Augst 28 12 Thein Sein defeated..pdf by ayekyawsoe


More Info
									                                  President Tnein Sein is
                                defeated by his own Party.
                                                August 27, Xinhua
                             Myanmar parliament passes resolution over
                             constitutional tribunal decision dispute

Myanmar parliament passed a resolution in Monday's session by secret
vote 447-168 in favor of a proposal, urging the nine-member
constitutional tribunal to admit and issue statement that it had
mistakenly given a verdict defining the parliament-formed committees,
commissions and organizations as not the union (central) level
organizations under the constitution, parliament sources said.

The resolution was passed after 22 parliament members elected from
political parties including Aung San Suu Kyi and non-elected military
ones discussed the proposal, put forward by Pyawbwe constituency MP U
Myint Soe on Aug. 23.

The constitutional tribunal's verdict was given over the submission of
the Attorney-General on behalf of the President on Feb. 2 asking for
defining   on  the   parliament-formed  committees,   commissions  and
organizations if they are the union (central) level organizations
under the constitution.

The constitutional tribunal's March 28 verdict on the definition was
objected by 301 MPs, who jointly signed a proposal to the House of
Representatives (Lower House) speaker USwe Mann, impeaching the
constitutional   tribunal    and   demanding   resignation   of   the
constitutional tribunal including its chairman and members out of own
volition by Aug. 21.

USwe Mann then transferred the case to President U Thein Sein later,
who sent a return message to the parliament on Aug. 20 calling for
settlement of the dispute through submitting a bill amending the
related provision of the constitution. On Aug. 24, 162 MPs with the
House of Nationalities also jointly signed a petition to impeach the
constitutional tribunal. The constitutional tribunal, however, made
clear on Aug. 20 that it insisted on their definition verdict,
rejecting to make resignation. The constitutional tribunal chairperson
U Thein Soe and his eight other members were nominated by the
President and the two Houses' speakers and then approved by the
parliament when the new government was set up in March 2011. The
current 4th session of the parliament, held in Nay Pyi Taw, was
attended by over 600 MPs including those of the two Houses.



To top