Application for a South Carolina Marriage License
If you are 18 years of age or older, you will need to present the following:
Driver’s License or Picture ID. (Picture ID must have date of birth)
Social Security Number
Fifty Dollars ($50.00) CASH application fee, exact amount only (we do not make
We take Marriage License Applications Monday through Friday, 9:30 a.m. to 4:00
After the application is made, there is a twenty-four (24) hour waiting period before the
license can be issued. This is South Carolina law.
Appointments may be made at the time of application
Thirty Dollars ($30.00) CASH ceremony fee, exact amount only (we do not make
Request for Copies of Marriage Licenses
If the Marriage License was purchased in Jasper County, the request for a copy must
be submitted by mail. There is a non-refundable search fee in the amount of Five Dollars
($5.00). The following information must be included in your request:
Five Dollar MONEY ORDER made payable to Probate Court. We DO NOT
accept personal checks. We DO NOT accept cash.
Full name of Groom
Full name of Bride (before requested license was issued, including Maiden name)
Date of Marriage (Month/Day/Year) REQUIRED
Self-addressed, stamped envelope for documents to be returned to you
Copies of Marriage Licenses issued in South Carolina are available from S.C.D.H.E.C.
by calling (TOLL FREE) 1-877-284-1008.
For additional information, call 843-726-7718