sunburst pattern. Entrance to King Street to right. 1st floor has 3 windows with rubbed brick segmental
arches over 8-pane horned sashes; attic has 2 hipped dormers. Shop front continues along King Street
elevation; small gabled wing has 2 rubbed brick segmental-arched window heads over 3 inserted windows.
INTERIOR: some chamfered beams to ground floor. Building forms important element in Church Street.

Listing NGR: SK2063304047


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE            LADY BANK
670-1/9/89          (West side)
Front Garden Wall, Railings and Gate
to E of Brewery House
GV                II

Garden wall, railings and gate. c1750 with mid C19 railings. Brick with ashlar dressings; cast-iron gates and
railings. Low brick wall on ashlar plinth has ashlar coping; left end pier and right end gatepiers with ashlar caps.
Cast-iron railings have decorative heads, those to right end missing (1990); gate missing (1990). Wall extends
approximately 14m along Ladybank. Included for group value.

Listing NGR: SK2054303906


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE             LADY BANK
670-1/9/88          (West side)
09/11/72             Bowling Club-house and attached Terrace Wall to S and SE of Brewery
House (Formerly Listed as: HOLLOW WAY, Tamworth Pavilion adjoining No1)

GV                II

Pavilion, now club house with attached terrace wall. Mid C19 with later alterations. Brick with ashlar dressings;
single-pitch tile roof. Small rectangular structure. Single-storey; 3-window range.Top cornice. Windows and
entrance to right have plaster segmental arches with keys; C20 door and C19 small-paned glazing. Wall to left is
of brick with ashlar banding; centre projects; ashlar-coped parapet ramped between piers with plain ashlar
capping. Wall extends along return facade of Brewery House (q.v.). Tamworth Bowling Club was founded in the
1820s.

Listing NGR: SK2051503902

TAMWORTH

SK2003NE          LADY BANK
670-1/9/87        (West side)
09/11/72          No.1
Brewery House (Formerly Listed as: HOLLOW WAY, Tamworth No.1 Lady Bank)

GV                II

Workhouse, now hotel annexe. 1750. For Lords Weymouth and Middleton. Brick with ashlar dressings; hipped
tile roof with brick stacks. U-plan. Georgian style. 2 storeys; symmetrical 5-window range, the central window in
foward break under pediment. Ashlar plinth and cornice. Entrance has architrave with keystone, narrow overlight
to 3-panel door. Windows have sills, and rubbed brick flat arches with keystones over 4-pane horned sashes. 2
stacks to rear of ridge. Left return 9-window range, 2 to each end in forward breaks; similar details with central
entrance with glazed door; 2 stacks. Right return has late C20 addition between wings, inner returns of which
have ground floor window with cross-casement with pegged frame. Rear altered; 3 cross-casements over lean-to
outshut with C20 gabled wing to left; top gablet over projecting end of stack; 2 stacks. Interior much altered.
Building was at one time the Castle Brewery.

Listing NGR: SK2050403914


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE               LADY BANK
670-1/9/90             (West side)
No.2

GV                II

House, now office. c1840 incorporating C18 wall. Brick with plaster dressings; hipped tile roof with brick stacks.
Right-angle plan. 2 storeys; single window range. Entrance to left end has doorcase with panelled pilasters and
reeded brackets to C20 hood; narrow overlight to 4-fielded-panel door. Windows have sills, and wedge lintels
with keystones, over C20 small-paned casement to ground floor, 16-pane sash to 1st floor. End stack. Left return
of 3-window range: segmental-headed windows have C20 casements, one 12-pane sash to 1st floor left end;
end stack. Rear has outshut to right. Included for group value.
Listing NGR: SK2053903919

TAMWORTH

SK2003NE               LADY BANK
670-1/9/91             (West side)
09/11/72               Nos.3 AND 4
(Formerly Listed as:    HOLLOW WAY Nos.3 AND 4)

GV                II

Two houses, now office. Late C16 or early C17 with early to mid C19 remodelling. Timber frame with brick
cladding; tile roof with brick stacks. 2-unit plan. 2 storeys; 3-window range. 2 segmental-headed entrances have
C20 glazed doors. 2 segmental-headed windows to ground floor have 4-pane and 20-pane horned sashes; 1st
floor windows have casements with pegged frames. Exposed wall post and wall plate to left end. 2 brick stacks
forward of ridge. Right return has exposed collar and tie beam truss with queen struts. Rear has 2 gabled wings;
lateral and end stacks. Interior: exposed timber framing and chamfered beams.

Listing NGR: SK2054403926


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE             LADY BANK
670-1/9/92           (West side)
09/11/72             No.5
(Formerly Listed as: HOLLOW WAY No.5 Lady Bank)

GV                II

House, now flats. c1800. Brick with ashlar dressings; tile roof with brick end stacks. Double-depth, central
staircase plan. Georgian style. 2 storeys with attic; symmetrical 3-window range. Ground floor sill band and top
cornice. Entrance has doorcase with architrave, frieze and consoled cornice, overlight to 6-fielded-panel door, (2
panels glazed). Windows have rubbed brick flat arches over 4-pane horned sashes, sills to 1st floor; 3 hipped
dormers with C20 casements. Rear has shallow gabled wing and two C19 gabled wings. Interior has some
shuttered windows and dog-leg staircase with stick balusters and turned newel.

Listing NGR: SK2054803936


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE               LADY BANK
670-1/9/93             (West side)
Nos.6 AND 7

GV                II

Two houses, now part of office. Early C19 with late C19 addition. Brick with ashlar dressings; tile roof with slate
to addition and brick stacks. 2 storeys; 4-window range with single-window addition. Top brick cornice. 2 round-
headed entrances, that to left of centre has fanlight over 6-fielded-panel door, that to right end has C20 door.
Windows have sills, and rubbed brick flat arches, over plate-glass horned sashes to ground floor, 4-pane sashes
alternating with
2-pane sashes to 1st floor. 2 stacks to rear of ridge. Addition has round-headed entrance to left with C20 door,
entrance to right has stop-chamfered lintel over 4-panel door; window to ground floor has sill and stop-
chamfered lintel over 4-pane horned sash, 9-pane sash to 1st floor window; cross-axial stack. Rear has small
gabled wing and lean-to outshut. Interior not inspected.

Listing NGR: SK2055403958
TAMWORTH

SK2003NE               LADY BANK
670-1/9/94             (West side)
09/11/72               No.8
(Formerly Listed as:    HOLLOW WAY No.8)

GV                II

House, now part of office. c1810 with early C20 alterations. Brick with stucco; slate roof with brick end stacks.
Double-depth central-staircase plan. Georgian style. 2 storeys; 3-window range. Stucco ground floor with quoin
strips and cornice; top wooden cornice. Central round-headed entrance has doorcase with panelled pilasters and
open pediment, stained glass fanlight over C20 paired 4-panel doors; entrance to right has stained glass
overlight to 6-panel door and flanking windows with small-paned fixed glazing. Window to ground floor left end
has sill and 12-pane sash; 1st floor windows have sills, and rubbed brick flat arches over 9-pane sashes. 2
stacks to each end. Rear has round-headed stained glass stair window and flanking gabled wings. INTERIOR:
dog-leg stair with turned balusters.

Listing NGR: SK2055403958


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE             LADY BANK
670-1/9/95           (West side)
09/11/72             No.9
(Formerly Listed as: HOLLOW WAY No.9)

GV                II

Savings Bank, now part of office. Dated 1845. For Sir Robert Peel P.M. Brick; buff brick facade with ashlar
dressings; tile roof with ashlar end stacks. L-plan. Domestic Tudor style. 2 storeys; 3-window range. Ashlar
base, top cornice and parapet. Tudor-headed entrance has label mould and cusped spandrels, 4-panel door. 2-
storey canted oriels to forward breaks under gables, moulded bases and ribs to 1:2:1-light windows with panels
                                                      st
between floors, brattished cornices; narrow central 1 floor light. Gables have relief town arms with mermaid
supporters; parapet ends have lettering: AD and 1845. End stacks have octagonal shafts. Gabled rear wing with
coped gable, cross-axial and end stacks; small-paned casements. Interior not inspected. (N.Gash: Sir Robert
Peel: 1972-: 172).

Listing NGR: SK2055403958


TAMWORTH

SK2004SW               LICHFIELD STREET
670-1/6/97             (South side)
Nos.17 AND 18

GV                II

School, now betting shop and restaurant. 1837. For Sir Robert Peel P.M. Brick with ashlar dressings, part
painted; tile roof with brick end stack. L-plan. Single-storey with attic; 2-window range. Left half (No17) under
gable; right end breaks forward, with gable over window. Coped gables, that to left with 3 pinnacles, 2 truncated.
No 17 has C20 entrance with paired doors flanked by Tudor-headed entrances with label moulds and traceried
spandrels, that to left blocked with Y-tracery window, that to right with plank door; entrance to right end (No 18)
has rubbed brick cambered arch and 6-panel door. Window to ground floor of No 18 has weathered sill, and
rubbed brick cambered arch over 4-pane horned tripartite sash; 1st floor has pointed window with intersecting
tracery and hood to No 17, segmental-headed casement window with pegged frame to No 18. Rear has gabled
wing with similar details and return gablet; C20 addition to end and C20 outshut to left. The school was founded
by Sir Robert Peel's father, and was moved to this building by Sir Robert, who also built its replacement across
the road (q.v.) in 1850. (H.Wood: Borough by Prescription: Tamworth: 1958-: 64).

Listing NGR: SK2044704040
TAMWORTH

SK2004SW               LICHFIELD STREET
670-1/6/96             (South side)
11/05/50               No.19

GV                II

Includes: No.18 (that part to right) LICHFIELD STREET Tamworth. House. Early C18. Chequer brick with
vitrified headers on stone plinth; tile roof with brick end stacks. Central staircase plan. 2 storeys with attic;
symmetrical 5-window range. Platt band over ground floor; top frieze and modillioned timber cornice. Entrance
has wooden architrave, frieze and modillioned cornice, paired 2-panel doors. Ground floor has segmental-
headed windows with 4-light transomed casement with pegged frame to left, sill and 12-pane tripartite sash to
right; 1st floor has windows with rubbed brick flat arches over cross-casements with pegged frames; attic has 3
gabled dormers with flush tiling to gables and cheeks, 2 have casements with pegged frames. Rear has 2 gabled
wings and segmental-headed windows. Interior: part to left, now part of No 18 (q.v.), has large fireplace with
bressumer and C19 range.

Listing NGR: SK2043904046


TAMWORTH

SK2004SW               LICHFIELD STREET
670-1/6/98             (South side)
Nos.20 AND 21

GV                II

House, now shop and offices. Early C19 with later alterations. Brick with stucco facade; tile roof with brick end
stacks. L-plan. 2 storeys; symmetrical 3-window range with 2-storey addition to left. Central entrance has
doorcase with pilasters and entablature, overlight to half-glazed door; similar entrance to left end. C20 ground
floor windows have wedge lintels over small-paned fixed glazing; windows to upper floors have sills, and
                                                                                                          nd
rusticated wedge lintels, over 9-pane sashes to 1st floor, 4-pane sashes flanking 6-pane sash to 2 floor.
Addition has C20 window to ground floor, segmental-headed casement window to 1st floor. Interior much
altered. Included for group value.

