Learning Center
Plans & pricing Sign in
Sign Out

Battlezone 2 Review


									                   Event Review    Battlezone 2

Senkai Promotions have made a serious jump in standard with their second show (Saturday 5th March) at the D4
Hotel. Battlezone 2 was bigger and better in every sense following their successful debut in November last year. The
new Battlezone format included filming the weigh-ins to be posted on a number of websites shortly after. The
improved quality of the event’s production was probably best highlighted by the fighter entrance area complete with
large screen displaying the combatant’s stats. The fighters dwelled momentarily on a raised stage, allowing an
energy to build in the crowd, before commencing the walk to the cage.

Similar to Battlezone 1 the junior bouts set a pretty high bar for the amateur and professional fighters to hurdle.
Sean Paul Power put on a repeat performance walking through some heavy shoots to ultimately finish Colm Lough in
a mounted triangle in a carbon copy of his Ballezone 1 victory.

In the title fights Ryan Kelly (PCCB) defeated Henry Fadipe (Lucan MMA) by TKO (Elbows) in the first to take the
middleweight belt while Rimantas Pukas to the heavyweight strap home to Lucan MMA by defeating Abou Sow of

Opinion was divided on who took fight of the night honours but the most commonly mentioned fights seemed to be
Konrad Iwanowski (Team Ryano) stoppage of James Kirwan and Paul Redmond (Team Ryano) and Artem Lobov (SBG)
3 round war.

      Robert Morrison (Antrim MMA) defeated Graham Dinh (Team Ryano) Submission (Kimura) Round 2
      Sean Paul Powers (Team Ryano) defeated Colm Lough (Antrim MMA) Submission (Triangle Choke) Round 2
      Adam Caffrey (Rush Fight Academy) defeated Axel Ricthor (Strabane Fight Team) Decision (Split) Round 3
      Mark Walker (Antrim MMA) defeated Hughie O’Rourke (Team Ryano) Submission (Armbar) Round 1
      Anthony Carrick (Lucan MMA) defeated John Halligan (Extreme MMA) Decision (Split) Round 3
      Ian Molphy Rush (Fight Academy) defeated Carl O’Rourke (Legends MMA) TKO (Punches) Round 3
      Anesh Bugwandeen (Informed Performance) defeated Casey Walsh (Team Ryano) Decision (Split) Round 3
      Sean Ryan (Combat Fitness Centre) defeated Andrius Sokolouskis (Extreme MMA) Unanimous Decision
      Luke O’Neill (Antrim MMA) defeated Peter Doyle (Team Ryano) Submission (Guillotine Choke) Round 2
      Konrad Iwanowski (Team Ryano) defeated James Kirwan TKO (Punches) Round 2
      Stephen King (SBG) defeated Alan Byrne (Extreme MMA) DQ (Illegal Knee to Head) Round 3
      Grant Carroll (Informed Performance) defeated Barry McGuigan (Antrim MMA) Unanimous Decision
      Paul Redmond (Team Ryano) defeated Artem Lobov (SBG) Unanimous Decision
      Ryan Kelly (PCCB) defeated Henry Fadipe (Lucan MMA) TKO (Elbows) Round 1
      Rimantas Pukas (Lucan MMA) defeated Abou Sow (France) Submission (Rear-Naked Choke) Round 2

Fergus Ryan, March 2011

To top