UFC 122 Review by gusryan100


									Global Domination

The Ultimate Fighting Championship continued its quest for global domination in the Mixed Martial
Arts world by rolling into the König Pilsener Arena, Oberhausen, Germany for UFC 122 on Saturday
night. Stepping away from their home base in the US, this was their second show in mainland Europe
following the highly successful June 2009 event in UFC 99 Cologne. The UFC has now held events in
10 different countries and plans to return to Ireland in March 2011 after dipping their toe with UFC 93
in January 2009

Adding to the global feel was the international cast of fighters from 12 different countries including 3
home grown fighters from Germany. The Germans did their country proud with 2 victories and 2 of the
3 $60,000 bonus awards. Denis Siver managed to avoid the lightning quick striking of Grenadan
Andre Winner to earn “Submission of the Night” with a rear naked choke in the first round. Pascal
Krauss took the “Fight of the Night” honours in his UFC debut. Peter Sobotta couldn’t repeat his fellow
countrymen’s success losing a hard fought decision to American Amir Sadollah. Czech fighter Karlos
Vemola took the “knockout of the Night” award.

Middleweight Contender Eliminator

The main event saw Japanese fighter Yushin “Thunder” Okami defeat American Nate Marquardt in a
three round decision. An extremely close fight, neither fighter seemed willing to let loose, turning the
bout into a chess match. Marquardt, holding his hands low, was content to try and counter punch as
Okami pressed the action behind an active jab. When the fight hit the mat both fighter’s astute ground
games nullified each other and provided little action for fans who showed their displeasure with a
chorus of boos. Okami will now go forward to fight the winner of the next middleweight title bout
between Brazilians Anderson Silva and Vitor Belfort scheduled for UFC 126 in February 2011. Okami
is the last man to beat the champion Silva though it came by way of disqualification.

Fight Card Results

       Carlos Eduardo Rocha defeated Kris McCray via submission (kneebar) at 2:36 of round 1.
       Karlos Vemola defeated Seth Petruzelli via TKO (punches) at 3:46 of round 1.
       Kyle Noke defeated Rob Kimmons via submission (rear-naked choke) at 1:33 of round 2.
       Pascal Krauss defeated Mark Scanlon via unanimous decision
       Vladimir Matyushenko defeated Alexandre Ferreira via TKO (elbows) at 2:20 of round 1.
       Duane Ludwig defeated Nick Osipczak via split decision
       Krzysztof Soszynski defeated Goran Reljic via unanimous decision
       Amir Sadollah defeated Peter Sobotta via unanimous decision
       Dennis Siver defeated Andre Winner via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:37 of round 1.
       Yushin Okami deafeated Nate Marquardt via unanimous decision

Fergus Ryan, November 2010

To top