Listing NGR: SK2042004053


TAMWORTH

SK2004SW               LICHFIELD STREET
670-1/6/99             (South side)
11/05/50               No.22

GV                II

House, now club. Early C19. Brick with ashlar dressings; tile roof with brick end stacks. Georgian style. 3
storeys; symmetrical 3-window range. Ground and 1st floor sill bands; top cornice. Round-headed entrance has
doorcase with pilasters and open pediment, fanlight over 6-panel door. Venetian windows to ground floor have
simple details and 12-pane sashes; 1st floor has windows with rusticated wedge lintels over 12-pane sashes;
2nd floor has windows with sills, and pivoted 6-pane casements. Rear has 3-span gable; blind central round-
headed windows; C20 single-storey additions. Interior not inspected.

Listing NGR: SK2040204048
TAMWORTH

SK2004SW               LICHFIELD STREET
670-1/6/100            (South side)
11/05/50               No.28

GV                II

House, now office. C18 with early C19 addition and refronting. Brick with stucco facade; tile roof with brick end
stacks and cross-axial stack. 2 storeys; 5-bay range. Bays articulated by pilasters: narrow entrance bay flanked
by wider bays, with 2 narrow bays to right forming C19 addition; top entablature. Entrance has doorcase with
pilasters and entablature, overlight to paired 3-panel doors; entrance to right end has narrow overlight to half-
glazed door. Windows have sills, those to ground floor have 4-pane sashes, those to 1st floor have 12-pane
sashes. Rear has 3 gables and small gabled wing to right end, with irregular segmental-headed windows and tall
15-pane stair window, 2 shuttered windows to return; windows to C19 left end have rubbed brick flat arches,
large 4-pane horned sashes to ground floor, 12-pane sashes to 1st floor. Interior has stick-baluster staircase.

Listing NGR: SK2033604056


TAMWORTH

SK2004SW          LICHFIELD STREET
670-1/6/101       (South side)
11/05/50          No.29
Tamworth Masonic Rooms

GV                II

House, now Masonic rooms. Early C19. Brick with ashlar dressings; slate roof with tile to rear; brick end stacks.
Georgian style. L-plan. 3 storeys; symmetrical 3-window range. Ground and 1st floor sill bands; top cornice.
Round-headed entrance has doorcase with pilasters and open pediment, fanlight over 6-fielded-panel door.
Windows have rubbed brick flat arches, those to ground and 1st floors over 12-pane sashes; 2nd floor has
windows with sills and 6-pane sashes. Rear has wing under hipped roof with brick cornice and C20 addition;
right return has some casement windows with pegged frames.

Listing NGR: SK2032004046


TAMWORTH

SK2004SW          LICHFIELD STREET
670-1/6/102       (North side)
Nos.71, 72 AND 73

GV                II

Terrace of public house, shop and house. Early C19 with late C19 addition. Brick with stucco dressings; tile roof
with brick stacks. 2 storeys; 7-window range comprising 3 symmetrical compositions of windows flanking recess
1st floor panel, single-window addition to left end. No 71 has stucco facade. Nos 71 and 72 have late C19 shop
fronts, that to No 71 with panelled pilasters, fascia with end bracketed gables, windows with etched glass
flanking half glazed door with lantern; No 72 has panelled pilasters, panelled frieze and acanthus brackets to
cornice, 6-pane windows flanking paired glazed doors; No 73 has entrance with doorcase with pilasters, frieze
and cornice. Windows have rusticated wedge lintels, window to left end of ground floor has 12-pane sash, those
to No 73 have 16-pane sashes; 1st floor has windows with 4/8-pane sashes, but No 71 has similar top-hung
sashes, with 9-pane sash to left end. 2 cross-axial stacks and end stack. Rear has late C19 wing to No 71, with
attached stable range; Nos 72 and 73 have 4 gables and small casement windows. No 71 included for group
value. A little altered example.

Listing NGR: SK2012904098
TAMWORTH

SK2004SW               LICHFIELD STREET
670-1/6/103            (North side)
11/05/50               No.92

GV                II

House, now offices. Early C19. Brick with ashlar dressings; tile M-roof; brick end stacks. Georgian style. Double-
depth central-staircase plan. 3 storeys; symmetrical 3-window range. Ground and 1st floor sill bands; top
cornice; coped gables. Round-headed entrance up 3 steps has doorcase with pilasters, entablature blocks and
open pediment, fanlight with intersecting glazing bars over 6-fielded-panel door. Windows have rubbed brick flat
arches, those to ground and 1st floors over 12-pane horned sashes; 2nd floor has windows with sills, and
casements. Rear brick cornice and C20 single-storey addition. Interior: some shutters to windows and stick-
baluster stair.

Listing NGR: SK2027604088


TAMWORTH

SK2004SW            LICHFIELD STREET
670-1/6/104         (North side)
11/05/50            No.93
The White House (Formerly Listed as: LICHFIELD STREET (North side)
No.93 Miners' Welfare Club and Institute)

GV                II

House, now office. c1810, with late C20 alterations and additions. Stucco; tile roof. Georgian style. 2 storeys with
attic; 6-window range: 2 windows in forward break to left end; gable to 3 windows to right of this. Top modillioned
cornices to either side of gable. Round-headed entrance to right of bow window has doorcase with pilasters,
entablature blocks and plain open pediment, fanlight with ogee glazing bars over 6-panel door in panelled
reveals. 2-storey bow window to left end has rustication and pilaster strips on panelled plinths to both floors,
entablature on slender brackets to ground floor, continuation of top cornice on slender brackets to 1st floor, both
have three 12-pane sashes; ground floor to right has 3 windows with 16-pane sashes and one with 12-pane
sash to right end; 1st floor has 3 windows with 16-pane top-hung casements and flanking windows with 12-pane
casements; attic has 6:8:6-pane casements to gable. Rear has C20 range and wing. Interior has been altered.

Listing NGR: SK2030404084


TAMWORTH

SK2004SW               LICHFIELD STREET
670-1/6/105            (North side)
11/05/50               No.95
The Manor House

GV                II

House, now offices. Early C19 remodelling of earlier house, with C17/18 origins. Brick with ashlar dressings;
hipped tile roof. Georgian style. Double-depth central-staircase plan. 2 storeys; symmetrical 5-window range, 2
windows to each end in forward breaks. Ashlar plinth, ground floor sill band; top cornice. Entrance up 3 steps
has doorcase with architrave, fluted frieze and consoled cornice, overlight to 6-panel door.Windows have rubbed
brick flat arches, those to ground floor over 12-pane sashes; 1st floor has windows with sills, and 12-pane top-
hung casements. End small single-storey wings have entrances with doorcases, that to left with stone-coped
parapet, that to right with segmental-headed window with 12-pane sash. Rear has architraved entrance with
large windows to forward break to left with 12-pane sashes. Interior much altered, with stick-baluster stair.
Reputed to be the home of Sir Thomas Guy, the founder of Guy's Hospital, London and Guy's Almshouses,
Tamworth, who also built the Town Hall (q.v.).

Listing NGR: SK2034504080
TAMWORTH

SK2004SW                LICHFIELD STREET
670-1/6/106             (North side)
11/05/50                Nos.103 AND 104

GV                 II

Two houses, now shops and restaurant. Early C19. Brick; slate roof with brick end stacks. Georgian style. U-
plan. 3 storeys; 4-window range. Top brick modillioned cornice. Ground floor has C20 shop fronts flanking
carriage entrance with rusticated jambs and elliptical arch. Windows have rubbed flat arches, those to 1st floor
                                        nd
with 12-pane horned sashes, those to 2 floor with 6-pane horned sashes. Rear has outshut under catslide roof
and gabled wings. Interior not inspected.

Listing NGR: SK2042604074


TAMWORTH

SK2004SW                LICHFIELD STREET
670-1/6/107             (North side)
31/05/84                Nos.110 AND 111

GV                 II

House, later subdivided into 2, now shops. Late C16 or early C17 with later alterations. Timber frame with brick
infill and C19 rendered refronting to left half; steep hipped tile roof with brick stack to rear of ridge. 2-unit plan
with cross wing and small addition to right end. Jettied 1st floor with exposed timber framing to cross wing (No
111). No 110 ('hall' range) has boarded shop windows flanking entrance with canopy over and left end
segmental-headed entry; C20 shop front to No 111, with former entrance, now glazed, to small wing to right end;
1st floor has C20 casement windows, one blind window to left of cross wing and small square light to end wing.
Rear has projecting cross wing. Interior: No 110 has exposed wall posts; No 111 has stop-chamfered beams
with exposed joists; roof has heavy collar trusses.

Listing NGR: SK2046704072


TAMWORTH

SK2004SW                LICHFIELD STREET
670-1/6/108             (North side)
31/05/84                Nos.116 AND 117

GV                 II

House, later subdivided into 2, now shops. Probably second half of C16, with C19/20 alterations. Timber frame
with rendered front; tile roof with brick stacks to front of ridge. 2-unit plan. 2 storeys; 5-window range. 1st floor
probably jettied. No 116 has central segmental-headed entrance with half-glazed door; No 117 has similar
entrance to right end. Ground floor has 2 segmental-headed windows of 2 lights with pegged frames and shutter
pegs, similar windows to 1st floor with iron opening casements flanking blind window; No 117 has small-paned
bow window with frieze, cornice and canopy extending over entrance to right, shutters; 1st floor has 3-light
mullioned tramsomed window with casement to right of blind window. Large stack to centre with smaller, later,
stack to left. Rear has gabled wing with square framing; irregular fenestration with casements and entrances.
Interior: stop-chamfered beams and joists to both floors; large fireplace with bressummer, smaller later fireplace
and winding stair to No 116; late C19 shop fittings to No 117; rear wing has early C17 staircase with serpentine
splat balusters, the top flight with C16 fluted timber frieze re-used as handrail.

Listing NGR: SK2049704076
TAMWORTH

SK2004SW           LICHFIELD STREET
670-1/6/109        (North side)
Former Peel School

GV                II

School, now part of housing development. 1850. By S.Smirke, for Sir Robert Peel P.M. Tudor style. Rectangular
plan. Brick with blue brick diapering and ashlar dressings; tile roof with cresting. One storey; 3-window range.
Ashlar-dressed offset buttresses and coped gables. 4-light double-hollow-chamfered-mullioned windows; central
gablet with escutcheon to panel. Right return has 4-light transomed window under dripstone and relieving arch
with quatrefoil above; left return similar, with 2 plaques recording history of building: date 1850 in blue brick
flanking quatrefoil. Rear has small parallel range with 2 hipped dormers; C20 porch to re-entrant angle. Interior
noted as having arch-braced roof trusses with tracery infill.
(Buildings of England: N.Pevsner: Staffordshire: London: 1974-: 278).

Listing NGR: SK2041604077


TAMWORTH

SK2003NW             LICHFIELD STREET
670-1/8/111          (South side)
09/11/72             Gazebo approx. 17m S of The Moat
House
(Formerly Listed as: Gazebo in garden of Moat House)

GV                II

Gazebo. Early to mid C18. Brick with some ashlar; pyramidal fishscale tile roof. Georgian style. Square plan. 2-
storeys. Ground floor has chamfered angles with ashlar stops; top coved cornice. Entrance to 1st floor north side
has ashlar steps with wooden handrails, doorcase and paired 3-fielded-panel doors; pointed entrance to ground
floor west side has ashlar fielded-panel keystone over 4-panel door. Windows have rubbed brick segmental
arches over 12-pane sashes with thick glazing bars, but window to south has top-hung casement. Top wind
vane. Details partly obscured by ivy. Interior: fielded panelling; corner fireplace with cupboard above; ceiling has
wind vane in form of rose with pointer.

Listing NGR: SK2022203931


TAMWORTH

SK2003NW               LICHFIELD STREET
670-1/8/110            (South side)
11/05/50               The Moat House

GV                II*

House, now restaurant. c1572 with C18 refenestration and C19 and C20 additions. Brick, some ashlar
dressings; tile roof with brick stacks. Elizabethan style. H-plan. 2 storeys with attic; symmetrical 8-window range;
ends project under gables with C20 single-storey infill between. All gables are crow-stepped. Entrance has
bolection-moulded architrave, armorial panel and gable with ball finial. 5 windows to ground floor centre have 12-
pane sashes; ends each have 2 windows with 12-pane sashes under drip course, those to left end with thick
glazing bars; 1st floor has 6 windows have dripstones over 12-pane sashes with thick glazing bars, ends have
Venetian windows with similar sashes; attic has 3 gabled dormer windows, these and end gables have 6-pane
sashes. Several C19 multi-shafted stacks with blue brick enrichment; inner returns have end stacks to gablets.
Left end has 3-stage tower, the top stage reconstructed in C19, with ashlar embattled parapet and 2-light
double-chamfered mullion windows under dripstones. To left, a C19 service wing with similar details; gable over
4-light transomed ground floor and 3-light 1st floor window and attic light. Right return has lean-to outshut with 2
gablets and 2 gabled dormers. Rear has 2 gables to left and one gable to right of recess with C19 gabled wing
with C20 infill to left; C16 windows mostly double-chamfered mullions; left end obscured by ivy, sashed windows;
stair wing to left of recess has C16 cross-mullioned windows; right end has two 3-light windows to ground floor,
casement replacing sash to 1st floor; all attic windows have 2- or 3-light windows with small-paned casements.
C19 kitchen court to right end with embattled parapet to wall. INTERIOR: some Tudor-headed doors to ground
floor; segmental-headed recess has C17 panelling; fireplace has Tudor arch with enriched spandrels in
architrave with frieze and cornice; open-well staircase has square newels with pendants and ball finials,
                                                                                                        st
strapwork panels and moulded handrail; top landing has splat balusters (as at Tamworth Castle q.v.); 1 floor
has long room with C16 plaster ceiling with square and oval panels with armorial bearings or birds with grapes
and Tudor-arched fireplace has architrave with fluted frieze and cornice. The house was owned by the
Comberford family, who entertained Charles I while Prince of Wales. One of Tamworth's oldest and most
interesting buildings. (Buildings of England: Pevsner N: Staffordshire: London: 1974-: P.279).

Listing NGR: SK2022303960


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE             LOWER GUNGATE
670-1/7/112         (West side)
Nos.5 AND 7
G. Claridge and Son (5) and R.W. Wood and Son (7)

GV                II

Two shops. c1840. Brick; tile roof with brick cross-axial stack. 2 storeys; 2-window range. Top brick cornice. 2
late C19 shop fronts; No 5 has bracketed cornice with fascia above, overlight to 6-panel door and large 2/1-pane
horned sash to right; No 7 has panelled pilasters and fascia, overlight to paired half-glazed doors with large 6-
pane horned sash to right with canopy. 1st floor has windows with rubbed brick flat arches over 6-pane horned
sashes. Rear gabled wing with additions built against wall to rear of No 9 (q.v.). Included for group value.

Listing NGR: SK2084404133


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE               LOWER GUNGATE
670-1/7/113            (West side)
09/11/72               Nos.9 AND 11
(Formerly Listed as:   GUNGATE Nos.9 AND 11)

GV                II

Two shops. C17 with later alterations. Timber frame with later brick infill and some stone rubble; tile roof with
brick end stack. 2 storeys; 2-window range. Entrances have C20 glazed doors. Segmental-headed windows to
ground floor have C20 small-paned glazing; 1st floor has 2 small-paned casements. Ground floor has
underbuilding with wall post to right end; 1st floor has square framing with tension braces; rubble to left end is
end of wall to rear of No 9 (q.v.), part of the medieval deanery. Rear has gabled additions. Interior: chamfered
beams and timber-framed partition walls; winder staircases.

Listing NGR: SK2084504138


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE             LOWER GUNGATE
670-1/7/114          (West side)
09/11/72             Wall to WSW of No 9
(Formerly Listed as: GUNGATE (West side) Fragment of Deanery to West of No 9)

GV                II

Wall. C14. Stone rubble. Forms part of return to No 9 (q.v.) and the boundary wall between Nos 7 (q.v.) and 9.
Most of the wall is obscured by later structures; west end has blocked window opening and buttress adjoining
churchyard wall. The wall was part of the medieval deanery. Extends approximately 24m from rear wing of No 9
to churchyard wall (not included).
Listing NGR: SK2082104127



TAMWORTH

SK2004SE               LOWER GUNGATE
670-1/7/115            (West side)
No.15

GV                II

Shown on OS map as Nos 13 and 15. Shop, now public house. L-plan. C17 or early C18 with mid C19 additions.
Painted brick; tile roof with brick cross-axial stack. Single storey with attic; 2-window range. Entrance between 2
large C20 small-paned bow windows; attic has 2 gabled dormers. Rear gable wing. C19 two-storey, 2-window,
range to right. Interior: chamfered beams.

Listing NGR: SK2084204148



TAMWORTH

SK2004SE               LOWER GUNGATE
670-1/7/116            (West side)
No.21

GV                II

Shop. C17 or Early C18 with mid C19 alterations. Stuccoed brick; tile roof with large brick end stack. 2 storeys;
single-window range. Entrance to right end has overlight to small-paned half-glazed door. Ground floor has small
shop window with pilasters and bracketed cornice; canopy over both window and entrance; 1st floor casement
window. Rear has small gabled wing. Interior has C19 fireplace and boxed beam. A good mid C19 small shop
front.

Listing NGR: SK2081804196


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE               MARKET STREET
670-1/9/117            (North side)
11/05/50               No.1 Peel Arms Hotel

GV                II

Hotel. Mid C18 with early C19 extension. Brick with ashlar dressings; tile roof, hipped slate roof to extension,
with brick stacks. Georgian style. L-plan with later wing to left. 2 storeys with attic; 5-window range. Brick plinth
and boxed eaves. Entrance to left end in blocked elliptical-arched carriageway has doorcase with pediment,
steps to recessed paired 2-panel doors. Large cross-axial stack and end stack. Windows have rubbed brick flat
arches over 12-pane sashes; attic has 2 flat-roofed and 2 gabled dormers. Extension of 2 storey; 4-window
range. Brick plinth and simple top cornice. Canted angle to left end has entrance and window to left in attached
distyle Ionic colonnade, entrance blocked, window partly blocked. Windows have sills, and rubbed brick flat
arches over 16-pane sashes to ground floor, 4/8-pane top-hung casements to 1st floor. Basement opening. 2
cross-axial stacks and end stack. Left return to Silver Street has window in former entrance with Ionic doorcase
and 2 boarded windows. Rear has wing with M-roof; varied fenestration, some casements with pegged frames;
right return has early C20 bow window with tile lintel and flat cornice, and segmental-headed window with paired
sash; some sashed windows to rear of extension. Interior: not inspected but may have features of interest.

Listing NGR: SK2059703992
TAMWORTH

SK2003NE               MARKET STREET
670-1/9/118            (North side)
17/04/89               Nos.2 AND 3

GV                II

Two houses, now shop. Early to mid C18 with late C19 and C20 alterations. Brick; tile roof with brick stacks.
Georgian style. 2 storeys with attic; 5-window range. Top deep brick cornice. Ground floor has C20 shop front,
returned to entrance to King Street to right; entrance has timber lintel with segmental relieving arch. 1st floor has
windows with rubbed brick flat arches over 4-pane horned sashes; attic has 2 gabled dormers. 2 cross-axial
stacks. Rear has 2 gabled wings; varied fenestration, mostly segmental-headed windows with pegged frames; 2-
light stair window with 2 transoms and leaded glazing to wing to left, which has axial stack. Interior: chamfered
spine beams and good open-well stair with turned balusters.

Listing NGR: SK2061803991


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE               MARKET STREET
670-1/9/119            (North side)
09/01/89               No.6
(Formerly Listed as:    MARKET STREET (North side) No.6 (Coleman Brothers))

GV                II

House, now shop. Early C18 with late C19 and C20 alterations. Stuccoed brick; tile roof with end stack.
Georgian style. 2 storeys with attic; 4-window range. Top wooden modillioned cornice with fascia. Ground floor
has 1870s shop front: panelled and fluted Composite pilasters, fascia with glass and gilt lettering, covered by
early C20 painted lettering reads COLEMAN BROTHERS; bracketed end blocks to canopy and enriched cast
iron cresting; plate-glass windows have slender colonnetes with enriched brackets; recessed entrance has
overlight to paired glazed doors, right-end entrance with overlight to C20 door. 1st floor has windows with 12-
pane sashes; attic has 2 raking dormers with sliding casements. Interior: ground floor much altered. A very fine
example of a late C19 shop front.

Listing NGR: SK2064603984


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE           MARKET STREET
670-1/9/120        (North side)
05/07/91           No.7
Market Vaults P.H.

GV                II

Public house. C17 with early C18 front. Painted brick with timber-framed rear wing; tile roof with brick end stack.
Georgian style. L-plan. 2 storeys with attic; 2-window range. Late C19 shop front has panelled pilasters and
entablature, etched plate-glass window and entrance with overlight to 6-panel door and 2 lanterns; entry to right
end with C20 panelled door. 1st floor has windows with rubbed brick flat arches over 16-pane top-hung
casements; 2 hipped dormers to attic. Rear wing has square framing to 1st floor. Interior: chamfered beams,
those to front room supported by C19 iron columns. Upper floors not inspected.

Listing NGR: SK2065103985
TAMWORTH

SK2003NE               MARKET STREET
670-1/9/121            (South side)
No.22                  Halifax Building Society

GV                II

Bank, now building society. c1900. Ashlar; parapeted roof. Edwardian Baroque style. Single-storey; 7-bay
curved facade. 6 bays form symmetrical composition, with 2-storey bay to right. Channelled rustication, top
entablature and balustraded parapet. Entrance to left end has flanking rusticated pilasters, ashlar doorcase with
angle pilasters, architrave, frieze and consoled cornice, paired 3-panel doors; 2 small-paned lights over, with
pilasters, cornice and shell and foliage cresting; modillioned cornice to top entablature and clock face in cupola
above. Corresponding entrance to right is simpler: architrave, pulvinated frieze and pediment, lights have no
cresting, cupola has round window. Central bays articulated by paired Tuscan three-quarter columns on plinth,
round-headed windows with console-keystones. End bay has flanking rusticated pilasters and small-paned
casements. Interior: altered. The building is a good example of the style and is a salient feature of both George
Street and Market Street, grouping with the Town Hall, (q.v.). Included for group value.

Listing NGR: SK2074003937


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE               MARKET STREET
670-1/9/123            (South side)
Nos.28 AND 29

GV                II

Two shops. C17 or early C18 with c1840 refronting. Brick, timber-framed rear wing; tile roof with brick cross-axial
and end stacks. 3 storeys; 3-window range. C20 shop fronts flank entrance with leaded overlight to 6-panel door.
Windows have 3-light leaded casements in laced plaster surrounds with rosettes to angles. Rear has outshut
under catslide roof with dormer, and small gabled wing with plastered end and square framing to return. Interior:
No 29 has stop-chamfered beams and joists, noted as having chamfered beams to 1st floor.

Listing NGR: SK2067603956


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE          MARKET STREET
670-1/9/125       (South side)
Nos.32, 33 AND 33A

GV                II

House, now shop and office. c1700 with C19 alterations. Chequer brick with ashlar dressings; tile M-roof.
Double-depth plan. 2 storeys with attic; 4-window range. Ground floor has early C18 four-bay arcade on round
columns, shouldered arches with keystones, facetted brackets to cornice; C20 glazed infill with entrances to right
bays. 1st floor has windows with rubbed brick flat arches over C18 cross-casements with pegged frames; large
C20 gabled dormer. Rear has chequered brick, segmental-headed windows, some retaining pegged casements,
most altered; gabled wing with blocked openings. Interior: ground floor altered; 1st floor inaccessible.

Listing NGR: SK2064303962
TAMWORTH

SK2003NE                MARKET STREET
670-1/9/128             Town Hall
11/05/50

GV                II*

Town Hall and butter market. 1701; extension of 1811 was rebuilt 1845. For Sir Thomas Guy. Chequer brick with
ashlar dressings; hipped tile roof with brick lateral stacks. 2-storey rectangular structure with arcaded ground
floor and 2-storey extension to rear. Ground floor has 2-bay arcade on Doric columns with archivolts and
keystones, string course above; 1st floor has quoins and top modillioned cornice and pediment; 2 round-arched
windows with keystones over small-paned glazing flank architraved plaque with pediment and inscription
recording erection; Sir T.Guy's coat of arms to apron; oval cartouche with town arms above; clock face to
pediment. Roof has hexagonal louvre with modillioned cornice and ogival cupola with wind vane. 5-window
                st
returns have 1 floor windows with rubbed brick flat arches and keystones over small-paned cross-casements;
left return has blind window and lateral stack. Extension has 2-window range and 3-window returns: older brick
work to plinth; platt band over ground floor and boxed eaves; entrance to left return up steps has ashlar
doorcase with pilasters and entablature and 6-panel door; windows with rubbed brick flat arches and keystones
over small-paned cross-casements; 2 lateral stacks to right return. INTERIOR: open ground floor has
longitudinal arcade supporting chamfered beams; rooms have cornices and architraved windows; open-well stair
with stick balusters and wreathed handrail; 1st floor council chamber has ceiling with fluted fans to angles, air
vents to angles and flanking fireplace, which is early C19, marble with grate; 1814 Royal Arms opposite gallery
with turned balusters and moulded rail; paired 6-panel doors; roof to 1701 part has pegged collar trusses with
diagonal braces, trusses to former hip remain. History: Sir Thomas Guy was an important local benefactor,
founder of the Guy's Almshouses, Tamworth, and of Guy's Hospital, London. Sir Robert Peel P.M. helped fund
the addition, and he made his Tamworth Manifesto address here in 1835. (Buildings of England: Pevsner N:
Staffordshire: London: 1974-: 278).

Listing NGR: SK2072803960


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE                MARKET STREET
670-1/9/127             Statue of Sir Robert Peel
09/11/72

GV                II

Statue. 1853. By Matthew Noble. Bronze statue on ashlar plinth. Battered plinth has inscription and panelled
returns; statue of standing figure in contemporary dress with long cloak. Sir Robert Peel Bart of Drayton Manor,
1788-1850, was member of parliament for Tamworth 1830-50 and Prime Minister 1841-1846. (H.Wood: Borough
by Prescription: Tamworth: 1958-: P.64-65).

Listing NGR: SK2069303968


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE                MARKET STREET
670-1/9/122             (South side)
11/05/50                Nos.26A, 27 AND 27A

GV                II

Three shops. C18 with early C19 refronting. Brick with ashlar dressings; tile roof with brick cross-axial stack. 2
storeys; 4-window range. Boxed eaves. Ground floor has late C19 shop fronts with fascias and recessed
entrances, No 26A has panelled pilasters. 1st floor has windows with sills, and rusticated wedge lintels over 16-
pane sashes; skylights to roof. Rear gabled wing with lateral and cross-axial stacks, some hipped dormers to
right end. Interior: exposed chamfered beams and joists to No.27 and No 27A.

Listing NGR: SK2068403954
TAMWORTH

SK2003NE               MARKET STREET
670-1/9/124            (South side)
09/11/72               No.30

GV                II

House, now shop and studio. Early C18. Brick; tile roof with brick end stacks. Georgian style. L-plan. 2 storeys
with attic; 4-window range. Top wooden modillioned cornice. c1900 shop front with Art Nouveau details to
pilasters, fascia with end brackets and scrolled cast-iron cresting; recessed entrance with C20 door; round-
headed entry to left end has rubbed brick arch and keystone over 4-panel door. 1st floor has windows with
rubbed brick segmental arches over 8-pane sashes with thick glazing bars; attic has 2 gabled dormers. Rear has
gabled wing with large lateral stack. Interior: open-well staircase has open string with moulded tread ends,
panelled square newels, column-on-vase balusters and moulded handrail; 2-fielded-panel doors, one with H-L
hinges; 1st floor niche over fielded-panelled cupboard doors, with architrave, keystone and deep cornice, shaped
shelf edges. A good example of an early Georgian town house.

Listing NGR: SK2066003957


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE               MARKET STREET
670-1/9/126            (South side)
No.34

GV                II

House, now 2 shops and flats above. Early C18 with c1850 front range. Brick with ashlar dressings; 2-span roof
with slate to front span, tile to rear with brick cross-axial stack. Double-depth plan. 3 storeys; 3-window range.
           nd
1st and 2 floor sill bands and bracketed eaves. Shop front with stop-chamfered pilasters and entablature,
central entrance with overlight to paired glazed doors; round-headed entrance to right end has archivolt and
keystone with rosette over fanlight and 4-panel door. 1st and 2nd floors have windows with keystones to
shouldered architraves, those to 1st floor with scrolls, and 4-pane sashes; projecting C19 iron lamps. Rear has
C18 range with chequered brick and segmental-headed windows, casements with pegged frames, 2 dormer
windows. Interior not inspected.

Listing NGR: SK2063303966


TAMWORTH

SK2003NE             SILVER STREET
670-1/9/129          (West side)
09/11/72             No.1
(Formerly Listed as: HOLLOW WAY Bank House (Barclays Bank))

GV                II

House, now office. Early C19 with C20 alterations. Brick with ashlar dressings; slate roof with brick end stacks.
Double-depth plan. Georgian style. 3 storeys; symmetrical 3-window range. Ground floor altered, with concrete
band above; top modillioned cornice. Entrance has doorcase with architrave, frieze and consoled swan-neck
pediment. Ground-floor windows have sills and small-paned glazing; upper windows have sills, and rubbed brick
flat arches over 16-pane sashes to 1st floor, 8-pane sashes to 2nd floor. Pair of end stacks. Rear has
segmental-headed windows and small hipped wing; later single-storey wing. Interior: altered. Included for group
value.

Listing NGR: SK2055903988
TAMWORTH

SK2004SE               UPPER GUNGATE
670-1/7/130            (West side)
09/11/72               Milestone approx 47m N of Junction with Hospital Street

II

Milestone. Late C18 or early C19. Dressed stone with cast-iron plate. Flat stone with rounded angles; plate has
raised lettering giving mileage to local towns: SUTTON. 8/ BIRM. 15/ MEASHAM. 9/ ASHBY. 13/ BREEDON. 18
1/4 / CAS.DON. 22/ SAWLEY. 25 1/2 / NOTT. 35. Repositioned after removal of terrace for road widening.

Listing NGR: SK2075204392


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE               VICTORIA ROAD
670-1/7/131            (North side)
09/11/72               Nos.3 AND 5

GV                II

Two houses, now offices. Early C19. Stucco; slate roof with brick stacks. Double-depth plan. 3 storeys; 6-window
range. Boxed eaves. Ground floor has two C20 shop fronts, that to No 3 in traditional style, that to No 5 has brick
front with modern fascia. Windows to upper floors have sills and plaster surrounds, those to 1st floor with
cornices over 12-pane horned sashes, those to 2nd floor with 9-pane horned sashes. 2 cross-axial stacks and
end stack. Rear has 2 gabled wings. Interior not inspected.

Listing NGR: SK2093304043


TAMWORTH

SK2004SE               VICTORIA ROAD
670-1/7/132            (North side)
11/05/50               New Meeting House (Unitarian)
(Formerly Listed as:   VICTORIA ROAD Unitarian Chapel)

GV                II

Presbytarian chapel, now Unitarian meeting house also used by the Royal Naval Association. 1724, with
alterations of 1879-80. Chequer brick with pebble-dash front and hipped slate roof. Rectangular plan. Early
Georgian style. One storey with 2 tiers of windows; 4-window range. 2 platt bands and top brick cornice.
Entrance to left end added c1880, has gabled porch with pointed outer entrance and plank door; inner entrance
has plaque above recording erection of chapel. Windows have plaster surrounds and C20 small-paned glazing;
2 to upper left end have C18 cross-casements. Rear retains segmental-headed windows with cross-casements,
some with leaded glazing with rectangular quarries. Right return has blocked segmental-headed entrance and
some attached C19 headstones to burials in adjoining graveyard. INTERIOR: c1880 wooden screen with 3
pointed arches to east end, with re-sited pulpit of 4 panelled sides with moulded cornice, railings in front
incorporate C18 turned balusters; good series of C18 and C19 monuments of the Lakin and Byng families; some
remaining panelling c1724 with bolection mouldings. The Tamworth Unitarian congregation was founded in
1690. (M.Saunders, from C.Stell: Information from list of suggestions for listing: 1990-).

Listing NGR: SK2094904063
TAMWORTH

SK20SW                  AMINGTON GREEN, Amington
670-1/4/1              (West side)
09/11/72                Amington House

GV                II

House, now flats. c1770, with mid C19 rear wing. Brick; tile roof with brick end stacks. Central-staircase plan with
2 rear wings. 3 storeys; symmetrical 3-window range. Brick cornice. Central entrance has doorcase with reeded
pilasters, triglyph entablature blocks and open pediment; 6-fielded-panelled door in similar reveals and fanlight
with decorative glazing bars. Windows have rubbed brick flat arches over sashes, most of 16 panes but 12-pane
sash to central 1st floor window; 2nd floor has 8-pane sashes flanking 6-pane sash. Varied fenestration to
returns; left return has one window of paired round-headed 8-pane sashes to ground floor; right return shorter,
with segmental-headed windows; rear single-storey outhouse range. INTERIOR: dog-leg stair with stick
balusters and wreathed handrail.

Listing NGR: SK2350704467


TAMWORTH

SK20SW                 AMINGTON GREEN, Amington
670-1/4/2              Church of St Editha
08/02/91

GV                II

Anglican church. 1864. By G.E.Street. Rock-faced stone with ashlar dressings; tile roofs. Early Pointed style.
Chancel with south organ loft and vestry; nave with gabled south aisle. Weathered plinth, sill courses and coped
gables. Chancel has east triplet of double-cusped lancets under hood mould with foliate stops, pair of lancets
under roundel to north; gabled organ loft has rose window under gable to east and lancet to north; lean-to vestry
has 2-light square-headed window and entrance in chamfered timber frame. 2-bay nave has stepped triplets of
lancets under relieving arches to north, offset gabled buttress to east and diagonal buttress to west; 3-light plate
tracery west window; east gabled bell turret; 3-bay south aisle has 2-light windows with Geometrical tracery, 2-
light plate-tracery west window over gabled timber-framed porch with ashlar plinth and extension to south, and
inner entrance with quinquefoil arch, gabled offset buttress to left. INTERIOR: chancel has cusped arch-braced
collar trusses; arches to nave and organ loft die into jambs; 2 trefoil-headed sedilia to south have central shaft
with stiff leaf capital, similar credence shelf to north; shafted east window over inlaid marble panels; low coped
walling to chancel arch; nave has 3-bay double-chamfered arcade on round piers and west respond cusped
arch-braced collar trusses with ashlaring and wind-braces, aisle has similar roof and arch to organ loft which
dies into jambs; organ loft has waggon-boarded roof. Boldly detailed parclose screen to south of chancel and
similar stalls and altar table; timber pulpit with linen-fold panelling; aisle has panelled screen with open tracery
upper panels to east. Stained glass to east window, 1864, by E.Burne-Jones for Morris and Co, is 'some of the
finest Victorian glass in the county', also chancel north window, 1910; richly coloured aisle west window. (The
Buildings of England: Pevsner N: Staffordshire: London: 1974-: P.61).

Listing NGR: SK2353304519


TAMWORTH

SK20SW                 AMINGTON GREEN, Amington
670-1/4/3              (South side)
09/11/72               Yew Tree House

GV                II

Formerly known as: Priest's House AMINGTON GREEN Amington. House. Late C16 or early C17 with C18
additions. Timber frame, mostly covered with plaster, exposed framing to gables has later decorative quadrants,
with brick extensions; tile roof with brick stacks. 3-unit lobby-entrance plan with cross wing to right end, and left
end extension. Single storey with attic; 4-window range. Central entrance has plank door; windows have C20
leaded casements of varying sizes; 1st floor has gabled dormer to left end, other windows in gables.
Exposed square framing to bay to right of centre, jettied gable with decorative framing; bay to right of centre has
some decorative framing over window; cross wing has exposed tie beam and collar. Large cross-axial stack and
end stacks. Rear has roof carried down over passage and gabled single-storey wing; some windows with
pegged frames and leaded glazing to right end. Left return of C18 brick. Interior: exposed timber framing and
stop-chamfered beams and joists; large stone back-to-back fireplaces; 2 entrances with shaped heads, one
segmental-headed, one with Tudor head; 1st floor has room with plaster floor, segmental-headed fireplace,
cupboard with H-hinge; cupboard with access to priest hole; exposed roof truss with collar and queen struts with
brick infill.

Listing NGR: SK2357004496


TAMWORTH

SK2103NW                AMINGTON ROAD, Bolehall
670-1/10/14             (North side)
11/05/50                Bole Hall

GV                 II

 Formerly known as: Bolehall House (inscription on pediment). House, now office. c1700. Brick with stucco
dressings; tile 2-span roof. Double-depth plan. Early Georgian style. 2 storeys with attic; symmetrical 3-window
range. Centre breaks forward; string course over ground floor and top cornice and coped parapet; end pilasters
with entablature blocks. Entrance has rusticated surround with large voussoirs cutting entablature and segmental
pediment, glazed door. Windows have rubbed brick flat arches and fielded-panel keystones over 12-pane top-
hung casements; three C20 flat-roofed dormers. Returns have coped gables, brick platt bands and pilasters;
windows to right return have keystones, but not those to left return. Rear has basement arcade and ground floor
balcony, blind central ground floor window. INTERIOR: altered; stair to left of hall has C20 balusters.

Listing NGR: SK2139703822


TAMWORTH

SK20NW                   ASHBY ROAD, Amington
670-1/2/4               (South side)
22/07/53                Amington Hall

II*

House, now flats. c1810. Ashlar; with hipped slate roof and ashlar stacks; brick rear wing. L-plan. Classical
Revival style. 2 storeys; 3-bay range, the central bay breaking forward under pediment. Platt band over ground
floor; top cornice and blocking course. Entrance in bowed porch with Tuscan aedicule and paired 2-panel doors
with panel over; flanking windows. Windows have 12-pane sashes, one with horns. 2 cross-axial stacks with
cornices and gablets. Left return of 3 bays, one blind window. Right return of 7 bays, the central 3 bays forming
full height bow with ashlar dome, which has 15-pane sashes, those to 1st floor with iron grilles; signs of former
verandah with swept roof. Rear has varied stacks and windows with rubbed brick flat arches. 2-storey painted
brick rear wing, now 4 houses, has mid C19 windows, most with C20 top-hung casements. INTERIOR: entrance
hall has panelled pilasters to porch and early C19, or earlier, stained glass to windows, mostly armorial;
entablature has triglyph frieze with demi-goat crests to metopes; round-headed inner entrance has fanlight with
decorative glazing bars; cantilever stair has lattice-work iron balustrade, cornice to stair well with Vitruvian scroll;
some rooms have cornices and fireplaces.

Listing NGR: SK2300805758
TAMWORTH

SK20NW                ASHBY ROAD, Amington
670-1/2/5            (South side)
09/11/72              Amington Old Hall

II

Also known as: Old Hall Farmhouse ASHBY ROAD Amington. Farmhouse. Early C18, with C16 or C17 core.
Brick; tile roof with lead flat roof to centre and brick stacks. 2-unit house with cross wing, former barn to left and
lower dairy wing to right. 2 storeys; 4-window range; central gabled cross wing and gabled projection to right
end. Brick platt bands to cross wing and to right; coped gables. Entrance to left of cross wing has doorcase with
fluted pilasters and triglyph frieze, 6-fielded-panel door, 2 glazed panels; projection has segmental-headed
entrance with pegged door. Ground floor has window with pegged wooden frame of 3 transomed lights under
segmental head, small light to projection; 1st floor has 9-pane sash under rubbed brick flat arch to left end,
small-paned casement with moulded frame under segmental head to cross wing, with painted blind window to
right, projection has 16-pane sash under segmental head. End stacks and 2 cross-axial stacks, that to right
being large. Left return has 2 sashed windows to ground floor. Rear has rich cornice; platt bands to cross wing
and to left. Varied fenestration including: three 12-pane sashes with thick glazing bars to right of cross wing with
9-pane sashes above, in large blocked segmental-headed openings; 1st floor to left of cross wing has pegged
cross casements. Dairy wing has low lean-to outshut and 2-light barred windows, attached pump in wooden
case. INTERIOR: C16/17 stop-chamfered beams, some to ground floor on wall posts; kitchen has large
segmental-headed fireplace opening with later range and fixed oak dresser; stair between 2 walls has some
early C18 twisted balusters to landing; 6-fielded-panelled door to ground floor; 1st floor has some C17 and C18
doors with H-L or cock's head hinges; some windows have shutters.

Listing NGR: SK2316405443


TAMWORTH

SK20NW               ASHBY ROAD, Perrycrofts
670-1/2/37           (North side)
11/05/50             Spital Chapel of St. James

II*

 Former chantry chapel; converted to barn at Reformation; dedicated for worship 1914. Mid to late C12 possibly
on earlier foundations with C13 rebuilding and extensive restoration, 1909-14. Stone rubble and coursed
squared stone with ashlar dressings; tile roofs. Small chancel and nave. Chancel has coped gable with kneelers,
east window of round-headed lights with renewed mullions. Nave has round-headed north entrance with plain
reveals and plank door, signs of blocked C12 entrance to left; early C13 pointed-arched south entrance, possibly
ex situ or reconstructed, moulded arch of one order, shafts missing but shaft rings remain, and inner keeled rool
moulding, plank door; window to right of 2 pointed lights has recess below, possibly blocked entrance; west wall
rebuilt 1914, with 2 lancets. INTERIOR: C16/early C17 tie beam and arch-braced collar roofs with double purlins
and some renewed members, ashlaring to chancel; round chancel arch with impost bands; chancel east wall has
plaque recording restoration. C20 altar table with cusped arched panels, altar rail on timber posts. Records exist
of a chantry or hospital founded by Sir Philip Marmion between 1266 and 1275; the building is believed to have
served as a hospital at the time of the Black Death, 1349. (Buildings of England: Pevsner N: Staffordshire:
London: 1974-: P.277; Victoria County History: Staffordshire: Oxford: 1970-: P.294-6; Trans. of S. Staffs
Archaeological and Historical Society: 2nd Report on Excavations at Tamworth Staffs 1968, Spital Chapel: 1968-
1969; Wood H: Borough By Prescription: Tamworth: 1958-: P.86-7).

Listing NGR: SK2087905023
TAMWORTH

SK20SW                ATHERSTONE STREET, Two Gates
670-1/4/133           Fazeley Bridge (that part in Tamworth Borough)

II

Bridge over river Tame. 1796. Ashlar. 3 segmental arches; pointed cutwaters to east have paired baseless
columns; cornice and plain parapets with C20 lamps; ends swept forward with channelled rustication. The bridge
was built after the former bridge was destroyed by flooding. See also under Lichfield DC.

Listing NGR: SK2105501798


TAMWORTH

SK20SW                BAMFORD STREET, Glascote
670-1/4/29           (East side) Church of St. George

II

Church. 1880, porch 1918. By Basil Champneys. Brick with ashlar dressings; tile roofs. Free Gothic style.
Chancel with north vestry and south organ loft; saddleback crossing tower; 3-bay nave with north porch and
south aisle. Chancel has moulded plinth, parapets and coped gable; high 3-light east window with reticulated
tracery, hood mould with fleuron and flanking brattished pinnacles rising above coping; gabled vestry has end
niche and square-headed east window of 3 pointed lights; organ loft has east entrance with hollow-chamfered
jambs and shaped lintel, square-headed south window of 3 pointed lights. Tower has offset buttresses and
north-west round stair turret, entrance with shouldered lintel and curved plank door; coped gables to west and
east have 3-light louvred bell openings with intersecting tracery; hood moulds with fleurons and flanking
brattished pinnacles, square-headed 2-light north and south windows. South aisle under catslide roof continuous
with that to organ loft has square-headed windows of 3 pointed lights. Nave has 3 north windows of 3 lights with
reticulated tracery under continuous hood, coped gable, 4-light west window with intersecting tracery, pinnacles
and fleuron to hood. Gabled porch has pointed arch with continuous moulding; niche above has statue of St
George with dragon to plinth and flanking pinnacles; 3-light side windows. INTERIOR: chancel has chamfered rib
vault with boss, sedilium and piscina under ogee arches, crockets and fleurons; entrances with hollow-
chamfered mouldings; similar vault to crossing, which has arches to east and west with continuous keeled roll
moulding between 2 orders, arch to organ loft of one order; nave arcade of hollow-moulded arches on octagonal
piers, sill courses. Fittings: chancel has reredos with foliate panels, simple wrought iron railings, plain stalls with
open fronts; crossing has rails on bracketed timber posts; nave has timber pulpit with Tudor flower to cornice and
small octagonal font with splayed base. Memorials: alabaster wall war memorial to nave; stained glass by Morris
and Co: of 1903 to east window, depicting the four evangelists; of 1905 to nave north-east window. An early
example of the free use of the Gothic style. (Buildings of England: Pevsner N: Staffordshire: London: 1974-:
P.135).

Listing NGR: SK2195603203


TAMWORTH

SK20SW               BIRMINGHAM AND FAZELEY CANAL
670-1/4/27           (North side)
06/05/88             Fazeley Junction House

II

House. c1840. Brick with ashlar and plaster dressings; hipped slate roof with brick stacks. L-plan. 2 storeys;
symmetrical 3-window range with large full-height canted bay. Top cornice. Entrance to right return of bay has
doorcase with consoled cornice and 6-fielded-panel door. Windows to ground floor have rusticated wedge lintels
with keystones over 12-pane sashes, bay has tripartite window with frieze and cornice over 8:12:8-pane horned
sashes; 1st floor has 9-pane sashes with tripartite window to bay with 6:12:6-pane sashes (12-pane=4/8). Iron
plate with number: 261 between windows to bay. Cross-axial stack to bay and 2 stacks to rear. Junction House
stands at the junction of the Coventry Canal with the Fazeley to Birmingham and Fazeley to Whittington
branches of the Birmingham and Fazeley Canal, and may have served as a toll house at this important junction.
(Inland Waterways Histories: Broadbridge SR: Birmingham Canal Navigations Vol I: 1768-1846: London: 1974-:
P.41-45; Canals of the British Isles: Hadfield C: Canals of the East Midlands: 1966-: P.23-24).

Listing NGR: SK2034902022


TAMWORTH

SK20SW               BLACKWOOD ROAD, Dosthill
670-1/4/21           (West side (off))
09/11/72             Dosthill House
(Formerly Listed as: DOSTHILL ROAD Dosthill House (or Dosthill Hall))

II

House with attached pavilions and wall. Late C18, probably with mid C18 core. Stuccoed brick with ashlar
dressings; hipped slate roof with buff brick stacks. Double-depth plan. 3 storeys; 2-window range with attached
2-window range breaking forward to right. Sill bands to all floors and narrow top cornice. Entrance: tetrastyle
porch has Doric columns with fluted capitals and Ionic entablature with fluted frieze which has swags and
paterae to central forward break under pediment; half-glazed door flanked by 8-pane sashes. Windows have 12-
pane sashes, 9-pane sashes to 2nd floor. Left return has 2 full-height canted bays with French windows to
ground floor, 12-pane sashes to 1st floor and 9-pane sashes to 2nd floor. Right return has 2 wings, one with
hipped tile roof, flanking stair window. Rear has varied fenestration and 2-storey wing with gabled pitching hole
and single-storey range to right. Pavilions to right (east) of entrance front have pilaster strips, sill and impost
bands to round-headed windows, and pedimental gables with end stacks, that to left with blind windows; stone-
coped wall between has central entrance with paired timber gates and flanking round-headed entrances, one
blocked. INTERIOR: dog-leg stair to right of hall has open string and turned balusters; some rooms have
cornices and shuttered windows.

Listing NGR: SK2121700925


TAMWORTH

SP29NW                 CHURCH ROAD, Dosthill
670-1/5/25             (West side)
Church of St. Paul

GV                II

Church. 1870-72. By E. Holmes of Birmingham. Ashlar with tile roofs. Early English style. 2-bay chancel with
south vestry; 4-bay nave. Narrow offset buttresses and angle buttresses; coped gables. Chancel has sill course
and 3-light east window with Geometrical tracery; north side has cusped lancet and narrow projection for organ;
south side has cusped lancet to east of square vestry with cusped lancets, west entrance with segmental-
pointed head and small splayed spire with lucarnes; plastered conecting block. Nave has cusped lancets to north
and south; south gabled porch has plain chamfered pointed entrance with paired doors; 4-light west window with
Geometrical tracery; east gable has bell turret with blocked pointed openings. INTERIOR: deep arch-braced
roofs, that to chancel corbelled; chancel arch on corbels carved with vine and wheat, passion flower and lily, low
walls to chancel. East window has stained glass by Hardman and Co; other windows have C20 stained glass.
(Buildings of England: Pevsner N: Staffordshire: London: 1974-: P.117).

Listing NGR: SP2122099839


TAMWORTH

SP29NW            CHURCH ROAD, Dosthill
670-1/5/22        (East side)
Church Farmhouse and Hawthorn Cottage

GV                II

Farmhouse, now 2 dwellings. Probably C18, refurbished late C20. Brick; tile roof with brick end stacks. 3 storeys;
2-window range. Segmental-headed windows have C20 casements. Rear has gabled wing with return 2-storey
porch wing; entrance with C20 door; large lateral stack. Hawthorn Cottage of single storey with attic; similar
details; gabled dormers; large cross-axial stack. Rear C20 gabled porch. End C20 addition. Interior: noted as
having chamfered beams and large fireplace; Included for group value.

Listing NGR: SP2127199833


TAMWORTH

SP29NW               CHURCH ROAD, Dosthill
670-1/5/23           (East side)
22/07/53             Cruck Barn
(Formerly Listed as: Barn at Church House Farm)

GV                II

Barn, now converted and empty (1990). C15/C16. Timber-framed with brick infill; tile roof. 4-bay cruck
construction with rear outshut. Square framing on rubble plinth with outshut under catslide roof to left end; former
threshing-floor entrance has C20 infill and porch under catslide roof, wide-boarded inner door; some inserted
windows. Left return has exposed cruck truss with cruck spurs and short king post on yoke; right return has brick
replacing cruck truss. Rear: continuous outshut with C20 alterations to left with raised eaves; central threshing-
floor entrance with paired doors; right end further outshut with 4 openings revealing inner timber framing, small
gabled dormer above. Interior: cruck trusses with braced collars, cruck spurs and wind braces; one truss with
C20 brick infill. (Trans. of S. Staffordshire Archaeological & Historical Society: A Four-bay Cruck Barn with
Outshut at Dosthill, Tamworth, Staffs: 1972-1973: 45FF).

Listing NGR: SP2129899841


TAMWORTH

SP29NW                  CHURCH ROAD, Dosthill
670-1/5/26              (West side)
22/07/53                Dosthill Sunday School and Parish
Room

GV                II*

Chapel, now parish room. C12 with C17/C18 and later alterations. Dressed squared stone with ashlar dressings
and some brick; tile roof. Rectangular structure, chancel removed. East end, possibly reconstructed, has C12
blocked round former chancel arch with inset C17 four-light chamfered-mullioned window; brick gable with blue
brick lozenge over segmental-headed window with C20 casement. North elevation has C12 round-headed
entrance with renewed moulded archivolt and hood; small C12 round-headed light to east; exposed wall plate;
south elevation similar. West end has round-headed light with similar light above. INTERIOR: C17 chamfered tie
beams and principals, wind braces, upper part ceiled; deep splays to windows. (Buildings of England: Pevsner
N: Staffordshire: London: 1974-: P.117).

Listing NGR: SP2124599859


TAMWORTH

SK10NE                  COTON LANE, Coton
670-1/1/16              Hopwas Bridge (that part in Tamworth
11/05/50                BC)

II

Bridge over River Tame. 1796. Ashlar. 7 elliptical arches, 3 to west for flood water; piers have pointed cutwaters
and paired Tuscan pilasters; frieze, roll-moulded band and plain parapet. The bridge was built after the former
bridge was destroyed by flooding, as at Lady Bridge and Fazeley Bridge (q.v.). (Buildings of England: Pevsner
N: Staffordshire: London: 1974-: P.151).

Listing NGR: SK1805705118
TAMWORTH

SK20SW                 COVENTRY CANAL, Amington
670-1/4/7              Bridge No 65
25/11/91

GV                II

Canal bridge. 1785-90 with mid C19 coping. Thomas Sheasby, engineer. Brick. Segmental skew arch; parapets
with stone-coped end piers and chamfered brick coping; numbered plate to each side. One of a series of bridges
on the Coventry canal.

Listing NGR: SK2344004537

TAMWORTH

SK20SW                 COVENTRY CANAL, Amington
670-1/4/6              Milepost approx. 107m to NE of Bridge No 65

GV                II

Milepost. 1785-90. Dressed stone. Short square stone with rounded cap, set diagonally, with inscribed figures to
adjacent faces: 8 to left (Fradley); 24 to right (Coventry). (Canals of the British Isles: Hadfield C: Canals of the
East Midlands: London: 1966-: P.23-24).

Listing NGR: SK2352004616

TAMWORTH

SK20SW                 COVENTRY CANAL, Amington
670-1/4/8              Bridge No 66 (Askew Bridge)
25/11/91

GV                II

Canal bridge. 1785-90 with mid C19 coping. Thomas Sheasby, engineer. Brick. Elliptical skew arch; parapets
with stone-coped end piers and chamfered brick coping; numbered plate to each side. One of a series of bridges
on the Coventry canal. (Canals of the British Isles: Hadfield C: Canals of the East Midlands: London: 1966-:
P.23-24; Inland Waterways Histories: Broadbridge SR: Birmingham Canal Navigations Vol I: 1768-1846:
London: 1974-: P.41-45).

Listing NGR: SK2332804477
TAMWORTH

SK20SW                 COVENTRY CANAL, Amington
670-1/4/9              Bridge No 67
25/11/91

GV                II

Canal bridge. 1785-90 with mid C19 coping. Thomas Sheasby, engineer. Brick. Segmental arch; parapets with
stone-coped end piers and rounded brick coping; numbered plate to each side. One of a series of bridges on the
Coventry canal. (Canals of the British Isles: Hadfield C: Canals of the East Midlands: London: 1966-: P.23-24;
Inland Waterways Histories: Broadbridge SR: Birmingham Canal Navigations Vol I: 1768-1846: London: 1974-:
P.41-45).

Listing NGR: SK2307004340
TAMWORTH

SK20SW                 COVENTRY CANAL, Amington
670-1/4/10             Bridge No 68
25/11/91

GV                II

Canal bridge. 1785-90 with mid C19 coping. Thomas Sheasby, engineer. Brick. Segmental arch; parapets with
stone-coped end piers and rounded brick coping; numbered plate to each side. One of a series of bridges on the
Coventry canal. (Canals of the British Isles: Hadfield C: Canals of the East Midlands: London: 1966-: P.23-24;
Inland Waterways Histories: Broadbridge SR: Birmingham Canal Navigations Vol I: 1768-1846: London: 1974-:
P.41-45).

Listing NGR: SK2292504282

TAMWORTH

SK20SW                 COVENTRY CANAL, Amington
670-1/4/11             Bridge No 69
25/11/91

II

Canal bridge. 1785-90 with mid C19 coping. Thomas Sheasby, engineer. Brick. Segmental arch; parapet with
stone-coped brick piers and rounded brick coping; numbered plates to sides. One of a series on the Coventry
Canal. (Canals of the British Isles: Hadfield C: Canals of the East Midlands: London: 1966-: P.23-24; Inland
Waterways Histories: Broadbridge SR: Birmingham Canal Navigations Vol I: 1768-1846: London: 1974-: P.41-
45).

Listing NGR: SK2262604190

TAMWORTH

SK20SW                 COVENTRY CANAL, Amington
670-1/4/12             Bridge No 70
25/11/91

II

Canal bridge. 1785-90. Thomas Sheasby, engineer. Brick with stone coping. Segmental arch; parapet with
stone-coped brick piers and rounded coping; numbered plates to sides. A complete example, one of a series on
the Coventry Canal. (Canals of the British Isles: Hadfield C: Canals of the East Midlands: London: 1966-: P.23-
24; Inland Waterways Histories: Broadbridge SR: Birmingham Canal Navigations Vol I: 1768-1846: London:
1974-: P.41-45).

Listing NGR: SK2239804124

TAMWORTH

SK20SW                 COVENTRY CANAL, Fazeley
670-1/4/28             Tame Aqueduct with attached Pill Box

II

Aqueduct over River Tame. 1785-90 with 1940 pillbox. Thomas Sheasby, engineer, advised by T.Dadford and
R.Whitworth. Brick with ashlar dressings, plastered to north side. 3 segmental arches with ashlar triangular
cutwaters and ends swept forward; iron railings to north; brick parapet with rounded brick coping and ashlar-
coped piers to south side. To west end of south side a 1940 rectangular pill box with opening to east end and 2
openings to north side. (Canals of the British Isles: C.Hadfield: Canals of the East Midlands: London: 1966-: 23-
24; Inland Waterways Histories: S.R.Broadbridge: Birmingham Canal Navigations Vol I: 1768-1846: London:
1974-: 41-45).

Listing NGR: SK2098802226
TAMWORTH

SK20SW                 COVENTRY CANAL, Glascote
670-1/4/30             Towpath Bridge to Entrance to Basin

II

Towpath bridge. Early C19 with mid C19 coping. Brick. Elliptical arch; parapets with stone-coped brick piers and
rounded coping, that to canal side has end swept down to ground level. Situated to west side of canal. One of a
series of bridges on the Coventry Canal. (Canals of the British Isles: Hadfield C: Canals of the East Midlands:
London: 1966-: P.23-24; Inland Waterways Histories: Broadbridge SR: Birmingham Canal Navigations Vol I:
1768-1846: London: 1974-: P.41-45).

Listing NGR: SK2169403306

TAMWORTH

SK20SW                 COVENTRY CANAL, Kettlebrook
670-1/4/36             Bridge No 75

II

Canal bridge. 1785-90, with later repairs. Thomas Sheasby, engineer. Brick with stone coping. Segmental arch;
parapets with stone-coped brick piers and rounded coping, some repairs to both parapets; numbered plates to
sides; abutment to west pierced by small round-vaulted tunnel. One of a series on the Coventry Canal. (Canals
of the British Isles: Hadfield C: Canals of the East Midlands: London: 1966-: P.23-24; Inland Waterways
Histories: Broadbridge SR: Birmingham Canal Navigations Vol I: 1768-1846: London: 1974-: P.41-45).

Listing NGR: SK2109002640


TAMWORTH

SK20SW                 DUMOLO'S LANE, Glascote
670-1/4/31             (East side)
09/11/72               Glascote Cottage

GV                II

House. Late C18 or early C19, range to right possibly earlier. Stucco with some exposed stone rubble; tile roofs
with brick end stacks. Gable facing, front to left. 2 storeys; symmetrical 3-window range, with lower 2-window
range to right. Ground and 1st floor sill bands. Entrance has doorcase with fluted pilasters, frieze and cornice,
overlight with decorative glazing bars and 6-panel door. Windows to ground floor have 12-pane sashes, 9-pane
sashes to 1st floor windows; range to right has exposed rubble to right end and 16-pane sashes. Rear similar,
1st floor windows have 3/4-pane sashes; large single-storey C20 addition under hipped roof. Interior not
inspected.

Listing NGR: SK2252003289


TAMWORTH

SK20SW                GLASCOTE ROAD, Glascote
670-1/4/33           (South side)
09/11/72              Cotford
(Formerly Listed as: MAIN ROAD Cotford)

GV                II

House. c1820. Stuccoed brick with fishscale tile roof. Central-staircase plan with 2 rear wings. 2 storeys;
symmetrical 3-window range. Top frieze and boxed eaves; 2 forward breaks with full-height canted bays.
Entrance has panelled pilasters, overlight with bracketed lantern and paired 2-fielded-panel doors. Windows
have casements with margin lights, 1st floor has similar French windows; 1st floor continuous balcony on
enriched brackets with varied enriched iron panels. Returns have lateral stacks; rear has lower wings with lateral
stacks flanking hipped projection with stair window over gabled porch. Interior not inspected.

Listing NGR: SK2248603334

TAMWORTH

SK2103SW               GLASCOTE ROAD, Bolehall
670-1/10/15            Bolehall Viaduct
09/11/72

GV                II

Also known as: Bolebridge Viaduct GLASCOTE ROAD Bolehall. Railway Viaduct. 1837-9. R.Stephenson and
G.Bidder, engineers; for Birmingham and Derby Junction Railway. Rusticated ashlar. 19 arches; nos 6 and 7
span River Anker; no 10 spans Amington Road; no 19 is lower and wider and spans Glascote Road. Rusticated
segmental arches; piers have rock-faced jambs, round cutwaters to river; bold modillioned cornice and parapet;
abutments swept forward. 2 arches have low stone walls flanking entrance gates. An important landmark at the
south east end of Tamworth. (A Regional History of the Railways of Great Britain:
Christiansen R: The West Midlands: London: 1973-: P.136-7).

Listing NGR: SK2131803756


TAMWORTH

SK20SW                 GLASCOTE ROAD, Glascote
670-1/4/32             (South side)
No.334

II

House. c1830 with mid C19 addition. Brick, Flemish bond with buff headers; tile roof with brick stacks. 2 storeys;
3-window range; right end an addition. Brick cornice. Entrance to left of original centre has segmental head and
plank door. Windows have contemporary small-paned casements, those to ground floor have segmental heads.
Left end stack and former right end stack. An interesting and well-preserved example of a small early C19
house.

Listing NGR: SK2221003365


TAMWORTH

SK20SW               GLASCOTE ROAD, Glascote
670-1/4/34           (South side)
09/11/72             Walls, Piers, Railings and Gates to N and W of Cotford
(Formerly Listed as: MAIN ROAD (South side) Gates and gate piers at Cotford)

GV                II

Walls, gatepiers and end piers, railings and gates. Early C19, extended to right mid C19. Brick with ashlar and
cast iron. Low stone-coped walls with ramped ends adjoining octagonal piers with 2 tiers of round-headed
panelling, cornices and urn finials; railings of hairpin form; central paired gates with decorative finials. Higher
stone-coped wall to right side of front garden extends back to Cotford (q.v.) (but not attached), with short trefoil-
headed railings.

Listing NGR: SK2247203359
TAMWORTH

SK20SW               HOCKLEY ROAD, Wilnecote
670-1/4/135          (West side)
09/11/72             The Manor House

II

House, now flats. c1770 with early C19 alterations and additions. Brick; tile roofs with brick stacks. Central-
staircase plan with lower rear wing and parallel rear range. 3 storeys; symmetrical 3-window range. Entrance
has doorcase with panelled pilasters, richly consoled bay windows with friezes and 8:12:8-pane sashes; 1st and
2nd floor segmental-headed windows, top-hung casement, 12-pane sash and 4-pane horned sash to 1st floor,
casements flanking 6-pane sash to 2nd floor. End stacks. Rear has 2-storey gabled wing with cornice and coped
gable, large lateral stack; 3 storey parallel single-window range. Small wing to right return is much altered and
converted to shops. Interior not inspected.

Listing NGR: SK2259701038


TAMWORTH

SK20SW                HOCKLEY ROAD, Wilnecote
670-1/4/136          (East side)
23/07/87             No.139

II

House. Late C16 with C19 and C20 alterations. Timber frame with rendered brick infill; tile roof with brick stack to
front of ridge. 2 storeys; 2-window range. Windows have C20 casements; exposed girding beam and upper
studs. Rear similar, with C20 porch and small casement windows. Interior: moulded spine beams and stud
partitions.

Listing NGR: SK2266300854


TAMWORTH

SK20SW               HOCKLEY ROAD, Wilnecote
670-1/4/137          (West side)
01/02/89             Manor Farmhouse

II

House. C17 with C18 and C19 alterations and additions. Brick cladding, partly rendered, to timber-framed
structure; tile roof with coped gables and brick stacks. L-plan. Gable facing, front to left; single storey with attic;
symmetrical 3-window range. Projecting C19 two-storey gabled porch with pointed opening, overlight to inner 4-
panel door with some glazing, narrow return lights and small 1st floor casement window. Ground floor has 2
segmental-headed windows with C20 cross-casements. Gable-end stack and 2 cross-axial stacks. Right return
to street is plastered; 2 segmental-headed windows with C20 cross-casements to each floor; left return has
similar boarded window to each floor. Rear elevation has blind gable to right of C19 lean-to outshut. Interior:
much exposed timber framing, mostly C17, with a re-used curved brace reputed to be a fragment of a C14 base
cruck.

Listing NGR: SK2258801157
TAMWORTH

SK10SE                 LICHFIELD ROAD, Coton
670-1/3/20              (North side)
11/05/50               The Old House

GV                II

House. Late C18, being refurbished at time of resurvey (1990). Brick with ashlar dressings; slate roof with brick
end stacks. L-plan. 2 storeys; symmetrical 3-window range. Ground floor sill band and top cornice and stone-
coped brick parapet. Entrance has doorcase with pilasters and open pediment. Windows have rubbed brick flat
arches with keystones over sashes, outer windows have tripartite sashes in forward breaks. Interior not
inspected.

Listing NGR: SK1894804757


TAMWORTH

SK10SE                 LICHFIELD ROAD, Coton
670-1/3/18             (North side)
11/05/50               Tame House

GV                II

House, now residential home. Late C18. Brick with ashlar dressings; slate roof with brick cross-axial stack and
end stack. Double-depth, central-staircase plan. 2 storeys; symmetrical 3-window range. Ground and 1st floor sill
bands; top cornice and stone-coped brick parapet; outer windows in forward breaks. Round-headed entrance
has doorcase with pilasters and open pediment, fanlight with decorative glazing bars over C20 twelve-panel
door. Windows have rubbed brick flat arches with keystones over 16-pane sashes, 12-pane sashes to 1st floor.
Rear has gabled wing and C20 single-storey addition.
INTERIOR: stair has open string, stick balusters and wreathed handrail. Part of same build as The Alders (q.v.).

Listing NGR: SK1910504683


TAMWORTH

SK10SE                 LICHFIELD ROAD, Coton
670-1/3/17             (North side)
11/05/50               Lane House

GV                II

House. Mid to late C18 with later additions. Brick with ashlar dressings; slate roof with brick end stacks. L-plan
with later addition to rear wing and re-entrant wing. 3 storeys; 3-window range. Ground floor sill band and top
wooden cornice. Central round-headed entrance has doorcase with fluted pilasters, open pediment and fanlight
over 6-fielded-panel door. Ground floor has bow window to left end with 8:12:8-pane tripartite sash, pilaster
strips and bracketed cornice; other windows have rubbed brick flat arches over 12-pane horned sashes, 6-pane
sashes to 2nd floor. Right return has large 16-pane sash over blocked large segmental-headed opening; C20
single-storey addition to rear. Interior not inspected.

Listing NGR: SK1912904673
TAMWORTH

SK10SE                 LICHFIELD ROAD, Coton
670-1/3/19             (North side)
11/05/50               The Alders

GV                II

House, now day nursery. Late C18 with mid C19 addition. Brick with ashlar dressings; slate roof with brick cross-
axial stack and end stack. Double-depth, central-staircase plan. 2 storeys; symmetrical 3-window range. Ground
and 1st floor sill bands; top cornice and stone-coped brick parapet; outer windows in forward breaks. Round-
headed entrance has doorcase with pilasters and open pediment, fanlight with decorative glazing bars over 6-
panel door. Ground floor has canted bay windows with plastered parapets and 4-pane horned sashes; windows
to 1st floor have rubbed brick flat arches with keystones over plate-glass horned sashes. C19 two-storey wing to
left has similar details, but has brick sill bands and top cogged frieze; windows have brick cambered arches,
those to 1st floor with 12-pane sashes. Rear has gabled wing. Interior not inspected. Part of same build as Tame
House (q.v.).

Listing NGR: SK1909404693

TAMWORTH

SK20NW            LYNHAM CLOSE, Perrycrofts
670-1/2/38        (West side)
09/11/72          Nos.11-17 (Consecutive)
Former Wigginton Hotel (Formerly Listed as: WIGGINGTON ROAD Wiggington Hotel)

II

House, now flats. c1810. Brick with ashlar dressings; hipped tile roof with 2 brick stacks. Double-depth central-
staircase plan. 3 storeys; symmetrical 3-window range. Weathered ashlar base and boxed eaves. Round-
headed entrance has Doric porch with triglyph frieze and modillioned cornice, archivolt and fanlight over 6-panel
door. Windows have rubbed brick flat arches over 12-pane horned sashes but 2nd floor has 6-pane sashes.
Rear has round-headed stair window with small-paned glazing, part sashes, to right of late C20 two-storey wing.
INTERIOR: open-well staircase with moulded tread ends to open string and C20 balusters and handrail.

Listing NGR: SK2100505797


TAMWORTH

SK20NE               SHELLEY ROAD, Wigginton Park
670-1/1/134          (South side)
11/05/50             Wigginton Lodge
(Formerly Listed as: WIGGINGTON PARK Wiggington Lodge)

II

House, now club. c1820 with C20 additions. Stucco with hipped graduated slate roof. Double-depth plan. 2
storeys; 4-window range. 1st floor sill band to right half; wide boxed eaves. Central round-headed entrance has
hipped porch on paired fluted columns without capitals, modillioned cornice; fanlight with decorative glazing bars
and Greek key band over 6-panel door (4 fielded over 2 flush). Windows are sashes, mostly 12-pane sashes,
some with horns, and one 2/1-pane sash to ground floor left. Right return garden front: 4-window range, ends
break forward. 1st floor sill band. Ground floor has central bowed tripartite French window on 3 steps with bowed
verandah with reeded columns, swept roof and 2 spiked ball finials, end French windows in round-headed
            st
recesses; 1 floor has 12-pane sashes. 2 brick cross-axial stacks. Rear similar, with 3 French windows, two with
15-pane sashes, to left of garden wall. Left return has later alterations, including large 1st floor window of 8
round-headed lights with leaded glazing; large late C20 single-storey addition.

Listing NGR: SK1994005199
TAMWORTH

SK20SW               WATLING STREET, Wilnecote
670-1/4/138          (North side)
09/11/72             Church of Holy Trinity II

Church. 1821 with mid C19 vestry. Brick with ashlar dressings, ashlar to south and west; graduated slate roof
and tile roof to north. Gothic Revival style. 5-bay single-vessel nave and chancel with north organ loft and vestry,
and slender west tower. East end has coped gable with kneelers; 3 pointed windows with splayed plaster
reveals, the central window larger and with Y-tracery, datestone above inscribed: G B/1821; organ loft has
pointed window with wooden Y-tracery frame with leaded glazing, blocked pointed entrance to right. Vestry,
formerly verger's house,of 2 storeys; 2-window range: segmental-headed entrance to left end and similar
blocked central entrance; segmental-headed windows with pegged wooden frames to ground floor, similar
windows to 1st floor; truncated end stack. South facade has central porch, coped gable with cross, plain pointed
entrance with paired doors and offset angle buttresses; Y-tracery windows in splayed reveals, the central one
truncated over porch. West end has coped gable with kneelers, Y-tracery windows flanking 3-stage tower with
string courses and embattled parapet, plain pointed south entrance, small pointed lights and louvred bell
openings. North elevation has ashlar cornice and Y-tracery windows. INTERIOR: corbelled king and queen-post
roof. Mid C19 altar rail on enriched brass posts, other chancel furnishings of 1920s and 1930s, including open
traceried screen incorporating south pulpit. Some C19 and C20 stained glass. (Buildings of England: Pevsner N:
Staffordshire: London:
1974-: P.312).

Listing NGR: SK2260401307

TAMWORTH

SK20SW               WATLING STREET, Wilnecote
670-1/4/139          (North side)
09/11/72             Queen's Head Inn P.H.

II

Public house. C17, with possible earlier origins; late C18 and C19 additions and C20 alterations. Brick with
rendered stucco front; tile roof with brick stacks. 2-unit plan with later extensions. Single storey with attic; 3-
window range with 2-window addition to left and single-storey addition to right. Entrance to right of centre has
porch with columns without capitals and narrow entablature; 4-panel door. Windows have rusticated wedge
lintels and C20 small-paned casements; 3 dormers to attic have similar casements. End stacks and cross-axial
stack to left of entrance. Rear has early C19 and late C19 gabled wings with end stacks. Interior: chamfered
spine beams to 2 ground floor rooms with possible base of cruck between; cellar reported as having beam;
evidence of possible cruck construction obscured by C20 alterations.

Listing NGR: SK2277601219

TAMWORTH

SP29NW               WHATELEY LANE, Hockley
670-1/5/35           (West side)
09/11/72             Hockley Hall

II

House. C17 with later alterations and additions. Brick, now rendered, with C19 brick gables; tile roof with brick
stack. T-plan with single-storey rear wing. 2 storeys with attic; symmetrical 3-window range with full-height
gabled wing. Platt band to ground floor and to 1st floor and attic of wing; kneelers to gables. Segmental-headed
                                                                                  st
windows have plaster wedge lintels and 2- or 3-light small-paned casements; 1 floor and attic windows to wing
only, but 1st floor to right has blocked 3-light chamfered-mullioned window revealed internally; large cross-axial
stack. C20 lean-to porch to right return; rear has later single-storey gabled wing with lean-to outshuts to return
and end. INTERIOR: Back-to-back fireplaces to ground floor, room to left has stop-chamfered beam and joists,
room to right has ovolo-moulded beam with run-out stops; dog-leg stair to front of chimneys; stop-chamfered
beams to 1st floor, blocked entrance to rear; attic has queen-strut trusses, signs of hood to 1st floor fireplace to
one side of chimney. Jacobean-style ashlar finials in garden said to have come from gables.

Listing NGR: SP2254599922
TAMWORTH

SK20SW                WOODHOUSE LANE, Amington
670-1/4/13           (West side)
09/11/72             Amington Centre
(Formerly Listed as: WOODHOUSE LANE, Amington School)

II

School, now community centre. 1863-4. By G.E.Street. Brick with C20 tile roof and cresting; brick valley stacks.
Vernacular Revival style. Single storey; 5-window range; small gabled projection toward right end. Weathered
brick base and sill course. Entrance has C20 hipped porch with glazed sides; windows project above eaves with
half-hipped gables, all but one are boarded, the window to right of entrance has wooden mullioned frame of 4
lights with 2 transoms and shouldered lintels; projection has segmental-headed window with 2-light transomed
wooden frame. Ridge has 2 bell turrets, one square with tile-hung base and pyramidal roof over open sides, the
other has leaded fleche on 2 posts. Returns have segmental-headed windows under pointed arches with
herringbone brick tympanae; that to left return over lean-to outshut; that to right over pointed entrances. Rear
has attached parallel range with varied entrances and fenestration, now boarded, and 2 stacks to valley with
diagonal shafts. INTERIOR: inserted C20 floor.

Listing NGR: SK2326104352

								
To top